Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

DarkNite
post Jan 13 2010, 12:27 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 13 2010, 09:08 AM)
....about the SP beef soup! I havent even try it before, and only heard about it like 1 month ago lol. I will find 1 day and visit it liao tongue.gif

and steamed rice roasted pork? do you mean "sai gao"? the old place that sell dai chao at lunch?
Sorry I went there like 20 years ago, so now i also don't know where exactly are these places anymore. Last year went to SP, thought of having lunch at these places but got lost and due to tight schedule went to Prai for dinner instead. Was wondering if these place will be in your blogg?
samlee860407
post Jan 13 2010, 12:55 PM

4,631 posts

whao, 20 years is really long lol, but i think the steamed rice you mentioned, should be the same that i say, because that shop is there more than 20 years liao also

i will definitely blog about that since its 1 of the best "dai chao" in SP, just need time to find ppl to go, so can order more dish nia, haha

abt the beef noodle, let me go liao and take picture, see isit the same as u say anot, haha
hackwire
post Jan 13 2010, 02:59 PM

4,256 posts

Which beach hotel is the cheapest?

Putraskyline
post Jan 13 2010, 04:17 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 13 2010, 02:59 PM)
Which beach hotel  is the cheapest?
Where?
hackwire
post Jan 13 2010, 05:14 PM

4,256 posts

i thought this thread is for PEnang ? durh!
vey99
post Jan 13 2010, 05:29 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

SP and penang quite near wat.
stimix
post Jan 13 2010, 05:53 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I think the Thread should include Bkt Mertajam, Kulim & as well as Sg petani too...These areas consider Greater Penang liao just like Klang Valley which inc KL, PJ, Kajang, Shah Alam & Klang
TUCKY
post Jan 13 2010, 06:29 PM

36 posts

my gf and I are thinking of spending about 1 week in Penang. Can anyone please recommend a motel/budget hotel to stay for less than 100 a night?
samlee860407
post Jan 13 2010, 06:43 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 13 2010, 05:14 PM)
i thought this thread is for PEnang ? durh!
penang also got alot of place got beach hotel k? gurney there also beach, although is smelly beach, tanjung bungah also, batu feringhi also, even Eastin hotel at queensbay also can consider

and even even if want to say, penang also got mainland, there also got beach!!!

hence Putraskyline ask you where, dont need be so rude....

QUOTE(vey99 @ Jan 13 2010, 05:29 PM)
SP and penang quite near wat.
i think he talking to putraskyline la, not mentioning me.

btw, i agree this shud include kulim, sungai petani, and maybe tambun too....

coz if these places are seperated, surely no ppl post one
Ami Tsun
post Jan 13 2010, 07:06 PM

In fact, memang got a few nice Nasi Kandar in Penang - at Kampung Melayu, at Gelugor area, and the Nasi Beratur near Pitt Street.

For very affordable Malay food, head over to Butterworth, near the ferry terminal, there's this Restaurant Terapung Nelayan Batu Ujung. Sotong, prawn, ikan bawal hitam, are from the fishermen's catch. Usually, we take our rice with a few dishes (sotong/prawn/rendang/chicken) individually, we then take two ikan bawal hitam goreng and all kinds of ulam to share. 5 persons, with drinks, around RM$30..
etigge
post Jan 13 2010, 07:21 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 13 2010, 09:08 AM)
lol, yea, squid and squid egg is mahal. coz normally take squid, squid egg and either fish or lamb at other place, also cost around rm12 at other place liao. haha

and yes, it was ikan bawal, the black one.

thanks for the comments, and whao, you know about the SP beef soup! I havent even try it before, and only heard about it like 1 month ago lol. I will find 1 day and visit it liao tongue.gif

and steamed rice roasted pork? do you mean "sai gao"? the old place that sell dai chao at lunch?

PS: stimix cannot tahan rat and longkang smell one,thats why dia hate william PJ too lol

Added on January 13, 2010, 9:09 am
which one better? biggrin.gif

now i every weekend will stay at penang liao, can go eat eat become pig riao biggrin.gif
Since every week there, might as well try one place for this week and the next place for the next week. rclxms.gif
samlee860407
post Jan 13 2010, 07:42 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Jan 13 2010, 07:06 PM)
In fact, memang got a few nice Nasi Kandar in Penang - at Kampung Melayu, at Gelugor area, and the Nasi Beratur near Pitt Street.

For very affordable Malay food, head over to Butterworth, near the ferry terminal, there's this Restaurant Terapung Nelayan Batu Ujung.  Sotong, prawn, ikan bawal hitam, are from the fishermen's catch.  Usually, we take our rice with a few dishes (sotong/prawn/rendang/chicken) individually, we then take two ikan bawal hitam goreng and all kinds of ulam to share.  5 persons, with drinks, around RM$30..
ada more exact location, or google map? tongue.gif

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 13 2010, 07:21 PM)
Since every week there, might as well try one place for this week and the next place for the next week.  rclxms.gif
haha, i want go eat the better one 1st ma tongue.gif

vey99
post Jan 13 2010, 07:59 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 13 2010, 06:43 PM)

u all shud go down Bagan Semat teochew village eated the food there, dam superb and authentic
samlee860407
post Jan 13 2010, 08:12 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Jan 13 2010, 07:59 PM)
u all shud go down Bagan Semat teochew village eated the food there, dam superb and authentic
bangan semat is where? @@
Ami Tsun
post Jan 14 2010, 12:15 AM

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 13 2010, 07:42 PM)
ada more exact location, or google map? tongue.gif
Google map search liao can not get Batu Ujung.. Found the roads, but from the map, does not seems to have any thing around the area.

The nearest I can get from google map searched is "Ching Long Machineray (M) Sdn Bhd" in Penang map. You'll see it is along Jalan Assumption. From the satelite image, you'll see at the back of this building, there's a jetty like structure, with what looks like stilt houses, extending out to the river. That's the location of Restaurant Terapung Nelayan.

For the road direction, I go from the traffic light at the junction of Jalan Chain Ferry, Jalan New Ferry, Jalan Sungai Nyiur and turn into Jalan Assumption. Just before the road bend (before Ching Long), on the left, there's a sign board reads Persatuan Nelayan. This is where I drive into and park the car, very limited parking space. Alternately, drive pass the bend and turn left just before under the bridge(the overpass of the Outer Ring Road). Follow the small road as far as the car can goes and park there(outside some people's houses).

The restaurant only opens for lunch, around 11+ am to 2+pm. And it is closed on Sat and Sun. Also, it is closed for the whole of fasting month. And on the first day it opens for business after the fasting month, it is FREE for all..

This post has been edited by Ami Tsun: Jan 14 2010, 12:18 AM
vey99
post Jan 14 2010, 12:28 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 13 2010, 08:12 PM)
bangan semat is where? @@
sorry is Bagan Samak
http://wikimapia.org/#lat=5.0904312&lon=10...=14&l=0&m=b&v=8

http://wikimapia.org/12812527/Kampung-Baru-Bagan-Samak

exit bandar baharu toll.

nice little village is nice
hackwire
post Jan 14 2010, 03:31 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 13 2010, 06:43 PM)
penang also got alot of place got beach hotel k? gurney there also beach, although is smelly beach, tanjung bungah also, batu feringhi also, even Eastin hotel at queensbay also can consider

and even even if want to say, penang also got mainland, there also got beach!!!

hence Putraskyline ask you where, dont need be so rude....
i think he talking to putraskyline la, not mentioning me.

hey its not rude . the question is not complete and how i know what he meant.
go to Hong Kong and get tembak for such question especially malaysian who always expect somebody to know.

and nobody is asking about other district in Mainland Penang. If you guys wish to make Butterworth , Juru and Bukit Mertajam as part of Penang than better not divide them as mainland and island as Tourist in other countries will not bother about it. If they mean Penang , just don't confuse them by being so smart asking them which part of Penang they are refering to.

I came across many smart Penangite explaining mainland Penang and Penang Island to the mat salleh so confusingly . This is pretty stupid for them as if the mat salleh cares since they are here for the beaches and sun and only a short stint in their life.

If u go to hong kong don't said thre is a mainland hong kong , call china too...

by the way, im a penagite and seeing from my past experience in penang and now in KL is totally different already. So i hope Penangite just don't confuse the foreigner and tourist with such Geography lesson. The Mat Salleh will never say Boring!!! on your face directly, they go back and forget this lesson or maybe laugh at how Penang people try to associate mainland and island... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hackwire: Jan 14 2010, 03:36 AM
Putraskyline
post Jan 14 2010, 03:44 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Wowow....calm down lah. Actually I'm kinda lazy to write full sentence. I wanna ask you, your preferred beach so I can narrow down my knowledge. And your question also not complete tongue.gif hahaha

Added on January 14, 2010, 3:46 am
QUOTE(TUCKY @ Jan 13 2010, 06:29 PM)
my gf and I are thinking of spending about 1 week in Penang. Can anyone please recommend a motel/budget hotel to stay for less than 100 a night?
It would be better if you provide us some preferred location.

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jan 14 2010, 03:46 AM
Defallen
post Jan 14 2010, 04:37 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(TUCKY @ Jan 13 2010, 06:29 PM)
A week eh? Why not try out Tune Hotel of Air-Asia?
More Infos

This post has been edited by Defallen: Jan 14 2010, 04:39 AM
DarkNite
post Jan 14 2010, 07:54 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Beside the Tune Hotel, most budget motel/budget hotel to stay for less than 100 a night are located in the inner city. There are a few scatted else where but not conducive unless you have your own car.
Here are 2 links you can checkout. Call them to confirm the rate as their banner says less than RM100 but their website says more.
http://www.nazahotel.com.my/penang/location.htm
http://www.goodhopehotel.com.my/kelawei-pe..._our_rooms.html
Or call
Hotel Waterfall, 160 Jalan Utama, Georgetown, 10450 tel:04-2295588

142 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:42 AM