9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

jhong
post Oct 18 2008, 04:30 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Oct 17 2008, 11:45 PM)
nod.gif
according to the newspaper i read from lor..NUS is listed there also as one of the uni's which r exempted from taking CLP. And of course NUS is damn hard to get into so good luck!
Yes , you dont need to take CLP if you graduated from NUS .
jhong
post Nov 2 2008, 11:39 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(coldblood @ Nov 2 2008, 09:31 PM)
THATS SPAM haha.
GOOD LUCKK.
Yes, but there are still lots of spammers here if you noticed . biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Anyway, thanks .
jhong
post Nov 5 2008, 12:05 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Nov 4 2008, 10:53 PM)
yes..

I did twinning program 1+2 actually... so i will advise u on this area.

The exposure r greater, in terms of ppl, knowledge, learning and so forth. You will be covering more dept in most subjects compared to what u study (say ur 1st or 2nd yr is in Malaysia). Of course u'd be spendin a whole lot more compared to just doing UOL.

Recognition, if twinning offers u a prestigious University go for it... it makes job hunting easier.

UOL (aka london ext) is also quite a well known paper, so i suggest u might want to take into consideration that if u were to go abroad make sure the degree cert on offer is at least at par with ur UOL degree.

I dont think i need to say much abt twinning, u've been bombarded left right and center what u can do while abroad.

I just highlight the small things that u might wanna take note.
May i know which university/where did u read law in uk ? Hows this twinning program benefit you in term on job hunting ?
jhong
post Nov 12 2008, 07:30 PM

685 posts

Guys and gurls , I gonna sit for English Legal System pAPer 1 tomorrow !!! Hopefully JP, SI , DL , PACE ACT , JURIES , JUDGES Wil come out ...

jhong
post Nov 13 2008, 07:09 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Nov 13 2008, 02:40 AM)
Good luck & all the best thumbup.gif
LOL....Finally , SI , DL and JURIES came out ,and i didnt really memories the points for juries .
The question requires me to write down the arguments for lay Magistrate and Juries in court .....

I think i answered SI and DL quite well , but i think i screwed up the JUries and Magistrate question !

I hope it will be fine . At least i answered all 3 questions and almost most of my friends answer only 2 ....
Worry about them lar....

Tomorrow is Law paper 2 turn ....

Hurray ! and left only Tort , COntract , and sociology paper 3 .....

and i am done !
jhong
post Nov 14 2008, 10:08 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Nov 14 2008, 05:19 AM)
u took AS and A2 together in 1 shot? hmm.gif
Yup .....
jhong
post Nov 14 2008, 05:21 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Nov 14 2008, 04:21 PM)
Oh icic..
best of luck ya? if u pass, u got so long time to enjoy or maybe find part-time job if u want because intake is only in Sept for law degree for UK ler
THanks. I just sat for Paper 2 today , the paper was okay . JP and criminal procedure .....
I THINK I did well in JP but crapped lots in criminal procedure which carries 10 marks .
20th and 21st NOV ! TORT AND CONTRACT !

U mean UOL program ???
UOL will only have their intake on Next year Sept ??
What ? I am think of getting enroll for UOL in January Next yr man .....TOO BAD .

This post has been edited by jhong: Nov 14 2008, 05:49 PM
jhong
post Nov 14 2008, 07:38 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Nov 14 2008, 06:14 PM)
enrol into where? if its BAC then they have a jan intake..
Really ? They have a jan intake ? Means i will register to UOL in Jan or i gotta wait till SEPT then only i'' get to register?

jhong
post Nov 15 2008, 02:39 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Nov 15 2008, 12:30 AM)
you can register with UOL at any time, though since you are doing so only in January, you will only be eligible to sit for the exams in May/June 2010. Check the website for details. The local colleges may have Jan intakes, though i reckon the pace will be rather slow or they may repeat stuff since for the Jan intake students, the time that they have until the main exams is probably enough to cover the syllabus twice over. i'd rather get a job for 8 mths and then enrol for the sept intake, if possible.
Wow....will only be eligible to sit for the exams in May/June 2010 !
Hais.....Is there any exams in Oct/Nov ?

jhong
post Nov 15 2008, 09:36 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Nov 15 2008, 09:22 PM)
for UOL, the exams are only in May and June, and to be eligible to sit for those exams you must register by sept/oct of the previous calendar year. Check the website for specific dates and details. The exams in oct/nov are for referrals etc. So if you were to register at, say BAC, in January 2009, you will only be eligible to sit for the May/June 2010 exams. That's a pretty long time before sitting for the main exam, and imo, you hardly need more than 3 mths to prepare for the inter exams, and even then some will beg to argue that even 3 mths is a lil too long.
Indeed , that's a very long time ..... 1 and a half yr if i register myself for JAN intake .
Anyway , thanks for your reply ! I appreciate it . smile.gif

jhong
post Nov 20 2008, 11:52 PM

685 posts

God ! I screwed 1 question for contract law today . I answered it but not well . Hais.....time matter still .

Tort law tomorrow !
Negligence , Private Nuisance ,Rylands v Fletcher , Trespass to land, Trespass to person , OLA .....

Hopefully Negligence , PN , OLA will come out tmr as thats my favourite topics .....Rylands is still okay if it come out though .

Huuu...Damn tension man !
jhong
post Nov 21 2008, 07:07 PM

685 posts

FINALLY I AM DONE with A-levels ! Today's paper was not bad . OLA , Negligence , TTL & Private Nuisance came out as what i expected .

My hand is damn pain right now for writing 16 pages in total today .

Result will be release on Jan08 ..... Yo!

jhong
post Nov 24 2008, 08:39 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Nov 22 2008, 01:34 PM)
Not that I m trying to discourage u or wat, writing a lot of pages wont guarantee an "A" ...I heard the standard gone up...and the marking styles are no longer as linear as previous years...
Dont worry . I understand and i am not hoping for an A though .
I write a lot just to emphasis that i've done my best this time and i'll accept any grade i get.
I just wanna get 2 passes and get into LLB , and of course , if i get better than that , that'll be great !
Thanks for your advise !
cheers !
jhong
post Dec 11 2008, 05:06 PM

685 posts

UOL degree is well known for its LLB and thats why im wondering why UOL LLB holders cant practice in Singapore? I mean the External program .
jhong
post Dec 20 2008, 12:12 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Dec 20 2008, 02:20 AM)
A-level in BAC and then UOL external in BAC also tongue.gif same as what u told me.. btw, how is UM UOL external program? good?
UM UOL External program ?
Are you saying UM Bachelor of Jurisprudence External program ?

jhong
post Dec 20 2008, 10:59 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Dec 20 2008, 01:19 PM)
no, in UM website i saw they have UOL external program too.

*wrong wrong, its not UOL external program. sorry. i guess local uni wont have UOL external program gua? btw, my bro keep asking me what so good with UOL external? why must study uol external? any other cannot? why why why?  shakehead.gif
Really ? Can u give us the link and we can have a look then .

Logically , they wont offer UOL External program as they can award a degree itself .

jhong
post Jan 2 2009, 03:52 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(onenightwonder @ Jan 2 2009, 02:33 AM)
i wanna ask if i wanted to take the double major programme like law with economics , law with buisness and management........  what is the advantages and disadvantages? n is it a good thing or a bad thing to take double major programme?? cos i dont understand wheter the 2 degree is in two different certificates,like law and economics with separate certificates or law and economics sharing the same certificate.....and will this affect my performance when i go for a job interview as a lawyer if i have 2 degree in one certificate...?
If im not mistaken , as long as the duration of your double major's duration is above 5 yrs , the Legal Qualification Board in Malaysia will recognise it and allow you to sit for CLP . Which means as long as you passed the CLP and got admitted to BAR , then you can become a lawyer . IMO , It indicates that you wouldn't have any problem when you go for a job interview as a lawyer . Your knowledge on other fields might add your creditabilty on your job interview.

This post has been edited by jhong: Jan 2 2009, 03:53 PM
jhong
post Jan 4 2009, 06:21 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jan 2 2009, 09:18 PM)
What is BA(Law) ?

Oxford and Cambridge offered this instead of LLB.
They offered BA(law)?
HOw abOUt noW ?
jhong
post Jan 5 2009, 04:13 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(ayie1984 @ Jan 5 2009, 12:44 PM)
Correct me if i'm wrong...

BA (Law) and LLB are of the same meaning, it means bachelor in law

LLB stands for Legum Baccalaureus - Latin words  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah , it should be the same , imo.
But , i am wondering whether it has any different with LLB though .

jhong
post Jan 7 2009, 07:33 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Jan 7 2009, 02:40 PM)
im going to take spm in 2009..
and law is one of the course that i have in my mind..
mmu law degree not recognise??
i read in the first post it is pending recognition by the qualifying board??
any news on that??
i want to go mmu and get my degree there..
Why you choose MMU ?

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0583sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:22 PM