127 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout

gaigene
post Nov 3 2008, 02:47 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(spinel-sun @ Nov 3 2008, 12:27 PM)
can a hedgie really swim??  rclxub.gif
Not a really good idea. I think the people in the video are idiots...... mad.gif Should not treat any hedgie like that.... vmad.gif
Hiyuki
post Nov 3 2008, 05:23 PM

74 posts

lol... most hedgehog by nature can swim, only when in danger situation.. like fall into a pool accidentally.

But if compare domestic n wild hedgehog, domestic hedgehog don't really swim.
You might find ur hedgehog enjoy swimming, but some dislike swimming. Well, u can see from that video that the hedgehog actually float n swim around by itself... if not it will struggle till the end to get out already. But, that hedgehog might be trained to do that n the training could turn out cruel, just that we wont know.
spinel-sun
post Nov 3 2008, 07:34 PM

140 posts

so do they enjoy swimming?? unsure.gif

Added on November 3, 2008, 7:37 pmi mean if i let mine swim...

This post has been edited by spinel-sun: Nov 3 2008, 07:37 PM
livingmonolith
post Nov 3 2008, 07:49 PM

821 posts

no doubt hedgehogs will be able to paddle and get around, but i'll still maintain my opinion that they don't really swim in nature. if you throw them into the water of course they'll try their best to stay afloat and get to the nearest shore. of course they'll do that, if not they'll just drown, won't they? wink.gif
muchan86
post Nov 3 2008, 09:05 PM

1,523 posts

I think I heard my big boy snoring laugh.gif laugh.gif
it was soooooooooooooooo cuteeeeee xDD wub.gif
kelvin_faye
post Nov 3 2008, 09:08 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Mine sometimes too! Muchan!!
spinel-sun
post Nov 3 2008, 10:55 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Nov 3 2008, 07:49 PM)
no doubt hedgehogs will be able to paddle and get around, but i'll still maintain my opinion that they don't really swim in nature. if you throw them into the water of course they'll try their best to stay afloat and get to the nearest shore. of course they'll do that, if not they'll just drown, won't they? wink.gif
haha...true true... laugh.gif

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Nov 3 2008, 09:05 PM)
I think I heard my big boy snoring laugh.gif laugh.gif
it was soooooooooooooooo cuteeeeee xDD wub.gif
they do??it must be very cute.. wub.gif

Added on November 4, 2008, 1:26 ama hedgie can get car sick..rite?? sad.gif

This post has been edited by spinel-sun: Nov 4 2008, 01:26 AM
akrami
post Nov 4 2008, 03:17 AM

89 posts

hmmm.... my hedgie pops on my hands... arrrgghhhh..... is that good or not?
muchan86
post Nov 4 2008, 07:39 AM

1,523 posts

spinel : yeah they can easily get car sick unless u know how to prevent it. If wan to bring ur hedgie out which is not advisable *unless u bring it to vet*, make sure u use those shoe box with bedding inside or u can use carrier but make sure u cover it up so they cant see anything outside. like put the carrier inside a bag.

akrami : there is no good sign or bad sign. Soon after u take them out to play or hold when they wan to do their business they will just do it smile.gif
naskrieg²
post Nov 4 2008, 09:22 AM

94 posts

hey....
im newbie...
hope can b part of hedgie family...
rozitahalim
post Nov 4 2008, 09:46 AM

14 posts

need help urgently !!

my 17 yr old niece has 4 baby hedgies 2 weeks of age. mummy hedgie died earlier today. niece is devastated n in need of help to find supplements for the babies. r there any milk supplement for these babies? if there is, whats the name and where can i get it??

tq. comments, advices n help is very much appreciated
naskrieg²
post Nov 4 2008, 10:00 AM

94 posts

wah..
so pity....
i cant help..
but ill try my best to fine a good suplement..
lots of luck for poor hedgie.. smile.gif
babymoli
post Nov 4 2008, 10:06 AM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

Go get pets milk for them. Try PM jtl to check whether she still have glider replacement milk or not else you ask what type of pets replacement milk she has.
naskrieg²
post Nov 4 2008, 10:19 AM

94 posts

With the number of hedgehogs killed on roads, and from other reasons, it's
not surprising that orphaned babies do occur.

If you come across baby hedgehogs wandering about on their own, during the
middle of the day, there is a good chance that they are orphans. That said,
don't simply collect them and take them home to care for them. Unless they
are obviously in dire straits, it's best to give them a day or possibly two
to see if mom does return. If she hasn't within that time, you should
probably consider taking action. Of course, if they look to be in serious
need of help, then don't wait -- if they've already been on their own for a
while, they might not have a couple of days left in them.

What you feed them depends on their age, and this will be largely a judgement
call. If they are old enough it might be possible to feed them canned cat or
dog food (or the recipe above [12.2]). If they are too young, take a look at
the suggestions for nursing replacements outlined below. Basically, these
are the same formulas as used with baby African hedgehogs and will work well
for baby European hedgehogs also -- only the quantities will likely be quite
a bit greater (the 'hog' part of the name isn't there for no reason...).

Generally, the rule about avoiding or limiting cows' milk for adult hedgehogs
also applies to babies, only even more so. Hedgehogs are lactose intolerant,
and cows' milk will likely cause diarrhea, resulting in dehydration and
further problems.

Robyn Gorton, who was studying hedgehogs in New Zealand, passed along the
following information on caring for babies.

I find that caring for the young is simple enough as long as you have a
good milk to feed them. I have discovered that sheeps' milk is the
closest in composition to hhog milk and acts as an excellent substitute
when mixed with raw egg. It may for the first few days cause swelling of
the anus, but as soon as they start teething (3 weeks) you can add mashed
banana for fibre and their problems clear up. It's a very high protein
diet but one must watch for a vitamin B deficiency which can be caused
by too much raw egg. I had my two hoglets suckling on a syringe for the
first week and 1/2 until their teeth erupted (this takes three days for a
full set to emerge!!) then simply start using a saucer and they will
naturally feed from it themselves.

I've also heard of using goats' milk, similar to what Robyn suggested above,
though I trust her research as far sheeps' milk being closer to hedgehog
milk. I do need to caution, however, about the use of raw eggs, as they can
cause problems of their own [6.2] -- this, however, may be one situation
where bending those rules is worthwhile.

What do you do if you don't have a friendly goat or sheep, or can't easily
find sheeps' or goats' milk? Many pet stores and pet supply stores carry KMR
(Kitten Milk Replacement). It's usually in powdered form, which makes it
handy for the small quantities you will need.

I've also heard of Esbilac (human baby formula) being used successfully, to
offer yet another option. Anja van der Werf pointed out to me that when you
are trying to use human formula, make sure it is soya-based rather than based
on cows' milk.

One thing to watch out for in feeding baby hedgehogs, is that after each
feeding you must stimulate them to defecate and urinate, otherwise their
bladder and bowel will swell up and can even burst. To do this, simply
stroke along their tummy towards the anus, which simulates a mother licking
and grooming her babies. You can also do this with a warm damp tissue or
cloth. The idea isn't to squeeze anything out, just to stimulate the baby to
do it's business.

Remember that hand raising baby hedgehogs is very difficult, and if you try
and meet with tragedy, remember that you gave them much more of a chance
than they would have had without you. Whatever happens, don't give up and
decide that hedgehogs are bad, or that it's not worth helping hoglets -- it's
just hedgehog nature, and next time may well be nothing short of magical.

this is only can help a litlle maybe...
rozitahalim
post Nov 4 2008, 10:22 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(naskrieg² @ Nov 4 2008, 10:19 AM)
With the number of hedgehogs killed on roads, and from other reasons, it's
not surprising that orphaned babies do occur. 

If you come across baby hedgehogs wandering about on their own, during the
middle of the day, there is a good chance that they are orphans.  That said,
don't simply collect them and take them home to care for them.  Unless they
are obviously in dire straits, it's best to give them a day or possibly two
to see if mom does return.  If she hasn't within that time, you should
probably consider taking action.  Of course, if they look to be in serious
need of help, then don't wait -- if they've already been on their own for a
while, they might not have a couple of days left in them.

What you feed them depends on their age, and this will be largely a judgement
call.  If they are old enough it might be possible to feed them canned cat or
dog food (or the recipe above [12.2]).  If they are too young, take a look at
the suggestions for nursing replacements outlined below.  Basically, these
are the same formulas as used with baby African hedgehogs and will work well
for baby European hedgehogs also -- only the quantities will likely be quite
a bit greater (the 'hog' part of the name isn't there for no reason...).

Generally, the rule about avoiding or limiting cows' milk for adult hedgehogs
also applies to babies, only even more so.  Hedgehogs are lactose intolerant,
and cows' milk will likely cause diarrhea, resulting in dehydration and
further problems.

Robyn Gorton, who was studying hedgehogs in New Zealand, passed along the
following information on caring for babies.

I find that caring for the young is simple enough as long as you have a
    good milk to feed them.  I have discovered that sheeps' milk is the
    closest in composition to hhog milk and acts as an excellent substitute
    when mixed with raw egg.  It may for the first few days cause swelling of
    the anus, but as soon as they start teething (3 weeks) you can add mashed
    banana for fibre and their problems clear up.  It's a very high protein
    diet but one must watch for a vitamin B deficiency which can be caused
    by too much raw egg.  I had my two hoglets suckling on a syringe for the
    first week and 1/2 until their teeth erupted (this takes three days for a
    full set to emerge!!) then simply start using a saucer and they will
    naturally feed from it themselves.

I've also heard of using goats' milk, similar to what Robyn suggested above,
though I trust her research as far sheeps' milk being closer to hedgehog
milk.  I do need to caution, however, about the use of raw eggs, as they can
cause problems of their own [6.2] -- this, however, may be one situation
where bending those rules is worthwhile.

What do you do if you don't have a friendly goat or sheep, or can't easily
find sheeps' or goats' milk?  Many pet stores and pet supply stores carry KMR
(Kitten Milk Replacement).  It's usually in powdered form, which makes it
handy for the small quantities you will need.

I've also heard of Esbilac (human baby formula) being used successfully, to
offer yet another option.  Anja van der Werf pointed out to me that when you
are trying to use human formula, make sure it is soya-based rather than based
on cows' milk.
One thing to watch out for in feeding baby hedgehogs, is that after each
feeding you must stimulate them to defecate and urinate, otherwise their
bladder and bowel will swell up and can even burst.  To do this, simply
stroke along their tummy towards the anus, which simulates a mother licking
and grooming her babies.  You can also do this with a warm damp tissue or
cloth.  The idea isn't to squeeze anything out, just to stimulate the baby to
do it's business.
Remember that hand raising baby hedgehogs is very difficult, and if you try
and meet with tragedy, remember that you gave them much more of a chance
than they would have had without you.  Whatever happens, don't give up and
decide that hedgehogs are bad, or that it's not worth helping hoglets -- it's
just hedgehog nature, and next time may well be nothing short of magical.
this is only can help a litlle maybe...
tq. thats loads of help n info thumbup.gif

Added on November 4, 2008, 10:23 am
QUOTE(babymoli @ Nov 4 2008, 10:06 AM)
Go get pets milk for them. Try PM jtl to check whether she still have glider replacement milk or not else you ask what type of pets replacement milk she has.
tq thumbup.gif
am already at it smile.gif

This post has been edited by rozitahalim: Nov 4 2008, 10:23 AM
empty_reg
post Nov 4 2008, 10:23 AM

249 posts

rozitahalim: Most probably you need to get yourself a syringe or feeding bottle. I'm not use what milk is suitable, but some say use goat's milk plus 1 drop or two if vitamins. They need to be fed once every 2 to 3 hours. (If the hoglets are too weak to feed on the food themselves)

They need to be kept warm, use a fabric or something to let them snuggle at, if is not warm enough, you may need to place a warm bottle of water near them.

Maybe you can describe more about their current physical features.

If they dislike taking the milk from syringe or bottle, maybe they're old enough to lick the milk off a plate, you can crush up some solid food and mix them with the milk for them.

This post has been edited by empty_reg: Nov 4 2008, 10:24 AM
naskrieg²
post Nov 4 2008, 10:24 AM

94 posts

no big deal..
XOXO ur hedgie...

rclxm9.gif
empty_reg
post Nov 4 2008, 10:27 AM

249 posts

Is best you give goat's milk if you can find any, I heard that cat's milk isn't as good somewhere in the internet, saying that people that feed their gliders cat's milk thinking it as a good replacement for reject gliders are wrong.
gaigene
post Nov 4 2008, 11:16 AM

234 posts

I've got a question to ask you all ...... any kind of icon_question.gif is appreciated. Last weekend I went to Ikea to buy a fleece for my Sammy. I lined his cage with the fleece. No more newspapers. But now he is just hiding in-between the fleece (coz, the fleece too big, and I fold it into half). He does not come out. Just hiding inside there. Dun think he is eating too much also. Now days he is eating very little. Also not drinking too much water.

I'm getting very worried about my baby. Please icon_question.gif ......

Thanks.....
empty_reg
post Nov 4 2008, 11:45 AM

249 posts

^
What did you feed him?
Hiding is natural, unless is still hiding under the fleece even at night when all lights are off.

127 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:50 AM