bump the HT and NB multi to reach at least 1600mhz or 1800mhz.
AMD® Socket-AM2&AM2+ Overclocking Thread V9, ~The Art Of OverClocking Continue~
Aug 14 2008, 03:53 PM
894 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
bump the HT and NB multi to reach at least 1600mhz or 1800mhz.
Aug 14 2008, 06:35 PM
28 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Aug 14 2008, 07:01 PM
8,103 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu. |
QUOTE(imsmiko @ Aug 14 2008, 03:00 PM) The start learning play games. Grid is nice game. it depends on how gud ya ram is & what's ya chip. if locked phenoms like ya ex, ddr800 would be more realistic as when u start crankin up d htt, ddr1066 will reach its limit alot sooner than ddr800. but since u'll be on b.e, by all mean go for ddr1066. all u need is to push d cpu multi til ya chip hit d ceiling, then only play abit w/ htt oc. I also should star doing stimulation simulation as well. What are other day to day usage of a quad core? Btw the phenom best run 800 or 1066? @ yamakashi always keep nb freq higher than ya ht link. This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Aug 14 2008, 08:05 PM |
Aug 14 2008, 07:09 PM
5,221 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Deneb star |
Btw,if the Deneb able to beat out the Yorkfield,its already good.As its the main competititor.Dont even ever compare Deneb with Nehalem(BloomField).
Maybe you can compare it with Lynnfield/Havendale(LGA1160).But well..only times decides it.By the way,imsmiko/others user wait for price cut la.AMD price cutting 3 processor,i've posted the article. |
Aug 14 2008, 07:55 PM
3,119 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Home |
QUOTE(imsmiko @ Aug 14 2008, 02:14 PM) wonder why you need it also? wow, i like u dont give me excuses like folding. man loves capacity, ex v8 engines, 18" rims, quad processor. why cant a gurl have the same? to answer your question. its for soon to be crossfire 4870. taking a 24" and 4870. will add one more for crossfire. want to try. dont want the cpu to be bottleneck later. just playing safe. yeah i reviewed your offer, will let you know @someone else I do understand the architecture behind amd, and its tougher compared to intels FSB to overclock. The main reason i am learning this is to prepare myself for nehalem which follows QPI = modded Hypertransport. Just a transition to a new phase thats all |
Aug 14 2008, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Aug 14 2008, 07:09 PM) Btw,if the Deneb able to beat out the Yorkfield,its already good.As its the main competititor.Dont even ever compare Deneb with Nehalem(BloomField). bro, let's admit it. amd never gonna overtake intel even if u compare a deneb to yorkfield. deneb could go near or slightly better than yorkfield (i really doubt this) on same clock speed, but when u start crankin up d fsb, deneb will still find it hard to catch up w/ yorkfield in term of MHz. from d review, deneb needed an unhealthy amount of voltage to reach 4.0GHz which definitely not meant for 24/7, while in yorkfield u can simply increase a lot of clock w/o d need of insane voltage. Maybe you can compare it with Lynnfield/Havendale(LGA1160).But well..only times decides it.By the way,imsmiko/others user wait for price cut la.AMD price cutting 3 processor,i've posted the article. as for d price cut, i dun think imsmiko can wait til it's effective. imo it'll take months for that. waitin game is not so pleasant for those who can't wait... QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 14 2008, 07:55 PM) wow, i like u actually am2/am2+ oc are not as hard as u think if u have experience w/ s939. they're just upgraded architectures of d great old k8. yeah i reviewed your offer, will let you know @someone else I do understand the architecture behind amd, and its tougher compared to intels FSB to overclock. The main reason i am learning this is to prepare myself for nehalem which follows QPI = modded Hypertransport. Just a transition to a new phase thats all This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Aug 14 2008, 08:24 PM |
Aug 14 2008, 08:45 PM
3,119 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Home |
i would think in terms of bandwidth gains, amd is probably 60% of what intel can offer in overclocks
Aug 14 2008, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Aug 14 2008, 08:23 PM) bro, let's admit it. amd never gonna overtake intel even if u compare a deneb to yorkfield. deneb could go near or slightly better than yorkfield (i really doubt this) on same clock speed, but when u start crankin up d fsb, deneb will still find it hard to catch up w/ yorkfield in term of MHz. from d review, deneb needed an unhealthy amount of voltage to reach 4.0GHz which definitely not meant for 24/7, while in yorkfield u can simply increase a lot of clock w/o d need of insane voltage. Well, there's a thin chance that AMD might as for d price cut, i dun think imsmiko can wait til it's effective. imo it'll take months for that. waitin game is not so pleasant for those who can't wait... actually am2/am2+ oc are not as hard as u think if u have experience w/ s939. they're just upgraded architectures of d great old k8. But back to reality, most probably AMD will never win in darkside in terms of powah. What I want from AMD is they truly stick to their "price vs performance" motto when coming up with their future products or pricing. ATI has done that, now I await patiently for AMD. |
Aug 14 2008, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(cyloh @ Aug 14 2008, 09:34 PM) Well, there's a thin chance that AMD might yup, it's simple. if they can't win over intel in term of performance, then they gotta beat intel in term of price while offerin "not so lousy" performance. But back to reality, most probably AMD will never win in darkside in terms of powah. What I want from AMD is they truly stick to their "price vs performance" motto when coming up with their future products or pricing. ATI has done that, now I await patiently for AMD. i'm impatiently waitin for ya amd comeback bro. |
Aug 14 2008, 10:20 PM
1,231 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: teh intehnets |
whoa... this am2 thread is really rocks!! i`m too far away left behind since i owned myself a laptop.. but perhaps i`ll built my pc maybe next few months.. so need suggestion what type of core do best in o/c? is still brisbane?
Aug 14 2008, 10:35 PM
381 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 14 2008, 07:55 PM) wow, i like u dont like too much. later regret. yeah i reviewed your offer, will let you know @someone else I do understand the architecture behind amd, and its tougher compared to intels FSB to overclock. The main reason i am learning this is to prepare myself for nehalem which follows QPI = modded Hypertransport. Just a transition to a new phase thats all QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Aug 14 2008, 08:23 PM) bro, let's admit it. amd never gonna overtake intel even if u compare a deneb to yorkfield. deneb could go near or slightly better than yorkfield (i really doubt this) on same clock speed, but when u start crankin up d fsb, deneb will still find it hard to catch up w/ yorkfield in term of MHz. from d review, deneb needed an unhealthy amount of voltage to reach 4.0GHz which definitely not meant for 24/7, while in yorkfield u can simply increase a lot of clock w/o d need of insane voltage. yes i dont think i can wait anymore. someone need to beat mr khoo. as for d price cut, i dun think imsmiko can wait til it's effective. imo it'll take months for that. waitin game is not so pleasant for those who can't wait... actually am2/am2+ oc are not as hard as u think if u have experience w/ s939. they're just upgraded architectures of d great old k8. @serez. we are in f3 and phenom fever mow. budget dual core with be f3 and quad core will be phenom b3 especially be. |
Aug 14 2008, 10:37 PM
Hey guys, I manage to increase the bus speed to 250 after i bump up the HT and NB multi. When I test this settings with Prime95 for 5 mins it is ok but once I increase the bus speed to 252 while running Prime95, the PC hang or just restart itself. So I try to increase the core voltage and RAM voltage but it is the same. Any suggestions?
This post has been edited by yamakashi: Aug 14 2008, 10:42 PM |
Aug 14 2008, 10:57 PM
QUOTE yup, it's simple. if they can't win over intel in term of performance, then they gotta beat intel in term of price while offerin "not so lousy" performance. i'm impatiently waitin for ya amd comeback bro. Will b back soon. How soon depends on how late deneb comes QUOTE(yamakashi @ Aug 14 2008, 10:37 PM) Hey guys, I manage to increase the bus speed to 250 after i bump up the HT and NB multi. When I test this settings with Prime95 for 5 mins it is ok but once I increase the bus speed to 252 while running Prime95, the PC hang or just restart itself. So I try to increase the core voltage and RAM voltage but it is the same. Any suggestions? Try to add NB/SB volts too.... may help.Take ur time any try things around. I think ur bios has alot(too much?) options to tweak. This post has been edited by cyloh: Aug 14 2008, 10:59 PM |
Aug 14 2008, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(imsmiko @ Aug 14 2008, 10:35 PM) dont like too much. later regret. my result is nothing when 9850 b.e come into d picture... it's almost a guarantee that b.e can do atleast 2.9GHz w/ no sweat... yes i dont think i can wait anymore. someone need to beat mr khoo. @serez. we are in f3 and phenom fever mow. budget dual core with be f3 and quad core will be phenom b3 especially be. i'll be hepi enuf if there's someone who can share d thoughts of phenoms oc w/ me, results/records are meant to be broken mate... QUOTE(yamakashi @ Aug 14 2008, 10:37 PM) Hey guys, I manage to increase the bus speed to 250 after i bump up the HT and NB multi. When I test this settings with Prime95 for 5 mins it is ok but once I increase the bus speed to 252 while running Prime95, the PC hang or just restart itself. So I try to increase the core voltage and RAM voltage but it is the same. Any suggestions? pls show ya cpu-z tab of cpu & ram settings. if possible post d value of each voltage as well... QUOTE(cyloh @ Aug 14 2008, 10:57 PM) Will b back soon. How soon depends on how late deneb comes a lot of things to tweak is never a bad thing bro... rather than not much to tweak... Try to add NB/SB volts too.... may help. Take ur time any try things around. I think ur bios has alot(too much?) options to tweak. This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Aug 14 2008, 11:03 PM |
Aug 14 2008, 11:11 PM
272 posts Joined: May 2007 From: KL |
want to ask sifu,ht link higher better or lower better ?
Aug 14 2008, 11:11 PM
Aug 14 2008, 11:34 PM
5,221 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Deneb star |
AMD Phenom user huh
You might need to increase the voltage.Can you list out your comp spec? bro ah khoo so confirms that Deneb cant beat out Yorkfield..Only times decides it |
Aug 14 2008, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(lloyd1030 @ Aug 14 2008, 11:11 PM) higher did give some performance booest but in return it mite result in instability. i always keep it @ recommended speed which is around 1000 (for am2). QUOTE(yamakashi @ Aug 14 2008, 11:11 PM) can't see d ss mate... QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Aug 14 2008, 11:34 PM) AMD Phenom user huh i'm just tryin not to be so optimistic. d higher d hope d bigger d disappointment will be. You might need to increase the voltage.Can you list out your comp spec? bro ah khoo so confirms that Deneb cant beat out Yorkfield..Only times decides it for sure deneb can't match yorkies in term of MHz, so it gonna take a very gud architecture (better performance per cycle) if deneb are to beat its counterpart. |
Aug 14 2008, 11:59 PM
1,991 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Aug 14 2008, 11:34 PM) AMD Phenom user huh even can beat clock to clock, a little bit, but intel for sure can clock much more higher than amd with lower voltage, at the end amd still loss You might need to increase the voltage.Can you list out your comp spec? bro ah khoo so confirms that Deneb cant beat out Yorkfield..Only times decides it |
Aug 15 2008, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Aug 14 2008, 11:50 PM) can't see d ss mate... Are you sure? Coz my PC can see. Use THIS link.@AMDAthlon My PC spec is AMD Phenom 8450 under Sunbeamtech Core-Contact Freezer, DFI LP DK 790FX, 2x2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz, Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W, 2xATI 3850 CF mode. This post has been edited by yamakashi: Aug 15 2008, 12:08 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0286sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:19 PM |