Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here
-Kouichi-
Dec 14 2008, 07:16 AM
Erm..sorry if i repeat the question again..newbie here i wanna start painting my gundam with ab..but.. ..where can i buy a good airbrush in KL? recommendation plss.. THX!
-Kouichi-
Dec 14 2008, 06:39 PM
all the sifu s here all using iwata ab?? what other ab brand besides iwata and tamiya? never hold an ab before..
how much does 1 standard ab cost?
-Kouichi-
Dec 15 2008, 12:37 AM
then any1 hav any idea where i can get taiwan brand in KL?? need to get 1 ASAP
i cant find any mr.surfacer in xl-shop
-Kouichi-
Jan 9 2009, 04:46 PM
erm..im new in painting gundams..i just got my airbrush n compressor.. gonna start ab my gundam..
jus some noob questions
1)isit ok if i use tamiya surface primer instead of mr hobby's??
2)what if i don't want to use gundam markers for my panel lining?? i heard that you can use tamiya enamel paint to do the panel lining job?
thanks in advance^^
-Kouichi-
Jan 9 2009, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 9 2009, 05:41 PM) Use the 'wash' technique. Thin some grey/black paint, and then run it over the panel lines. Do a search on google. thx bro..but wad type of paint should i use?enamel or acrylic?or both also can be use? Added on January 9, 2009, 8:54 pmso both tamiya surface primer also can be use for gunpla right? This post has been edited by -Kouichi-: Jan 9 2009, 08:54 PM
-Kouichi-
Jan 10 2009, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 9 2009, 10:07 PM) Paint has different 'strenght'. Generally its lacquer, enamel, acrylic. If you use an enamel wash on acrylic, its gonna reactivate the acrylic paint and mess up your model. Acrylic however sucks as a wash because of the surface tension of water, so... Go to Ace Hardware and buy a bottle of Future Floor Wax (55 ringgit I know cos I ran out and bought another bottle today). Paint your kit, let it dry, spray Future on it, let it dry, and then you can do an enamel wash without really worrying about paint reactivation. Remember to really thin your wash as well! Oh, and yes, you can use tamiya primer. I'm so broke I use bosny automobile primer. thx thx alot..so i can't just simple use paint wash technique for pane lining huh? so generally most of the pros use the wash technique or gundam marker??
-Kouichi-
Jan 13 2009, 12:41 PM
erm..is it a must to use hobby paint instead of industrial paint?? hooby paints gonna burn a big hole in my pocket
-Kouichi-
Jan 17 2009, 05:09 PM
erm..wanna ask sumthing noob
how do i use mr.base white??it's use for??
-Kouichi-
Feb 6 2009, 08:26 AM
Guys..askin something noob here I've been wondering if i can mix Gaianotes brush master lacquer thinner(retarder) with Mr.Hooby lacquer paint??
does it work the same thing as gunze leveling thinner?
Added on February 6, 2009, 8:26 amNot for handpaint..but for airbrushing..
thanks!
This post has been edited by -Kouichi-: Feb 6 2009, 08:26 AM
-Kouichi-
Feb 10 2009, 09:14 PM
@erh_two
hey thanks alot..planing to use gaianotes thinner for mr.hobby lacquer u try gaia stuff yet??
-Kouichi-
Mar 23 2009, 10:20 PM
erm i just started paitning off my gundam kits.. well..wanna ask..after i painted everything with mr.color and after i flat coat it.. i do the panel lining with gundam marker instead of wash technique..
the prob is..when i do panel lines with gundam marker after painting..i can;t just rub off the excess..how do i rub it off??not by thinner rite as it will remove the paint..
or i have to do panel lining with wash technique??
thx in advance ^^
-Kouichi-
Mar 24 2009, 08:24 AM
haha for most people..they use enamel paint after gloss coat for washing method..but wad if doing panel lines with marker after painting??..well..i tried panel lines b4 top coat..still i can't rub off the exess when mistakes occured..
if doing panel line on bare plastic..i can easily rub it off with my thumbs orwith eraser..
-Kouichi-
Mar 24 2009, 10:20 AM
thx alot davelcm..well i tried panel lines with gundam marker b4 i flat coat..its still hard to rub off the excess..mayb its because im using mr.color flat (lacquer)..
i dun hav enamel right now..coz this is my 1st ever finished painting a kit with airbrush..so i use gundammarker instead..screwed up abit when doing panel lines..
so if i use gundam marker for panel line..i hav to apply a gloss coat too?so i can wipe off the excess easily on painted surface??
-Kouichi-
Mar 24 2009, 11:38 AM
thx erh_teo
so i guess i have to use enamel for panel lines thn.. anyway..thx alot for the information