Anyone can advice me on what is 3-phase wiring and what should I do to apply the 3-phase wiring? how much is the cost?
thanks in advance.
Renovations 3-phase wiring
May 8 2008, 09:48 AM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
191 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Anyone can advice me on what is 3-phase wiring and what should I do to apply the 3-phase wiring? how much is the cost? thanks in advance. |
May 8 2008, 09:57 AM
543 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
tnb will welcome you to take 3 phase..
got discount some more.. but then why you want to take 3 phase? |
May 8 2008, 10:08 AM
2,032 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(nj922 @ May 8 2008, 09:48 AM) Hi, 3phase are 415Vac supply (generally for industrial use). Typically there are 4 lines for 3 phase (R,Y,B) + N(neutral). For home user, the normal supply is 240Vac, so in order to get this supply from 3phase, u need to tap either 1 of the phase to neutral. Btw, why u need 3phase for home use?? Anyone can advice me on what is 3-phase wiring and what should I do to apply the 3-phase wiring? how much is the cost? thanks in advance. |
May 8 2008, 10:09 AM
i wish to have cheaper electrical bill...
Do you know how much I need to pay for the application? |
May 8 2008, 10:44 AM
9,137 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Wouldn't be around much, pls PM other mods. |
QUOTE(nj922 @ May 8 2008, 10:09 AM) Where do you get the idea that 3 phase would lead to lower electric bill?It all depends on your consumptions. You still own the same electric and electronic devices that consumes the same amount of electricity while on 1 phase or 3 phase. Btw, back to the topic. Look at your "fuse box". If it's only 1 row of fuses than that's single phase. If it's 3 than it's 3 phase. Nowadays, most house comes with 3 phases especially landed properties. However, for condos or apartments; a single phase is enough as you do not have many plug points. Ppl uses 3 phase because they have lots of plug points and do not want to overload one single phase of fuse. |
May 8 2008, 12:29 PM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
My new house just changed to 3-phase wiring because we have 5 air-cons and 3 water heaters
May 8 2008, 12:39 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,962 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
May 8 2008, 01:41 PM
Hi dEviLs ,
How much do you need to pay for the 3-phase application? |
May 8 2008, 01:43 PM
38 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 8 2008, 12:39 PM) Yeah for big house that uses alot of air-conds especially then u should make 3phase wiring. if the teres house got 3 rooms & 1 bathroom...they still could put 3 aircond or 4 aircond if includ the living hall and a water heater....isn't it better to put 3phase wiringFor a normal teres house i dont think there's a need to do 3phase wiring. |
May 8 2008, 01:45 PM
1,299 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Office |
air-con more than 3 units... recommended to install 3-phase..
May 8 2008, 03:09 PM
36 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(nj922 @ May 8 2008, 09:48 AM) Hi, are u a home owner? how many air conds and water heater u have in the house ? to ransform from a single phase to three phase is quite hassle though. get an applications from TNB, increase ur electricity deposit, mine is rm 500.00. Then, get a certified electrician to install extra fuse above the meter. Anyone can advice me on what is 3-phase wiring and what should I do to apply the 3-phase wiring? how much is the cost? thanks in advance. where u get the information that 3 phase is more energy saving that single phase ? |
May 8 2008, 03:34 PM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
QUOTE(nj922 @ May 8 2008, 01:41 PM) i cant remember exactly because i did it together with the renovation but i think application plus wiring should be in the region of RM2k Added on May 8, 2008, 3:36 pmSaw this on TNB website QUOTE Promotion To Upgrade Single Phase To Three Phase Supply "In conjunction with Malaysia 50th Merdeka celebration, Tenaga Nasional Berhad is offering a 50% discount on connection charges for users of single phase electricity supply who wish to convert to a 3 phase supply. The offer is open to domestic and commercial customers only." http://www.tnb.com.my/tnb/highlights.php?Id=165 http://www.tnb.com.my/cms/jscript/uploads/...n.%20cutout.pdf This post has been edited by dEviLs: May 8 2008, 03:36 PM |
May 8 2008, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(tpl66 @ May 8 2008, 03:09 PM) are u a home owner? how many air conds and water heater u have in the house ? to ransform from a single phase to three phase is quite hassle though. get an applications from TNB, increase ur electricity deposit, mine is rm 500.00. Then, get a certified electrician to install extra fuse above the meter. Do you still remember how much you pay for the TNB application?where u get the information that 3 phase is more energy saving that single phase ? Added on May 8, 2008, 9:22 pmGot 1 electrician quote me RM750 for the application and RM250 to top up the deposit. Total is RM1000. Is it reasonable? This post has been edited by nj922: May 8 2008, 09:22 PM |
May 22 2008, 01:03 PM
804 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
just called Kedai Tenaga Bangi and Kajang
both mention the same thing if ur normal electricity bill is below RM100.... no need to think of changing to 3-phase so its like having max 2 air-con and used rarely....the rest use normal fan only.... |
Jun 9 2008, 09:59 PM
103 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Johor |
single phase electric first 200 unit $0.218, >, then 0.289 per unit
3 phase, 1 unit 0.323 New TNB meter can support 100A. Should be enough err.. how is that cheaper? |
Jun 10 2008, 08:59 AM
975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
it's not cheaper.... only use it if your electricity consumption is very high so there'll be enough flow. my house got 4 aircond and 2 water heaters, hence needed it... otherwise tak payah.....
Jun 10 2008, 01:43 PM
274 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Kappa |
Jun 10 2008, 07:23 PM
103 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Johor |
Jun 10 2008, 10:03 PM
1,637 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Munich , Bangkok, Barcelona , KualaLumpur |
3 phase i dont think will be saving cost
but if u wanna run your heavy load electronics for long hours 3 phase is better then single phase |
Jun 10 2008, 10:45 PM
462 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(optiplex @ Jun 9 2008, 09:59 PM) single phase electric first 200 unit $0.218, >, then 0.289 per unit if u use a single phase or three phase in residential house, the rate is same. first 200 unit at 0.218 and form 201 thereafter will be 0.289. it is standatd.3 phase, 1 unit 0.323 New TNB meter can support 100A. Should be enough err.. how is that cheaper? my house with three phase is using the rate as above and my old man house with single phase also the same rate. shop, or buisness rate is different as residential area. |
| Change to: | 0.0302sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:59 AM |