Maxis Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread #2, 3G/3.5G Broadband

KKW
post Apr 4 2010, 04:58 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(dyaf @ Apr 4 2010, 01:24 PM)
According to them. No.
But it would be slow, slower and slowest but not stop.

Actually, 1GB download is very easy to reach in few days. Just try out this using U-Mobile. $$ gone testing the prepaid.

Added on April 4, 2010, 1:40 pm
Does it come with maxis modem? Because i think maxis is not using the same HSDPA modem like celcom or digi.
Nope.. u need purchase separately from him biggrin.gif
mengsuan
post Apr 4 2010, 05:15 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

If I subscribe the RM48/month plan, do I pay only RM48/month even after the 5th month?

The so called "RM78/month Usual Price" doesn't mean anything right?
dyaf
post Apr 4 2010, 05:48 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Apr 4 2010, 05:15 PM)
If I subscribe the RM48/month plan, do I pay only RM48/month even after the 5th month?

The so called "RM78/month Usual Price" doesn't mean anything right?
From what i have heard during conversation with the customer service agent, it is rebate every month of RM30 for 5 months if you are getting the package with modem. (RM150). So, each month you are only paying RM18 until the 6th month, you pay the RM48. For package without modem, you have pay to RM48 upfront for the first month. Anyway, I could be understanding it differently. Any others who have called the maxis customer service? (number is 123 for maxis mobile holder / 0374922123)

PootieTang_85
post Apr 4 2010, 06:08 PM

LOL
767 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Apr 4 2010, 04:19 PM)
din hear bout it.. it's a new package?
me too, never heard about it, but i recently i subs it with broadband reseller in midvalley..enjoying surfing now..
mengsuan
post Apr 4 2010, 06:16 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(dyaf @ Apr 4 2010, 05:48 PM)
From what i have heard during conversation with the customer service agent, it is rebate every month of RM30 for 5 months if you are getting the package with modem. (RM150). So, each month you are only paying RM18 until the 6th month, you pay the RM48. For package without modem, you have pay to RM48 upfront for the first month. Anyway, I could be understanding it differently. Any others who have called the maxis customer service? (number is 123 for maxis mobile holder / 0374922123)
Ok, I get the rough idea. I just want to make sure that it won't become RM78 after certain promotional period.

With the great deal, who wouldn't want the package with modem? There seems to be no extra charges after all.

There's also Advanced Lite Youth for RM48/month. The difference I see is only no free modem and larger quota per month. Assuming I'm a very casual user, it feels that the normal RM48/month with modem package is more worth. laugh.gif
-Teddy-
post Apr 4 2010, 06:33 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Doesn't matter even if they charge RM78 after the fifth month for some reason. There's no contract after all. Just kiss them goodbye biggrin.gif
dyaf
post Apr 4 2010, 06:34 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Apr 4 2010, 06:16 PM)
Ok, I get the rough idea. I just want to make sure that it won't become RM78 after certain promotional period.

With the great deal, who wouldn't want the package with modem? There seems to be no extra charges after all.

There's also Advanced Lite Youth for RM48/month. The difference I see is only no free modem and larger quota per month. Assuming I'm a very casual user, it feels that the normal RM48/month with modem package is more worth. laugh.gif
No, there is a setback cautioned by the service agent. If you are getting the package with rebate RM30 every month. If you decided to terminate before the 5th month. You would loose out your rebate. That mean you are buying the modem with RM150 which i think it is not so bad either lar. Modem nowadays more or less this price anyway. Btw, the modem is most like lock to Maxis. So, you would need to do something to unlock it. So, the only risk is able to unlock or not. If cannot, then keep the modem as Maxis souvenier lor like key chain may be . Lol....

Probably for kiasu people, they would stick to the plan for 5 months lar.

Actually, based on my experience with wireless broadband. The first month is always the most important month for you to decide to continue or not.

If you do not have the connection at your area (which quite common because different providers have different focus on the coverage area. Sometimes the package look attractive but no point if your area have no good connection. Got coverage also no use one lar.). You would likely to get a very bad or not usable at all connection which i don;t think you would want to stick to it more than another day .

Added on April 4, 2010, 6:39 pm
QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Apr 4 2010, 06:33 PM)
Doesn't matter even if they charge RM78 after the fifth month for some reason. There's no contract after all. Just kiss them goodbye biggrin.gif
Yeah, i feel the way too. Unlike other operator, you would need to beg them for refund on down payment. Feel sad when need to travel here and there just to get the down payment. I think at work also not that hardworking ah. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dyaf: Apr 4 2010, 06:53 PM
shadow111
post Apr 4 2010, 08:11 PM

3,140 posts

i am using the rm48 package now. i dont think it will turn into package rm78 once the 5 months is done. pls correct me if i'm wrong.
dyaf
post Apr 4 2010, 08:17 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Apr 4 2010, 08:11 PM)
i am using the rm48 package now. i dont think it will turn into package rm78 once the 5 months is done. pls correct me if i'm wrong.
Yeah, i don;t think they would do that for non contractual users. All the users would unsubscribe immediately if they increase the price. Because it is not contractual bound.

So far have you reached the volume quota yet? If so, how is the capped speed like?

Mind to show up the speed meter?

-Teddy-
post Apr 4 2010, 08:18 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(dyaf @ Apr 4 2010, 06:34 PM)
No, there is a setback cautioned by the service agent. If you are getting the package with rebate RM30 every month. If you decided to terminate before the 5th month. You would loose out your rebate. That mean you are buying the modem with RM150 which i think it is not so bad either lar. Modem nowadays more or less this price anyway. Btw, the modem is most like lock to Maxis. So, you would need to do something to unlock it. So, the only risk is able to unlock or not. If cannot, then keep the modem as Maxis souvenier lor like key chain may be . Lol....

Actually, based on my experience with wireless broadband. The first month is always the most important month for you to decide to continue or not.

If you do not have the connection at your area (which quite common because different providers have different focus on the coverage area. Sometimes the package look attractive but no point if your area have no good connection. Got coverage also no use one lar.). You would likely to get a very bad or not usable at all connection which i don;t think you would want to stick to it more than another day .
I unlocked my modem on the very first day I got it laugh.gif
dyaf
post Apr 4 2010, 08:29 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Apr 4 2010, 08:18 PM)
I unlocked my modem on the very first day I got it  laugh.gif
So, there is nothing to stop you for changing to other operator. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

That is the advantage of HSDPA network. Can choose among Digi, Maxis, U-Mobile and Celcom. Tak suka, change...
future80
post Apr 4 2010, 08:32 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Apr 4 2010, 06:16 PM)

only not worth is quota only 1.5G. need maintain 50Mb everyday. it is very fast to getting 50Mb perday as if 1 email has 10Mb attachment, 5 email would used up 50Mb.

QUOTE(dyaf @ Apr 4 2010, 06:34 PM)

Added on April 4, 2010, 6:39 pm
Yeah, i feel the way too. Unlike other operator, you would need to beg them for refund on down payment. Feel sad when need to travel here and there just to get the down payment. I think at work also not that hardworking ah.  biggrin.gif
the old RM78 permonth plan is based on contract or not? it not, it wil auto change to RM48?
shadow111
post Apr 4 2010, 08:33 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(dyaf @ Apr 4 2010, 08:17 PM)
Yeah, i don;t think they would do that for non contractual users. All the users would unsubscribe immediately if they increase the price. Because it is not contractual bound.
So far have you reached the volume quota yet? If so, how is the capped speed like?

Mind to show up the speed meter?
me still using less than 1GB.. i only use it at home after work to surf net n also chatting.
din really do much heavy download/etc..

Added on April 4, 2010, 8:34 pm
QUOTE(future80 @ Apr 4 2010, 08:32 PM)
only not worth is quota only 1.5G.  need maintain 50Mb everyday. it is very fast to getting 50Mb perday as if 1 email has 10Mb attachment, 5 email would used up 50Mb.
the old RM78 permonth plan is based on contract or not? it not, it wil auto change to RM48?
10mb attachment? hot n spicy email eh.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by shadow111: Apr 4 2010, 08:34 PM
-Teddy-
post Apr 4 2010, 08:41 PM

meh
1,939 posts

I plug the modem in for only 10 minutes to do speed test, ended up using 7MB. Anyone know how to stop the software from automatically connecting me to the mylaunchpad thing everytime I connect?
mengsuan
post Apr 4 2010, 08:51 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

only not worth is quota only 1.5G.  need maintain 50Mb everyday. it is very fast to getting 50Mb perday as if 1 email has 10Mb attachment, 5 email would used up 50Mb.
I don't think I'll exceed 1GB also. I just want to use it to remain connected when I'm out. I have streamyx at home for the downloads.
dyaf
post Apr 4 2010, 08:51 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Apr 4 2010, 08:41 PM)
I plug the modem in for only 10 minutes to do speed test, ended up using 7MB. Anyone know how to stop the software from automatically connecting me to the mylaunchpad thing everytime I connect?
That is the problem when the speed is fast. It kills / consume all your data volume really fast.

If you are on 7.2Mbps connection to download a 1.5GB file. I think only take less than half an hour to use up all your quota.
Need a very good data management program, any good tool to use? I think better don;t do speed test much ah, waste your volume ah... Save it for good cause..

-Teddy-
post Apr 4 2010, 09:02 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(dyaf @ Apr 4 2010, 08:51 PM)
That is the problem when the speed is fast. It kills / consume all  your data volume really fast.

If you are on 7.2Mbps connection to download a 1.5GB file. I think only take less than half an hour to use up all your quota.
Need a very good data management program, any good tool to use? I think better don;t do speed test much ah, waste your volume ah... Save it for good cause..
I was just being curious, that was my first day getting the modem. I have not used it since, will only start when I go back to my hostel (would probably do another speed test there laugh.gif ).

Does anyone know how to get replace the Maxis mobile partner software with other versions that won't pop up anything after getting connected? Will it work if I use Celcom's mobile partner? Or I will need to flash the modem?
jakuraz
post Apr 4 2010, 09:10 PM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Apr 4 2010, 08:51 PM)
I don't think I'll exceed 1GB also. I just want to use it to remain connected when I'm out. I have streamyx at home for the downloads.
if that so..dont open youtube or other video streaming sites.
my maxis bb data volume increase very speedily when watching youtube videos.
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
fastreader
post Apr 4 2010, 09:18 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Apr 4 2010, 04:12 PM)
anybody heard the RM99(RM33x3months rebate) with free modem E220 package? for the device package though...
where u got this offer?... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif interested..
dyaf
post Apr 4 2010, 09:19 PM

130 posts

Yeah, 1.5 GB IMHO is really really little too. P1 Wimax Rm49 package has as much as 5GB data quota, after that would get capped but of course the speed is not as high like 7.2Mbps for Maxis. That is why, the speed after capped is the determine factor now. If it gradually capped from 7.2Mbps, probably it take some time to reach the same speed like other operator. If the capped speed is immediately to 128Kbps. That would mean we are simply paying RM48 for 128Kbps unless that is you are willing to pay more but the fate is the same, 1.5GB, 3.0GB, 5GB is not much different for a 7.2 Mbps broadband. (should be like 3GB, 10GB and then 20GB and so on but Maxis would not agree on this of course. ) It is a matter of time, really short one that is.

208 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:40 AM