128 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

zirconium
post Feb 17 2011, 04:39 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(sreeking @ Feb 15 2011, 11:48 AM)
Hi, i have a dilemma oops.gif
whether to do STPM or Alvl
i knw both have pros and cons.... like
One is cheaper than the other.
While another is well recognised.

I planned to LLB after my stpm/alvel. Place of interest: NUS or UoL(external)
I just finished my SPM. Now waiting for results. So im unsure what to choose. Anyone can help me in this?hands.gif
Do Alevel, it's not that i look down on STPM students, it's just that if you have the opportunity to make your education background prettier in your resume, why not ?

Moreover people you know when you are studying in Alevel is different provided that you choose the correct local or overseas private university.
tracyjz
post Feb 17 2011, 06:34 PM

-Jay Jay-
1,059 posts

hello, any help students here? i wish to transfer to cardiff at my 2nd year of law degree(from Help uni). What are the minimum requirements of first year? Do they require for Alevel result? I really need an informative answer. Thanks. smile.gifsmile.gif

This post has been edited by tracyjz: Feb 17 2011, 06:35 PM
SihamZhai
post Feb 17 2011, 06:48 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

I think you need 50% minimum for first year. They look at your A-levels results as well. Best check with your head of department. I'm from BAC and we do not need A levels to transfer
jhong
post Feb 17 2011, 10:24 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(tracyjz @ Feb 17 2011, 10:34 AM)
hello, any help students here? i wish to transfer to cardiff at my 2nd year of law degree(from Help uni). What are the minimum requirements of first year? Do they require for Alevel result? I really need an informative answer. Thanks. smile.gifsmile.gif
You'll need an average of minimum 50% in your first year only but I dont think they'll take A-levels result into account though:)

It is best that you reach Cardiff on time so that you wont be missing out any induction programs offered by them. Importantly, you will be required to sit for their English test during the first few days of the induction programs and if you failed to reach their expectation, you'll then be called to attend their English course.

Bear in mind for second year transfer, you'll have to take 5 subjects in order to fulfill 120credit hours as its compulsory to take Tort at 20credits. If you think you cant cope with 5 subjects, perhaps it'd be great for you to ask if the same applies to some other universities and have a comparison.

Good luck biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jhong: Feb 19 2011, 10:25 AM
sreeking
post Feb 22 2011, 04:26 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(zirconium @ Feb 17 2011, 04:39 PM)
Do Alevel, it's not that i look down on STPM students, it's just that if you have the opportunity to make your education background prettier in your resume, why not ?

Moreover people you know when you are studying in Alevel is different provided that you choose the correct local or overseas private university.
thanks man... blush.gif
pwncake
post Feb 27 2011, 11:19 PM

Validating
112 posts

QUOTE(zirconium @ Feb 17 2011, 04:39 PM)

I think overall A levels would provide a more well rounded approach to preparing for your degree, compared to STPM. Harder does not necessarily mean better students.

Also, if you want to do law, I suggest you take sciences as your subjects, skip the humanities subjects ( sociology or econs excluded - they are solid subjects). It's makes a huge difference in preparing you for the vigourous legal training ahead.
sreeking
post Feb 28 2011, 10:13 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(pwncake @ Feb 27 2011, 11:19 PM)
I think overall A levels would provide a more well rounded approach to preparing for your degree, compared to STPM. Harder does not necessarily mean better students.

Also, if you want to do law, I suggest you take sciences as your subjects, skip the humanities subjects ( sociology or econs excluded - they are solid subjects). It's makes a huge difference in preparing you for the vigourous legal training ahead.
oww... i dont understand why you suggest me to take science subject instead humanities subjects... icon_question.gif
hopefully you can shed some light.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sreeking: Feb 28 2011, 10:21 AM
Beth79
post Feb 28 2011, 05:04 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(pwncake @ Feb 27 2011, 11:19 PM)

sorry, pwncake, i have to disagree. i'm not a science student- took various art subjects for SPM and pre uni. didnt hurt me in law school.

This post has been edited by Beth79: Feb 28 2011, 05:05 PM
TSschizophrenic
post Feb 28 2011, 07:20 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

I'm a science student. :-)
sreeking
post Mar 1 2011, 12:53 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Feb 28 2011, 07:20 PM)
I'm a science student. :-)
im from science stream too... took all those killing subjects shakehead.gif bio+physics+chem+addmath= rclxub.gif
alvynlee
post Mar 2 2011, 02:37 AM

I am gonna study SAM tis 21st
and I wanna be a lawyer
but I dunnoe wat subjects should I choose in SAM
Can any1 give me some suggestion?THank you!
KiyoshiJoz
post Mar 2 2011, 04:05 AM

80 posts

is SAM still recognised by the BAR council?

last I heard they were undergoing some changes.. A Levels is the only course where it is 99.9% confirmed to be accepted regardless of any changes done...

btw will the information on the first page be updated? rclxms.gif

some of the info is pretty outdated notwithstanding the fact that this thread is very very old smile.gif
we should update some of the info so as to reflect current situation

maybe include Australian BAR (and the major states)

cuz i need that info paiseh doh.gif
Seremban_2
post Mar 4 2011, 03:12 PM

1,491 posts

Hello Guys,

I am part timer for law student at brickfield. I got a question to ask you and hope you all can help me with it.

My SPM english I got 5C and obviously I need to take another course call IELTS inorder me to get into UK to study for my 3rd year Law.

Does anyone know where is the nearest institute to take up this course and I am from Seremban? Does Nilai have any Institute?

Prefer cheap fees.

alvynlee
post Mar 8 2011, 01:15 PM

I think Inti nilai got de course but i dunnoe you can take it or not as you r not their student><
SihamZhai
post Mar 8 2011, 03:04 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Mar 4 2011, 03:12 PM)
Hello Guys,

I am part timer for law student at brickfield. I got a question to ask you and hope you all can help me with it.

My SPM english I got 5C and obviously I need to take another course call IELTS inorder me to get into UK to study for my 3rd year Law.

Does anyone know where is the nearest institute to take up this course and I am from Seremban? Does Nilai have any Institute?

Prefer cheap fees.
Check with BAC if they have IELTS for part timers. I know I have to retake mine nxt year so that I can qualify for my BAR
sreeking
post Mar 13 2011, 10:40 AM

211 posts

What is IELTS? Is it another exam like CLP?
Hikari0307
post Mar 13 2011, 11:47 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(sreeking @ Mar 13 2011, 10:40 AM)
What is IELTS? Is it another exam like CLP?
lol ^^"
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IELTS
joecashflow
post Mar 13 2011, 10:27 PM

27 posts

Guys, IELTs you can take it at the British Council Malaysia. It is a very simple test just to make sure you can follow basic English and communicate enough to get you by. But I think you need to score at least a 7 or 6.5 out of 9 for British Uni?

http://www.britishcouncil.org/learning-ielts.htm
Hikari0307
post Mar 13 2011, 10:39 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(joecashflow @ Mar 13 2011, 10:27 PM)
Guys, IELTs you can take it at the British Council Malaysia. It is a very simple test just to make sure you can follow basic English and communicate enough to get you by. But I think you need to score at least a 7 or 6.5 out of 9 for British Uni?

http://www.britishcouncil.org/learning-ielts.htm
a 6.5 or 7 overall is not hard to achieve really.

Most unis will usually want a minimum of 6.0 or 6.5 overall for most courses and usually the requirement will be a bit higher for Law maybe a 7.0 or something then would probably ask for a minimum 6.5 or something for writing.
SihamZhai
post Mar 14 2011, 01:16 AM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

You get to go to UK with 7... thats for sure. But big uni's like Oxbridge require 8 or a minimum 7.5. To do your BAR in the UK, you need 7.5 average and 7.5 for all the modules

128 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:19 PM