45 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

~~~~Clans of the Piano~~~, Piano,keyboard,syntherizer, clavinova!

Sky.Live
post Apr 23 2008, 11:28 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

i always prefer kawai over yamaha, in fact most piano over yamaha based on personal preferences and not their piano is not good. used to take classes in a yamaha center not long ago and just stopped.

now i am all alone again with no tutor around to guide. Good tutor i meet stop teaching and tutor which is still teaching are teaching for sake of teaching only. that's what i felt.

they said you're grade 3 and ask you to pay the money, have you ever thought you have really reached that standard? teaching you to play a piece at that level doesn't mean you have already archived that standard.
Momotaro Kun
post Apr 23 2008, 01:44 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 23 2008, 11:28 AM)
i always prefer kawai over yamaha, in fact most piano over yamaha based on personal preferences and not their piano is not good. used to take classes in a yamaha center not long ago and just stopped.

now i am all alone again with no tutor around to guide. Good tutor i meet stop teaching and tutor which is still teaching are teaching for sake of teaching only. that's what i felt.

they said you're grade 3 and ask you to pay the money, have you ever thought you have really reached that standard? teaching you to play a piece at that level doesn't mean you have already archived that standard.
I totally agree with your point
All of my music teachers are like "okay, from next month I will raise your fees" all of the sudden and I was like blink.gif
I've had few good teachers last time. They really planned a route and set a path for me but all of them left.
I wonder why good teachers always do this sad.gif they are really hard to come by.
TSicypetals
post Apr 23 2008, 03:14 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 23 2008, 11:10 AM)
Hi all,

I havent been touching my piano since I left australia for my tertiary education. I myself started piano late at 18 and only taken classes for around 1.5 years.

Learnt a lot of fundamental, played numerous song ( all kiddie song,grade 1,2) but really enjoyed the valuable experiences.

Nobuo Uematsu is the person inspired me for the late take up of piano, salute to him for the wonderful piece

Recently wanna have some life beside working, so thinking of warming up my skill again after like 5-6 years

Greatest achievement so far : Gau Theme from FFVI ( duration taken to learn : 6 months.... Not talented and started late)
Current piece : Jay Chou - Secret ( is it a good choice, can play around 70% fluent in page 1 at the moment after a week practice. Timing wise I am trying my best to capture, so sometime cannot properly transite.. Need advice on pedaling too, I lack of knowledge of that part.

Any advice from any sifu to bring me back to track slowly is needed. If you got some good practicing pieces, please kindly guide me.

I also noticed that theres no review of the music sheet so far by any sifus. So if possible, can you kindly comment on both gau and secret piece. I attached the file to be comment by anyone.

Cheers
welcome~~!!
if you want to improve, always play RIght hand, then play left hand. when both are good, then you can play them togther. is no point if u 1 time play both hand on the first try cause it will slow down your pratise.

manage your time and practise constantly everyday.
if u play 7 times a week X 365=2555 times u practise
if u practise 1 time a week in lesson X 365= you play 365 times per year.
if u draw a graft of tens years, u would be far mooooreee greater XD

anyway, god luck thumbup.gif

Added on April 23, 2008, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(Momotaro Kun @ Apr 23 2008, 01:44 PM)
I totally agree with your point
All of my music teachers are like "okay, from next month I will raise your fees" all of the sudden and I was like blink.gif
I've had few good teachers last time. They really planned a route and set a path for me but all of them left.
I wonder why good teachers always do this  sad.gif they are really hard to come by.
i have a very good teacher so i never experince this thou.

he will take me to workshop like penang, alor star etc etc. if got time, he will take me arond places, all he will call people to give us workshop( he called anne perreau tat day, u dono her, then good luck finding out : here's a tips, she teachers and educate "prodigies").

Anyway, his a very good teacher, somemore next week ask me go down penang and take me kai kai for 1 day and he will discuss wat holds in the future, which college/uni to go in oversea etc etc.

lucky to get such a good teacher icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by icypetals: Apr 23 2008, 03:16 PM
[vogue]angel
post Apr 23 2008, 08:27 PM

107 posts

i dun like kawai and yamahalar.......... now kawai mostly made in China and yamaha mostly made in indonesia......... so quality not so good.

TGS? u go there buy they will chop ur head. Go to Vienna Music and buy piano. They are specialist. Or u can buy from my piano tuner....... he reconds old piano. And HE TUNES PIANO without the STUPID TUNING MACHINE....... use pure hearing to tune.

hw bout ur piano tuners? mine is still old skool and old skool rock ( use ear instead of machine)

have u played on a Steinway and Sons piano b4? that's my dream piano......
Sky.Live
post Apr 23 2008, 09:46 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

steinway only distributor in Malaysia is Bentley. extremely expensive i think.

i only come across old second kawai b4.. never tried new one before.. most thing nowadays are from China now. you cant say that everything from there sucks..

anywhere to get good music teacher?
TSicypetals
post Apr 23 2008, 11:13 PM

324 posts

good music teacher? based on luck lol.

I know got 1 place good, Anne Perreau studio. their teacher are all proffesional. but i dont think they will deal with you, they train prodigies, and enter them for audition to get schoolarship to enter oversea university before the age of 13.

but they have the few best/or good teachers in malaysia who all obtain honours(first class upper) from oversea universities.
Momotaro Kun
post Apr 24 2008, 02:07 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 23 2008, 11:10 AM)
Hi all,

I havent been touching my piano since I left australia for my tertiary education. I myself started piano late at 18 and only taken classes for around 1.5 years.

Learnt a lot of fundamental, played numerous song ( all kiddie song,grade 1,2) but really enjoyed the valuable experiences.

Nobuo Uematsu is the person inspired me for the late take up of piano, salute to him for the wonderful piece

Recently wanna have some life beside working, so thinking of warming up my skill again after like 5-6 years

Greatest achievement so far : Gau Theme from FFVI ( duration taken to learn : 6 months.... Not talented and started late)
Current piece : Jay Chou - Secret ( is it a good choice, can play around 70% fluent in page 1 at the moment after a week practice. Timing wise I am trying my best to capture, so sometime cannot properly transite.. Need advice on pedaling too, I lack of knowledge of that part.

Any advice from any sifu to bring me back to track slowly is needed. If you got some good practicing pieces, please kindly guide me.

I also noticed that theres no review of the music sheet so far by any sifus. So if possible, can you kindly comment on both gau and secret piece. I attached the file to be comment by anyone.

Cheers
Wow your taste is same as mine!

I'm a big fan of Nobuo Uematsu too thumbup.gif I wish I could play some of the songs in FFIX Piano Collections

I am also a fan of Jay Chou laugh.gif but I haven't try playing Secret. Usually I release and press the pedal again for each bar, or whenever you hear the left hand chord changes (which will sound horrible if you keep the pedal pressed).

Since you could play Gau, I think Secret should not be a problem to you since the left hand part is repetitive. For the first page its best to memorize the pattern for your left hand. Notice that your thumb will follow this pattern over and over: G, F, G, A

Added on April 24, 2008, 2:16 am
QUOTE([vogue]angel @ Apr 23 2008, 08:27 PM)
i dun like kawai and yamahalar.......... now kawai mostly made in China and yamaha mostly made in indonesia......... so quality not so good.

TGS? u go there buy they will chop ur head. Go to Vienna Music and buy piano. They are specialist. Or u can buy from my piano tuner....... he reconds old piano. And HE TUNES PIANO without the STUPID TUNING MACHINE....... use pure hearing to tune.

hw bout ur piano tuners? mine is still old skool and old skool rock ( use ear instead of machine)

have u played on a Steinway and Sons piano b4? that's my dream piano......
You cant judge the quality based on the country its made. They usually produce products in a China because the cost is cheaper, cost like factory rental and the salary of the worker, but that does not mean that it is low quality. (Original Sony Playstation parts are made from China too laugh.gif )

Steinway & Sons is my dream piano too! Many performers I saw in youtube are using Steinway & Sons piano too. I saw somebody selling a second hand S&S grand piano for about RM130k ohmy.gif can buy one house already

Many people say that Yamaha is expensive because of its brand name, but not because of its quality. I wonder if its true

This post has been edited by Momotaro Kun: Apr 24 2008, 02:16 AM
Kayne
post Apr 24 2008, 07:49 AM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

I dont have problem playing left or right hand individually for the moment for all the 4 pages. Playing 2 hand together's progress is a bit slow cuz havent warm up properly due to many years didnt touch, those transition I still have to memorize a bit and timing didnt catch too well, but just a matter of time.

But pedaling.. totally suck at it. lol.. wonder why.. guess I need sometime to get myself back to track anyhow.. brain couldnt handle pedal+ 2 hand playing for the moment.

oh btw, I just download jay's secret MTV.... I noticed he didnt play GE,G,G,G ( opening)... the camera only play him playing GE only... and the guitar part lagi lame...
TSicypetals
post Apr 24 2008, 10:41 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 24 2008, 07:49 AM)
I dont have problem playing left or right hand individually for the moment for all the 4 pages. Playing 2 hand together's progress is a bit slow cuz havent warm up properly due to many years didnt touch, those transition I still have to memorize a bit and timing didnt catch too well, but just a matter of time.

But pedaling.. totally suck at it. lol.. wonder why.. guess I need sometime to get myself back to track anyhow.. brain couldnt handle pedal+ 2 hand playing for the moment.

oh btw, I just download jay's secret MTV.... I noticed he didnt play GE,G,G,G ( opening)... the camera only play him playing GE only... and the guitar part lagi lame...
i think jay played 1-2chords for guitar part in the mtv, so fake XD doh.gif
Kayne
post Apr 24 2008, 05:37 PM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

I am not expert in guitar... but the way he hold the guitar and play...seem like just want to get the gaya only

TSicypetals
post Apr 24 2008, 07:48 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 24 2008, 05:37 PM)
I am not expert in guitar... but the way he hold the guitar and play...seem like just want to get the gaya only
ya, just for The music video. brows.gif
x-crusader
post Apr 24 2008, 10:20 PM

472 posts

yala...
who will play so seriously in a music video ohh...
not even jay la...
but the piano scene in the movie is awesome...
watch once..
haven notice it is playing in real or prerecorded sounds...
TSicypetals
post Apr 24 2008, 10:32 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 24 2008, 10:20 PM)
yala...
who will play so seriously in a music video ohh...
not even jay la...
but the piano scene in the movie is awesome...
watch once..
haven notice it is playing in real or prerecorded sounds...
it was a recorded version. but they press the right key XD.

I can play the first and second battle song !! nv tried the third. my teacher stuff me with too much chopin and clementi rclxub.gif
x-crusader
post Apr 24 2008, 10:37 PM

472 posts

the third one ahh...
got 2 piano inside leh...
dunno how to play..
i got 1 person version's pieces..
but juz look at the notes....
and u will try to stay away from it...
very fast and very very very berry hard...XD

TSicypetals
post Apr 24 2008, 11:12 PM

324 posts

get the 2 people version.

when they seperate it, it is clear that the piece is quite simple comparing to chopin XD

pm me for web
Kayne
post Apr 25 2008, 10:22 AM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

Crazy la for the battle song....

Anyway, Who can play FFVI decisive battle here? and btw... is it ok for us to rearrange the sheet so that it is managable by our playing skill? sometime I really felt that the timing and transition very hard for a few piece

This post has been edited by Kayne: Apr 25 2008, 10:23 AM
IIIaZer
post Apr 25 2008, 11:06 AM

347 posts

woot..... didnt know got a Piano clan here.
nice meeting u all.. finished my grade 8 around 10 years ago tongue.gif .... semi-retired at the moment. now checking out some keyboard.. wanted to buy one. No chance to play piano since start working in KL.
TSicypetals
post Apr 25 2008, 04:20 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 25 2008, 10:22 AM)

Anyway, Who can play FFVI decisive battle here? and btw... is it ok for us to rearrange the sheet so that it is managable by our playing skill? sometime I really felt that the timing and transition very hard for a few piece
well, if u find that the song is hard, try to find out the left hand chord, and write it out "Dm, C, G7, F7" etc etc
then u can play the chord in any way that u are comfortable

sometime its nice to rearrange, then u will be good at improvising and u understanding chord better.
oh here is a tip for u: adding a suspension 9 note will sound nice in a chord.

EXAMPLE:
C chord

C E G

you can play

C E G C D E G( broken chord)

get the pont rolleyes.gif ?

QUOTE(IIIaZer @ Apr 25 2008, 11:06 AM)
woot..... didnt know got a Piano clan here. 
nice meeting u all.. finished my grade 8 around 10 years ago tongue.gif .... semi-retired at the moment. now checking out some keyboard.. wanted to buy one. No chance to play piano since start working in KL.
WELCOMD XD
No worriews, good luck finding thumbup.gif

Momotaro Kun
post Apr 26 2008, 07:17 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 25 2008, 10:22 AM)

I usually simplify the piece if is too hard to play but I wanted to play that song badly laugh.gif
I don't really like to do this because you'll need to play a harder song in order to advance
But if I love that song and wanted to play it badly, thats a different story tongue.gif
Kayne
post Apr 27 2008, 12:56 PM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

haha true that. guess I will take my time and learn it up slowly, the hard part is the speed, let me slow everything down by 50-100%, I am sure I can play it

then gradually increase my playing speed

45 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:33 PM