Clay for 4 hours.......:S.......need that long or not?? :S.....how many times you run the clay over one surface???
Car Detailing, How I did mine....
Dec 15 2007, 05:25 PM
1,992 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kalamazoo, MI |
Clay for 4 hours.......:S.......need that long or not?? :S.....how many times you run the clay over one surface???
Dec 15 2007, 05:57 PM
3,013 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
EGP, this sealant/wax contains cleaner or not?
The DC3 Carnauba wax on top of EGP, do you notice any differences? |
Dec 15 2007, 06:15 PM
1,830 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 15 2007, 05:25 PM) Clay for 4 hours.......:S.......need that long or not?? :S.....how many times you run the clay over one surface??? The car had never seen a clay from the first day i got it until recently. It's been 7 years Oh, forgot to mention that 4 hours including tea break as well QUOTE(ralf @ Dec 15 2007, 05:57 PM) EGP, this sealant/wax contains cleaner or not? EGP contains no cleaner, it's a pure sealant and must be applied on a treated surface, ideally clayed and attacked with DC1 and DC2. The DC3 Carnauba wax on top of EGP, do you notice any differences? And the DC3 above EGP, the paint does look wetter and glossier. Some minor defects were masked too, dunno why EGP sealant tends to highlight defects on my paint. However, DC3 tends to mute the metalic chips(is that how we call it?) in the paint, and the reflection aren't as pronounced as the EGP coat alone. So far these are the only differences that i can describe. Btw ralf, u tried ColorX before? Is it good enough to replace DC1 and DC2? This post has been edited by thom_chai: Dec 15 2007, 06:24 PM |
Dec 15 2007, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 15 2007, 06:15 PM) The car had never seen a clay from the first day i got it until recently. It's been 7 years Colorx is very mild cleaner that contains wax. It is safe to applied the whole car using ColorX without wax. ..However, the mild cleaner isn't abrasive/aggresive enough to remove tough dirt..Oh, forgot to mention that 4 hours including tea break as well EGP contains no cleaner, it's a pure sealant and must be applied on a treated surface, ideally clayed and attacked with DC1 and DC2. And the DC3 above EGP, the paint does look wetter and glossier. Some minor defects were masked too, dunno why EGP sealant tends to highlight defects on my paint. However, DC3 tends to mute the metalic chips(is that how we call it?) in the paint, and the reflection aren't as pronounced as the EGP coat alone. So far these are the only differences that i can describe. Btw ralf, u tried ColorX before? Is it good enough to replace DC1 and DC2? ColorX = Cleaner Wax (Advantage:Recommend for lazy person or hurry in time, need to remove some minor dirt that washing cannot be done, save you plenty of time from clean+polish+wax) Disadvantage= It is not strong, abrasive enough to remove tough dirt.. Take for example: Solid White paint !!..The white yellowish..aging in time. DC1 Paint cleaner is the product you really need..it clean the yellowish stain easily, ColorX canNot do the job.. I thought ColorX isn't suitable for Solid color paint..but i am wrong, i have tried ColorX on new solid white car..the cleaner is Not strough enough. DC1 + DC2 = Cleaner + Polish For car enthusiast like Us that want flawless paint surface..this combo is way to go, my favourite The 6years Kancil, yellowish solid white paint is clean using DC1.. I tried on other people white MyVi(1 year old), it is very hard to remove yellowish stain using ColorX...you need DC1 ColorX is kept inside my storeroom for a long time, what i am using now is DC1 cleaner to remove dirty surface..and apply Wax.. Added on December 15, 2007, 8:22 pm QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 15 2007, 01:39 PM) Autoglym Extra Gloss Protection(EGP), I bought it for Brunei $22 at Brunei, only 325ml capacity ..brunei $22, price still reasonable..Will re-wash the car again in 3 days, then i'll do the interior detailing and re-apply the sealant and see how it goes. Yeah, approx 6 hours per day. Claying alone already took almost 4 hours, washing and drying around 2 hours i might get a bottle and try later... This post has been edited by ralf: Dec 15 2007, 08:22 PM |
Dec 15 2007, 08:46 PM
Really envy you guys at west m'sia, can get those detailing products easily. Even the Parkson at my place here sucks, not much MG stuffs available. Luckily there's one paint shop here that stock up quite a number of MG stuffs
Oh regarding the EGP, why would you want to buy it when you already had a M21? I've never tried M21 before, not available at my place here, so no comment on that. For now, i'm still monitoring the effect of EGP. Read some online reviews, the EGP is well known for its durability, some even state that its durability surpasses NXT tech wax. |
Dec 16 2007, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(lonewolf @ Oct 22 2007, 10:00 AM) no no.. lonewolf, where can i get the Klasse SG ??the usual process clay->paint cleaner->polish->sealant->carbauna... the carbauna will always be last, you can skip the sealant and go straight from polish->carbauna also can. doesn't really matter lar. For the price of RM115, there are other options that you can try. You can look for Klasse SG which selss around RM120 and it last longer and more blink than M21. Ar..any Penang kia here?...i want a bottle of SG.. Added on December 16, 2007, 1:06 pm QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 15 2007, 08:46 PM) Really envy you guys at west m'sia, can get those detailing products easily. Even the Parkson at my place here sucks, not much MG stuffs available. Luckily there's one paint shop here that stock up quite a number of MG stuffs You are in east malaysia..i see. Oh regarding the EGP, why would you want to buy it when you already had a M21? I've never tried M21 before, not available at my place here, so no comment on that. For now, i'm still monitoring the effect of EGP. Read some online reviews, the EGP is well known for its durability, some even state that its durability surpasses NXT tech wax. M21 1/3 bottle left, NXT left only 10%. Need to seek for new sealant...a bottle of AG EGP, Klasse SG. I am not going to purchase NXT 2.0 anymore because the first generation wouldn't last..after 1-2wash, it's gone. I maintain all my family members ride...really tired This post has been edited by ralf: Dec 16 2007, 01:06 PM |
Dec 16 2007, 01:23 PM
That's what i'm talking about. Tired as fuk to diy car maintenance, but the end results are very well worth it.
Regardin the nxt 2.0, hopefully mg resolved the durability issue, and i might consider getting it next year after i finished the EGP |
Dec 16 2007, 11:34 PM
I think you can give M21 2.0 a try instead of NXT 2.0.
Bought myself a bottle of Mothers Reflection Advancecd Top Coat, a new marketing product maybe? not cheap too, same price as MG M21... This one can put on top, applied over sealant, wax..This product contains 2% carnauba + sealant? not sure. Will try it few days later and post the review. ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by ralf: Dec 16 2007, 11:57 PM |
Dec 17 2007, 09:23 PM
Wow
Dec 18 2007, 11:31 AM
3,945 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ralf @ Dec 16 2007, 12:57 PM) lonewolf, where can i get the Klasse SG ?? i bought from singapore wan, there is a shop in SS2 that sells them last time. But now not sure he still sells or not, if u are interested i can check for u. drop me a pm.Ar..any Penang kia here?...i want a bottle of SG.. |
Dec 19 2007, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(lonewolf @ Dec 18 2007, 11:31 AM) i bought from singapore wan, there is a shop in SS2 that sells them last time. But now not sure he still sells or not, if u are interested i can check for u. drop me a pm. You've got PM. Btw, is the Klasse SG durability better than Megs? I have read other forums, google and found out the new Klasse AIO no longer as durable as the old one due to VOC regulation. They need reformulate the product to meet new regulations. Added on December 19, 2007, 4:26 pm QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 17 2007, 09:23 PM) expensive doesn't mean good.Frankly speaking, due to malaysian ringgits peg...car care products selling in bolehland is so expensive .. This post has been edited by ralf: Dec 19 2007, 04:26 PM |
Dec 19 2007, 06:37 PM
6,142 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Planet called "EARTH" |
guys i notice some line on my car which i try to polish and its still there... its not very deep but kinda visible.. any product can help me to remove the line and its not too abrasive for my red color car? by paint is new so i dun 1 to hurt it so much.. i got my car last may..
Dec 19 2007, 10:07 PM
First impression on Mothers Reflection Advance Top Coat.
Ok, before i start, the car has 2coat of M21 underneath. Yesterday, I give the Mothers Top Coat a try on the bonnet and roof only(only 1 coat applied). Today evening, it started to rain again, when i collect my car..the water beading is so nice! The water beads is Tighten !! The tiny water is just beading up after excees water left. But the problem is the water caNN0T run off the surface, it just sits there(i afraid it will becomes water spot if you just leave it without drying with towel). After driving for 5kilometres (speed below 50km/h, heavy traffic), the tiny little beads still sitting there!! Nice !! I have never experienced or get any perfect water beads Tighten results by 2coats of M21 / 2coats of NXT. . I might be wrong because this is the first time i use the Top Coat, is the M21 underneath effect or Mother Top Coat that's so good?? Well, i will post the results after trying on another car, Silver metallic paint next week. Gloss? Add more depth since it contains little Carnauba? Durability of Mother Top Coats? I would try several times, at least 3-4times before jump into conclusion. Oh yeah..the smell of it? Open the bottle, i nearly faint. It smells like RIDSECT->the one use to kill Mosquitos and insects! My nose still prefer Megs products For Smell This post has been edited by ralf: Dec 19 2007, 10:13 PM |
Dec 19 2007, 11:17 PM
Then you'll pengsan also when you get to use AutoGlym's EGP. Smells like ridsect/shieldtox too
Yeah, especially DC3, smells not bad |
Dec 20 2007, 11:41 AM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 10 2007, 01:04 PM) Sorry im noob here. the meta clean is a cleaner wax (use before waxing with a real wax)I just got myself soft 99 meta clean liquid thingy! will try on my car after i hear people say its cheap n good. It wouldnt last for a month but i usually wax my car every 2 weeks or so. I wash it 1nce a week. |
Dec 20 2007, 09:02 PM
2nd time try on Megs PlastX, The PlastX dry very quickly like what lonewolf mentioned. 1/4bottle of PlastX used to clean this pair of headlamp..i might try next weekend to polish again to make it crystal clear..
RIGHT(Before) ![]() RIGHT(After) ![]() __________________________________ LEFT(Before) ![]() LEFT(After) ![]() ___________________________________ Notice the RIGHT hand is cleaner, clearer?? ![]() |
Dec 20 2007, 09:23 PM
Amazing
Dec 20 2007, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 20 2007, 09:23 PM) Is you car headlamps/taillights dirty or scratched?? If it is new and clear, you can try AutoSol, the one used to polish metal..or TOOTHPaste(Colgate/Darlie)!!It works!! I found that this products works best using machine...my hand, arms, body almost broke into 2piece after "Excercise" extensively today, need to look for physiotherapy treatment There's another local product, KW headlamps cleaner+polish, RM8.50 only, available at Brothers. PlastX is not cheap at all and it will dry off quickly...Like mine(depends on plastic condition), mine need >1/4bottle to polish a pair of headlamps.. Added on December 20, 2007, 10:02 pm QUOTE(lonewolf @ Nov 20 2007, 09:49 AM) never tried plastX some say good some say useless. Sandpaper comes with different number ratings, the smaller the number the rough it is. IMHO, if you use this method. Your headlamp plastic now will thinner than before and it is prone to crack. After 1month of trying.I can concluded that PlastX really works. a) Maybe some people said it is useless because their car lamps,clear plastic is almost new. They don't need the expensive PlasTX to polish it..it makes no difference. This post has been edited by ralf: Dec 20 2007, 10:02 PM |
Dec 20 2007, 10:20 PM
The headlamps on my car is already 7 years old. No sign of yellowish stain, but i hope i can make it looked better. Friends already tempted me to change to a pair of projector headlamps but i'm not interested, prefer original parts
Oh, you sure AutoSol works on plastic headlamps like Wira's? If it really does, i can give it a try. I got a lot of AutoSol here |
Dec 21 2007, 09:16 AM
6,142 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Planet called "EARTH" |
dude the headlamp u clean inside or outside?
| Change to: | 0.0364sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:48 AM |