128 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

alsree786
post May 1 2010, 01:08 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(overthemoon747 @ Apr 26 2010, 06:30 PM)
barrister-at-law=law degree+bvc+pupillage.am i rite?so if we choose to practise in msia later on,we do not have to do chambering again rite?i read it somewhere online that we have to repeat it and it totally freaked me out.cant seem to find that page animore tho.forgot where i'd seen it.so i nid u guys' help.lol.

btw,i'm tinking about doing law in australia and i realised that most students tend to go for a combined degree.does anyone know why it's more popular?
i initially planned to enrol in the LLB(4years) but the popularity of the 5yr combined degree makes me a little bit curious and i kinda wonder if i'm on the rite track.=)

If im not mistaken, for most universities in Australia, an LLB with Hons will take 4 years (the only one I know which is less is Bond). If that is so, taking another year, and with extra extra hard work you'll get 2 qualifications. Makes sense to me.

But if you do intend to return to Malaysia and practice, Imho I wouldn't take that route. It'll take you 2 more years to get admitted than a regular UK or Local grad. Yes, you may have another qualification, but I do think that law firms especially the big ones don't really give much for paper other than your LLB and a few directly relevant courses like LLM or the BPTC. But this is just a preliminary conclusion of mine. For example, I was told by a prominent tax lawyer, Partner at a 3 S firm in KL, that the fact I am an ACCA member was detrimental to my chances of being a tax lawyer for certain reasons. Furthermore, he mentioned that the LLM does not add as much value to a practitioner as the 1 year experience he may have forgone to take the course and this was reiterated by a fellow partner at the same firm. What matters more is the date of admission. I agree with his latter statement, but the former still puzzles me.

If you do intend to combine an LLB with something, do a business "like" qualification. In the legal world, you need a fair amount of knowledge on marketing, management and such (esp if you intend to have your own firm). That's why I strongly believe, the best Masters to supplement an LLB is an MBA (or something of that sort).

But of course if u intend to settle in Australia, go ahead with the 5 year prog.
wornbook
post May 1 2010, 07:12 PM

370 posts

Re double degrees - Aus/NZ LLBs have more non-law electives than UK LLBs. For most people, the logic is - since you'll be doing extra non-law papers anyway, why not put them towards another degree?

I believe some Aus unis make double degrees compulsory.

QUOTE(alsree786 @ May 1 2010, 01:08 PM)
If you do intend to combine an LLB with something, do a business "like" qualification. In the legal world, you need a fair amount of knowledge on marketing, management and such (esp if you intend to have your own firm). That's why I strongly believe, the best Masters to supplement an LLB is an MBA (or something of that sort).
In NZ, an LLB/BCom is very useful (esp in accounting, finance or economics) - many corporate law firms state that a business-related 2nd degree is an advantage. I understand it's the same in Australia.

But you don't necessarily have to limit yourself to a BCom.

Do note that a BSc is regarded highly if you wish to pursue a career in as a patents attorney/intellectual property. The technical/scientific know-how is an asset.

I'm speaking from an NZ/Aus point of view though.

neuroneuster
post May 2 2010, 03:35 PM

423 posts

hi. am so confused.
i receive an offer to study ASASI UNDANG-UNDANG in UITM Shah Alam.
Is it qualified? How's the job prospect?

thanks.
Hikari0307
post May 2 2010, 03:50 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(neuroneuster @ May 2 2010, 03:35 PM)
hi. am so confused.
i receive an offer to study ASASI UNDANG-UNDANG in UITM Shah Alam.
Is it qualified? How's the job prospect?
thanks.
what do you mean by "is it qualified?"
There's no job prospect for Asasi ^^"
That's just a foundation programme that will allow you to enter UiTM's Law Degree if you score good enough.
neuroneuster
post May 2 2010, 04:08 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ May 2 2010, 03:50 PM)
what do you mean by "is it qualified?"
There's no job prospect for Asasi ^^"
That's just a foundation programme that will allow you to enter UiTM's Law Degree if you score good enough.
sorry im not detailed.
if i continue my studies in UITM, even to master ...
should I get a good job after that?

Is UITM as great place to study LAW?

dave_dagame
post May 3 2010, 09:49 PM

15 posts

hey. i got the same course too. so, are u going??
nouruddines
post May 3 2010, 11:13 PM

236 posts

im a brickfields a-level law student..just want to ask..how to apply to study at gov U after i graduate my a-level?
neuroneuster
post May 4 2010, 05:45 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(dave_dagame @ May 3 2010, 09:49 PM)
hey.  i got the same course too. so, are u going??
yes i m going because im interested in law.
but my mind's not knowing really the subjects and their route.
anyway i guess i should do my best. :-)

i read somewhere that studying law in UiTM is for 3 years then will receive BLS.
We need to take 1 year more to get LLB so after that we can work.
( new to write law languages , enlighten me more )
ws_eva102
post May 5 2010, 12:23 AM

36 posts

hi there..
i need all of ur suggestions.i am still wondering whether should i take law as i have always heard that its tough and lots more like need to very argumentative and brave and etc.and for your information, i am a person who is very shy to talk or give out opinion.and as well as to say that my heart beats very fast whenever i was asked to talk in class...i am thinking to take law merely just because i have the good ability to memorize things and i did well in my SPM.i am not that sure i am 100% intrested in law...what shud i do ??i have wasted months to think what course shud i take... HELP!!

Added on May 5, 2010, 12:33 amand btw , is atc good for its a level?smile.gif

Added on May 5, 2010, 1:42 pmis anyone there to give me advises?? T.T

This post has been edited by ws_eva102: May 5 2010, 01:42 PM
alsree786
post May 6 2010, 12:29 AM

937 posts

QUOTE(ws_eva102 @ May 5 2010, 12:23 AM)
hi there..
i need all of ur suggestions.i am still wondering whether should i take law as i have always heard that its tough and lots more like need to very argumentative and brave and etc.and for your information, i am a person who is very shy to talk or give out opinion.and as well as to say that my heart beats very fast whenever i was asked to talk in class...i am thinking to take law merely just because i have the good ability to memorize things and i did well in my SPM.i am not that sure i am 100% intrested in law...what shud i do ??i have wasted months to think what course shud i take... HELP!!

Added on May 5, 2010, 12:33 amand btw , is atc good for its a level?smile.gif

Added on May 5, 2010, 1:42 pmis anyone there to give me advises?? T.T
Firstly, to do well in the LLB, you will need more than just a good memory. Memorizing facts and regurgitating does not go down well with LLB examiners i.e. your SPM way of studying does not work for LLB. You will need to analyse and argue facts well, effectively cite and use cases to support your arguments, and be ready to cricitise. A good command of language is important as well. It is not difficult...but u need some sort of passion for it otherwise you may get bored quite easily.

If you feel that you are too shy to give your opinions on matters etc, well then it depends on whether you intend to work on that during the course. Some ppl do improve their confidence during the LLB as they discuss and argue with their peers on issues. But I must say if you intend to practice in the future, no matter what field, you have to be able to speak well and not be shy. The introverts are seldom noticed and do not stand out.

ATC is a decent place to do ALE, and it can be done in 1 year. If you intend to keep your options open, I suggest going to a better college for A levels like Taylors or something of that sort and take your time with ALE. Do well in A levels and your options will be much wider. Dun rush if you're unsure whether law is what you want to do.
ws_eva102
post May 6 2010, 02:06 PM

36 posts

thanks for advising. yeah i agree with what u hv said.but right now i am veery afraid that i cant handle law sub as i don really understand what law its all about yet.and i might get bored with it?i am a person who lack of confidence..so do u think law is suitable for me?and btw, i don intend to go court that kind.i prefer paperworks..
so does that mean a level in atc isnt that good for its a level?
oh crap.i din do any research abt other colleges..i din apply any scholarship as well.and, i am afraid that its too late for me to do right now sad.gif
i spend months of relaxing.ow
alsree786
post May 6 2010, 06:29 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(ws_eva102 @ May 6 2010, 02:06 PM)
thanks for advising. yeah i agree with what u hv said.but right now i am veery afraid that i cant handle law sub as i don really understand what law its all about yet.and i might get bored with it?i am a person who lack of confidence..so do u think law is suitable for me?and btw, i don intend to go court that kind.i prefer paperworks..
so does that mean a level in atc isnt that good for its a level?
oh crap.i din do any research abt other colleges..i din apply any scholarship as well.and, i am afraid that its too late for me to do right now sad.gif
i spend months of relaxing.ow
it only takes a couple of days to find out information on the A level programme offered by all the main colleges in KL...considering you had months, well....

You dun really need to know what reading law subjects involve atm...you'll get the hang of it during 1st year. There is no guarantee that you wun get bored with it, that's really up to you. Maybe reading A level law books might help give u an insight. If you're a person who lacks confidence, any profession u take will be a prob, and even fields like business, marketing and so forth will not work for you unless you are confident in yourself. So work on that... I sincerely think that if you admit that you lack confidence, either work on it, or you'll face problems. IF you still think law is for you, take it, and use the opportunity to mingle with others to increase your confidence in your own abilities and what not. We can only advice on what we feel right or based on our experiences, but everything boils down to you and you alone...

A levels at ATC is so so la... If you want straight A's or aiming for something within that region, go to a better college. But ATC is among those that allow you to complete your A level in one year...
ws_eva102
post May 8 2010, 12:37 PM

36 posts

OKAY.i guess i need to change my attitude of being so no confident?just like what people say , dare to dream big, right?i will build my courage not to be coward anymore.so wad u think? where shud i go for my a level?ps: i cant afford to go taylors la icon_question.gif

Added on May 8, 2010, 1:22 pmhow about inti college?

This post has been edited by ws_eva102: May 8 2010, 01:22 PM
Seremban_2
post May 8 2010, 11:42 PM

1,491 posts

So many lawyers in the future. haiz.
blitz3r
post May 9 2010, 01:24 AM

QUOTE(ws_eva102 @ May 8 2010, 12:37 PM)
OKAY.i guess i need to change my attitude of being so no confident?just like what people say , dare to dream big, right?i will build my courage not to be coward anymore.so wad u think? where shud i go for my a level?ps: i cant afford to go taylors la icon_question.gif

Added on May 8, 2010, 1:22 pmhow about inti college?
hey, there are many options around especially for a levels... HELP UC may also be an option if price is a concern... Im currently doing my a levels to and exams will be nx week rclxub.gif ... if u are not sure about law than u can always take up law as a subject in a levels... can always drop if u find out its not your cup of tea and evaluate your other choices....

jz my 2 cents...=p

chelsh
post May 9 2010, 11:03 AM

124 posts

if you have tight budget, u can go to Methodist College too.
Good quality of teaching

haha just my two cents too =)
marathon_on
post May 9 2010, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(neuroneuster @ May 2 2010, 04:08 PM)
sorry im not detailed.
if i continue my studies in UITM, even to master ...
should I get a good job after that?

Is UITM as great place to study LAW?
What do you mean by getting a good job?

I took the ASASI programme way back in 2000, spent the next 3 years doing the degree programme and managed to enter the LL.B (Hons) programme (1 year). It was the best time of my life suffice to say.

Whether it will be a great place to study or not depends on you. You are in control of whether UiTM will be a great place to study Law.

The one thing that I was unhappy about studying law in UiTM was because I didnt have any Chinese and Indian mates to study with. It would have been a blast if the university had been multi racial. Other than that I cherish every moment I spent there.

If you manage to pass and get selected to enter the BLS programme try to participate in the student activities.

The Moot Club in UiTM is really excellent. In fact this year they nabbed the Jessup 2010 (Malaysia National Rounds 2010). Check them out at this website
http://mootclubuitm.blogspot.com/.

Be inspired!

This post has been edited by marathon_on: May 9 2010, 05:36 PM
ws_eva102
post May 10 2010, 12:59 PM

36 posts

i have search about methodist.its a good sch though..
but as for my result, i will get 50% tuition fee waiver only sad.gif whereas if i go atc will get 100% ..
cybershaun
post May 12 2010, 04:23 AM

64 posts

Anyone here doing the UK law degree transfer programme at Help? What's it like?
abbychan87
post May 14 2010, 02:24 PM

382 posts

any local university to study to become lawyer in future ?

128 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:22 AM