57 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Renovations 3-phase wiring

SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2014, 06:17 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 21 2014, 01:16 PM)
Purposely get a metter to check the voltage?
rm38 only mah, can check others also thumbup.gif
And because of this I know my voltage at 1 time at 259V, just because of connection issue on the meter.
enriquelee
post Oct 23 2014, 11:43 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 21 2014, 02:52 PM)
A DIYer, must at least hve a china brand multimeter.
QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 21 2014, 06:17 PM)
rm38 only mah, can check others also thumbup.gif
And because of this I know my voltage at 1 time at 259V, just because of connection issue on the meter.
What are the purpose of having multimeter?
If really worth it, i will go and get one. biggrin.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 23 2014, 11:46 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 23 2014, 11:43 AM)
If really worth it, i will go and get one.  biggrin.gif
Check for any open circuit, check voltage on plug points.
Anything > 245V, I'll call 15454.
weikee
post Oct 23 2014, 11:50 AM

12,019 posts

Test connection of a cable, test resistance of a cables, test Amp usages, voltage, capacitance, etc...

Disclaimer : You need to know how to use, and understand the risk. I will not be responsible for any damage to your property, death or accident.
ozak
post Oct 23 2014, 12:06 PM

17,021 posts

If you don't have any basic knowledge of electrical, forget it. Your multimeter just endup in dust.
bengang13
post Oct 23 2014, 12:06 PM

624 posts

unless u hardcore then u buy lar..else no need lar. but its cheap these days those china one. my house got 2 fluke multimeter and 1 ammeter so I can check anytime...
enriquelee
post Oct 23 2014, 12:28 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 23 2014, 11:46 AM)
Check for any open circuit, check voltage on plug points.
Anything > 245V, I'll call 15454.
Good idea. Haha

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 23 2014, 11:50 AM)
Test connection of a cable, test resistance of a cables, test Amp usages, voltage, capacitance, etc...

Disclaimer : You need to know how to use, and understand the risk. I will not be responsible for any damage to your property, death or accident.
You make me scare la. tongue.gif

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 23 2014, 12:06 PM)
If you don't have any basic knowledge of electrical, forget it. Your multimeter just endup in dust.
Then i should forget it. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 23 2014, 12:06 PM)
unless u hardcore then u buy lar..else no need lar. but its cheap these days those china one. my house got 2 fluke multimeter and 1 ammeter so I can check anytime...
Seems like you are hardcore fella in this. tongue.gif
bengang13
post Oct 23 2014, 12:34 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 23 2014, 12:28 PM)
Good idea. Haha
You make me scare la.  tongue.gif
Then i should forget it.  biggrin.gif
Seems like you are hardcore fella in this.  tongue.gif
last time use...but its not as difficult as it sound lar just probe only...red to wire, black to green...basically like that lar..and don't touch any exposed wire
weikee
post Oct 23 2014, 12:51 PM

12,019 posts

Good idea. Haha
Is better to set the correct expectation. I don't want someone come and haunt me.
ozak
post Oct 23 2014, 12:56 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 23 2014, 12:51 PM)
Is better to set the correct expectation. I don't want someone come and haunt me.
Just get 4D lor.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 23 2014, 01:20 PM

11,554 posts

Good idea. Haha
I had my voltage at 255V which blew my water heater.

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 23 2014, 12:34 PM)
last time use...but its not as difficult as it sound lar just probe only...red to wire, black to green...basically like that lar..and don't touch any exposed wire
Yup, it is very easy to use actually, just don't touch the expose wire with hand sweat.gif
enriquelee
post Oct 24 2014, 12:21 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 23 2014, 12:34 PM)
Sounds easy now.

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 23 2014, 12:51 PM)
Lol, understand la, don't worry.
sridoughnut
post Nov 6 2014, 12:52 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(bengang14 @ Oct 16 2014, 05:50 PM)
Hi Guys,
just want to share my 3-phase wiring.
TNB contractor just came and did the connection. now waiting for TNB to install the meter..
Total charges
Connection Fee:RM1,250
Runner/Consultant fee: RM450
Stamp Duty:RM10
Topup deposit: RM200
well if you ask me, its quite a shoddy job. can see the wire all coming out  sweat.gif
but they say standard. also i thought teh connection is a tad to low..
Hi, wanted to know how the cables were pulled from your meter fuse to the switch box inside your house. Usually for a double story house, the switch box is located in a small store room under a staircase. My understanding is that two additional cables will need to be pulled from the meter fuse (usually outside the house) to your switch box (I may be wrong...), going through the car porch, living hall, till the store room. If this is the case, will it be a big messy hacking need to be done?

Appreciate if you could also PM the contact of your contractor, thank you!
SUSsupersound
post Nov 6 2014, 02:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(sridoughnut @ Nov 6 2014, 12:52 PM)
Hi, wanted to know how the cables were pulled from your meter fuse to the switch box inside your house. Usually for a double story house, the switch box is located in a small store room under a staircase. My understanding is that two additional cables will need to be pulled from the meter fuse (usually outside the house) to your switch box (I may be wrong...), going through the car porch, living hall, till the store room. If this is the case, will it be a big messy hacking need to be done?

From the TNB to meter shall be done by TNB approved contractors.
After the meter is your business to engage who(DIY also can)
If you are planning to run under ground, make sure this is the first job to be done as you need to hack, lay and protect the cables.
bengang13
post Nov 6 2014, 03:40 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(sridoughnut @ Nov 6 2014, 12:52 PM)

Yeah you need to so lots of hacking. But no one pulls additional 2 cables. They probably change the whole cables to 4 core or 5 core straight anyway pm you
ccc8910
post Dec 5 2014, 11:37 AM

437 posts

Hi Guys,

Need some help here. I went thru this topic discussion and some manage to get around 2k while some can reach more than 5k to upgrade to 3 phase wiring. I tried to call TNB so many times but no one pick up, like nobody working zzz

I got a quotation from my contractor as below:

- Contribution fee
- Deposit for TNB meter
- 3 phase meterboard using 12’x20’ metal board
- Earth point using 4mm cable with 2 earth with clamp
- 39 way MCB box with 24 pcs MCB, 1x60A 3 pole 1x63A
- Total RM4,800.

Is this really reasonable? I will try to contact TNB again to check.

Hope you guys can shed me some light. Thanks.

weikee
post Dec 5 2014, 11:47 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ccc8910 @ Dec 5 2014, 11:37 AM)
Hi Guys,

Need some help here. I went thru this topic discussion and some manage to get around 2k while some can reach more than 5k to upgrade to 3 phase wiring. I tried to call TNB so many times but no one pick up, like nobody working zzz

I got a quotation from my contractor as below:

- Contribution fee
- Deposit for TNB meter
- 3 phase meterboard using 12’x20’ metal board
- Earth point using 4mm cable with 2 earth with clamp
- 39 way MCB box with 24 pcs MCB, 1x60A 3 pole 1x63A
- Total RM4,800.

Is this really reasonable? I will try to contact TNB again to check.

Hope you guys can shed me some light. Thanks.
Go direct to your nearest TNB and ask. Don't bother to call, even if someone answer you be push like ping-pong and may not get correct info.
ccc8910
post Dec 5 2014, 11:51 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 5 2014, 11:47 AM)
Go direct to your nearest TNB and ask. Don't bother to call, even if someone answer you be push like ping-pong and may not get correct info.
i managed to call TNB d, he said connection fees RM1,250 and deposit RM200. Thats all for TNB, the rest is to settle with the contractor. While my contractor charging me 4800 - 1450 (TNB) = 3350. I just wondering what makes it so expensive for the balance 3350 blink.gif
weikee
post Dec 5 2014, 12:14 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ccc8910 @ Dec 5 2014, 11:51 AM)
i managed to call TNB d, he said connection fees RM1,250 and deposit RM200. Thats all for TNB, the rest is to settle with the contractor. While my contractor charging me 4800 - 1450 (TNB) = 3350. I just wondering what makes it so expensive for the balance 3350  blink.gif
Cabling and profit. You need to ask what other things they do.

Are your contractor going to add more power points? help you redistribute/even out the DB?
ccc8910
post Dec 5 2014, 12:59 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 5 2014, 12:14 PM)
Cabling and profit. You need to ask what other things they do.

Are your contractor going to add more power points? help you redistribute/even out the DB?
hmm i think that's another quotation, there are 3 quotations:
- upgrade to 3 phase
- additional DB to first floor with sub main cable
- additional power point/extension.

57 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.6928sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:35 AM