126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

dishwasher
post Jan 9 2009, 05:41 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(-Kouichi- @ Jan 9 2009, 04:46 PM)
2)what if i don't want to use gundam markers for my panel lining??
i heard that you can use tamiya enamel paint to do the panel lining job?
thanks in advance^^
Use the 'wash' technique. Thin some grey/black paint, and then run it over the panel lines. Do a search on google.
-Kouichi-
post Jan 9 2009, 08:53 PM

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 9 2009, 05:41 PM)
Use the 'wash' technique. Thin some grey/black paint, and then run it over the panel lines. Do a search on google.
thx bro..but wad type of paint should i use?enamel or acrylic?or both also can be use?

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:54 pmso both tamiya surface primer also can be use for gunpla right?

This post has been edited by -Kouichi-: Jan 9 2009, 08:54 PM
boltguard
post Jan 9 2009, 10:00 PM

hey guys, just wanna ask here, is sinanju better off with flat or semi-gloss or gloss topcoat? tongue.gif
i noe most mono-eyes are better off with the super finish gloss candy sweat.gif sweat.gif
coz i'm about to make the final topcoat layer for my sinanju sweat.gif sweat.gif
just need some recommendations smile.gif
dishwasher
post Jan 9 2009, 10:07 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(-Kouichi- @ Jan 9 2009, 08:53 PM)
thx bro..but wad type of paint should i use?enamel or acrylic?or both also can be use?

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:54 pmso both tamiya surface primer also can be use for gunpla right?
Paint has different 'strenght'. Generally its lacquer, enamel, acrylic. If you use an enamel wash on acrylic, its gonna reactivate the acrylic paint and mess up your model. Acrylic however sucks as a wash because of the surface tension of water, so...

Go to Ace Hardware and buy a bottle of Future Floor Wax (55 ringgit I know cos I ran out and bought another bottle today). Paint your kit, let it dry, spray Future on it, let it dry, and then you can do an enamel wash without really worrying about paint reactivation. Remember to really thin your wash as well!

Oh, and yes, you can use tamiya primer. I'm so broke I use bosny automobile primer.
boltguard
post Jan 9 2009, 10:46 PM

btw, can tell me wut are those thingies in the shield sweat.gif sweat.gif , wut are they called? sweat.gif sweat.gif , and the white thing on the eye (i noe it's not real eyes ;p), and the small yellow thing on the chest part

next, is there any way to make the shield blade to be sharpen until so sharp wan? sweat.gif sweat.gif

wuts with the white thing between the booster pack? ;D, and how to fill in between the gundam 'ears'?, and how to make the GN drives longer? (it seems longer to me)

sry if i ask too much T_T, it's just that i wanna try modding with my own hands, gotta start trying now ;p, if possible, i need tutorials too T_T
-Kouichi-
post Jan 10 2009, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 9 2009, 10:07 PM)
Paint has different 'strenght'. Generally its lacquer, enamel, acrylic. If you use an enamel wash on acrylic, its gonna reactivate the acrylic paint and mess up your model. Acrylic however sucks as a wash because of the surface tension of water, so...

Go to Ace Hardware and buy a bottle of Future Floor Wax (55 ringgit I know cos I ran out and bought another bottle today). Paint your kit, let it dry, spray Future on it, let it dry, and then you can do an enamel wash without really worrying about paint reactivation. Remember to really thin your wash as well!

Oh, and yes, you can use tamiya primer. I'm so broke I use bosny automobile primer.
thx thx alot..so i can't just simple use paint wash technique for pane lining huh?
so generally most of the pros use the wash technique or gundam marker??
raidenVT
post Jan 10 2009, 10:41 PM

Hi guys, noob here, do y'all hav any idea of how to get tis kinda gold?
bazlit
post Jan 11 2009, 12:05 AM

83 posts

Please excuse me. Between V1 and V2, there are hundreds of pages to search and I just need a simple answer.

I'm a noob at gunpla-ing and I'm looking to flat coat my existing kits. I don't paint my kit (not that patient biggrin.gif) but I really like flat finishes so my question is will Mr Super Clear Flat coat ruin my existing decals? unsure.gif

A Yes or No with short explanation is greatly appreciated. icon_rolleyes.gif
em0ti0n
post Jan 11 2009, 05:06 AM

438 posts

hmm... was about to ask the same question from raidenVT

what number color of mr hobby color to mix in order to get gold metallic?

gold is no.9 and how to get the metallic parts?
erh_teo
post Jan 12 2009, 12:32 PM

QUOTE(boltguard @ Jan 9 2009, 10:46 PM)
btw, can tell me wut are those thingies in the shield  , wut are they called?   , and the white thing on the eye (i noe it's not real eyes ;p), and the small yellow thing on the chest part

yellow = masking tape (to temporarily stick that unglue part)
greenish/grey = putty/filler
white = probably just pla-plate card or bare plastic

next, is there any way to make the shield blade to be sharpen until so sharp wan?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

sand.. sand.. sand..
jap can do super sharp katana, this is really nothing... hehehe..
just slowly sand out the shape lor..

wuts with the white thing between the booster pack? ;D, and how to fill in between the gundam 'ears'?, and how to make the GN drives longer? (it seems longer to me)

sry if i ask too much T_T, it's just that i wanna try modding with my own hands, gotta start trying now ;p, if possible, i need tutorials too T_T
tak tau.. can't seem to identify that part u talking... sori...

Added on January 12, 2009, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(-Kouichi- @ Jan 10 2009, 05:52 PM)
thx thx alot..so i can't just simple use paint wash technique for pane lining huh?
so generally most of the pros use the wash technique or gundam marker??
paint wash technique talks about paint compatibilty.
as long as the type of paint for lining does "not react with underneath paint", u just need to clean up outside panel line for a clean crisp line. coz some tiny panel, pen tip cant go in so use wash.
nothing to do with pro or not blush.gif

QUOTE(raidenVT @ Jan 10 2009, 10:41 PM)
Hi guys, noob here, do y'all hav any idea of how to get tis kinda gold?
i saw the quote "sm-02", i guess it's a gunze's maziora paint, it's mixed with other paint so i'm not sure how it will look.
look at the paint code, try ur luck google see u'll the result not (pic)
can't help much cool2.gif

Added on January 12, 2009, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(bazlit @ Jan 11 2009, 12:05 AM)
Please excuse me. Between V1 and V2, there are hundreds of pages to search and I just need a simple answer.

I'm a noob at gunpla-ing and I'm looking to flat coat my existing kits. I don't paint my kit (not that patient biggrin.gif) but I really like flat finishes so my question is will Mr Super Clear Flat coat ruin my existing decals?  unsure.gif

A Yes or No with short explanation is greatly appreciated.  icon_rolleyes.gif
for mr.lazy.
use gunze water based can spray (blue label) is very safe and easy to use. only becarefull not spray too thick coz it will "frost" (got white patches like ice frost effect). i sugest u try on scrap plastic with spare decals to try on the 1st hand experience for best control.
grey label is solvent based, if u spray too thick it might affect ur decals.
my guess it Mr. Super Clear Flat is "grey label", so try get the blue one.
the pinned tutorial by vincc454 has some pic samples.

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jan 11 2009, 05:06 AM)
hmm... was about to ask the same question from raidenVT

what number color of mr hobby color to mix in order to get gold metallic?

gold is no.9 and how to get the metallic parts?
it's some other color series fr gunze, try google for "gunze maziora paint"

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Jan 12 2009, 12:34 PM
yshiuan
post Jan 12 2009, 12:56 PM

2,126 posts

guys, is it recommended if use gundam marker metallic gold on MG strike freedom? paint by hand though.
bazlit
post Jan 12 2009, 02:43 PM

83 posts

erh_teo, thank you so much! That was absolutely helpful.
erh_teo
post Jan 12 2009, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jan 12 2009, 12:56 PM)
guys, is it recommended if use gundam marker metallic gold on MG strike freedom? paint by hand though.
if i say no, wat u donna do?
if i say yes, u'll prob end up wt ugly streaks of gold like wat u'd expect to see coloring wt markers.
if u don't own an airbrush, it's best paint wt can spray. brush painting with metallic is tough.
those marker is for you to use for highlight/color small parts.
get a can spray of gold paint, that wud be ur best option if u want to paint that part in gold with minimum fuss.

QUOTE(bazlit @ Jan 12 2009, 02:43 PM)
erh_teo, thank you so much! That was absolutely helpful.
no problem smile.gif
raidenVT
post Jan 12 2009, 05:06 PM

cant get much from google though @.@ rclxub.gif i'll end up get a normal gold spray for that. thx for reply.

Btw any1 knows whr can i get alclad 2 lacquer in kl?
yshiuan
post Jan 12 2009, 07:34 PM

2,126 posts

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Jan 12 2009, 04:21 PM)
if i say no, wat u donna do?
if i say yes, u'll prob end up wt ugly streaks of gold like wat u'd expect to see coloring wt markers.
if u don't own an airbrush, it's best paint wt can spray. brush painting with metallic is tough.
those marker is for you to use for highlight/color small parts.
get a can spray of gold paint, that wud be ur best option if u want to paint that part in gold with minimum fuss.
no problem smile.gif
how much for a can of gold metallic spray, my area is like doh.gif cant find anything related to gunpla and paint.
thx for the help.
em0ti0n
post Jan 12 2009, 08:52 PM

438 posts

@erh_teo

thanks for the info
erh_teo
post Jan 13 2009, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(raidenVT @ Jan 12 2009, 05:06 PM)
cant get much from google though @.@ rclxub.gif i'll end up get a normal gold spray for that. thx for reply.

Btw any1 knows whr can i get alclad 2 lacquer in kl?
i tried but unsuccessful as well.. well, maziora by gunze it's very rare to found, malaysia.. not a chance.
try chamellion paint, maziora paint, or flip flop paint u'll get something similar fr other paint manufacturers.
anyway.. a can of gold spray just save the mess tongue.gif

alclad 2 lacquer ?
u can try HHQ (Hobby HQ)
here:
Address: 52-1 (TKT 1), Jalan Metro Pudu, Fraser BIZ Park, 55100, KL

Telephone number: 603-92238588, 603-92239588

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jan 12 2009, 07:34 PM)
how much for a can of gold metallic spray, my area is like doh.gif cant find anything related to gunpla and paint.
thx for the help.
u can find gold marker but not gold paint laugh.gif
my advise is get hobby type as it sprays thinner.
or get industrial one but bear with the less-attractive gold colors or the thick paint. if u necessary have to, get one and try it out somethere. if u like the effect, go with it blush.gif

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jan 12 2009, 08:52 PM)
@erh_teo

thanks for the info
no problem
rayloke
post Jan 13 2009, 12:07 PM

34 posts

erh_teo: wow bro, u hv been introducing maziora paint? that one is hyper expensive!!!!

anyway, just saw my wife's nail polish color. also duo tone doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif cost like RM10 from warehouse sale. and one almost exactly like mine maziora paint (RM65). Gonna test someday. now i also dunno whether hope the nail polish work or not ....... if work happy la, cheap alternative, but makes me feel like idiot buying RM65 per bottle of mazora paint........ vmad.gif

tonight yc i try show u guys! sweat.gif sweat.gif doh.gif doh.gif ARG..................... vmad.gif
-Kouichi-
post Jan 13 2009, 12:41 PM

erm..is it a must to use hobby paint instead of industrial paint??
hooby paints gonna burn a big hole in my pocket
z3r0717
post Jan 13 2009, 02:16 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

if u wan it nice and clean like the modellers then hobby paint...
if u wan thick paint, limited colors then use industrial paint...
there is a reason why ppl produce them and use them...
it's up 2 u

126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:06 PM