University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

z21j
post Oct 30 2009, 04:24 AM

1,307 posts

xxx was a chartered accountant registered in malaysian institution of accountancy. Later, he found that most of the accounting document (ie contract) need lawyer authorization. He went and study law. A luck for him, he pass inter, part 1, part 2 and clp without repeat in approximately 4 years. So, he is a lawyer and at the same time an accountant as well... Izit a good advantage for him? In term of money perspective? In term of job specialization? In term of starting a law and accountancy firm?
z21j
post Oct 30 2009, 11:37 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Oct 30 2009, 10:52 AM)
well firstly, mr xxx would need to complete pupillage before he becomes a "lawyer". Imho, little justification to take CLP without going thru the next step and getting admitted. During pupillage, he'll probably have to take a massive pay cut for the duration of pupillage since this must be completed full time whilst having no other employment (unless with the Bar's consent) tho this can be easily circumvented.

It would be a good advantage, tho I dun really get your question of "in term of money perspective"? Well if you mean would he make alot of money, that boils down to how good he is, how good his business skills are and how good his networks are. To start off your own firm, you will need the three criteria mentioned above to succeed (dosh aside).

But generally I would say having an Accounting and Law combination works out well if you know what your focus is on. Your work must require knowledge and skill that you will have obtained from doing the said courses. No point doing accounting and law and then specializing in say financial accounting or Criminal Law/Land Law/Constitutional Law. Will help if you're in Audit and Compliance or Company law/Taxation Law etc. But juggling two separate professions may be hard if one intends to become a practicing accountant and lawyer per se. As i said engage in work that harnesses skills and knowledge that can be acquired from both courses. 

If passing LLB and CLP in 4 yrs is deemed lucky, well....then good luck to all current students incl myself.  biggrin.gif
*Will add on to this when time permits
alright thank q. This is a real case. but the fact was this mr xxx obtained a MBA after getting Bachelor of Accounting. Then after few yrs working in accounting field, he study law... til now clp holder... i wonder how it can make sense. I think if mr xxx capable then he may have 2 qualifications? In my view, maybe no1 will be clearer than him about company, contract, tax law in a big firm that deal with both accounting & law
z21j
post Dec 10 2009, 11:57 AM

1,307 posts

hi all ex-uol llb intermediate student. Im finding that which topic should be prevail in PUBLIC LAW... I mean those subject should be given extra effort to pass this subject. Basically, is the update news important in putting in the exams..? Im a bit scare when were told "never run out of the fact" and "originality"... these 2 "conditions" always confusing me... for me, originality is sth could not be found in the book... bt sth could not be found in the book will be irrelevant/run out of the fact... So difficult... any advice? Im too tired to study PUBLIC LAW right now, I hope to get the "essence" from the forumer b4 i can reli start with it... Thanks
z21j
post Jan 25 2010, 11:18 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(rayie101 @ Jan 25 2010, 09:48 PM)
Thanks for your advices,Laguna...
It really gives me a helping hand in choosing college ...
Frankly speaking...
I don't have a rich family background...
So I heard that BAC and ATC are the colleges that offer LLB (UOL) and the fees are affordable,so I did'nt even think about Taylor and HELP.
I had check that their fees are quite expensive nad I don't think my family can afford it,so I just hope that I can enter either ATC and BAC...
But,never mind thanks for your advices again ...
Ya.. I had read about the post that about MMU,although their degree is only recognise in Malaysia and commanwealth country,but the student who graduated from MMU is exempted from CLP exam,this is the latest news that I get from the counsellor of MMU and I think it is truth.This is a very big advantage because the CLP exam is very hard to pass ....
Yea,I had taken the career test...
My result showed that the area I interested is either law or business ...
Haha...
It is quite accurate !!!
Erm...
Which college are u studying ?
still have nirwana, stamford colllege and mentari school of law running uol llb; not only bac and atc.
Then, y not have a try in STPM? cos... if u r so lucky, u will get accepted in UM faculty of law. so called tuition fees aso very cheap + exempted from taking CLP.
Career test not accurate 1. Ask any psycho degree holder. So called "interesting occupation".... is just ended up as dream. Normally ur 2nd best result from career test would be ur job in life.

z21j
post Mar 13 2010, 11:58 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(Are_keem @ Mar 13 2010, 09:15 PM)
may I ask, beside lawyer, what's the other job scope / prospect for law graduates? i'm SPM 2009 students and I was forced by my parents to study law sweat.gif
OMG... this era still have parents forcing their children to learn sth they dislike... so sad.
z21j
post Mar 19 2010, 05:58 PM

1,307 posts

I heard that to take CLP u must own A-LEVEL or STPM or Malaysian Matriculation....

z21j
post May 18 2010, 05:25 PM

1,307 posts

Likely fail in uol inter public law... Knowing what is Parliamentary Std Act 2009 about through recent development. Yet, I wrote the whole PS answer because affected by the sentence "parliamentary SOVEREIGNTY is self-regulation."... I simply said PSA2009 was enacted to challege parliamentary sovereignty... then laid down all the PS challenges by saying... "not only PSA09 challenge the sovereignty... then..."... any1 made the same mistake as me?
z21j
post Sep 19 2010, 02:20 AM

1,307 posts

Sorry to ask some personal questions here regarding UOL LLB Part1.

I am a part-time student but I eventually choose to take Scheme A after passing my Inter at the 1st attempt.

So, I am required to take 1 optional paper in stead. Many ppl suggested me to take evidence but for me I heard a lot of failure as well.

My questions r..
a) Whether I should take evidence this year (I was actually planned to take evidence in part2); consider also my other optional paper will be EU, Succession, Conflict
b) Part1 is the deciding year, I know it is very heavy and therefore I hope to hear some "strategies" advise from the experienced forumers.

Yea. I am not interested in CLP at this point of moment, so whether or not to take evidence should have no difference/advantage for me in CLP. I just wish to get a law degree to supplement with my BAcc.

Thank you.

z21j
post Sep 19 2010, 07:48 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Sep 19 2010, 04:01 AM)
Firstly, what do you mean by "consider also my other optional paper will be EU, Succession, Conflict"? Are these the options available to you?

Secondly, if you're not bothered about the CLP, then there are only three reasons why you would want to pursue a particular option:
i) interest
ii) relevancy to what you do
iii) ease

I am unsure about Evidence, but relatively, amongst the four subjects you mentioned which I bolded, succession would probably be the easiest to score followed by probably conflicts. EU is a toughie to score imo.

In terms of relevancy, well, commercial and company law should be something you shud consider to especially the latter.
alsree786, I appreciated your advice. Yes, those subjects that u bolded are my choice for optional paper, whether to take it now or in Part2.

Yes, interest should come first b4 relevancy. I know both commercial and company law are pretty much relevant with BAcc. Probably I will drop Evidence for Company law, since CLP is not my concern. Thx for the advice again.
z21j
post May 7 2011, 11:43 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ May 5 2011, 06:05 AM)
You're most welcome ! All the best.....
Also, wishing everyone here good luck in the forthcoming exams !! smile.gif
Hope i'll get through this time too.
Good Luck 1st paper Juris.
z21j
post May 7 2011, 07:08 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ May 7 2011, 02:52 PM)
Thanks. My first paper would be the very lovely EU law..... >.<
Oh. U r doing Scheme B? very bulky EU law. Good Luck anyway.
z21j
post May 10 2011, 01:07 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(kassangtara @ May 9 2011, 07:14 PM)
hello everybody.i got a question,if anybody know please help me~
i just register lower six today.i decide to take bachelor of laws after stpm.
what subject is necessary to take in stpm for llb?
Doesnt matter. 2 principles (A-Level or equivalent) or 2 passes (STPM or equivalent) is sufficient.

Added on May 10, 2011, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(sreeking @ May 10 2011, 11:57 AM)
What is the difference between Scheme A and Scheme B for University of London International Programs?? rolleyes.gif
Scheme A - take 4 papers in an academic year. Get LLB in 3 Years*.
Scheme B - take 3 papers in an academic year. 4 Years*.

*Assuming you pass your exams every year without fail.

This post has been edited by z21j: May 10 2011, 01:10 PM
z21j
post Jun 12 2011, 01:33 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(yunghui @ Jun 11 2011, 11:21 PM)
for llb studies, atc or bac better???confusing........
Aiyo, whichever is better really depends on ur perception. I believe that both provide world-class education just that how much a student can absorb the essence. Do more survey is true.
I do my llb as private candidate, but I did read the material from atc and bac. As far as I concern, bac notes is easier to understand (even you miss the class) but I should say atc note more details. No idea about the lecturer there, so cant give comment but I believe they must be dedicated. smile.gif
z21j
post Jul 13 2011, 09:50 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(balakumarr @ Jul 12 2011, 12:54 PM)
what is the job scope of being a solicitor / conveyancing lawyer ?
can i become one of them if i'm extremely introvert ?
"EXTREMELY"... sweat.gif

If NORMAL introvert, conveyancing lawyer or law consultant.
z21j
post Aug 18 2011, 06:26 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(qwerty123 @ Aug 18 2011, 12:00 PM)
just asking if it is possible for a science student to take law for a degree???
Yes, definitely possible. I was a pure science student before.

Added on August 18, 2011, 6:29 pm
QUOTE(kokcc @ Aug 18 2011, 05:48 PM)
Im form 4 this year.
And....I'm interested in LAW.
so...
wat should I do to improve myself for this course?
Actually, nothing could be improved during secondary school level. Right now, try to search for a study way which u r comfortable with and apply it in ur degree level.

By all means if u are good in English then it will be an advantage, but it does not means that if you poor in English you cannot take law. Get good/satisfactory result in SPM, strengthen your determination to study law, this is what you can do right now.

This post has been edited by z21j: Aug 18 2011, 06:29 PM
z21j
post Aug 19 2011, 12:25 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(qwerty123 @ Aug 18 2011, 07:06 PM)
^
was the transition from science to law difficult for you to cope with...
I find that to study law compared to science, law maybe easier. As science student, u cannot "goreng" with the fact but law is rather subjective and u can always include ur personal perception.

Overall, I find it fun. I believe many of the law undergrad were from science background b4 too.

Added on August 19, 2011, 12:26 pm
QUOTE(luminaryxi @ Aug 19 2011, 11:55 AM)
llb result is out ! anyone goin to atc for clp !
congratle, can c that u have passed ur exams. rclxms.gif This year result a lot surprises. (UOL)

This post has been edited by z21j: Aug 19 2011, 12:26 PM
z21j
post Aug 23 2011, 11:19 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(jamesbutron @ Aug 22 2011, 11:20 PM)
No problems in doing the LLB. But if you want to practice, you need a recognised pre u (A-levels, STPM and other recognised ones) to be a qualified person. Last time I checked, a diploma is not counted as a pre u for the purpose of fulfilling the LPQB requirements.
Correct, better double confirm with the CLP PIC if u really wanted to practice. As far as I concern, the recognised pre u are A-levels, STPM and Matriculation (Malaysia). If you dont have any of these, I doubt if u can enrol CLP class and to be a practicing lawyer.
z21j
post Aug 23 2011, 11:41 AM

1,307 posts

Erm, score subjects... Juris, IP, Tort, Family
Killer... Land, Evidence, Succession

Apply to me and few friends whom I know. Subjects that you think you can score pull you down.

Why CLP ATC not BAC? When is ATC CLP preview?

This post has been edited by z21j: Aug 23 2011, 11:42 AM
z21j
post Sep 30 2011, 10:52 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(takeshi99 @ Sep 29 2011, 06:50 PM)
What if I had a recognised Degree from IPTS and I only had SPM? Am I eligible for CLP??
1st Ques... before u get a recognised degree... u must have gone through some sort of pre-university programme such as STPM, UEC, Malaysian Matriculation, A-level... so... what did u do for ur pre-u? Other than those mentioned above, so far I never hear a successful case to qualify for CLP examination. Although in BAC website there stated AUSMAT, NZ bursaries.. etc see
http://www.bac.edu.my/ choose Programmes @BAC-->Postgrad Program --> CLP --> Entry Requirement

But I doubt if there is any successful case.

p/s O ya... exception.. working adult with relevant working experience. This happen to one of my fren.
z21j
post Dec 24 2011, 05:45 PM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(xuenn @ Dec 24 2011, 02:05 AM)
Hey guys! I've just finished my A-Levels this Oct & I wish that I can pass so that I can study law in the future. rclxms.gif  I'm very hesitating about which Uni should I proceed to when my result is out. I've already cancelled out Taylor & Help, I'm left with KDU/ATC/Inti. I studied my A-Levels in ATC  & I think it's a good school but I feel like changing into a new environment & study in KL instead. I know that all unis are good but the difference is whether taking UOL or UK twinning/ degree transfer. My dad could send me to UK at the 3rd year if I really want to but it is really worth to spend that 100K ? I still need to sit for CLP after coming back from UK, but what if I cant pass my CLP = cannot get the title, I'll waste that 100K. That's why my dad said why not taking the UOL (3 years local) & sit for CLP then BAR at UK. If fail CLP also didn't waste so much money since I study 3 years in local. Safer.

So  rclxub.gif . UOL programme is so hard man + need 2:1 to sit for CLP. Sigh. What should I do ? 2+1/3+0 ?  hmm.gif

Thanks for the help  smile.gif
I think CLP/BAR exam is an isolated professional certificate that it will never affect your degree status. "sit for CLP then BAR at UK" doesnt sound correct in the sense that a normal law grad would EITHER choose CLP OR BAR exam.

If you fail CLP, just re-sit if you want to practice. It will never affect your degree, be it obtained in Malaysia ("3+0") or oversea ("2+1").

Some people did UOL LLB, 3 years entirely in Malaysia then opt for BAR exams in UK.

So your "100k" (im not sure whether 1 year there is that expensive) only cover your final year in UK university. Once you get the status "degree holder"; you can come back Malaysia and take CLP exam. If you fail, you are still degree holder. If you pass, then you have to go for chambering (at least 9 mths) before you are qualify as the practicing lawyer.

0.0675sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:10 PM