PROTON SAVVY LYN club V2 - AMT manual added!, -best little car in the market-

navigator
post Oct 9 2008, 08:21 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Oct 8 2008, 06:16 PM)
Hi Navigator,

Did I give you the impression that the AMT failures experienced by a high percentage of Savvy AMT owners are due to design flaw?  smile.gif

My suggestion for a recall is not in response to a design flaw in the AMT system, but more to the fact that, how should I say,
some "low quality" components could have been used during the localization process that cannot withstand the passage of time.
Probably due to the heat and humidity in our environment.

The only design flaw that Proton can be accused of would be the mass failures of their Campro engine.  icon_rolleyes.gif
You really gave me such impression until your reply above. thanks for clearing that out.

But I also quite disagree for low quality as Proton Savvy are undergone a TUV certification process and AFAIK that covers part supplier/vendor....

May I know where can I get the source for things like warranty claim or major repair statistics for Proton Savvy?

I would also like to know the design flaw for the Campro engine as I'm also a Gen.2 owner for now and frankly speaks, it never gave me any fault, FC nor performance issue so far except there's a time that the Lambda sensor contaminated. Thanks.
gary_cheah85
post Oct 9 2008, 08:27 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

Campro problem

there was a thread on Gen2 campro S4PH breaking down.

so far our Savvy D4f still going strong
FYI, only the 1st batch Savvy gone through TUV certification.

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Oct 9 2008, 08:28 PM
navigator
post Oct 9 2008, 08:32 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(zurggie @ Oct 9 2008, 08:09 PM)
well.. i did try to recreate the scene where the auto light flash once. but not happen again. he..

anyway after that when stop at traffic light, i did like what ur did. neutral and handbrake only. should i tell sc bout my auto light? since the car didn't have any problem i afraid problem occur when they try to search for problem. u know la.. proton sc..
QUOTE(death_nite @ Oct 9 2008, 07:34 PM)
though ur gear on N do tarik ur handbrake. when u r not moving, pressing brake may mean pressing ur clutch too; especially when ur car r not moving or moving in slow motion. braking in fast motion i dont think it will trigger ur clutch.

try playing around with ur brake.

press ur brake a little bit, good enough to trigger the clutch switch but not hard enough to brake the tyres then release a bit. u should be able to play around with the clutch. thumbup.gif do it while ur car r not moving/moving slow with gear 1/2. u should be able to feel it. brows.gif

my 2 cents is (though sm of u might denied this, but to be safe),
put ur gear to N, dont press brake and use ur handbrake when stop at traffic lights.

i did it now and for the time being, no auto light. smile.gif

amt got so many characteristics. u need to learn it. hehe.
I'm suspecting the brake switch related problem as this happened to my car as well. If this is true the car might also experience sporadic jerk at 20km/h on 2nd gear.......

The solution for my car is to change the brake pedal.... No problem for now. thumbup.gif

For proton cars, whenever the warning light is on or lit, the problem should properly registered to the ECU and can be retrieved by using Proton Diagnostic Tools. smile.gif

Try also not to depress the brake when you turn the key to ON position (No problem when you start the engine).

Added on October 9, 2008, 8:44 pm
QUOTE(gary_cheah85 @ Oct 9 2008, 08:27 PM)
Campro problem

....This is not even a design flaw for me as if it is it'll certainly hit major of Campro owners....this is more like a manufacturing problem on batches...Like Proton Wira's bonnet problem....

If to mention as a defect than something like this should happened:-

http://www.petitiononline.com/TMC2003/petition.html

AFAIK TUV certification did not work this way.....

My company's TUV certification is valid until major component vendor are changed....

I dunno IF proton did that for the beloved Savvy.....

thanks for sharing the story BTW. Learned a new campro issue. doh.gif

This post has been edited by navigator: Oct 9 2008, 08:44 PM
SUSraynman
post Oct 9 2008, 09:06 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Oct 9 2008, 08:21 PM)
You really gave me such impression until your reply above. thanks for clearing that out.

But I also quite disagree for low quality as Proton Savvy are undergone a TUV certification process and AFAIK that covers part supplier/vendor....

May I know where can I get the source for things like warranty claim or major repair statistics for Proton Savvy?

I would also like to know the design flaw for the Campro engine as I'm also a Gen.2 owner for now and frankly speaks, it never gave me any fault, FC nor performance issue so far except there's a time that the Lambda sensor contaminated. Thanks.
I am not sure why but you always seem to misunderstand me. Maybe my English is not up to standards.

What I meant was Proton cannot be held accountable for "design flaw" for something they did not design.
They did not design the AMT system, so they cannot be faulted for "design flaw" in the AMT system.
Proton designed the Campro engine, so they can be held accountable for any engine-related problem
that affects a large number of users. I am using the Campro engine as a candidate for a "design flaw"
possibility because that is the only vital automotive component that is designed by Proton. icon_rolleyes.gif

navigator
post Oct 9 2008, 09:19 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Oct 9 2008, 09:06 PM)
I am not sure why but you always seem to misunderstand me. Maybe my English is not up to standards.

What I meant was Proton cannot be held accountable for "design flaw" for something they did not design.
They did not design the AMT system, so they cannot be faulted for "design flaw" in the AMT system.
Proton designed the Campro engine, so they can be held accountable for any engine-related problem
that affects a large number of users. I am using the Campro engine as a candidate for a "design flaw"
possibility because that is the only vital automotive component that is designed by Proton.  icon_rolleyes.gif
...or maybe I have problem to understand english.... perhaps? doh.gif

Proton should be accountable for the design flaw once they use the component in their product. This is very clear of that and also mentioned by proton R&D techies....

After read the broken campro story, I also wondered if I'm the nex victim as my car are now 90k km & I'm also a very spirited driver....before the petrol rise to RM2.70..... doh.gif

Well....Just went through the google & found that broken crankshaft happens on other cars as well...

This post has been edited by navigator: Oct 9 2008, 09:24 PM
SUSraynman
post Oct 9 2008, 09:36 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Oct 9 2008, 09:19 PM)
...or maybe I have problem to understand english.... perhaps? doh.gif

Proton should be accountable for the design flaw once they use the component in their product. This is very clear of that and also mentioned by proton R&D techies....

After read the broken campro story, I also wondered if I'm the nex victim as my car are now 90k km & I'm also a very spirited driver....before the petrol rise to RM2.70..... doh.gif

Well....Just went through the google & found that broken crankshaft happens on other cars as well...
Don't worry, this particular Campro engine problem has not reached a critical level that affects many users yet.
But it is good to monitor the situation and see where it is heading. smile.gif
death_nite
post Oct 9 2008, 10:02 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(zurggie @ Oct 9 2008, 08:09 PM)
well.. i did try to recreate the scene where the auto light flash once. but not happen again. he..

anyway after that when stop at traffic light, i did like what ur did. neutral and handbrake only. should i tell sc bout my auto light? since the car didn't have any problem i afraid problem occur when they try to search for problem. u know la.. proton sc..
haha. me too did try to recreate the scene when auto light turn on, but failed. blush.gif

most likely when u inform sc, they will only resetting ur ecu/tcu. but for me just inform them for a record. who knows in future, if anything happened especially after warranty, those record can b some kind of proof that the probs occur b4 warranty expired.

QUOTE(navigator @ Oct 9 2008, 08:21 PM)

i heard only 1st batch of savvy got tuv certified.

in savoc, those with tuv certified got tuv logo stick on their car. mine doesnt hv any. sad.gif

QUOTE(gary_cheah85 @ Oct 9 2008, 08:27 PM)
Campro problem

d4f rocks erh. thumbup.gif hehe.
ronaldpan
post Oct 9 2008, 10:20 PM

56 posts

how do you guys look at AMT in 5 years from now? forgotten? smile.gif
death_nite
post Oct 9 2008, 10:49 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(ronaldpan @ Oct 9 2008, 10:20 PM)
how do you guys look at AMT in 5 years from now? forgotten? smile.gif
forgotten?

i believe other cars manufacturer will throw away wet clutch aka normal auto and use amt/dual clutch in the future instead. blush.gif

bro navi, forgot to ask, what do u mean change brake pedal?
navigator
post Oct 10 2008, 05:37 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ Oct 9 2008, 10:02 PM)
haha. me too did try to recreate the scene when auto light turn on, but failed. blush.gif

most likely when u inform sc, they will only resetting ur ecu/tcu. but for me just inform them for a record. who knows in future, if anything happened especially after warranty, those record can b some kind of proof that the probs occur b4 warranty expired.
i heard only 1st batch of savvy got tuv certified.

in savoc, those with tuv certified got tuv logo stick on their car. mine doesnt hv any. sad.gif
d4f rocks erh. thumbup.gif hehe.
Even if the hv record, they won't claim for you once warranty over...u know la...standard practice to make money. shakehead.gif

。。。。。。if that's the case, I would really like to know what kind of TUV certification they're using doh.gif

our company's case is that we're allowed to have revision upgrade but source of part must be certified.....but IMO TUV means nothing actually, TUV certified thing still prone to be defective... whistling.gif

ah, all proton engine rocks. icon_idea.gif sweat.gif

Added on October 10, 2008, 5:41 am
QUOTE(death_nite @ Oct 9 2008, 10:49 PM)
forgotten?

i believe other cars manufacturer will throw away wet clutch aka normal auto and use amt/dual clutch in the future instead. blush.gif

bro navi, forgot to ask, what do u mean change brake pedal?
they're not wet clutch....they're torque converters & do not called a clutch as there's no physical contact involved when transferring power to gearbox.

I think torque converter will still be around for normal sedan as they do have their specific advantage over clutch system.

But of course, performance model will eventually mode to Dual sequential gearbox.... so called DSG like what used in Nissan GT-R R35 & golf....which some of them require frequent firmware upgrade. hmm.gif

I changed my brake pedal assembly to solve my brake switch problem which caused AMT jerk as mentioned on my car.... doh.gif The jerk is still there IF I turn the key to ON while fully depressing the brake..... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by navigator: Oct 10 2008, 05:44 AM
lj0000
post Oct 10 2008, 09:09 AM

2,207 posts

yo! i finally can announce i got my car already!
immediately taken car then drive 350km to penang. damn syok. had a very nice drive all the way peaking at 150km/h
but eat petrol 4 bars sad.gif will pump full tank later to see whats the actual usage.

problems arised:
1brake lamp always on
- found a loose brake sensor button
- cause amt to work crazy esp in parking mode
- reconnect then ok
2. foggy rear lamps

3. fallen front plate

ronaldpan
post Oct 10 2008, 12:18 PM

56 posts

merdeka promotion still got meh until now? and the savvy is a 2008 model..

wondering..hmmm
lj0000
post Oct 10 2008, 01:29 PM

2,207 posts

promo until until 31 oct
death_nite
post Oct 10 2008, 01:57 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Oct 10 2008, 05:37 AM)
Even if the hv record, they won't claim for you once warranty over...u know la...standard practice to make money. shakehead.gif

。。。。。。if that's the case, I would really like to know what kind of TUV certification they're using doh.gif

our company's case is that we're allowed to have revision upgrade but source of part must be certified.....but IMO TUV means nothing actually, TUV certified thing still prone to be defective... whistling.gif

ah, all proton engine rocks. icon_idea.gif  sweat.gif

Added on October 10, 2008, 5:41 am
they're not wet clutch....they're torque converters & do not called a clutch as there's no physical contact involved when transferring power to gearbox.

I think torque converter will still be around for normal sedan as they do have their specific advantage over clutch system.

But of course, performance model will eventually mode to Dual sequential gearbox.... so called DSG like what used in Nissan GT-R R35 & golf....which some of them require frequent firmware upgrade. hmm.gif

I changed my brake pedal assembly to solve my brake switch problem which caused AMT jerk as mentioned on my car.... doh.gif The jerk is still there IF I turn the key to ON while fully depressing the brake..... sweat.gif
i donno but from some of my reading, some of it referring torque converter as wet clutch. though i understand it works differently with normal clutch. i guess its just a name? or actually wet clutch and torque converter are 2 diff things?
navigator
post Oct 10 2008, 02:45 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ Oct 10 2008, 01:57 PM)
i donno but from some of my reading, some of it referring torque converter as wet clutch. though i understand it works differently with normal clutch. i guess its just a name? or actually wet clutch and torque converter are 2 diff things?
In technical terms that I know, anything transfer power by utilizing friction is called a clutch. But Torque converter is transfer power by utilizing hydraulic...

Wet clutch usually refer to ....Honda Cub punya clutch system lo, rendam dlm minyak itam punya. tongue.gif
davidmu
post Oct 10 2008, 09:16 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 10 2008, 09:09 AM)
yo! i finally can announce i got my car already!
immediately taken car then drive 350km to penang. damn syok. had a very nice drive all the way peaking at 150km/h
but eat petrol 4 bars sad.gif will pump full tank later to see whats the actual usage.
From the 6th bar, how much km u run?

then 5th bar, how many km?

lj0000
post Oct 10 2008, 11:22 PM

2,207 posts

i remember 1 bar gone at arn 100km. dint relly remmeber

Added on October 10, 2008, 11:25 pmreally had a hard time getting used to the gearbox

today at a junction i put neutral. when green light i could not go into drive. damn malu kena hon. then i remember got to press brek first then can masuk gear. then it worked.

want to ask u guys.. when u drive in D mode, how to determine when to release accelerator to avoid jerking? esp when gear 1 to 2 to 3?

This post has been edited by lj0000: Oct 10 2008, 11:25 PM
TShypermount
post Oct 11 2008, 02:28 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

familiar?

rkjsoo
post Oct 11 2008, 02:37 AM

3,620 posts

should be savvy right ?
zurggie
post Oct 11 2008, 07:10 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 10 2008, 11:22 PM)
today at a junction i put neutral. when green light i could not go into drive. damn malu kena hon. then i remember got to press brek first then can masuk gear. then it worked.
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif .. Happen to me also when first time drive the car. i thought the AMT already kaput. i didn't even know u must press brake paddle to shift to D. luckily maybe i press the brake accidentally when shifting thus make the car move.

hypermount >> it's savvy alright... yeah.. melayu boleh.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zurggie: Oct 11 2008, 07:13 AM

126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0320sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:35 AM