azarimy
post Jun 18 2008, 10:46 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(kbyao @ Jun 18 2008, 02:34 PM)
OMFG, like this i will die. What stupid rules is that. = ="
first years are usually situated in hostels nearer to the schools that shouldnt take more than 20 minutes to walk to. if there are too many vehicles on campus, the roads will be congested and the public transports will suffocate. so for the interests of the mass, 1st years are not allowed to have vehicles. they can use bicycles if they want to. go green!
azarimy
post Jun 18 2008, 11:04 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kbyao @ Jun 18 2008, 02:50 PM)
No car for 1st year i agree.
But why No Motorbike for 1st year rclxub.gif
Walk not more then 20 minutes = =" shocking.gif
The rules is kinda weird. cry.gif
read again. 1st years are always located in hostels that are nearer to the schools. meaning the distance is normally not more than 20 minutes walking. yes, UTM campus is huge, second only to UPM. seniors dorms are normally located further out, some which may even take more than 45 minutes to walk. if the rules say u cant have vehicles while situated further out, now that is really stupid.

i suggest u come to the campus first to appreciate how big the campus really is. and like i said before, if u dont wanna walk, pakai laa basikal. UTM road is safe enough for bicycles.

and why 1st years cant use motorcycles either? bcoz there's no parking. yes, it was deliberately made that way so that students share vehicles (both motor and cars). lagipun, budak2 ni kaki rempit aje... so when they share motor, less likely to rempit heheh.
azarimy
post Jun 18 2008, 11:18 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kbyao @ Jun 18 2008, 03:15 PM)
Hmn, okay. I accept it.
Just need to walk for 1 year. cry.gif
I think i gonna lose a few KG there.
sign0006.gif
Any basketball court there?
i think there's a couple of basketball courts. last time (back in 2001) there's a few half courts as well. not sure if those are still around.
azarimy
post Jun 19 2008, 12:07 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(SookLee @ Jun 18 2008, 03:59 PM)
can wear jeans or not?? or just formal wear???
for classes, u're allowed to wear jeans, although u'd have to wear collared shirts and proper shoes. however, there are lecturers who insist that jeans is too informal for class.
azarimy
post Jun 19 2008, 02:02 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Jun 18 2008, 05:30 PM)
I got Computer Science ( Graphic & Multimedia Software )
so how's all the library, facilities ?
How's the food also ? izit expensive ? or better eat outside ?
UTM skudai? library are quite complete. in my opinion, there are two very efficient departments in UTM that rival most international schools - the library and the treasury. so u have nothing to worry about the library, its resources are quite well connected. my only problem with them is it could take awhile for them to issue a new published book into their inventory. it usually takes 4 to 6 months.

other facilities are quite satisfactory to me.

food inside is cheaper than outside. the only drawbacks are everybody eats there and the quality's arent anything to shout about.
azarimy
post Jun 19 2008, 05:02 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(GrenadeZ @ Jun 18 2008, 06:18 PM)
i wanna ask so many questions... pls forgive me....

i. if we bring so many things to uni where do we put them? issit first day register ade can get hostel accomodation?
eg: kettle, mattress cover, pillow cover etc....

ii. how many set of formal clothes needed? 3?

iii. how many set of certified documents needed? 5 enuf or not?

iv. do i need to use laptop on first sem?

v. do we need to bring washing powder or anything?? or there's a dobi there and we don't hav to wash ourselves?

vi. last but not least... the fees when or how to pay it? by cash or?? on registration day or??

i've just scan through the offer.... don understand a lot of things...

btw the kolej kediaman is : KOLEJ TUANKU CANSELOR.

sorry if too many questions.... but these are the things tat i don understand...

thanx ya seniors~~ you all are very helpful!! hope to meet u all!
i. u will get accommodations on the registration day, so yeah, u'll put everything in there.

ii. if u're willing to recycle, 1 pair is enough.

iii. i'm not sure. but u've already applied and got the course, why would u need certified documents anymore?

iv. depends on what course u're studying. most of the courses (except computings) intentionally put less emphasis on computers during the 1st sem so that students can take their time to acquire their own laptop/PC.

v. a few colleges have an automat, others have dobi services. i'm not sure if KTC has any of those.

vi. fees can be paid before or during registration day. u can pay cash or bank transfers. i'm not sure if u can pay by cheque or credit cards.
azarimy
post Jun 19 2008, 06:54 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Jun 19 2008, 08:50 AM)
UTM FKE is the scariest place on earth wahaha who will enter facutly of electrical,beware of the faculty..
1.fail 1,u can get kick out from the generous FKE!!wahaha
2.wear no collar shirt to class,penalty RM50!
3.wear sliper,go room take shoes without sliper on ur way to room!
4.if u dun use senior words to senior,u will be in the blacklist of KTC
5.u see DEKAN but did not say hi,u will get pointer lower than 2.5
6.u get MICE(microelectronic dept) beware of Mr Zulfakar,pro digital system design lecturer,u cant give correct answer to what he ask,u die!!
7.ur hair touch ears,collar in lab,beware one 1 techinician who is really busy body,he will BOTAK ur hair!!
8.parking at not allowed parking lot,ur car or motorcycle will get clamped!RM100 will be fined!
9.beware of AKE in sem 1,many ppl will get kicked out because of this subject!
10.u flirt girls without permission of senior,u will be blacklisted!(errr..no comment)
11.whatever school u comes from,dun get too proud,u r just a ordinary person,ur knowledge is zero when u step to the GREAT UTM and u will find all ur knowledge needed here..many of SBP schools students get kicked out coz of duno how to find information,coz in SBP all teachers give the test,information,notes bla bla..in FKE u find urself..if u r lazy,dun be an engineer,dun step to FKE..
12.bla bla bla bla....

advice from me-join ROBOCON the greatest robo team in malaysia and find ur final year senior to get superb knowledge!!we r the ruler of engineering in this country wahahaha

p/s-lalalalalalalala~ hope u will not get afraid after read some of my bloody hell facts wahahaha
if FKE is that extreme, u might wanna consider FAB, the other end of the spectrum:

i. failure is cool and celebrated. even the top students intentionally failed so they dont look to much of a nerd.
ii. u can practically wear anything to class. sometimes, the lesser the better. even lecturers wear jeans and round neck shirts.
iv. everybody is on first name basis. sometimes even with the lecturers.
vii. u can have long hair, but it must be stylish. imagine the hongkong/japan pop stars...
x. u may flirt with anyone u want. but be aware that the girls have the final say. if they say no, it means no.
xi. u may only brag if u come from top schools. MRSM is not included.

azarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 07:12 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(SookLee @ Jun 19 2008, 07:48 PM)
walkiNg????  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif  i tot got bus lehz.... then i think my kaki will pataH lo.........
bus? sure. but during the orientation week, everybody shares the same time table. meaning u're trying to share a bus with practically the entire 1st year group. walking beats waiting forever at the bus stop biggrin.gif.
azarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 05:24 PM

10,672 posts

i urge everyone NOT to use torrent or any other stuff that hogs the network. this is a university, researchers and lecturers use the same network for research and academic stuff. back in 1999 i was one of the student leaders to push for free internet for every student, and they eventually agreed. before 1999, internets are only accessible from computer labs - no personal computers, LAN, wireless (ofcourse ler) or private lines.

so today u have the facility to access the internet remotely and within the privacy of ur own computers. dont hog the network. if u want to torrent or what not, get ur own streamyx line to ur room!
azarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 07:25 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(mdineshp @ Jun 20 2008, 10:45 AM)
That's true. Please don't be selfish. If you want to download a lot of stuff like torrents please get streamyx or maxis/celcom broadband.
There are many other students who want to do the assignments and research work.

Good job azarimy!
We here  new batch, further pushed for the more wireless coverage around UTM.
Now there is WCC Broadband (our own technology from FKE) and around 80% of UTM can wireless now.
it really shows how much students have the power to get things done in UTM. i've always advised my students that if they want something done, get together and properly represented (such as in a student body) and push for it. before i left, a bunch of students are trying to get a paintball facility in UTM. not sure how that went. would be cool if we have one!
azarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 09:44 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jun 20 2008, 12:34 PM)
Hi all! i'm entering UTM too! Mechanical(industry) Engineering course.
Really have a lot of questions, but most of them answered when I browse thru this thread smile.gif
Only have few more question:
1)I get KOLEJ TUANKU CANSELOR, is it safe there? I need to bring my laptop during first day, will it be any problem?

2)We can apply ptptn during Orientation week right?

3)My roommate will be senior or newcomer?

4)Anybody here from the same faculty as me? Share share experience tongue.gif
1) all kolej is practically as safe as u make it to be. meaning, if u deliberately left ur doors unlocked, u could live in a bank vault it still wont be safe biggrin.gif. one thing i always advise is to make sure ur doors have new locks. if u doubt it, u can request a lock change, although this could take a while. i stayed at a student block (i think it was G25 or something) in 2005 (i'm a lecturer tongue.gif), and some guy selamba bodoh came into my room while i'm still in it. then he said, oh sorry, wrong room. but he has the key to my room! i grabbed him, brought him to the felo. apparently he stayed in that room a few months back, and made a copy of the key.

so i insisted the admin to change the locks immediately. it took almost a week when i insisted to pay for the lock change, which hasten the process.

3) 1st year roommates will always be of ur own batch, unless requested or specified otherwise.
azarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 09:55 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(chicky86 @ Jun 20 2008, 01:48 PM)
well...
for those who stay in kp, congratz...
coz not easy to get into kp...
the thing good about kp is it has wired lan...
so u can dota n share files....
other den dat, i dun find anythin good at kp....
but damn...
it has onli 1 block for guys...
so, unfair for guys...
for girls, u all dun hav to worry... u all get to choose to saty in da apartment shared wit ur fren....
4 person in 1 apartment...
if not, u all can stay in normal hostel...
it has 2 hostels n an apartment for girls....
so guys, u r surrounded by girls...
haha....  rclxms.gif
not fair for guys? hahaha...

i should tell u that back in my days (late 90s), there was only ONE kolej for girls, that is KTF (tun fatimah). yes, only ONE kolej for girls and 4 kolej for guys. hahaha...
azarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 10:56 PM

10,672 posts

here's a tip about valuable things:

most thefts occur bcoz an opportunity presents itself. others occur bcoz a target presents itself. only a small fraction of theft occur randomly.

so to be safe, u must deny the first two situations:

deny the opportunity of theft. keep ur doors, lockers, drawers, cupboards locked at all times. even if u're going to the toilet, keep it locked! make sure ur roommate understands this too.

the other thing is to not make urself a target. dont flash ur handphone around or parading ur ipod or laptop around. people cant make u a target if they dont know what u have. to me, the safest place to be is to live next door to a person who has all the fancy stuffs. why? bcoz they're a bigger target than i am biggrin.gif.
azarimy
post Jun 21 2008, 05:45 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kbyao @ Jun 21 2008, 09:04 AM)
I got my tie.
It looks nice. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i think he meant UTM tie, the maroon tie with UTM logo on it.
azarimy
post Jun 22 2008, 12:23 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(tboonc @ Jun 21 2008, 03:46 PM)
so we have to wear the tie provided?

n will they provide us long sleeve batik or i have to get my own?
u need to wear those ties only during orientation. if u join the student body, u might get to wear it again. other than that, no, u're not required to wear them.

not sure about the batik though.
azarimy
post Jun 22 2008, 02:36 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(TzeHu| @ Jun 21 2008, 06:23 PM)
hai..
i got an offer of architecture in landscape in UTM, but originally i want the pure architecture
really really disappointed..really
i wanna change course
do u think its possible?
anyone?please give me hope......
change into architecture? i doubt it. UTM's architecture has one of the lowest intake ratio compared to other courses, except for probably civil and electrical engineering. meaning that out of 15 applicants, only one gets a place. but u should try to apply since it's within the same faculty. someone might decline and leave an empty space for u.
azarimy
post Jun 22 2008, 03:41 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(DeltaPanthera @ Jun 21 2008, 07:28 PM)
Saw in the first page of this thread, you said you're taking management too. Technological or marketing?  biggrin.gif
I heard that Mondays also need to wear tie?
need to wear formal, but not necessarily the UTM tie. i'm not sure of the most recent directives though... havent been back in UTM for 2 years now.
azarimy
post Jun 22 2008, 05:14 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(DeltaPanthera @ Jun 21 2008, 08:48 PM)
Campus map with detailed maps of all colleges:
http://web.utm.my/campus_map/
if u look at the grid in the map, each square takes between 6-8minutes to cross (from corner to corner). so u can estimate ur walking time from one place to the other. do trace ur way using the roads, though, coz most of the empty spaces are impassable (ravine, hills, thick shrubs, rivers etc).
azarimy
post Jun 22 2008, 04:06 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(TzeHu| @ Jun 22 2008, 03:48 AM)
yup
some1 did...decline
so that means i still got chances la?
great!
but...people advise me to juz go on wif this course
wat do u think?
i think u should go on with the course. the landscape school is higher rated in the world compared and more recognized than the architecture school.
azarimy
post Jun 22 2008, 07:44 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kbyao @ Jun 22 2008, 11:41 AM)
The booklet write there need wor..
At check list there = ="
U stay at where wor?
4 hours? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
4 hours drive should be quite standard if u're driving from KL or selangor. the fastest i've driven from shah alam to skudai is slightly less than 3 hours.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:00 AM