Renovations 3-phase wiring

ozak
post Nov 9 2011, 01:44 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 9 2011, 01:13 PM)
Few Thousand? that is expensive. Thousand plus is ok, unless your gate to the DB is like 50feets away. These cable are expensive, and do take note not all location TNB allow you to use the existing cable to be 3 phase. Depend how how the current load, if the load is already near max they will ask you get direct from the utility pole, and it will terminate to your front gate. unless you don't mind 4 cable come in between your house from the pole.
What is the max current for 1phase?
ozak
post Nov 9 2011, 03:03 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 9 2011, 01:56 PM)
TNB recommend max 50A for single phase.

http://www.tnb.com.my/residential/manage-y...upply-type.html
I upgrade to 60A from the list the developer give for option upgrade.

But since my electrical still below 10kw, better stay at 1phase. smile.gif
ozak
post Dec 6 2011, 12:36 PM

17,021 posts

You don't need to know. What you need to know is your bill have drop or not.
ozak
post Jan 10 2012, 09:44 AM

17,021 posts

Why you guys want to change to 3phase when your applicance doesn't exceed 65A at 1 go use?

Does your bill cheaper?
ozak
post Jan 10 2012, 11:51 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 10 2012, 10:40 AM)
Make me wonder too.

My household equipment if fully switch on till take up about 16,000 Watt. But that if I switch it on. I doubt smile.gif Usually highest usage is about 8000 watt for short period of time.

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:41 amBTW, the fuse is rated much lower, think is 43Amps or 45Amps. Mine is on that number. Is 65Amp common for single phase?
For single phase, there have 2 type. 30A and 60A. 30A is for std house low usage. Which next upgrade is 60A. Over than that, TNB advise you to get 3phase. Becuase your house is already like shop lot usage. I suspect it only benifit tnb but not the owner. TNB have phase load problem if over load 1phase.

ozak
post Jan 10 2012, 12:33 PM

17,021 posts

My main fuse is 60A. That is original from day 1.
ozak
post Mar 13 2012, 01:43 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Mar 13 2012, 01:35 PM)
meaning as long as I did not turn on everything at the same time... it should be ok rite...

ok thanks happy.gif
Don't waste your money. It only profit TNB.
ozak
post Mar 13 2012, 03:59 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Mar 13 2012, 01:59 PM)
meaning? with such config 60A single phase should be enuf?
If you live in double storey house, it is more than enough.
ozak
post Mar 13 2012, 04:36 PM

17,021 posts

Why you guys like to give money to TNB? rclxub.gif
ozak
post Mar 13 2012, 04:57 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Mar 13 2012, 04:40 PM)
i do not like the tnb either..but what to do..they monopolized..
Change to 3P, you give money to TNB. Than thinking use alot more power, and again give money to TNB. You are TNB good customer. thumbup.gif
ozak
post Mar 14 2012, 09:12 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Mar 14 2012, 08:35 AM)
Yupe..thats the main reason..i have no choice but to change d wirings..
For rewiring, try to plan detail and have 3DB with thicker wire branch if DSL house. Some forumer here said can save some bill. Just my opinion. smile.gif
ozak
post Mar 20 2012, 09:00 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Mar 20 2012, 02:49 AM)
this is 2nd time I heard about 3 phase save money (in term of electric bill)? how it's possible? anyone care to explain?
You have to see at a rich person view. They willing to pay for the consumption and the montly bill.
ozak
post Mar 20 2012, 11:21 AM

17,021 posts

I think alot of people still don't understand how to judge and need the 3phase.

Many are just kiasu and assume they are going to use alot of power. When bill come, sakit gigi.
ozak
post Mar 20 2012, 12:06 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Mar 20 2012, 11:42 AM)
so you got 20% after changing to 3P..

it's still confusing.. Can't see any connection of lower bill when you appliances operate with enough amp.
It is cause by the wiring that you overload it. You still can achieve lower bill by rewiring your house with a single phase. And limit your appliccance to 1 power point.

When your appliccance draw high watt, wire will heat up and give resistance to the voltage (voltage drop). That draw higher amp to run your applicance. And longer the distance wire, resistance is higher. Another is wire material. Use this fomula -> V / R =I

To counter this, Use bigger dia wire and plan your house wiring system properly. Some forunner here have some good wiring plan you might search back.
ozak
post Mar 20 2012, 12:28 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(ttleng @ Mar 20 2012, 11:26 AM)
Theorytical your calculation may seem support single phase.
In practical, do all your electric use and on at same time to cause power overload ?
If you has heavy power usage but not all use at same time, then single phase is enough for it.
My house got 3 fridges, 4 unit 1hp air cond and 1 unit 2.5hp air cond. On daylight we just on the fridge and at night
only 2~3 air cond will use. Sometime will cause electric trip. For average monthly bill is RM300+
Almost every 1 years+ need ask technician to come my house to check on compressor of air cond and fridge because it not function.
After that change into 3 phase, the electric bill gone down about 20%.
My fridge and air cond now no need always call technician to check within 2 years.
A single phase 60A x 240v = 14.4Kwh. Base on your main fuse 60A. Assume you use full but limit 8hr/day and will cost you 14.4kwh x 8 x 365/12 = 3504kwh -> RM1500/mth. Do you use that much?

Blast your 5 aircon 1hp, 3fridge(1.5hp) and heater(3.2kw) consume you 3750kwh + 3375kwh + 3200kwh = 10.3kwh. Using 8hr average will cost you 10.3x8x365/12 = 2506kwh/mth - RM1059/mth. Do you use that much permonth?

This is only single phase.

Added on March 20, 2012, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(ttleng @ Mar 20 2012, 12:16 PM)
Agree with what you explain here. But if your wire have conceiled in wall and need hack ,reconceil seem troublesome else using casing rewire again.
Thats why before house renovation, plan well on which phase you needed. What type wiring you conceil. Think for long term.
I will go back single pahse. Unless TNB said free upgrade 3phase for me.

What I do is just upgrade the wire and plan properlly. Saving is always in my mind and try to lower the bill as much as possible.

Not to think "going to use more in the future". Unless I strike TOTO. drool.gif

This post has been edited by ozak: Mar 20 2012, 12:38 PM
ozak
post Mar 20 2012, 12:50 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(ttleng @ Mar 20 2012, 12:41 PM)
As i mention, my bill for single phase was RM300+. Only 3 fridge was on 24 hrs, air-cond only at night and not fix 8 hrs maybe 2~3 hrs or sometime didn't on at all.
I m explain to you what single phase max can do. Without 3phase.
ozak
post Mar 20 2012, 01:13 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Mar 20 2012, 12:58 PM)
Does 3P make a different? Let's said I use 60A, then change to 3P still use 60A. Same wire, same load = same heat? Something still missing I believe. Just wanna make sure, I understand correctly what 3P can do and cannot do.. My facebook Taman full will this discussion so wanna give feedback to them also..
If you using Same wire, same load = same heat with the same point, no different. Cause just 1phase is wired to that point. The problem still remain there.
ozak
post Mar 20 2012, 02:47 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Mar 20 2012, 02:29 PM)
This is what 1P vs 3P about.. 3P can support 3 time power load..

Suppose the power is over 1P can handle.. The fused will be burned.

If your house never experience power overload.. as I said let's said below 60A around 50A. Does changing 1P to 3P will affect electric bill?
You need to calculate 3phase TNB fee + rewiring = justify the cost. Or Should I lower down my usage? Which 1 cost you more?

As long as your usage doesn't burn the main fuse, you don't need to change to 3phase. The main fuse burn is your usage benchmark.

And you can change the main fuse to higher. It doesn't limit to 60A. But not encourage. (Psst.. I didn't teach you this right.. wink.gif )
ozak
post Mar 20 2012, 04:05 PM

17,021 posts

Don't understand. Can you draw out?
ozak
post Mar 22 2012, 04:26 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Mar 22 2012, 04:18 PM)
just starting to survey for products... hager 20A mcb is rm7.80 each. is the correct price? while eps/maxguard or amber is just rm4. hager can be used in sg but eps brand is not approve in sg.
Copy 1? So cheap. Better compare price and check.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:19 AM