Intel

iSean
post Jun 25 2025, 10:59 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jun 20 2025, 03:04 PM)
Take good package, jump to Altera. More $ than staying put. I am sure many will want to take the package then.
yes. jump outside also ok la.
but Altera can hire that many i dunno la.

but I can try help filter through job req.
ChipZ
post Jun 25 2025, 03:34 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 25 2025, 10:59 AM)
yes. jump outside also ok la.
but Altera can hire that many i dunno la.

but I can try help filter through job req.
I heard even Altera is going to layoff employees soon. Is the RTO in Altera happening already?
iSean
post Jun 25 2025, 03:57 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jun 25 2025, 03:34 PM)
I heard even Altera is going to layoff employees soon. Is the RTO in Altera happening already?
/heh/ that day my boss so opening discuss with me. Allegedly no heard this thing.
But some other very old2 seniors openly discussing at the cubes, I accidentally overheard last week.

I can we need to have a number of "HUAT" days need to be in office.
Special considerations for us more than last time x meters of radius outside of Penang people.

Just return oppis last week, suddenly need call back ada "Wellness" "morale" budget to claim this week.
Everyone scrambles balik to work next week. laugh.gif

So L structure company doing well? Morale good? Listen to ex-Colleague that you know she more happier edi now...

Off topic:
But anyone in Sg Ara got an extra bicycle ah? Prefer can fold one.... Or recommended a place to get a cheap second hand bike and safety gear.
I planning to risk my life cycle along Relau -> Bayan Baru -> PG16 to work and shower on campus liao. Since I might have no rights to sit Intel Home Shuttle and transit in between Home <-> PG12 <-> PG16 no more. If PG16 no longer owns by Altera.

recently meet a gila 27 year old married Type M Intel staff told me he cycles to work via Giant -> Snake Temple -> PG16 to work last time.
I'm edi jaw dropped. Since I hardly seen someone in office on a bike. Mostly see walking cases.
ipohps3
post Jun 25 2025, 04:06 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 20 2025, 01:16 AM)
Good Bye 20k intel staff.
Heard you guys starting send out love letter giving N+2...

Anyone from Intel Grade 3, 5, 6, 7 and up and ask me to join Altera for job Req! We some what semi frozen but still hiring.

Can split cash award ya biggrin.gif
just a feedback about Altera. my alma mater is having collaboration with Altera FPGA, but recently they started using Lattice FPGA. and the conclusion is Lattice FPGA is much better.

also, my friend in Intel recently promoted to G6 (got >20% salary jump) said Altera is in deep shit wor, outside sounds good but inside lots of bad things. he said his friend, a senior also came back join Intel from Altera.

btw, i heard Altera is offering 20% salary appraisal split into 10% each in 2025 and 2026. is that true?

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Jun 25 2025, 04:09 PM
throwawayacclmao
post Jun 25 2025, 10:00 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 25 2025, 04:06 PM)
just a feedback about Altera. my alma mater is having collaboration with Altera FPGA, but recently they started using Lattice FPGA. and the conclusion is Lattice FPGA is much better.

also, my friend in Intel recently promoted to G6 (got >20% salary jump) said Altera is in deep shit wor, outside sounds good but inside lots of bad things. he said his friend, a senior also came back join Intel from Altera.

btw, i heard Altera is offering 20% salary appraisal split into 10% each in 2025 and 2026. is that true?
I only know Altera folks got 10% in 2025, didnt hear anything about 2026. A lot of my senior friends from there keep jumping ship.

Eh speaking of Lattice, do you know how is the grading done in Lattice..As in what's the equivalent of Altera/Intel G5/6/7 in Lattice?
From what I heard from friends, it doesn't seem like 1-to-1 grade conversion from Intel system. iirc the salary range in Lattice for each grade is much broader.

ChipZ
post Jun 25 2025, 10:39 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 25 2025, 04:06 PM)

Lattice FPGA is light and low-power. The software compiles much faster too. but Quartus still win hands down on features and usability
ipohps3
post Jun 25 2025, 10:40 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Jun 25 2025, 10:00 PM)
I only know Altera folks got 10% in 2025, didnt hear anything about 2026. A lot of my senior friends from there keep jumping ship.

Eh speaking of Lattice, do you know how is the grading done in Lattice..As in what's the equivalent of Altera/Intel G5/6/7 in Lattice?
From what I heard from friends, it doesn't seem like 1-to-1 grade conversion from Intel system. iirc the salary range in Lattice for each grade is much broader.
for Lattice i not sure. never join Lattice before. can ask ChipZ who is working there.

btw, where do your seniors jump to? back to Intel?
ipohps3
post Jun 25 2025, 10:43 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jun 25 2025, 10:39 PM)
Lattice FPGA is light and low-power. The software compiles much faster too. but Quartus still win hands down on features and usability
yes. exactly my lecturer feedback on its good power efficiency.

how does Quartus come into picture 🤔
romuluz777
post Jun 26 2025, 02:18 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Dec 4 2024, 04:01 PM)
A lot of my ex-colleagues in Altera got CPM, not able to receive their new employment letter. Some of them are high performers sad.gif
What's CPM ? Same as VSS ?
ChipZ
post Jun 26 2025, 02:21 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2025, 02:18 PM)
What's CPM ? Same as VSS ?
VSS is voluntary. You offer to take the package and leave.
CPM means you have been identified.
romuluz777
post Jun 26 2025, 02:24 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jun 26 2025, 03:21 PM)
VSS is voluntary. You offer to take the package and leave.
CPM means you have been identified.
Identified for redundancy package ?

throwawayacclmao
post Jun 26 2025, 04:27 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 25 2025, 10:40 PM)
for Lattice i not sure. never join Lattice before. can ask ChipZ who is working there.

btw, where do your seniors jump to? back to Intel?
Some of them went to SG. Some went to Lattice lol.
ipohps3
post Jun 26 2025, 04:29 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Jun 26 2025, 04:27 PM)
Some of them went to SG. Some went to Lattice lol.
actually, in SG got which companies hmm.gif
throwawayacclmao
post Jun 26 2025, 04:33 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 26 2025, 04:29 PM)
The likes of micron/amd/infineon. But granted these people are really experienced though, I think the bar is high in SG.

Oh saw the person you mentioned Chipz is in the thread.
Hey man, mind sharing how does the grade mapping work between Lattice vs Intel/Altera? Thanks!
ChipZ
post Jun 27 2025, 01:10 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Jun 26 2025, 04:33 PM)
The likes of micron/amd/infineon. But granted these people are really experienced though, I think the bar is high in SG.

Oh saw the person you mentioned Chipz is in the thread.
Hey man, mind sharing how does the grade mapping work between Lattice vs Intel/Altera? Thanks!
Don't quote me on this, but the grading system is similar to the old Altera's (before being acquired by Intel). Grade 3 is like Senior, Grade 4 = MTS, Grade 5 = Senior MTS
Xflkekw
post Jul 1 2025, 08:24 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 26 2025, 04:29 PM)
Strictly speaking for doing IC design only (not including fabs)

Mediatek, Realtek, AMD, Qualcomm, Marvell, Broadcom, STMicroelectronics, Infineon, Silicon Labs. These are some of the bigger names which have IC design footprint there.

There are also some smaller startups like Adoresys, OMNIVISION, and companies doing design engineering services.

Xflkekw
post Jul 1 2025, 08:27 PM

153 posts

This round Intel CPM is so scary. A lot of people both senior and junior alike kena. Rumour mill going around that one whole team kena cut because some projects getting canceled so no need so many people in a department. And this is Malaysia, the supposedly safe low cost geo.

This post has been edited by Xflkekw: Jul 1 2025, 08:30 PM
rahtid
post Jul 1 2025, 09:04 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(Xflkekw @ Jul 1 2025, 08:27 PM)
This round Intel CPM is so scary. A lot of people both senior and junior alike kena. Rumour mill going around that one whole team kena cut because some projects getting canceled so no need so many people in a department. And this is Malaysia, the supposedly safe low cost geo.
for Foundry MY, the announcement has yet to come.. until then, rumor is just rumor.
ipohps3
post Jul 1 2025, 09:27 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Xflkekw @ Jul 1 2025, 08:27 PM)
you got kena chop? when will it be officially announced the CPM?
Xflkekw
post Jul 1 2025, 10:19 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jul 1 2025, 09:27 PM)
you got kena chop? when will it be officially announced the CPM?
For now I am safe. My manager also dunno if he is safe biggrin.gif As they say in times like this, no news is good news. If anyone see they get a sudden 1 on 1 meeting scheduled by their manager then need to be prepared dy.

Every department will communicate their CPM independently so some department the communication started this week, some since last few weeks ago, some will do so in the coming weeks. I think they plan to wrap this up by end of July.

This post has been edited by Xflkekw: Jul 1 2025, 10:21 PM

62 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:34 PM