Intel

Xflkekw
post Jul 15 2020, 09:45 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 15 2020, 12:21 AM)
blink.gif Hi Chipz, want to ask, do you have info regarding Intel status on internship hiring this coming Sept - December ah?
Feels kind of sad that current jobs are for Graduate Trainees :/
And I can't join since I'm still attached to my uni ....
I can see so many managers still hiring interns left and right. Have you tried using LinkedIn to reach out to recruiters/prospective managers? If your resume good, should be no problem
Xflkekw
post Jul 15 2020, 03:08 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 15 2020, 12:43 PM)
For the internship division for Electrical/Electronics engineers tho.
My university doesn't have connection with Intel due to their small number...

I'm not sure about the Recruiters and their Prospective Manager on LinkedIn

I last time Googled for industrial contact named ey.teh from Intel from UTAR site, I think will try asking him. But he didn't responded to my email last year.
QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 15 2020, 12:45 PM)
Mostly GT more than Internships.

Are Graduate Trainee must be fresh grad that have left uni?
Or regular students looking for internship can apply?

I only applied Electrical Validation and Intel MOE one as those seems like the right category for me.
I don't think GT position I would be hired as a currently studying intern.
What do you mean you are not sure about recruiters on LinkedIn? Just set up a LinkedIn profile, list your achievements and backgrounds (Plenty of guide online on how to set up a good LinkedIn profile) and start connecting with recruiters from Intel/ Managers from Intel. Just approach them directly and enquire. Thats called networking. If you don ask, you don't receive. I have gotten many Interview opportunities from Intel/AMD/Keysight/NI/Micron etc just by being proactive and taking the initiative to approach recruiters on LinkedIn. (Mind you, this was during Feb - March this year when the COVID-19 pandemic started to become really serious)

The contacts provided by your uni are usually not reliable as 1. The person may not have job req available in his team right now (if he is a manager) 2. Its outdated (person left Intel) 3. They are manager contacts of previous interns from your uni and they are not necessarily in charge of recruiting and besides, if they are not from HR, they wouldnt know or be bothered about internship opportunities in other team/department/business group. It was the same case when I was in uni, the Intel contacts provided are literally useless.

For Intel, if all you do is just apply through the job portal. You have very little chances of getting past the ATS itself unless you know how to set your resume up with keywords and in an ATS friendly format. You stand a much higher chance to secure a position at Intel if you actually approach and talk to a recruiter/hiring manager. Another tip, when you do approach, be very sure of what you want to do. For example, I have my resume/profile set up for Front-end IC design/ RTL design or front end ASIC flow. Be smart when making your pitch.

And yes, GTs are usually fresh grads that left uni. If you are still in uni, you wont be hired as GT as GT contract is for minimum 1 year. Its sort of like a trial period before they convert you to permanent BB employee.

Also try to look for open position using Workday (if you can access) instead of jobs.intel.com.
Xflkekw
post Jul 15 2020, 06:34 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 15 2020, 04:09 PM)
I mean I could search for "Intel recruiters" from LinkedIn search box, but I can't "contact/message" them directly, if they doesn't accept my request  rclxub.gif 
Did you ended up using the LinkedIn Premium feature to connect with them?
Or just wait they respond to your request?
Okays, noted. But then do they train from the bottom up for those without a strong background in these front-end design?
I'm afraid they might not hire me, because my university doesn't have those front end IC design software such as Cadence Virtuoso / Synopsys EDA tools.
I was only was exposed to my Cadence Virtuoso from my previous internship.
From what I read the Government MoE-Intel Internship was based on Synopsys.
Anyhow, I've try adding the Linkedin Recruiters as you mentioned previously. Hope they responded to my request this few weeks, so I can talk to them.
And try to expand my networking with other companies to secure my last internship placement required for my university.  smile.gif

Thanks for the following advice.
You can click connect with them first. Most recruiters will accept your request as long as your profile is properly set up and does not look like a spam account. Then you can either message them or drop them an email. Most will have their email listed in the contact info as well. You dont need Premium for this. Just remember to be professional and polite when sending your email/message.

I mentioned front-end design just as an example of how you should sell yourself and also thats where my interest is. For all intents and purposes, you can mention stuff related to electrical validation / physical design if thats where your interest lies. Just be specific and clear of what you want to do and back it up with projects / assignments / skills that relate to that area. Intel is huge and covers the entire ASIC flow from front-end (RTL design) to back end (synthesis, place and route, structural and physical design) and to fabrication (not in malaysia), so you dont necessarily need to know everything. If electrical validation is something you are interested in, then tailor your resume to it. A recruiter/hiring manager will more likely call you up for interview if you show specific skillsets that fit that job scope or clear interest in that particular area rather than a person who just set up their resume in a general way (Internship looking / third year students who are still unsure of which specific area of EE engineering they are interested in are usually at fault here)

Good luck in your search for an internship placement!

Xflkekw
post Apr 20 2021, 12:27 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 11 2021, 08:44 PM)
Would like to ask between is it possible to jump between departments after completing the Graduate Trainee program?

As I currently gotten two GT job offerings after being interviewed by two departments. One from Intel Penang - PCH Hardware (I believe it is the Intel IPG team) and Intel Optane Group in Kulim (not sure details job scope)...

Also I gotten another Interview offer from the Engineering Manager for ATOM Core FPGA and Pre & Post Silicon Validation Team, Intel, Penang but I didn't managed to find a suitable time to interview with him, after solving his assignment problems.

As a IT geek... I actually gotten excited I gotten these two jobs. But then, I feel that it is a hard decision to choose between two.
I also curious on those CPU architecture design/FPGA jobs found within Intel.

I'm kind of sure that once I joined one of the GT program, the jobs is kinda non-transferable. I scared I might not like the job and underperform. Sadly there isn't something like a project rotation program for fresh graduates to find their niche within Intel.

Because this electronics industry is kind of large, seems like endless to learn finish everything...
Short answer yes. you are able to jump between departments although not immediately. Once you are converted from GT to permanent, you are required to stay within that department for a minimum of 1 year.

Unless you are able to provide more details regarding your roles/team. Its hard to elaborate for you what each job entails. My advice is just take up whichever offer that align with your strongest skillset currently. Heres an overview on what skills are usually needed for the major engineering teams in Penang that may help you decide.

Pre-silicon Front-End RTL/Logic Design and Validation (Relevant teams include PCH Front-end team, IPG SIP team, DDG Atom core design and validation team, PSG Custom logic design team) - SystemVerilog/Verilog, Perl, Linux and Shell Scripting.

Pre-silicon Back-End Design and Validation (Relevant teams include PCH Physical/Structural Design team, DDG Atom core SD team, PSG SD team) - Common VLSI knowledge (Stuff like Static timing analysis, clock tree synthesis, etc) You will be working on stuff like Floorplanning, partitioning, place and route and layout. If you are unfamiliar with these terms, google them. Basic scripting skills (Perl/Python) and Linux.

Xflkekw
post Apr 20 2021, 12:29 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Apr 17 2021, 04:33 PM)
intel to be honest , i keep trynig and trying in the end also kena rejected cam apa only contract /perm.. i want to know exactly what sort of candidate that get hired usually whatbackground
People from all sorts of background gets hired all the time depending on departments.
Xflkekw
post Apr 20 2021, 12:33 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Apr 18 2021, 05:30 PM)
Anyone knows more about PSG, part of Alterra merged into Intel?
QUOTE(filage @ Apr 19 2021, 01:11 PM)
Hows the environment like? Mind to share?
PSG is Alterra. Intel bought over Alterra in 2015. Now they are known as Intel Programmable Solutions Group producing FPGA and Custom logic/SoC products.

As for the environment, you will get different answers from different people regarding it unless you can be more specific on what you trying to know/find out. Generally, I would say it has a good working environment.

This post has been edited by Xflkekw: Apr 20 2021, 12:34 PM
Xflkekw
post May 5 2021, 11:45 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ May 3 2021, 10:11 PM)
its an automation lead role.
how's the salary grading in intel works for IT folks?
Salary ranges for different grades varies between each department. But this is a rough estimate for a typical engineer at intel malaysia that you can take with a grain of salt. Info is based on rumors or stuff you can dig from the internet.

Grade 3 / Graduate Tranee : RM 3k+
Grade 5: 4.5k+
Grade 6: 6k +
Grade 7: 7.5k+
Grade 8 (Manager level): 10k +
Grade 9 (Technical lead / Senior managers): 5 figures
Grade 10 (Principal engineer / Director): 5 figures
Xflkekw
post Mar 17 2022, 05:42 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(sundaemanis @ Mar 17 2022, 04:04 PM)
How long does Intel call you back after interview?
Can be anywhere from 2 weeks to a month or in some cases even longer. There are also cases where they call back just a few days after. My advice is be proactive. Ask them back after 2 weeks if no response.

This post has been edited by Xflkekw: Mar 17 2022, 05:43 PM
Xflkekw
post Jun 10 2024, 12:50 AM

153 posts

What is L's pay range for Intel grade 5 equivalent?
Xflkekw
post Jun 11 2024, 06:05 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jun 11 2024, 01:27 AM)
Definitely good enough for you to jump
Need 3 days onsite. Minus off all other allowances and subsidy (Meal, Wi-Fi, Toll, Mileage, Car interest, free gym and personal training consultations) My guess is nett increase of around 10-15%? I wouldn't call that good enough.

Also recently Jim Anderson no longer the CEO. How do you feel about that? I think he was instrumental in Lattice's current success (Stock price concurs its a big loss). And with AMD and Altera both shifting focus back into low-end and mid-range FPGAs, do you think Lattice stands to hold its own in the long term?

This post has been edited by Xflkekw: Jun 11 2024, 06:06 PM
Xflkekw
post Aug 23 2024, 09:32 AM

153 posts

Gym classes cancelled too. The trainers basically kena CPM
Xflkekw
post Mar 14 2025, 10:26 PM

153 posts

tfw you join in 2021 still stuck in G5 90% comparatio. Fren join same time as GT, jump outside and now come back as G6. hahahaha. Intel reward cycle cannot harap one. You want big increment? You jump outside

This post has been edited by Xflkekw: Mar 14 2025, 10:28 PM
Xflkekw
post Apr 26 2025, 11:26 PM

153 posts

Well, now they take away the only perk to work at Intel. No more WFH starting 1 Sep.
Xflkekw
post Apr 27 2025, 02:28 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(rahtid @ Apr 27 2025, 02:12 AM)
still can WFH 1 day per week, isn't it?
yes 1 day. compared to whole week currently.
Xflkekw
post May 1 2025, 08:24 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ May 1 2025, 01:28 AM)
from my experience in ddg design team, Intel has too much documentation till it is a messed, unorganized. I think anyone can open a new page and write a page of documentation on the same topic. lol.

i believe documentation will take time to build especially by the rtl designer. fantasy1989 AMD Penang by now should already have documentation in proper order right?
Lol then its your team not following proper documentation protocol la for top secret and confidential documents. Things like HAS needs to be checked in and checked out and we have proper version control. Need to go through review with microarchitect / architect to push through changes also
Xflkekw
post May 1 2025, 08:28 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ May 1 2025, 01:20 AM)
i think at Design Park nowadays fresh graduate only 4.5k-4.7k similar to Intel. where got 5k above.
Got. Skyechip will give 5k-6k freshgrad even in their Penang branch if you are good. But workload also like dog. Expect you to OT past 5pm and on weekends as well. I guess the extra salary is for your OT pay biggrin.gif

And skyechip is also willing to dump a lot of money on you if you are good. If you are useless, they will soft force you out with low single digit increment during focal.

Xflkekw
post May 21 2025, 09:53 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ May 6 2025, 01:32 PM)
India Engineer good? from my company experience, don't have good impression.
India engineer the ones that are good are really good. The ones that are shit will make you bangwall.gif

Basically either really good or really shit (talking no jutsu no1 type) no in between.
Xflkekw
post May 23 2025, 12:24 AM

153 posts

Altera will only return to office completely when Intel folks also return to office and move to their new PG17 building. Currently expected is around Nov - Dec time frame. So you still have half a year to plan.

Currently PG14, PG15 and PG16 buildings actually belongs to Intel and they will be leasing it to Altera. Some parts will partitioned off and strictly for Altera employee access only and likewise for Intel. Cafe and carpark will be shared.
Xflkekw
post May 23 2025, 12:26 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ May 22 2025, 01:06 AM)
Are they going to halau Intel employees out of 14/15/16 so that Altera employees have enough space?
Intel folks will be moving to PG17 new building at the end of the year. So yes Altera will have enough space then.
Xflkekw
post Jun 3 2025, 05:55 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ May 28 2025, 04:57 PM)
PG17 is the one next to PG7? I passed by that building few days ago and it seems to be still very far from completion. End of the year seems a bit unrealistic.
If not finish then RTO get pushed back until whenever its completed lo. Corporate Service says building will be ready in November so we will see la biggrin.gif Plus Intel already have agreement to give up portions of PG14, PG15 and PG16 to Altera by 1st September already. So will get kicked out regardless.

But pity Kulim folks will have to enter office starting 1st Sep regardless.

0.9192sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:06 AM