45 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

~~~~Clans of the Piano~~~, Piano,keyboard,syntherizer, clavinova!

TSicypetals
post Apr 14 2008, 09:17 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 14 2008, 06:22 PM)
tat expensive???? shocking.gif  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif
wat to do. music education is expensive.
i already minus guitar fees lol. everytime my mom nv pay 2-3month, she see the bill want to faint
Cello
post Apr 14 2008, 10:24 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(icypetals @ Apr 14 2008, 09:17 PM)
i already minus guitar fees lol. everytime my mom nv pay 2-3month, she see the bill want to faint
So once again I continue my words here. Those fees goes into music teachers and the school. Those music teachers usually are on diploma level or grade 8.

Why degree?

x-crusader
post Apr 14 2008, 10:25 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(icypetals @ Apr 14 2008, 09:17 PM)
self learn loh..
then cheap..
XD tongue.gif
little ice
post Apr 14 2008, 10:55 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Apr 14 2008, 10:24 PM)
Why degree?
my teacher is charging RM120 per hour (yes! per hour/per lesson), as a normal fees for a master degree graduates. he teach privately though, and he IS really a good teacher.

go get yours. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Apr 14 2008, 10:56 PM
x-crusader
post Apr 14 2008, 11:02 PM

472 posts

omg...
so expensive..
really really expensive...
its better for me to go for music course in university..
Cello
post Apr 14 2008, 11:03 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 14 2008, 10:55 PM)
my teacher is charging RM120 per hour (yes! per hour/per lesson), as a normal fees for a master degree graduates. he teach privately though, and he IS really a good teacher.

go get yours. icon_rolleyes.gif
Okay, that is a lot but I am also getting around that much in two days. After all, I still say no. I have my target. It is not about money or easy living.

Added on April 14, 2008, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 14 2008, 11:02 PM)
omg...
so expensive..
really really expensive...
its better for me to go for music course in university..
I think you need to calculate again. It is around that amount as well.

This post has been edited by Cello: Apr 14 2008, 11:04 PM
little ice
post Apr 14 2008, 11:08 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Apr 14 2008, 11:03 PM)
I think you need to calculate again. It is around that amount as well.
ya. during my study in college last time, if split the yearly fees into 12 months, my parents were looking at rm1000 per month.

mind you that's not even a degree. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Apr 14 2008, 11:10 PM
Cello
post Apr 14 2008, 11:17 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

Conclusions:

1. You know that everything in this country is expensive. Not just education.
2. Never think of getting diploma, degree or whatever. Just as long as you can play music nicely.

little ice
post Apr 14 2008, 11:27 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Apr 14 2008, 11:17 PM)

2. Never think of getting diploma, degree or whatever. Just as long as you can play music nicely.

i disagree with this. studying in college or uni will have more inputs than average music students. it's not the cert one going to aim, it's the environment.

how often you got to perform in front of everybody AND watching your fellow classmates perform so you can learn from each other? how about learning chamber music, orchestra, deep study of theory, extensive ear training, history, choir? yes, you can learn it by yourself, but you won't get as much inputs (and as fast) as learning alone than studying in group. wink.gif

certs and qualifications are definitely not wasting money if you consider the above statement. it IS yougster today who want to target the cert cause they can earn more money, thus making the cert looks ugly nowadays. doh.gif
Cello
post Apr 14 2008, 11:35 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 14 2008, 11:27 PM)
i disagree with this. studying in college or uni will have more inputs than average music students. it's not the cert one going to aim, it's the environment.

how often you got to perform in front of everybody AND watching your fellow classmates perform so you can learn from each other? how about learning chamber music, orchestra, deep study of theory, extensive ear training, history, choir? yes, you can learn it by yourself, but you won't get as much inputs (and as fast) as learning alone than studying in group. wink.gif 

certs and qualifications are definitely not wasting money if you consider the above statement. it IS yougster today who want to target the cert cause they can earn more money, thus making the cert looks ugly nowadays. doh.gif
Good comment. I am saying that because..I think you know. Basically a lot of people thinks that getting a diploma will get a good future or something. Thus, I saw a lot of graduated diplomas are still playing badly, I do not want to expose their college name here.

For the bolded sentences on your quote, I can tell you it is about 90% of the people I have met in my life.

TSicypetals
post Apr 15 2008, 02:22 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Apr 14 2008, 10:24 PM)
So once again I continue my words here. Those fees goes into music teachers and the school. Those music teachers usually are on diploma level or grade 8.

Why degree?

my music teacher studied in london. he encorage me to strive hard to excel. do not close ourself in a small enviroment. Expose more. Anne perreau gave me the same advice too.
QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 14 2008, 11:27 PM)

i highly agree on that!
studying overseas birngs more knowlege of music comparing than learning only in malaysia.
we are expose more, we meet more people, and we learn new things.
We meet great teachers in oversea college/uni.

We must strive for our best to enter great colleges and university.
doing only diploma wont get u more knowlege comparing to studying oversea college/uni.
QUOTE(Cello @ Apr 14 2008, 11:35 PM)
Good comment. I am saying that because..I think you know. Basically a lot of people thinks that getting a diploma will get a good future or something. Thus, I saw a lot of graduated diplomas are still playing badly, I do not want to expose their college name here.

For the bolded sentences on your quote, I can tell you it is about 90% of the people I have met in my life.

why do we need to bother about those diploma who can play? that is their problem.
I seen many grd 8 and diploma who cant play.

but why compare ourself to those who cant play, when we need to compare ourself to the best?
if we do so, we will strive for the best we can!

cello, please take this opinion of mine seriously, :" studying oversea college/uni will really bring us much closer to understanding of music and enhancing our passion, bringing us to a new level of knowlege, and understanding a new enviroment, and meeting new people."

its not about the cert, the cert certify that we suceeded thats all, is what we learn that counts!

why do you bother bout the other 90% what we need to do for ourself is important!

that 90% might be becuase their parents force them to learn or anything else, why do we need to care?

Is like going to school, where 70% of your freind dont like to study and dont want go college, does that stop you from going collge?

little ice
post Apr 15 2008, 02:37 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(icypetals @ Apr 15 2008, 02:22 PM)
i highly agree on that!
studying overseas birngs more knowlege of music comparing than learning only in malaysia.
we are expose more, we meet more people, and we learn new things.
We meet great teachers in oversea college/uni.

We must strive for our best to enter great colleges and university.
doing only diploma wont get u more knowlege comparing to studying oversea college/uni.
yes and there's one more thing i lefted out. studying in college/uni you get to compete with each other, in a good way of course (you don't compare, but you compete). most importantly, someone who can put pressure on you - those who're better than you but you're meeting him/her everyday cause he/she's your teacher or even your classmate lol! you have a target, your target is no longer a paper, it's a person.

you can argue that you have your favourite pianist who's world class virtuoso whos better than anyone you've seen. but what are the chances that you can learn from him? in college/uni, you got to meet them everyday - you can disucss about music all day long, learn from each other every seconds. it's the school that bring you and the pros together. it's the environment that matters.

that said, it's such a high price to pay. $$$ doh.gif
TSicypetals
post Apr 15 2008, 02:57 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 15 2008, 02:37 PM)
yes and there's one more thing i lefted out. studying in college/uni you get to compete with each other, in a good way of course (you don't compare, but you compete). most importantly, someone who can put pressure on you - those who're better than you but you're meeting him/her everyday cause he/she's your teacher or even your classmate lol! you have a target, your target is no longer a paper, it's a person.

you can argue that you have your favourite pianist who's world class virtuoso whos better than anyone you've seen. but what are the chances that you can learn from him? in college/uni, you got to meet them everyday - you can disucss about music all day long, learn from each other every seconds. it's the school that bring you and the pros together. it's the environment that matters.

that said, it's such a high price to pay. $$$ doh.gif
agree on that.

my mom told me last time that some bosses dont care what you study, as long u have a firm basic education and a come from a good college/uni, they will accept you.
I ask why?

she said that it is because those students are more expose to the world, they are more sociallable, they have meet many people in their life, they can take risk, they know how to work in a team, and they understand all sorts of thing which a person who nv enter college/uni knows.

that wats makes a college/uni student special and difrent.

my mom works in bank. so she selects ppl from interview.
little ice
post Apr 15 2008, 06:04 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(icypetals @ Apr 15 2008, 02:57 PM)
my mom told me last time that some bosses dont care what you study, as long u have a firm basic education and a come from a good college/uni, they will accept you.
I ask why?

she said that it is because those students are more expose to the world, they are more sociallable, they have meet many people in their life, they can take risk, they know how to work in a team, and they understand all sorts of thing which a person who nv enter college/uni knows.

that wats makes a college/uni student special and difrent.

my mom works in bank. so she selects ppl from interview.
i'm afraid it was last time. sweat.gif

it used to take a lot more effort to graduate from uni/college, but not anymore. more parents can afford expensive fees and living expenses for their childrens. students are more likely to go for long vacations rather than suffer from study pressures. more over, college/uni don't care how bad you do, as long as you give enough money they'll let you hold the cert (of course, not to the extent that if student fail miserably also can become pass). doh.gif
TSicypetals
post Apr 15 2008, 07:26 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 15 2008, 06:04 PM)
i'm afraid it was last time. sweat.gif

it used to take a lot more effort to graduate from uni/college, but not anymore. more parents can afford expensive fees and living expenses for their childrens. students are more likely to go for long vacations rather than suffer from study pressures. more over, college/uni don't care how bad you do, as long as you give enough money they'll let you hold the cert (of course, not to the extent that if student fail miserably also can become pass). doh.gif
well, i guess its last time too laugh.gif
cause my mom said this when i was standard 3 or something XD

Based on her experince i think
PetroToxin
post Apr 15 2008, 07:33 PM

1,179 posts

May learn the piano in the future.

My favourite pieces for piano is no other than Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No.2 and 3 tongue.gif
I also listen to Chopin's Waltz.

Anyone here can play a piano concerto or any Franz Liszt's Etude? sweat.gif
TSicypetals
post Apr 15 2008, 08:30 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Apr 15 2008, 07:33 PM)
May learn the piano in the future.
My favourite pieces for piano is no other than Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No.2 and 3  tongue.gif
I also listen to Chopin's Waltz.
Anyone here can play a piano concerto or any Franz Liszt's Etude? sweat.gif
wow rclxms.gif
A romantic and classical listener rclxms.gif !!
these days not many ppl listen to chopins and rach!!!

good luck learning the piano in the future! highly recomend!!!

rclxms.gif
PetroToxin
post Apr 16 2008, 07:20 PM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(icypetals @ Apr 15 2008, 08:30 PM)
wow rclxms.gif
A romantic and classical listener rclxms.gif !!
these days not many ppl listen to chopins and rach!!!

good luck learning the piano in the future! highly recomend!!!

rclxms.gif
Actually I am more of a Baroque and Romantic period listener..
Depending on my mood, I choose between different composers and periods.

May try to feel Classical Period songs in the future sweat.gif

Currently listening to a 20th century piece by Dmitri Shostakovich.
"Piano Concerto No.2 in F"

Andy214
post Apr 17 2008, 12:36 AM

3,308 posts

This is a MUST see....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntReE2n15bo

little ice
post Apr 17 2008, 02:05 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 17 2008, 12:36 AM)
omg i'm so touched. cry.gif

damn she's just 5 years old, best age to start training liao lo, she'll become a legendary musician!! she IS little mozart!!

45 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:09 AM