3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

nokia2003
post Jun 10 2008, 04:42 PM

5,786 posts

if it is true that the price is remain to at $199 (presumably someone manages to avoid the contract signing bit, activate, JB etc), i think it will be more beneficial to keep your first gen iphone as a spare or for novelty sake. selling it off will be too crazy.

even your car, doesnt depreciate that much overnight.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 10 2008, 04:45 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 10 2008, 11:52 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(xordMeztGeR @ Jun 10 2008, 11:45 PM)
i wonder why people b****ing about video call. do you guys really use the video call? all the time? don't u guys ever think video call features such of waste of money?
y the anger la? before posting derogatory comments like that, just bear in mind that different people has different desires. personally i do know of people who use the video call feature constantly (including myself with the v3xx). i dont see how is that a waste of money since you are going to use the rolling minutes if you are on the family plan package or have a lot of postpaid credit left.

nokia2003
post Jun 11 2008, 12:00 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(xordMeztGeR @ Jun 10 2008, 11:58 PM)
no, i just can't stand people looking down on the iphone just because it doesn't have video call. iphone was built mainly for data use, and i don't think 3G is ready for video call yet since it blurry, and not to mention lagging. Steve done a great job not to include the function into the iphone as not many people will use it thus reduce the price
well, in my defense, i am in no way looking down on the iphone as im a hardcore fan.

blurry maybe (but it depends on the model/manufacturer) but over here at my place and the places i usually frequent, lag rarely happens to be honest.
nokia2003
post Jun 11 2008, 12:12 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(xordMeztGeR @ Jun 11 2008, 12:07 AM)
Apple fan boy eh? I'm a fan of apple stuff but I'm a open source user. Guess I'm a Microsoft-hater
errr i dont how this will fit in, but here goes...

i have used ipods previously, currently using the macbook with leopard (as my secondary computer) and dell 5150c (as my primary desktop), an iphone and a motorola v3xx.

so can i be considered as an open source user but not a microsoft hater? blush.gif
nokia2003
post Jun 14 2008, 12:22 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(kcmy @ Jun 14 2008, 12:01 AM)
then u mean unless our Telcos willing to change its operating system tat suits Apple or the Iphone then only we'll be able to get them here? if it is then be prepare to buy imported ones...
before you act all antsy, just remember that there are many factors that will influence one company's decision, not just geographically.

the same reason why paypal decides to open a division in singapore but not here, despite the oxymoron contradiction.

i am a malaysian and i can assure you that malaysians are simply not ready for a sign-a-contract-and-get-a-free-phone thing yet. the most that they can do is perhaps provide a very simple phone or subsidise them partially.

im no market analyst but i can be certain that no telco is willingly to take this gamble (having to pay so much to apple and also a huge cut of their profit from the subscription fees). simply because of the unscrupulous nature of malaysians (not all but only a fraction) and current legislation that does not favour the domestic telco companies to enable them to take legal actions against these people. furthermore i dont think we have a credit rating check here as well; making the seemingly disproportional situation worse.

having said that, try to ask any of your malaysian friends who studied in the uk before if they have heard of these unscrupulous acts before? my very own housemate, signed up for at least 5 contracts (with at least 5 phones of course) before leaving the country for good. of course, signing up a insurance coverage package and then claim for a brand new phone shortly thereafter is also a very typical tactic employed by these people.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 14 2008, 12:30 AM
nokia2003
post Jun 15 2008, 04:53 PM

5,786 posts

the only way for you to get the mentioned price (yes, this is in reference to all you naive and silly individuals) is to have someone (and potentially ruin his/her credit rating) or have yourself travel all the way there on pretext to sign up a contract. (even so, they will require some short of identification or address as a proof)

otherwise, you just have to rely on dodgy sellers who God knows what illegal methods that they have installed ahead; using the mentioned technique or purchase straight from the factory etc. that will eventually jack the prices up to a skyrocketing level instead of the wah-so-darn-cheap-the-8gb-iphone-for-only-$199?

this is how the business world operates, so grow up will ya?

nokia2003
post Jun 15 2008, 06:19 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 15 2008, 04:53 PM)
the only way for you to get the mentioned price (yes, this is in reference to all you naive and silly individuals) is to have someone (and potentially ruin his/her credit rating) or have yourself travel all the way there on pretext to sign up a contract. (even so, they will require some short of identification or address as a proof)
otherwise, you just have to rely on dodgy sellers who God knows what illegal methods that they have installed ahead; using the mentioned technique or purchase straight from the factory etc. that will eventually jack the prices up to a skyrocketing level instead of the wah-so-darn-cheap-the-8gb-iphone-for-only-$199?
this is how the business world operates, so grow up will ya?
i mean seriously, in reference to those shallow individuals; you wanna own a sophisticated and high class phone (sorry for being perasan here tongue.gif , but im sure thats the truth among iphone users) but your mentality is still worse than those chavs and rednecks. the next person who posts up a similar item like that, im not gonna be so polite and courteous anymore; gonna be down right sarcastic and rude.
nokia2003
post Jun 15 2008, 09:54 PM

5,786 posts

come come. anymore silly remarks or questions?
nokia2003
post Jun 16 2008, 09:06 PM

5,786 posts

i am a bit skeptical about the plastic-ish feeling of the 2nd gen iphone.

i am very contented with the posh, brushed aluminium metal feel against my fingers. hence my iphone is "naked" and only protected by the black oakley soft case. ahhh... good stuff i tell you!
nokia2003
post Jun 17 2008, 06:32 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jun 17 2008, 07:59 AM)
Poor frozzbyte..hving to entertain ppl like Esqandre..

nobbies..mer..

its illegal to unlock everywhere but whistling.gif
"old timers of this forum echoes d3vilzzzz's claim about frozzbyte!"

the aluminium feel is darn awesome la. the feeling is so out of the world. ha ha. that sounded so dirty! drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 17 2008, 06:33 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 17 2008, 08:50 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(nkymark @ Jun 17 2008, 08:44 PM)
But then again, Nokia E65 also has metal back and some Samsung and LG phones also have metal back.
Cheers
were you referring to my post, mark?

the metal used for the iphone isnt standard metal per se. i dont know, it just feel different. the metal back casing for ipod touch is crap. thats for sure.
nokia2003
post Jun 17 2008, 09:44 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 16 2008, 09:06 PM)
i am a bit skeptical about the plastic-ish feeling of the 2nd gen iphone.
i am very contented with the posh, brushed aluminium metal feel against my fingers. hence my iphone is "naked" and only protected by the black oakley soft case. ahhh... good stuff i tell you!
nokia2003
post Jun 18 2008, 12:02 PM

5,786 posts

i think they are in a bit of dilemma because if they move it up, your index finger will be touching that part.

just observe the next how you hold a nokia phone and you will realise that your fingers are strategically placed, smacked on the antenna. so much so, that nokia userguides have to actually refrain you from putting them there as they will cause a worse reception and of course a higher radiation level being emitted

Added on June 18, 2008, 12:05 pmyou have to bear in mind, in the case for iphone, we actually need our index finger to support the slightly, unconventional larger phone size from toppling the other way round.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 18 2008, 12:05 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 18 2008, 03:05 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 18 2008, 03:01 PM)
I think maxis more focus on its prepaid user than its postpaid ones coz last time when i was on maxis (company line), I'll get the call failed thing although my friend sitting next to me using hotlink is not.

If u are a phone company, your prepaid user is much much more than your postpaid user, who would you treat better?
yup. if you observe how much a school boy/gal spends on prepaid, then you will know why
nokia2003
post Jun 19 2008, 12:46 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jun 19 2008, 10:43 AM)
underwater..iphone fishes..oo..swimming..beware...

dun la use underwater set..mcm so illegal like dat..rmbr everything in BOLEHLAND is legal tongue.gif
errr i thought almost all of our iphones are underwater sets? unless you have paid the duties and sirim charges etc.
nokia2003
post Jun 20 2008, 12:18 AM

5,786 posts

well im no psychic; predicting the future. but to hack the 2nd gen iphone is definitely feasible (i know that there rumours that xyz has done it etc but it has yet to be confirmed 100%).

the main thing to take into consideration here is the price actually.
nokia2003
post Jun 20 2008, 11:55 AM

5,786 posts

actually there is way to get it cheap.

unless some dodgy people can sell it secretly from the china factory (like how they sell genuine nikes, ralph lauren etc outside). they are slightly imperfect but no visible problems overall. hey, i dont mind my 3g iphone having some minor scratches so long it works well and cheap!

the hong kong people are experts in this 'field' because they can usually market their products better than their mainland counterparts.
nokia2003
post Jun 22 2008, 02:58 PM

5,786 posts

*double yawn*

with all these questions, i feel like we are operating a regional apple iphone care support centre for malaysia.

nokia2003
post Jun 22 2008, 03:22 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jun 22 2008, 01:28 PM)
thanks for the information
i just got to know about the iphone yesterday and yes i am lazy to read all 59 pages ... i aint so free sit here few hrs to read k .. i got my reasons so i asked the question.
let me ask u one question, if u r totally new to something, and just wanna have a new fresh guideline , wat will u do? for me i would choose a starting question and continue on myself ... seriously i dont know wats AT&T, all i know its a telco company or something in US.
if i really deserve to be flame then flame on plz since u r so great in information giving (and since u know EVERYTHING rite from the way u say things?)
if the main site have a FAQ there answering this questions i wont be asking here also...
thanks for the info bro.

EDIT: oh btw, u can just say 'yes u need to subscript to a line' coz i already typed that in my question and my aim is to go to the Apple Retail Store to get it.

Added on June 22, 2008, 1:31 pm
huh? 1st i don really get wat u mean ... 2nd plz do pm me the terms&cond page .. i cant find it .. been searching for in for the whole hr as 2day is my only free day to research .. thanks
so your whole hour is something worth shouting about? people here spent countless time and effort to learn the hard way.

how do you think they will react if you decide to be lazy and expect everything to be put on the table for you when information is all around the forum?

Added on June 22, 2008, 3:32 pmand im gonna add a reply of mine posted previously on the "The Official iPhone FAQ Page (3G details updated!)"

<but unfortunately, if you dont have that much time to go through 40 pager thread, then you are better off paying an expert to rectify your problems. you cant expect to have a win-win situation (being lazy and a cheapskate and yet expect to be spoon fed) right?

economics' principle number 1; people face trade-offs and hence there is no such thing as a free lunch in the world.

pardon my derogatory labellings, but majority (not all) of the noobs will always be noobs; they expect everything to be served nicely on the table for them.

you dont have to agree with me because if you are dissatisfied with my remarks, you can do the best next thing; continue to ask a noob questions and get a high octane flaming in return.>

Added on June 22, 2008, 3:34 pmhence, if you "aint so free sit here few hrs to read k", go pay someone to answer your questions. dont sulk like a baby and retaliate if you refuse to dig into your wallet or have more initiative to look through the web slowly.

and if you can excuse me now, i have to continue reading this subforum to learn more about iphone since im quite a cheap bugger.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 22 2008, 03:40 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 23 2008, 01:38 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Jun 23 2008, 01:06 AM)
Apple's T&C <-- this is true, my company as apple vendor, they come to audit, not only on product quality, but also human right, such as racist problem, discrimination, harrasment,
so i guess maxis , digi, celcom all fail on the audit for sure ~
lol ~
nice one vex

0.6208sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:08 AM