QUOTE(alsree786 @ Oct 30 2009, 10:52 AM)
well firstly, mr xxx would need to complete pupillage before he becomes a "lawyer". Imho, little justification to take CLP without going thru the next step and getting admitted. During pupillage, he'll probably have to take a massive pay cut for the duration of pupillage since this must be completed full time whilst having no other employment (unless with the Bar's consent) tho this can be easily circumvented.
It would be a good advantage, tho I dun really get your question of "in term of money perspective"? Well if you mean would he make alot of money, that boils down to how good he is, how good his business skills are and how good his networks are. To start off your own firm, you will need the three criteria mentioned above to succeed (dosh aside).
But generally I would say having an Accounting and Law combination works out well if you know what your focus is on. Your work must require knowledge and skill that you will have obtained from doing the said courses. No point doing accounting and law and then specializing in say financial accounting or Criminal Law/Land Law/Constitutional Law. Will help if you're in Audit and Compliance or Company law/Taxation Law etc. But juggling two separate professions may be hard if one intends to become a practicing accountant and lawyer per se. As i said engage in work that harnesses skills and knowledge that can be acquired from both courses.
If passing LLB and CLP in 4 yrs is deemed lucky, well....then good luck to all current students incl myself.
*Will add on to this when time permits
alright thank q. This is a real case. but the fact was this mr xxx obtained a MBA after getting Bachelor of Accounting. Then after few yrs working in accounting field, he study law... til now clp holder... i wonder how it can make sense. I think if mr xxx capable then he may have 2 qualifications? In my view, maybe no1 will be clearer than him about company, contract, tax law in a big firm that deal with both accounting & lawIt would be a good advantage, tho I dun really get your question of "in term of money perspective"? Well if you mean would he make alot of money, that boils down to how good he is, how good his business skills are and how good his networks are. To start off your own firm, you will need the three criteria mentioned above to succeed (dosh aside).
But generally I would say having an Accounting and Law combination works out well if you know what your focus is on. Your work must require knowledge and skill that you will have obtained from doing the said courses. No point doing accounting and law and then specializing in say financial accounting or Criminal Law/Land Law/Constitutional Law. Will help if you're in Audit and Compliance or Company law/Taxation Law etc. But juggling two separate professions may be hard if one intends to become a practicing accountant and lawyer per se. As i said engage in work that harnesses skills and knowledge that can be acquired from both courses.
If passing LLB and CLP in 4 yrs is deemed lucky, well....then good luck to all current students incl myself.
*Will add on to this when time permits
Oct 30 2009, 11:37 AM

0.0230sec