post Jul 11 2008, 09:48 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jul 11 2008, 12:09 PM)
hmm...okay..i try do dat ltr...thx 4 advise ^^

Did they in campus on weekend?? XD
no. a university is still run like a government office. everybody goes home after work, and stays home during the weekends biggrin.gif.
litaco
post Jul 12 2008, 11:34 AM

107 posts

oh....hav to wait for another week...@@

sienz..><
hokuan
post Jul 12 2008, 10:28 PM

1,336 posts

Hmm, I got a question about Short Sem..For mechanical Engineering, is the short sem for every undergrad or just for those who fail?
azarimy
post Jul 12 2008, 11:00 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jul 12 2008, 02:28 PM)
Hmm, I got a question about Short Sem..For mechanical Engineering, is the short sem for every undergrad or just for those who fail?
short sem (between april-june) is available to every undergrad as an optional semester where they could take extra subjects or repeat failed ones. in UTM, the policy is u can only use the short sem if the subject is not commonly offered during normal semesters, or if u're in the final semester and need to repeat a subject.
hokuan
post Jul 12 2008, 11:04 PM

1,336 posts

But I'm in mechanical engineering, and I've counted the credit hours, which include the 2 credit hours for my first short sem..So I guess it's compulsory for mechanical students..I hope I'm wrong ><
azarimy
post Jul 12 2008, 11:56 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jul 12 2008, 03:04 PM)
But I'm in mechanical engineering, and I've counted the credit hours, which include the 2 credit hours for my first short sem..So I guess it's compulsory for mechanical students..I hope I'm wrong ><
like i said, it's for classes that is not commonly offered during normal semesters. ur 2 credit hours would fall into that category. back in the 90s, all UTM's courses are offered to SPM leavers. yes, u dont need to sit for STPM or matrics. straight to degree. the only difference is, the degree takes 1 to 1.5 extra years. then in the late 90s, the government standardized all degree courses to only take STPM leavers. so UTM has to compensate by shortening its courses by 1 to 1.5 years.

bear in mind that UTM have already fixed their syllabus for atleast 15 years at that time, and suddenly had to change. so they start cutting down subjects to fit into a shorter duration. but as academicians, we always believe that the more u teach, the better. so after streamlining all the subjects down, there will courses that couldnt fit everything into the required years. which is why ur course has some credits in the short sem. they could add extra normal semester, but who would wanna study an extra 6 months just for 2 credits, right?
hokuan
post Jul 13 2008, 12:39 AM

1,336 posts

Haha, thanks for the reply smile.gif So now I can confirm that I have to go thru the short sem. Was hoping for somebody to say that short sem is optional tongue.gif ..
shinichi88
post Jul 13 2008, 02:07 PM

Holy Crusader
983 posts

It seem tat UTM Skudai Wifi got problem..
I can connect to to Wifi but couldn't surf the internet.. dunno wats wrong with it
now online at FSKSM... wifi la.. but not WifiUTM..
idiotidiot
post Jul 13 2008, 02:40 PM

178 posts

LoL.. i just noticed this thread. heh. i am online in my room @ KTHO. bored.. who wanna find me for a bout of CS? =D
s3polZ
post Jul 13 2008, 07:09 PM

286 posts

shinichi,where are u ataying?
KTR rite?
at firtst i also experiencebthe same probs,but now the probs solved..
i can surf internet at my room at K27

Added on July 13, 2008, 7:09 pmshinichi,where are u ataying?
KTR rite?
at firtst i also experience the same probs,but now the probs solved..

Added on July 13, 2008, 7:10 pmshinichi,where are u staying?
KTR rite?
at first i also experience the same probs,but now the probs solved..

This post has been edited by s3polZ: Jul 13 2008, 07:10 PM
litaco
post Jul 13 2008, 10:10 PM

107 posts

KRP aso facing same prob...
connect to wifiUTM but can't on9...zzzz
shinichi88
post Jul 14 2008, 08:17 AM

Holy Crusader
983 posts

me stay at KTR blok K17... i could connect wifiUTM at 2 Bar signal..
But couldn't surf internet...
hokuan
post Jul 14 2008, 09:10 AM

1,336 posts

2 bar signal is too weak, that's why you cant get the internet signal..
mfa333
post Jul 14 2008, 10:02 AM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

guess i will be following my diploma friends furthering studies at skudai soon... accepted for 2nd intake.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mfa333: Jul 14 2008, 10:02 AM
shinichi88
post Jul 14 2008, 10:10 AM

Holy Crusader
983 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jul 14 2008, 09:10 AM)
2 bar signal is too weak, that's why you cant get the internet signal..
Ya i know is weak..
but i move to the office, where the signal is max.. still couldn't surf web..
now i connect wifi from falculty.. NOT "WifiUTM"
s3polZ
post Jul 14 2008, 10:57 AM

286 posts

at first i get 2-3 bars.but my windows wireless wizard saidthe connection is limited or no connectivity..
i left my pc on for 24 hours and after that a got my internet connection..
u should try it..maybe it works for u..
razgriz6
post Jul 14 2008, 11:05 AM

40 posts

wifiUTM is different than faculty's wifi.. faculty's wifi u could access easily anytime but wifiUTM im not sure, someone told me they still dont activate it..
u guys lucky man, utm this sem hv 80% wifi coverage.. not like years before, they applying it for years already but stil dont get it..

Added on July 14, 2008, 11:10 amanyway.. anyone would like to go to singapore can text me ur name, n faculty..

Date : 2.8.08
Fees : RM 80 per person
Places to visit : China town, arab street, esplanade, merlion park, sentosa island & Song of the sea..

if u guys interested can text me.. here's my number : 016-2000052
if u guys can get 15 person, ure get free trip to singapore biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by razgriz6: Jul 14 2008, 11:10 AM
mfa333
post Jul 14 2008, 12:44 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

guys, is it KTC a good college?
Elezend
post Jul 14 2008, 01:36 PM

187 posts

I got accepted to Software Engineering for the appeal, yay
duncan880409
post Jul 14 2008, 01:50 PM

Like Working in My Lab ^^
3,700 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jul 12 2008, 10:28 PM)
no lah, the shortsem is engineering workshop right??
SME 1902.. work in lab inside UTM, mean like welding , latcheing, etc...
you are SM..?

Added on July 14, 2008, 1:51 pm
QUOTE(Elezend @ Jul 14 2008, 01:36 PM)
I got accepted to Software Engineering for the appeal, yay
where are you now?

This post has been edited by duncan880409: Jul 14 2008, 01:51 PM

126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:54 AM