45 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

~~~~Clans of the Piano~~~, Piano,keyboard,syntherizer, clavinova!

TSicypetals
post Apr 9 2008, 08:09 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 9 2008, 03:45 PM)
i've gone through every post he made in this thread, there's not a single hint stating that he *always* cincai play. moreover, it's sight reading, which means if you see bunch notes cramped together you'll probably doing *sigh* reading anyway. if he's gonna perform it in front of everybody, that's different story.

he's not your student so why get yourself fustrated? that doesn't make you looks cool. wink.gif

Added on April 9, 2008, 3:52 pm
as far as i know, orchestra doesn't look at your qualification, instead they'll audition you with the dreaded sight reading as the players ARE doing sight readings everyday. players HAVE to play it smooth even it's the first time they got the score. they have no time to waste, the first thing conductor going to screw you on is all the dynamics and expressions, so if you can't even play properly, you're most probably out cause you're all other players can't be dragged just because 1 player cannot play well. sweat.gif I don't know in detail how perfect the players can sight read a stranger's score, but i think they're really of high standard.

there're a few malaysian in MPO, that said, you're welcomed as long as you're good enough. i can imagine more malaysian will be even better cause the money are floating off to oversea badly if hire too many foreigners. biggrin.gif
shocking.gif that strucked my heart!
LOL, then i should start working hard then!

MALAYSIAN philharmonic orchestra XD so malaysian should join!
HAHa.........
Oh well, im still young.....i got much to learn

may da force be with mua whistling.gif
onelove89
post Apr 9 2008, 10:44 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Apr 8 2008, 09:36 PM)
Are you sure your fingers are stiff or you do not want to put in effort on it?

No, because you cannot control your left hand while you are busy with your right hand. Go "unlock" it.
yeah i'm trying to improve after 5 years or so of not touching classical pieces haha, been playing in church though, but its all chords. needa repolish my skills =D

trying to unlock that skill, trying to tell my left hand not to follow my right xD but they are such good friends~~ lalala xD

basically practising some songs, but i think i jump the cue too fast >< cos my fingers are still stiff and coordinations are kinda off, plus, my sight reading is really bad now T.T sob~ practising liszt songs which are full of arpegios and scales >< finger tangling. Practising Liebestraum , very nice song ^^ romantic piece and I gave up on la campanella cos its too hard >.< might try again later when i repolish everything.
x-crusader
post Apr 10 2008, 12:00 AM

472 posts

yo..
noob pianist here...

currently practicing secret by jaychou
and some other pop songs
hanhanhan
post Apr 10 2008, 01:02 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,205 posts

my problem is my left hand cant follow my right now. haha

playing scales is killing me
little ice
post Apr 10 2008, 01:28 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Apr 10 2008, 01:02 AM)
my problem is my left hand cant follow my right now. haha

playing scales is killing me
play chopin's etude in e minor 10 times everyday like one of your video... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Apr 10 2008, 01:30 AM
Andy214
post Apr 10 2008, 11:22 AM

3,308 posts

Nobody mentioned "Suteki Da Ne"???
Anyway, I really like this version arranged by mosnterpanda (a self-taught musician)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0A3FoVjPYtI

He also do a collaboration duet video with a guitarist for it:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMcA2OO00zs

The above video is old, the recording isn't good. His latest video Compilations of FF and some other is in STEREO, it's really good.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6ef9ozh4sc

He has also learned to make use of his keyboard features, watch the video, Angela Aki - Sakurairo:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cvBGPfmRqM

Lastly, another great song nobody mentioned:-
Chrono Tigger - 600 A.D.
In the Compilation video I posted above does include this song, but I like most is the arrangement by "kLuTz", superb!!! So different from the original yet so nice, 4 different arrangements, the last arrangement is the hardest to play, so complicated.

TSicypetals
post Apr 10 2008, 02:15 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 10 2008, 11:22 AM)
Nobody mentioned "Suteki Da Ne"???
Anyway, I really like this version arranged by mosnterpanda (a self-taught musician)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0A3FoVjPYtI

He also do a collaboration duet video with a guitarist for it:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMcA2OO00zs

The above video is old, the recording isn't good. His latest video Compilations of FF and some other is in STEREO, it's really good.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6ef9ozh4sc

He has also learned to make use of his keyboard features, watch the video, Angela Aki - Sakurairo:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cvBGPfmRqM
Lastly, another great song nobody mentioned:-
Chrono Tigger - 600 A.D.
In the Compilation video I posted above does include this song, but I like most is the arrangement by "kLuTz", superb!!! So different from the original yet so nice, 4 different arrangements, the last arrangement is the hardest to play, so complicated.
i wasnt fairly impressed by the suteki dane video, but the second video with the guitarist was good!

the 4th video, was awesome!!

i think somebody mention suteki da neXD

i didnt know final fantasy musics were so famous !

Added on April 10, 2008, 2:16 pm
QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 10 2008, 12:00 AM)
yo..
noob pianist here...

and some other pop songs
WECLOME TO DA CLUB DUDE! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by icypetals: Apr 10 2008, 02:16 PM
onelove89
post Apr 10 2008, 03:01 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 10 2008, 12:00 AM)
yo..
noob pianist here...

and some other pop songs
aiya, dont say noob or pro =) music is all bout fun for me =D oh ppl have been talking bout that song from jay chow, i din even hear it b4, isit really tat nice? If so i might wanna go find it xD

I dunno why ppl think piano is a trend and parents all want them to learn. Piano is well, unique, even though alot of ppl know how to play it though. But heck, its just fun to play on the piano =D sometimes i find it boring to play on my viola cos uh... feel like missing something, i don feel so with piano though. =)
little ice
post Apr 10 2008, 03:53 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

personally, i don't like the jay chow "secret" piano song. sweat.gif

parents all over the planet want their children to learn piano because (in my opinion) it's the basic of all instruments. it's easy to understand the basic of piano, and virtually anyone can at play "mary had a little lamb" on the piano, but not on any other instruments. at the same time theory is also explained on a piano and it's the most intuitive to understand.

on top of that, piano is so versatile that it can perform a lot of things ranging from solo to accompaniment. as you know children always practice alone at home so piano is the one that'll make the children enjoy learning music. biggrin.gif
Andy214
post Apr 10 2008, 03:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(icypetals @ Apr 10 2008, 02:15 PM)
i wasnt fairly impressed by the suteki dane video, but the second video with the guitarist was good!
LoL, the second video is the same as the first video, just added duet by the guitarist mainly on the melody.
What I like is his way of arrangement, is very different from the original piano compilation, to me, his arrangement feels more lively, more oomph, more feel and there's few parts which makes your adrenaline running, bulu roma naik, etc. The sound quality is very poor tough.
Anyway, it's just what I feel. Some prefer the original piano compilcations (which is pretty different from the actual song; his arrangement is more close or similar to the original song).

By the way, there're few parts from his arrangement feels wierd or different from normal pianist, feels like guitar strumming style. He was a guitarist afterall, self-taught. He also plays violin, and some other instruments.

TSicypetals
post Apr 10 2008, 07:08 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 10 2008, 03:01 PM)
aiya, dont say noob or pro =) music is all bout fun for me =D oh ppl have been talking bout that song from jay chow, i din even hear it b4, isit really tat nice? If so i might wanna go find it xD

I dunno why ppl think piano is a trend and parents all want them to learn. Piano is well, unique, even though alot of ppl know how to play it though. But heck, its just fun to play on the piano =D sometimes i find it boring to play on my viola cos uh... feel like missing something, i don feel so with piano though. =)
YUP! I agree, we must not diffrence ourself to "noob" or pro". we are all ones as musician!
we are here to learn what we donno!
remember, the more wisdom u got, the more u understand that u understnad less!
those ppl who donno and learns are the great musician,
those who think they are alll that great and proud, wont improve and be like that forever.
DONT BE THAT! BE PROACTIVE!

actually, i donno why parents like their children to learn piano( i started at 3+ and always kena drag there while crying)
but a studies show that children who learn music are more aware and have better mentallity, they can use both of their brain.( aka smarter)

i donno bout that, but when ppl like to linkin park, talking bout how rock it is, i was thinking of the chords they useXD( Am7, BbmSUS4, bii7,)
LOL, and when i hear anything out of random, i will try to pitch the sound XD
lol, wierd me=.= doh.gif
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 10 2008, 03:53 PM)
LoL, the second video is the same as the first video, just added duet by the guitarist mainly on the melody.
What I like is his way of arrangement, is very different from the original piano compilation, to me, his arrangement feels more lively, more oomph, more feel and there's few parts which makes your adrenaline running, bulu roma naik, etc. The sound quality is very poor tough.
Anyway, it's just what I feel. Some prefer the original piano compilcations (which is pretty different from the actual song; his arrangement is more close or similar to the original song).

By the way, there're few parts from his arrangement feels wierd or different from normal pianist, feels like guitar strumming style. He was a guitarist afterall, self-taught. He also plays violin, and some other instruments.
loL! that explains the arrangement =D
x-crusader
post Apr 10 2008, 09:30 PM

472 posts

i said im a noob pianist coz...
i've been learning piano for over 15 yrs...
but my skills still.... doh.gif
but still...
we r musicians...
so thr is no noob or pro...
juz music lovers...
hahahaha

This post has been edited by x-crusader: Apr 10 2008, 09:31 PM
little ice
post Apr 10 2008, 10:13 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 10 2008, 09:30 PM)
i've been playing piano for 20 years, and I still can't perfectly play a simple piece, even a pop song. sweat.gif

you're not alone. icon_idea.gif
onelove89
post Apr 10 2008, 10:28 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(icypetals @ Apr 10 2008, 07:08 PM)
YUP! I agree, we must not diffrence ourself to "noob" or pro". we are all ones as musician!
we are here to learn what we donno!
remember, the more wisdom u got, the more u understand that u understnad less!
those ppl who donno and learns are the great musician,
those who think they are alll that great and proud, wont improve and be like that forever.
DONT BE THAT! BE PROACTIVE!

actually, i donno why parents like their children to learn piano( i started at 3+ and always kena drag there while crying)
but a studies show that children who learn music are more aware and have better mentallity, they can use both of their brain.( aka smarter)

i donno bout that, but when ppl like to linkin park, talking bout how rock it is, i was thinking of the chords they useXD( Am7, BbmSUS4, bii7,)
LOL, and when i hear anything out of random, i will try to pitch the sound XD
lol, wierd me=.= doh.gif

loL! that explains the arrangement =D
yeah... we are all musicians ^^ anyway, i learn piano since 5, well mom ask me to give it a try and i tried it till now =D anyway, piano is basic in music? >.< is there such thing?
x-crusader
post Apr 10 2008, 10:29 PM

472 posts

omg...
im not alone...
nice...
hahaha..
im a bit better than u..
i can play simple piece... tongue.gif
TSicypetals
post Apr 10 2008, 11:49 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 10 2008, 10:28 PM)
yeah... we are all musicians ^^ anyway, i learn piano since 5, well mom ask me to give it a try and i tried it till now =D anyway, piano is basic in music? >.< is there such thing?
because piano use a combination of both left and right hand. as u see cleary on intervals, u dont understand chord proggresion, as understanding how minor,major,augmented,diminished sounds like. as u understnad the semitone diffrence of each key. and triad of each chords.

a person who only plays the violin doesnt understnad the left hand part or maybe chord proggresion unless he/she does further research.

haiz......lazy type, u do brainstorm, u should understand
little ice
post Apr 11 2008, 12:09 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 10 2008, 10:29 PM)
omg...
im not alone...
nice...
hahaha..
im a bit better than u..
i can play simple piece... tongue.gif
hehe that's why i'm into midi programing. brows.gif

sort of like cheating. sweat.gif icon_idea.gif
befitozi
post Apr 11 2008, 12:23 AM

1,468 posts

i did compose a song once with midi programming. sounded decent but i accidentaly made it too hard for myself to play lol. anyone wants to try ? tongue.gif
Andy214
post Apr 11 2008, 09:19 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 10 2008, 09:30 PM)
i said im a noob pianist coz...
but still...
we r musicians...
so thr is no noob or pro...
juz music lovers...
hahahaha
QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 10 2008, 10:13 PM)
i've been playing piano for 20 years, and I still can't perfectly play a simple piece, even a pop song. sweat.gif

you're not alone. icon_idea.gif
It depends what do you mean by "noob", if you're talking about playing ability, then it's usualyl about practice and familiarisation with the piano/keyboard.

If you're talking about music understandings, etc. and you want to be able to play contemporary/pop songs, able to understand how it works, etc, you might want to visit "Play By Ear" for a preview/demo on their course. They teach you music using the keyboard/piano, launching beginner eletric guitar instruments soon, but their main subject is teaching music, how to capture melody by ear, catch the chords in the song and also creating the chords based on the medody. Playing music is about hearing and feeling.

I know some will be skeptical or be negative about it, but I'm just sharing with everyone that there is such a course, and worth to have a look at. They're on the papers a few times, featured in Malaysia Books of Records for the founders wedding with over 60 pianist playing, they even have a Datin which graduated their level 2 course. Recently, they're also recognize by the London School Of Music (I think) and you can actually get cert and recognized playing contemporary songs without notes.
Recently, I went for their Music Festival for guitar launch, was so touched they have a blind student play on stage. The playing was so smooth and never hit a wrong key, he only learned for about 2 years.
Somehow even tough there're students which play more complicated songs and arrangements, but the music played by the blind student was way better, more feel and oomph. Maybe that's what truly playing by hearing and feeling.

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 10 2008, 10:28 PM)
Piano is an instruments. It's easy to begin with but very (if not extremely) difficult to master. IMO, it's the 2nd most powerful instruments, the 1st being the Organ. Tough, I read many site saying piano is "arguably" the most powerful instruments.

TSicypetals
post Apr 11 2008, 10:42 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 11 2008, 09:19 AM)
It depends what do you mean by "noob", if you're talking about playing ability, then it's usualyl about practice and familiarisation with the piano/keyboard.

If you're talking about music understandings, etc. and you want to be able to play contemporary/pop songs, able to understand how it works, etc, you might want to visit "Play By Ear" for a preview/demo on their course. They teach you music using the keyboard/piano, launching beginner eletric guitar instruments soon, but their main subject is teaching music, how to capture melody by ear,  catch the chords in the song and also creating the chords based on the medody. Playing music is about hearing and feeling.

I know some will be skeptical or be negative about it, but I'm just sharing with everyone that there is such a course, and worth to have a look at. They're on the papers a few times, featured in Malaysia Books of Records for the founders wedding with over 60 pianist playing, they even have a Datin which graduated their level 2 course. Recently, they're also recognize by the London School Of Music (I think) and you can actually get cert and recognized playing contemporary songs without notes.
Recently, I went for their Music Festival for guitar launch, was so touched they have a blind student play on stage. The playing was so smooth and never hit a wrong key, he only learned for about 2 years.
Somehow even tough there're students which play more complicated songs and arrangements, but the music played by the blind student was way better, more feel and oomph. Maybe that's what truly playing by hearing and feeling.
Piano is an instruments. It's easy to begin with but very (if not extremely) difficult to master. IMO, it's the 2nd most powerful instruments, the 1st being the Organ. Tough, I read many site saying piano is "arguably" the most powerful instruments.
doh.gif
why everytime got piano thread u advertise ur bussniss doh.gif doh.gif

anyway, WElcome to the cword Andy214!

45 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0290sec    1.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:24 PM