Samsung Samsung OMNIA :: SGH-i900, omni u..can make the world seem bright..
Aug 5 2008, 10:39 PM
1,453 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
impressive ... nice design thought
Aug 5 2008, 11:55 PM
116 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: PJ |
QUOTE hisel Posted Yesterday, 09:32 PM Gee, I like black more.. It seems like Samsung will offer a new color for the i900 Omnia. The 16GB version of the Windows Mobile powerhorse will have a white back panel as an option. The front panel of the Omnia will stay the same and the changes will only apply to the battery cover. This post has been edited by aero: Aug 6 2008, 12:10 AM |
Aug 6 2008, 01:12 AM
151 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: PJ |
Agreed with you aero. haha. But is'nt it a good thing that they are offering different colour.
Aug 6 2008, 01:33 AM
995 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: FIZ.BY.P |
Anyone of you still getting it after knowing the price?
For me 16GB for 2999 is a too steep. If really needs to fork out 3K, I might as well put 200 more to get a Touch Pro. This post has been edited by TYK: Aug 6 2008, 01:34 AM |
Aug 6 2008, 08:19 AM
143 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 5 (Bernama) -- Samsung Electronics Co Ltd is confident of its Malaysian unit, Samsung Malaysia Electronics Sdn Bhd, selling 15,000 units monthly of its newly-launched mobile phone, Samsung Omnia.
Its vice-president, sales and marketing group Asia and Oceania(mobile device division telecommunication network business), Cho Hong-Sik said the target was achievable despite the current economic challenges. "This is because when we launched the phone in Singapore on June 16,we sold 15,000 units within a month and in such a small market," he told reporters after launching the Samsung Omnia today. He said with the launch of the Samsung Omnia or the SGH-i900 model,Samsung Malaysia is on track to achieve the target of winning more than 40 percent of the mobile phone market share in three years time from the current 20 percent. The Samsung Omnia is available in 8GB and 16GB at the retail price of RM2,799 and RM2,999 respectively. Among its many features is that the Samsung Omnia gives users a mobile extension to the personal computer experience, with access to MS Office documents such as PowerPoint,Excel and Word. -- BERNAMA hahaha, 15000 per month har, dont mimpi la, if samsung remain this price i think 1000 per month also susah |
Aug 6 2008, 09:03 AM
Yeah, the price really expensive. But I really like the phone. That why I still considering..... The target set by the samsung really high. I do not think they will achieve the target but they know that no other phone that can match the phone features, perhaps that y they make it high price.
Aug 6 2008, 09:11 AM
5,172 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Equine Park |
QUOTE(hisel @ Aug 6 2008, 08:19 AM) KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 5 (Bernama) -- Samsung Electronics Co Ltd is confident of its Malaysian unit, Samsung Malaysia Electronics Sdn Bhd, selling 15,000 units monthly of its newly-launched mobile phone, Samsung Omnia. so if the brand isnt samsung but HTC itself, i wonder that would be your quote.Its vice-president, sales and marketing group Asia and Oceania(mobile device division telecommunication network business), Cho Hong-Sik said the target was achievable despite the current economic challenges. "This is because when we launched the phone in Singapore on June 16,we sold 15,000 units within a month and in such a small market," he told reporters after launching the Samsung Omnia today. He said with the launch of the Samsung Omnia or the SGH-i900 model,Samsung Malaysia is on track to achieve the target of winning more than 40 percent of the mobile phone market share in three years time from the current 20 percent. The Samsung Omnia is available in 8GB and 16GB at the retail price of RM2,799 and RM2,999 respectively. Among its many features is that the Samsung Omnia gives users a mobile extension to the personal computer experience, with access to MS Office documents such as PowerPoint,Excel and Word. -- BERNAMA hahaha, 15000 per month har, dont mimpi la, if samsung remain this price i think 1000 per month also susah u are just biased with brands. When HTC came out with their T.Diamond at RM2799, people still buying it until there is not enought stock to cater but when Samsung comes out a bigger screen, memory and battery with a same price and you say "if samsung remain this price i think 1000 per month also susah". Mind you, Samsung is targeting 15000units for whole malaysia, not KL alone. |
Aug 6 2008, 09:14 AM
488 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: tokyo,osaka,malaysia |
gotcha you're right bro seaedge i am still waiting for my ommmmniaa...
Aug 6 2008, 10:33 AM
13 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Something is wrong here... If Singapore is selling at SGD 960 (RM2279) for a 16GB Omnia, why in Malaysia we are getting at RM2999?
We are paying 31.6% higher for the same thing. I am wondering what is Samsung's pricing strategy. It's just across the causeway between Malaysia and Singapore. My suggestion, let's sit and wait until the price goes down nearer to Singapore price. If there is no volume, I wonder will Samsung do something with the Malaysia pricing to acheive the 15,000 unit per month volume! |
Aug 6 2008, 10:48 AM
243 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: PJ selangor |
malaysia basically everythings more expensive then the world ... so no argue there ... i already ask my fren to get my omnia from sg ... sgd980 for 16gig ( i think i got it expensive then you guys at 960 ahahaha ... )
This post has been edited by peeky: Aug 6 2008, 10:48 AM |
Aug 6 2008, 11:20 AM
926 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
How about us paying just 1000 bucks for Omnia? Obviously most of us wouldn't hesitate to get it.
That's what Singaporeans are paying for. Salaries are about the same, but most things are cheaper there. 15000 units is possible for them |
Aug 6 2008, 11:45 AM
aiyo guys, can't compare dollar to dollar la. It is the fact that sg ppl buy their phone much cheaper. If you really want, u should blame our G for we need to pay more item.
Aug 6 2008, 12:58 PM
6,317 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
welcome to bolehland where u pay everything extra...
btw, this phone is seriously a major threat to all the other manufacturer out there |
Aug 6 2008, 01:04 PM
995 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: FIZ.BY.P |
QUOTE(peeky @ Aug 6 2008, 10:48 AM) malaysia basically everythings more expensive then the world ... so no argue there ... i already ask my fren to get my omnia from sg ... sgd980 for 16gig ( i think i got it expensive then you guys at 960 ahahaha ... ) Peeky, when you got the phone from Singapore, I have few questions:1. Most importantly, does it have international warranty? 2. Are Singapore units supported by local Samsung dealers, like ROM updates and stuff? 3. Finally, when you take the phone out, how is the Singapore Government Service Tax works? I am not sure about this. |
Aug 6 2008, 01:13 PM
2,084 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(TYK @ Aug 6 2008, 01:04 PM) Peeky, when you got the phone from Singapore, I have few questions: I asked SE and Nokia and there is no international warranty here. Its all local SG warranty onli. I decide to get my SE G900 back home though its roughly RM100 more.1. Most importantly, does it have international warranty? 2. Are Singapore units supported by local Samsung dealers, like ROM updates and stuff? 3. Finally, when you take the phone out, how is the Singapore Government Service Tax works? I am not sure about this. If you want to claim GST, you'll need to look for a shop that participate in the GST refund programme. You can't just buy a phone anywhere and claim later. GST claim only work for air traveller (i.e. you claim at Changi Airport). I saw a GST refund counter @ Sim Lin square but i dunno if they refund on the spot you still to get your refund @ airport. I was told only air traveller. Bottom line... if you gonna stay @ SG for an extended period, then its worth getting it here. Otherwise, you'll take the risk with warranty. |
Aug 6 2008, 01:35 PM
488 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: tokyo,osaka,malaysia |
good news every one the samsung omnia stock is already here just get a call from the samsung authorised asking to collect the phone by tonight
Aug 6 2008, 02:09 PM
243 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: PJ selangor |
QUOTE(TYK @ Aug 6 2008, 01:04 PM) Peeky, when you got the phone from Singapore, I have few questions: actually1. Most importantly, does it have international warranty? 2. Are Singapore units supported by local Samsung dealers, like ROM updates and stuff? 3. Finally, when you take the phone out, how is the Singapore Government Service Tax works? I am not sure about this. just buy the phone ... take it out of the box ... and use it on the way home la ... they cant charge u for something ur using ... the updates and stuff ... i dont know ... basically just go back to sg and do it since i travel there often ... tax ... er. ..y i have to pay tax ... alot of my frens buy from sg and bring back home and use .. no one said anything about tax ... |
Aug 6 2008, 02:23 PM
13 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(peeky @ Aug 6 2008, 02:09 PM) tax ... er. ..y i have to pay tax ... alot of my frens buy from sg and bring back home and use .. no one said anything about tax ... Peeky, you got it wrong. You no need to pay tax, but claim back the tax (GST) from Singapore government. It's 7% of the purchase price.So if you are paying SGD 970 for your Omnia, you can get SGD 67.90 back from Singapore. So meaning, net net you only pay SGD 902.10 for your Omnia. But of course, you need to meet the criteria of GST, i.e. the shop is a participating retailer, you are a tourist (not Singaporean) etc... Check it out at: http://www.visitsingapore.com/publish/stbp...pping_tips.html Added on August 6, 2008, 2:35 pm QUOTE(ericchan @ Aug 6 2008, 01:35 PM) good news every one the samsung omnia stock is already here just get a call from the samsung authorised asking to collect the phone by tonight ericchan, must be very exciting for you. Tonight you can play with Omnia all night long... Do let us know your 'fisrt hand experience' tomorrow. This post has been edited by jazzpg: Aug 6 2008, 02:37 PM |
Aug 6 2008, 02:40 PM
4,707 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: where there everywhere |
QUOTE(demio121 @ Aug 6 2008, 01:13 PM) I asked SE and Nokia and there is no international warranty here. Its all local SG warranty onli. I decide to get my SE G900 back home though its roughly RM100 more. wat u c 970 is including the 7% gst on how to get gst rebate is only if u r air traveller those coming in tru jb will not get gst relieve. If you want to claim GST, you'll need to look for a shop that participate in the GST refund programme. You can't just buy a phone anywhere and claim later. GST claim only work for air traveller (i.e. you claim at Changi Airport). I saw a GST refund counter @ Sim Lin square but i dunno if they refund on the spot you still to get your refund @ airport. I was told only air traveller. Bottom line... if you gonna stay @ SG for an extended period, then its worth getting it here. Otherwise, you'll take the risk with warranty. u bring to msia if u get checked by customs wif full box n every u may b taxed by msia gov however if jus the phone n the accessorise no prob |
Aug 6 2008, 02:45 PM
hey, what is the package offer in SG? got pouch or not?
| Change to: | 0.0273sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:42 AM |