Most of the time banks do not reveal reason.
@cute_boboi,
Ah well.. don't give then don't spend lor or like U said, use a different card
Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access
Jul 22 2008, 04:55 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@David83,
Most of the time banks do not reveal reason. @cute_boboi, Ah well.. don't give then don't spend lor or like U said, use a different card |
Jul 22 2008, 05:07 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 22 2008, 05:10 PM
@David83,
*shrugs* Perhaps d bank officer liked U?! *grins* |
Jul 22 2008, 05:10 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 22 2008, 04:43 PM) No. I was quite pissed off initially, as MBB can see very clear I swiped a lot in May, around 70% of CL, and I need to swipe another 50% (large hospital bill - unforeseen circumstances), but can't as the balance is not enough, so have to use other bank CC. Want to fire back the CS Then I calm down, it is alright. There is nothing to lose, although I'm trying to consolidate all the TP in MBB. However in the coming future, if I don't have enough CL in MBB, I'll just swipe my Citibank card. After all, Citibank CL is 60% of my MBB CL, and I have not asked Citibank to revise my CL as I only use 0.2% of Citibank CL every month now to pay Syabas + TNB bill ... and MBB will miss out on merchant commission fees, but with lower financial risk since MBB does not give me higher CL. Added on July 22, 2008, 5:13 pm QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2008, 04:55 PM) Yes loh... the backup Citibank CC is just next to MBB CC in my wallet. Anytime I can switch-party Easier and faster than our political parties. This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 22 2008, 05:14 PM |
Jul 22 2008, 05:28 PM
@cute_boboi,
I had the same issue but it was with Citibank;hence I used my back up UOB then |
Jul 22 2008, 06:05 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 22 2008, 05:10 PM) No. I was quite pissed off initially, as MBB can see very clear I swiped a lot in May, around 70% of CL, and I need to swipe another 50% (large hospital bill - unforeseen circumstances), but can't as the balance is not enough, so have to use other bank CC. Want to fire back the CS I used maybank cc before, not very happy with their service as they dont even bother if you swipe big amount of transaction. They just called me once for a RM3000 transcation. Later they just took it for granted and never called me for any transactions i made.Then I calm down, it is alright. There is nothing to lose, although I'm trying to consolidate all the TP in MBB. However in the coming future, if I don't have enough CL in MBB, I'll just swipe my Citibank card. After all, Citibank CL is 60% of my MBB CL, and I have not asked Citibank to revise my CL as I only use 0.2% of Citibank CL every month now to pay Syabas + TNB bill ... and MBB will miss out on merchant commission fees, but with lower financial risk since MBB does not give me higher CL. Heard that HSBC is the best in this matter, if there is any suspicious transactions they will call you straight to confirm. The credit limit is another issue, they gave me RM8k when i started to use the very first cc. Later now all my credit cards got at least RM15k CL, which scared me off Added on July 22, 2008, 6:10 pm QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Jul 22 2008, 02:07 PM) Lots of good infos about Credit Cards, thanks,...... What about the Maybank Platinum Credit Cards ? I think there is not much of difference between gold and platinum cards. I think CIMB Master Platinum is better as you can get malaysia airlines business class ticket promotion "buy 1 get 1 free"And Maybank also has Petronas Platinum Credit Cards. What is your experience ? Dont use maybank platinum if you wanna save annual fees. Use DA(CIMB) platinum instead or EON platinum (Matta) Added on July 22, 2008, 6:11 pm QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 22 2008, 02:27 PM) My MBB CL increase rejected I thought the CL increase every 2 or 3 years. If not apply another few cc Nevermind, if not enough to swipe, I'll just swipe Citibank CC. It's MBB who lose out on merchant commission fees. Added on July 22, 2008, 6:13 pm QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 22 2008, 03:02 PM) it's confirmed that Direct Access can get rebates on any petrol. wah so troublesome one ah to terminate UOB cards? Ok lah i keep it first anyways, for procedures terminate UOB card, u can request them to e mail u cancellation form. filled in and fax back to them. while the physical card need to send to them by mail or pass to customer service at branch. failure to return the card will be charge RM25. This post has been edited by muscaa: Jul 22 2008, 06:13 PM |
Jul 22 2008, 06:15 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
1. I have been using HSBC card for almost a year, and I'm planning to terminate my card. Is there any restriction from doing so?
2. Is there anyone here who is currently using Al Rajhi charge card? May I know the pros and cons? It seems to be a good deal, and I'm planning to get one. 3. I'm currently using the HSBC online for transaction. Prior to using HSBC online, I use the cimbclicks and bankislam for internet banking. However since 2006 @ 2007 (can't really remember) they introduce the TAC, where you need to get a secret access code every time you want to do a transaction (by sending sms @ you can get it at the ATM), which is really inconvenient and somehow stupid (just my personal opinion). So, besides the HSBC online, which bank provides online banking service which allows us to do online transaction without this restriction? |
Jul 22 2008, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(bee993 @ Jul 22 2008, 03:10 PM) yeah...mine is choice card........till now havent got single point.........coz i use for petrol onli.....hehe mine is clear card, citibank sent me airasia cards (2-3x) and goldcards (2-3x) even i didnt apply for it. Power strategy. But i never botherhav to swipe 2 time each month Added on July 22, 2008, 6:19 pm QUOTE(lahjenan @ Jul 22 2008, 06:15 PM) 1. I have been using HSBC card for almost a year, and I'm planning to terminate my card. Is there any restriction from doing so? 1. can terminate anytime you like, as long as you pay the outstanding2. Is there anyone here who is currently using Al Rajhi charge card? May I know the pros and cons? It seems to be a good deal, and I'm planning to get one. 3. I'm currently using the HSBC online for transaction. Prior to using HSBC online, I use the cimbclicks and bankislam for internet banking. However since 2006 @ 2007 (can't really remember) they introduce the TAC, where you need to get a secret access code every time you want to do a transaction (by sending sms @ you can get it at the ATM), which is really inconvenient and somehow stupid (just my personal opinion). So, besides the HSBC online, which bank provides online banking service which allows us to do online transaction without this restriction? 2. Al Rajhi? Dont know much about this bank 3. Most of the internet banking now need TAC. You can get the TAC number via mobile phone. Very convenient Added on July 22, 2008, 6:23 pm QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2008, 04:51 PM) @muscaa, Cannot trust pos malaysia If U have cheque facilities and don't mind sending the cheque each month it's really not that troublesome. I've been doing it for the last 8 years This post has been edited by muscaa: Jul 22 2008, 06:23 PM |
Jul 22 2008, 06:30 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
muscaa,
My salary is going into HSBC, but HSBC rejected my CC application Initial when I first start using newly launched MBB Amex CC two year ago, they call me within <5 minutes when I try to swipe in SG without notifying them I'm travelling overseas. Two months ago, I swiped a single transaction around 15k on MBB CC, they did not call me at all I won't ask for CL increase, if I do not foresee the usage in the coming 1-2 years and for emergency. I can foresee I might need it, hence my request for it, and the result is rejected. Anyway, life goes on. |
Jul 22 2008, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 22 2008, 06:30 PM) muscaa, yeah i kept 7-8 cc just to 'prepare' myself for emergency use My salary is going into HSBC, but HSBC rejected my CC application Initial when I first start using newly launched MBB Amex CC two year ago, they call me within <5 minutes when I try to swipe in SG without notifying them I'm travelling overseas. Two months ago, I swiped a single transaction around 15k on MBB CC, they did not call me at all I won't ask for CL increase, if I do not foresee the usage in the coming 1-2 years and for emergency. I can foresee I might need it, hence my request for it, and the result is rejected. Anyway, life goes on. Anyway i dont have the chance to go oversea |
Jul 22 2008, 06:41 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(muscaa @ Jul 22 2008, 11:17 AM) Added on July 22, 2008, 6:19 pm 1. can terminate anytime you like, as long as you pay the outstanding 2. Al Rajhi? Dont know much about this bank 3. Most of the internet banking now need TAC. You can get the TAC number via mobile phone. Very convenient Currently I live overseas, so I need to use internet banking without having to get the TAC every time. |
Jul 22 2008, 07:13 PM
muscaa,
Going overseas to work, is not really fun 90% of the time for me. Believe it of not, I only enjoy 1 single day of holiday in HK only on my 3rd trip. There was one time I need to cancel my 1 day holiday plan at last minute and go fire-fighting at client place *sigh* and it was a weekend. |
Jul 22 2008, 08:05 PM
@muscaa,
U keep 7-8 different CCs as standby?! @lahjenan, U could check out Citibank Online - U don't need that 'TAC' message but each time U login, U'll be asked a random question [U put in the answer to 3 questions when U register]. The troublesome thing about it is that with every transaction U do, Ur gonna need to re key in your password [in a way it's a good security measure I guess] |
Jul 22 2008, 08:08 PM
40 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
I m from Kuching and one thing I observed is that Maybank's credit card is much more difficult to get as compared to other banks. This observation is also shared by my frens n colleagues. They could get a credit card from other banks but not Maybank and they are earning on average 1.8k - 2k a month. Does Maybank have stricter guidelines?
I also noticed that Maybank seldom set up booths in public places e.g. shopping malls, airports etc to sell their credit card as compared to HSBC, Citibank and RHB. Do you guys/gals also see this in your hometown? |
Jul 22 2008, 08:15 PM
@tiger63,
The foreign banks need to setup booths because they don't have many outlets; Maybank is everywhere hence one can just walk in to apply. It could also be that the local banks aren't vying for a piece of this pie *shrugs* Am surprised to hear ur comment about MBB CC's being difficult to obtain but forumers have mentioned in the past that MBB can be strict. I recently put in an application for a MBB CC and it was approved. In fact, I got upgraded to the next tier. Having said that, I've kept a good credit record for the many years since I started using a CC and do not currently have any outstanding loans. |
Jul 22 2008, 08:40 PM
40 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2008, 08:15 PM) @tiger63, I am also a Maybank credit card holder but unlike you I only got it on my second attempt. The foreign banks need to setup booths because they don't have many outlets; Maybank is everywhere hence one can just walk in to apply. It could also be that the local banks aren't vying for a piece of this pie *shrugs* Am surprised to hear ur comment about MBB CC's being difficult to obtain but forumers have mentioned in the past that MBB can be strict. I recently put in an application for a MBB CC and it was approved. In fact, I got upgraded to the next tier. Having said that, I've kept a good credit record for the many years since I started using a CC and do not currently have any outstanding loans. So far I am very satisfied with the Maybank credit card because of the following: 1) So easy to make payment via M2U. I just LOVE M2U for its convenience. 2) EzyPay scheme available at almost all the major electronic stores. 3) Hotspots merchants in Kuching where I can just walk in and redeem my treats points ON THE SPOT!!! And since I have the MBB Petronas Visa card I dont need to pay any annual fees FOR LIFE!! |
Jul 22 2008, 08:48 PM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
MBB and Stanchart have been offering me preapproved CCs (i accepted the MBB one) while the ikea alliance bank card kept rejecting me twice
Jul 22 2008, 08:48 PM
@tiger63,
Perhaps ur application got lost and not rejected? *grins* but since it's done now no need to talk about it lor *grins* The one thing I don't like about MBB is that they don't allow us to pay our Utility Bills through our CC *siGh* |
Jul 22 2008, 08:58 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2008, 08:48 PM) @tiger63, I believe you meant using CC via M2U.Perhaps ur application got lost and not rejected? *grins* but since it's done now no need to talk about it lor *grins* The one thing I don't like about MBB is that they don't allow us to pay our Utility Bills through our CC *siGh* |
Jul 22 2008, 08:59 PM
6,657 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
some SHELL stations stop accepting AMEX for payment....
| Change to: | 0.0283sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:14 PM |