130 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

kimganner
post Jun 28 2008, 09:22 PM

149 posts

@ Superman7 : i'm in S'pore...so i paid SG$760 (approx. RM1820). so far eeePC prices cheaper in KL compared to S'pore.

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Jun 28 2008, 07:41 AM)
this laptop just working normal like other laptop? I means can install win xp,microsoft word,other software that supported in xp etc....?Interested to get 1. I heard aspire going to launch 1 too?
yup...no worries, mate. runs all flavours of XP like a charm. rclxms.gif
well, mine's an nLite version...so i junked quite a bit off my copy of Win XP MCE05 (& now my eeePC thinks it's running on Win XP Pro SP2...errr oops?)

got Bootskin to run a custom boot up screen & using a custom Visual Style i got off deviantArt, so start up's a bit longer than the original +/-30secs boot up.

i've got Stronghold Crusader Extreme (full game) & the SPORE Creature Creator demo installedalso. no probs there too.

in fact, i'm now sitting @ BK & posting from my eeePC via Firefox 3 with WinAmp streaming an Internet radio station smoothly & digsby running too. + Avast is running in the background & just updated the virus database.

mighty impressed with what this lil lappy can take on... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by kimganner: Jun 28 2008, 09:24 PM
ilham87
post Jun 29 2008, 12:10 PM

SSD Freak
848 posts

i just got myself a eeepc 900. Cannot tahan waiting already. Some more i read a few reviews that performance of eeepc900 is better than 901 and the only drawback is only battery life.

I bought 20gb version. installed nlite version of xp. Boot time 25sec.. much much faster than my old 701 which is around 40sec.

at youtube, can see someone is comparing boot time of eeepc900 and eeepc901 and it looks like eeepc900 is much faster.

Superman7
post Jun 29 2008, 12:38 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(kimganner @ Jun 28 2008, 09:22 PM)
@ Superman7 : i'm in S'pore...so i paid SG$760 (approx. RM1820). so far eeePC prices cheaper in KL compared to S'pore.
yup...no worries, mate. runs all flavours of XP like a charm.  rclxms.gif
well, mine's an nLite version...so i junked quite a bit off my copy of Win XP MCE05 (& now my eeePC thinks it's running on Win XP Pro SP2...errr oops?)

got Bootskin to run a custom boot up screen & using a custom Visual Style i got off deviantArt, so start up's a bit longer than the original +/-30secs boot up.

i've got Stronghold Crusader Extreme (full game) & the SPORE Creature Creator demo installedalso. no probs there too.

in fact, i'm now sitting @ BK & posting from my eeePC via Firefox 3 with WinAmp streaming an Internet radio station smoothly & digsby running too. + Avast is running in the background & just updated the virus database.

mighty impressed with what this lil lappy can take on... notworthy.gif
How long is the average battery life with your usage so far?

This post has been edited by Superman7: Jun 29 2008, 12:42 PM
ilham87
post Jun 29 2008, 01:00 PM

SSD Freak
848 posts

battery usage for eeepc900 is not bad also.. around 3-4 hours with light usage. 5800mAH

This post has been edited by ilham87: Jun 29 2008, 01:11 PM
cjtune
post Jun 29 2008, 03:31 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(ilham87 @ Jun 29 2008, 01:00 PM)
battery usage for eeepc900 is not bad also.. around 3-4 hours with light usage. 5800mAH
Haiya, the EeePC 701 with the 5200mAh battery also can reach 3.5 hours like that lah.
My 701 can already clock 3 hours with the 4800mAh battery, with screen brightness 10%, no WiFi, playing MP3 with earphones, reading e-books.

anon5391
post Jun 29 2008, 05:16 PM

110 posts

hey guys, pls clarify. what is the battery capacity of eee pc 900 sold here? 4400, 5200 or 5800mAh? thks
kimganner
post Jun 29 2008, 11:20 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(anon5391 @ Jun 29 2008, 05:16 PM)
hey guys, pls clarify. what is the battery capacity of eee pc 900 sold here? 4400, 5200 or 5800mAh? thks
i think it's only either the older batch with 4400mAh batts (then need to take to ASUS to do exchange for 5800mAh) or newer batch with 5800mAh batt right out of the box.

anywayz, today went McD's with the eeePC at 100% batt. was there almost 3hrs...WiFi on all the way, brightness 100%, volume at 20%, multiple applications running & doing a lot of file transferring also via ext HDDs with my friend. when i left, still got 30% to go on the batt. nice.

This post has been edited by kimganner: Jun 29 2008, 11:21 PM
jackdon
post Jun 30 2008, 08:09 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(kimganner @ Jun 29 2008, 11:20 PM)
i think it's only either the older batch with 4400mAh batts (then need to take to ASUS to do exchange for 5800mAh) or newer batch with 5800mAh batt right out of the box.

anywayz, today went McD's with the eeePC at 100% batt. was there almost 3hrs...WiFi on all the way, brightness 100%, volume at 20%, multiple applications running & doing a lot of file transferring also via ext HDDs with my friend. when i left, still got 30% to go on the batt. nice.
Kimganer,

I would assume you had a 900, WAY to go..... now with the launch of the 901 we should see further price drop smile.gif. And we poor parent would not have to foot out RM4/= for a small notebook for the kids.

jackdon
blurprincess
post Jun 30 2008, 10:19 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(ilham87 @ Jun 29 2008, 12:10 PM)
i just got myself a eeepc 900. Cannot tahan waiting already. Some more i read a few reviews that performance of eeepc900 is better than 901 and the only drawback is only battery life.

I bought 20gb version. installed nlite version of xp. Boot time 25sec.. much much faster than my old 701 which is around 40sec.

at youtube, can see someone is comparing boot time of eeepc900 and eeepc901 and it looks like eeepc900 is much faster.
how do you install? using usb cd rom a?

i just got my 900 as well... love this little one so much.... can do more than i expected.

i got the batt package is 5800mh one.. can last for quite long....i using skype + webcam with my cousin sis, 30 mins, still got 50%... not sure this is category in good batt or not...

jackdon
post Jun 30 2008, 10:45 AM

719 posts

A bit of an update, my final cost of the eee PC 901 is RM2,032.80. Which includes FedEx Shipping, 3% Visa card sur charges and RM27/= for bank charges. Well not too bad considering that Shipping from HK to MY is HKD240/=

I am enjoying the eee PC 901 and still debating which Mobile Broadband I should go for.

RM 118/= for Maxis Unlimited (for postpaid users)
RM 99/= for Celcom Unlimited
RM145/= (2 Years free eee PC 701) for Digi (Do not know if this is still available)

Would be great if I can get some feed back.

jackdon.
cowboy_bebop
post Jun 30 2008, 11:21 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(ilham87 @ Jun 29 2008, 12:10 PM)

dang!

im still trying to decide whether to go for 900 now, or wait 1 2 months for 901. havent been doing research on atom performance, but bigger storage, better battery life and blutooth sure sound good

rclxub.gif

anon5391
post Jun 30 2008, 12:31 PM

110 posts

so which shop in low yat selling eee pc 900 with the 5800 mAh battery & price?
Susuwatari
post Jun 30 2008, 01:55 PM

1,260 posts

jackdon,

is your 901 covered by Asus Malaysia warranty?
SUSMatrix
post Jun 30 2008, 02:39 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Jun 30 2008, 10:45 AM)

A bit of an update, my final cost of the eee PC 901 is RM2,032.80. Which includes FedEx Shipping, 3% Visa card sur charges and RM27/= for bank charges. Well not too bad considering that Shipping from HK to MY is HKD240/=

I am enjoying the eee PC 901 and still debating which Mobile Broadband I should go for.

RM 118/= for Maxis Unlimited (for postpaid users)
RM 99/= for Celcom Unlimited
RM145/= (2 Years free eee PC 701) for Digi (Do not know if this is still available)

Would be great if I can get some feed back.

jackdon.
I would suggest this:

Stay away from all contract based package. AFAIK, none of them are worth it.

If you really need mobile broadband, do this:

Buy your own modem. It's only about RM400. You can find them at Garage sale.

For example, the Celcom RM99 package makes you pay (RM99-RM68= RM31 x 18months=RM558). If you cancelled within contract period, you have to return the modem AND pay a penalty.

You can try out the Celcom service first by buying the RM8 daily unlimited to test out the service at your place first. You can use a 3G/HSDPA phone for the testing.

If not satisfied, then try others, but i don't think there's daily unlimited plans from other telcos...maybe have to pinjam someone else SIM card to test.
jinaun
post Jun 30 2008, 02:39 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

New ASUS Eee PC Variants to Feature Bigger Keyboards

ASUS is planning to launch two new Eee PC variants, the 904 and 905, which have an 8.9-inch display panel but use a similar chassis and keyboard as the company's 10.2-inch models, according to sources at channel vendors.

The Eee PC 904 and 905 will incorporate Intel Atom processors and the major difference between the two and the previous 901 model is that they feature a bigger keyboard. ASUS is still evaluating whether to make changes to the two variants' battery and storage capacity.

ASUS expects the Eee PC 904 and 905 to come out at a similar price band as the current 900 and 901, and will eventually replace them. The company also considers whether to drop prices for the 900 and 901 to flush its inventory or leave them in the market to defend against Acer's Aspire One, noted the sources.
http://www.digitimes.com/systems/a20080630PD205.html
ilham87
post Jun 30 2008, 03:36 PM

SSD Freak
848 posts

QUOTE(anon5391 @ Jun 29 2008, 05:16 PM)
mine is 5800mAh. I think all the newer batch uses 5800mAh

QUOTE(blurprincess @ Jun 30 2008, 10:19 AM)
how do you install?  using usb cd rom a?

i just got my 900 as well... love this little one so much.... can do more than i expected. 

i got the batt package is 5800mh one.. can last for quite long....i using skype + webcam with my cousin sis, 30 mins, still got 50%... not sure this is category in good batt or not...
Yes... use external usb dvd drive. I tried using usb drive method. not working for me.

QUOTE(cowboy_bebop @ Jun 30 2008, 11:21 AM)
dang!

im still trying to decide whether to go for 900 now, or wait 1 2 months for 901. havent been doing research on atom performance, but bigger storage, better battery life and blutooth sure sound good

rclxub.gif
erm.. i think storage is the same right? only 1000 series got bigger storage.

This post has been edited by ilham87: Jun 30 2008, 03:37 PM
kimganner
post Jun 30 2008, 04:45 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Jun 30 2008, 08:09 AM)
Kimganer,

I would assume you had a 900, WAY to go..... now with the launch of the 901 we should see further price drop smile.gif. And we poor parent would not have to foot out RM4/= for a small notebook for the kids.

jackdon
yup, using the eeePC 900 here. contemplated waiting for the 901, but so far it's nowhere in sight & price of 900 in S'pore still holding steady. so just heck care...go with 900. i can live w/o BT. haha

sold off my Macbook (it seems so super bulky now in comparison!) to fund for the eeePC 900 with the LG slim optical drive...think i bought the optical drive too soon. i have since figured out how to install XP & games like Starcraft using USB thumbdrive/HDD, so hardly use the optical drive. but i suppose good to keep it still as spare/backup just in case.

btw, what's the extra benefits of installing the Elantech trackpad drivers over the version provided by ASUS? will it be easier to use? cos now i find that the 2-finger scrolling thing is a bit hit/miss. & sometimes, this square thingy that can zoom in/out in the area that's within the square appears on my Firefox when i'm trying to click/scroll. so far still can't figure out how that happens...
Balok
post Jun 30 2008, 06:59 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

ASUS is killing their EEE revolution sad.gif

http://www.engadget.com/2008/06/30/asus-bi...5-in-the-chute/

kazasho
post Jun 30 2008, 07:58 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

ASUS got short circut in their head? rclxub.gif I feel ASUS made good with 7" portable notebook then comes soooooooooo many versions. Feel kinda lose faith on ASUS. like our G lo, do things without thinking, like try and error rclxub.gif
jackdon
post Jun 30 2008, 09:43 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jun 30 2008, 01:55 PM)
jackdon,

is your 901 covered by Asus Malaysia warranty?
hmm.gif I would HOPE so.... hehe... well I have not ask them.... YET. To be honest I am not that worried with the warranty because I plan to do modification on this baby once I have got over the new toy feeling. Thinking of doing the

1. Touch Screen Mod..... sweat.gif (this is a tough one) sweat.gif
2. The 901 has a zif slot and confirm to support 1.8" HDD so that is my next project. drool.gif
3. See if I can get my hand on a small 3G card and mod into this baby.
4. Heck maybe even a GPS... hahaha....

This is where the fun begins or the nightmare starts.

jackdon.

Added on June 30, 2008, 9:45 pm
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 30 2008, 02:39 PM)
I would suggest this:

Stay away from all contract based package. AFAIK, none of them are worth it.

If you really need mobile broadband, do this:

Buy your own modem. It's only about RM400. You can find them at Garage sale.

For example, the Celcom RM99 package makes you pay (RM99-RM68= RM31 x 18months=RM558). If you cancelled within contract period, you have to return the modem AND pay a penalty.

You can try out the Celcom service first by buying the RM8 daily unlimited to test out the service at your place first. You can use a 3G/HSDPA phone for the testing.

If not satisfied, then try others, but i don't think there's daily unlimited plans from other telcos...maybe have to pinjam someone else SIM card to test.
Ahhhhh..... Matrix you just hit the sweet spot. Do you know the model of the modem. I will search RIGHT NOW.

Thanks.... brudder. rclxms.gif

jackdon

Added on June 30, 2008, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(kimganner @ Jun 30 2008, 04:45 PM)
yup, using the eeePC 900 here. contemplated waiting for the 901, but so far it's nowhere in sight & price of 900 in S'pore still holding steady. so just heck care...go with 900. i can live w/o BT. haha

sold off my Macbook (it seems so super bulky now in comparison!) to fund for the eeePC 900 with the LG slim optical drive...think i bought the optical drive too soon. i have since figured out how to install XP & games like Starcraft using USB thumbdrive/HDD, so hardly use the optical drive. but i suppose good to keep it still as spare/backup just in case.

btw, what's the extra benefits of installing the Elantech trackpad drivers over the version provided by ASUS? will it be easier to use? cos now i find that the 2-finger scrolling thing is a bit hit/miss. & sometimes, this square thingy that can zoom in/out in the area that's within the square appears on my Firefox when i'm trying to click/scroll. so far still can't figure out how that happens...
kimganner,

I am still learning or trying to remember so much multitouch, with one finger, two finger, three finger, up down sideways, tap..... but after a while it seems to be pretty handy. I like the 3 finger swip up to bring up the my computer, I change the two finger tap to minimize, the tap tap and hold is just great. Yup you have to get use to the timming. I am sure you cannot compare with your MAC on these feature.

Still learning,

jackdon.

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jun 30 2008, 09:51 PM

130 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:14 PM