142 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

samlee860407
post Jan 10 2010, 11:33 AM

4,631 posts

i won't worry much about traffic jam during CNY, i worry more about where to eat during the 1st 2 days of CNY

1st: find parking susah riao
2nd: when got parking, go down shop need to wait for table
3rd: got table riao when order need to wait long long
4th: food sux
5th: price although mahal compare to normal, but its nothing if compare to 1st few things i mentioned.....

btw, for people that not familiar with penang, lagi susah lol. coz tak tau how to go = stuck at traffic jam longer

tak tau where to eat (coz close shop) = spend time on the road more too lol
stimix
post Jan 10 2010, 11:42 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Dun worry Penang ppl veli the enterprising wan..1st & 2nd day also open wan...but be prepared to kena Ketuk kaw-kaw..

There was one year ..(many-many years ago) I was makaning at the New Lane CCF & CKT...

CKT = RM7, CCF ~RM4 & the leng chee kang RM3.50..FUUUUU..Klang valley that time also got no such pricing!!
DarkNite
post Jan 10 2010, 01:31 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(benny_s @ Jan 9 2010, 07:38 PM)
Hello, i plan to go penang during CNY too, may i know the traffic situation during CNY?
Not mean to be rude but please do NOT come!
CNY and Raya, my family travels to KL to enjoy.
1st: find parking banyak senang liao
2nd: when got parking, go down shop NO need to wait for table
3rd: got table riao when order NO need to wait long long
4th: food very siok!
5th: price although mahal, it is comparable to normal CNY Penang's price..... laugh.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 10 2010, 11:42 AM)
..FUUUUU..Klang valley that time also got no such pricing!!

thumbup.gif

BTW on the way to KL via PLUS, we see the long jams going to Ipoh and Penang. Pity those poor folks paying toll (which may increase), wasting petrol and time stuck in traffic. And to think these folks will be doing the same thing on the return trip. sad.gif

Best is you plan for the March schools holiday, it is more sane.

ken_zie
post Jan 10 2010, 01:38 PM

830 posts

i do agree that do not go to penang during CNY. the traffic sucks... few years back we went to penang for CNY holiday... was stuck in the traffic for like 2 hours when our destination is just like 10 - 15 mins away...
Ami Tsun
post Jan 10 2010, 02:36 PM

The fact is, if you are driving from the south to Penang on the 1st day of CNY, the most terrible jam might be at some part of the NS Highway!!

Last year, my cousin left home at KL around 9am, and reach Butterworth (not yet reach the island) at 4.30pm!!

Then it was massive jam on the Penang Bridge. Nightmare ++, finally reach the island side around 7pm..

This post has been edited by Ami Tsun: Jan 10 2010, 02:37 PM
stimix
post Jan 10 2010, 03:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hehe..Ever kena jam from Taiping to Kl start at 4:30PM & reached KL at 1 am the nxt day..me kena kawa kaw liao
samlee860407
post Jan 10 2010, 05:32 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 10 2010, 01:31 PM)
Not mean to be rude but please do NOT come!
CNY and Raya, my family travels to KL to enjoy.
1st: find parking banyak senang liao
2nd: when got parking, go down shop NO need to wait for table
3rd: got table riao when order NO need to wait long long
4th: food very siok!
5th: price although mahal, it is comparable to normal CNY Penang's price..... laugh.gif

thumbup.gif

BTW on the way to KL via PLUS, we see the long jams going to Ipoh and Penang. Pity those poor folks paying toll (which may increase), wasting petrol and time stuck in traffic. And to think these folks will be doing the same thing on the return trip. sad.gif

Best is you plan for the March schools holiday, it is more sane.
agree agree lol

raya and CNY, kl is bestest liao lol
vey99
post Jan 10 2010, 08:34 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

dun remind me of the PLUS jam la ah mix. summore that coastal road thingy... just not practical if going PG.
Ami Tsun
post Jan 11 2010, 10:43 PM

Went to eat Nasi Kandar at Line Clear last week - the only place I know that it won't burnt a hole in my pocket for Nasi Kandar.
samlee860407
post Jan 11 2010, 11:17 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Jan 11 2010, 10:43 PM)
Went to eat Nasi Kandar at Line Clear last week - the only place I know that it won't burnt a hole in my pocket for Nasi Kandar.
wah lao, why la people say line clear cheap when the nasi kandar i get is rm18.20 (yes mine alone) there not include water? lol

no prawn no crab no fish head......

but well, i will still go back even though if i need to pay rm18 again lol
Ami Tsun
post Jan 11 2010, 11:35 PM

RM 18.20 at Line Clear? What did you have? Geez, it costs me RM 15.20 only for 2 pax, including take away one piece of curry chicken..

Here's some prices that I remember:
Nasi putih - 0.70
Vege - 0.60
Beef - 1.30
Chicken (thigh + drumstick) - 4.00

We ordered our teh tarik only when we finished our food, but before that they wanted to offer us FREE plain water or air suam pun boleh.
stimix
post Jan 12 2010, 09:32 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Actually Line clear will be my 1st & last liao...Kenot stand the smell of longkang & also the running rats...worst during raining....Nothing great about the food...

This is one overatted nasi kandar wth the actor as an icon just bcos he been there & bcos some TV ppl luv the name "Line Clear" years back... There other much cleaner nasi kandar around...

BTW, it's not cheap also.more expensive than The Pelita at Chai Leng park...which for me much better! - My lunch at pelita Chai leng park wth Fried chicken & Vege, never exceed RM4 wan

Added on January 12, 2010, 10:17 amI think this yr 2nd yr also hv to use costal road liao to avoid the jam from Sg Buloh all the way to Tapah on 2nd day of CNY as previous yrs haizzz

QUOTE(vey99 @ Jan 10 2010, 08:34 PM)
dun remind me of the PLUS jam la ah mix. summore that coastal road thingy... just not practical if going PG.
This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 12 2010, 10:17 AM
samlee860407
post Jan 12 2010, 10:25 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Jan 11 2010, 11:35 PM)
RM 18.20 at Line Clear?  What did you have? Geez, it costs me RM 15.20 only for 2 pax, including take away one piece of curry chicken..

Here's some prices that I remember:
Nasi putih - 0.70
Vege        - 0.60
Beef        -  1.30
Chicken (thigh + drumstick)  - 4.00

We ordered our teh tarik only when we finished our food, but before that they wanted to offer us FREE plain water or air suam pun boleh.
This one cost RM18.20

This one cost rm8.60

ada proof of receipt lagi

see blog for more lol

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 12 2010, 09:32 AM)
Actually Line clear will be my 1st & last liao...Kenot stand the smell of longkang & also the running rats...worst during raining....Nothing great about the food...

This is one overatted nasi kandar wth the actor as an icon just bcos he been there & bcos some TV ppl luv the name "Line Clear" years back... There other much cleaner nasi kandar around...

BTW, it's not cheap also.more expensive than The Pelita at Chai Leng park...which for me much better! - My lunch at pelita Chai leng park wth Fried chicken & Vege, never exceed RM4 wan

Added on January 12, 2010, 10:17 amI think this yr 2nd yr also hv to use costal road liao to avoid the jam from Sg Buloh all the way to Tapah on 2nd day of CNY as previous yrs haizzz
whao, RM4 for fried chicken and vege, not bad eh....pelita ok la, but if say curry, i still like line clear
Putraskyline
post Jan 12 2010, 01:17 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Have you all tried Tajudin Hussein restaurant at Queen Street?
Ami Tsun
post Jan 12 2010, 11:37 PM

Wah, the 18.20 really something ah... But that's really so much food for one person ah....

My share that day cost me RM 2.70 only.... He he, coz it's just one piece of beef, vege and rice, with plenty of "assorted" kuah. Actually, that's what I like about Nasi Kandar, the rice and the gravy... lol

samlee860407
post Jan 12 2010, 11:54 PM

4,631 posts

haha, at 1st when i saw, i also tot i cant finish it, mana tau eat eat, semua masuk perut @@'

btw, Tajudin Hussein restaurant also nasi kandar?
Putraskyline
post Jan 12 2010, 11:57 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 12 2010, 11:54 PM)
haha, at 1st when i saw, i also tot i cant finish it, mana tau eat eat, semua masuk perut @@'

btw, Tajudin Hussein restaurant also nasi kandar?
Yeap...but open during lunch only. My colleague brought me to this place during my business trip last weekend. Hard to get table though.
etigge
post Jan 13 2010, 06:02 AM

295 posts

There's another one along Penang Road which I think is worth mentioning. In fact the original nasi kandar is actually from here. The shop is located on the right of Chowrasta Market, Tamil St. Give it a try, nice. Another good one that I have tasted is Kassim Mustaffa in Bayan Baru, same road as Sunshine Supermarket. I overloaded myself when I ate there, tasty!
DarkNite
post Jan 13 2010, 08:44 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 11 2010, 11:17 PM)
wah lao, why la people say line clear cheap when the nasi kandar i get is rm18.20 (yes mine alone) there not include water? lol
no prawn no crab no fish head......

but well, i will still go back even though if i need to pay rm18 again lol
"My choice is lamb rendang, curry fi$h, $quid and $quid egg."
The last 3 are 'super expensive'
BTW was it ikan bawal?
PS Like your blogg, but how come no feature SP beef soup or steam rice roasted pork place. Think there are many interesting eateries in SP but maybe no more in existence, cos long time ago? hmm.gif
QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 12 2010, 09:32 AM)
laugh.gif One man's meat is another man's poison.
Yup don't like the smell, rats, dust and heat, which is why I always have take-away. Mostly fish curry with bendi(2pcs), chicken curry and ayam madu(2pcs). Cost about RM16 which is enough to be share by 4 persons.
samlee860407
post Jan 13 2010, 09:08 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 13 2010, 08:44 AM)
"My choice is lamb rendang, curry fi$h, $quid and $quid egg."
The last 3 are 'super expensive'
BTW was it ikan bawal?
PS Like your blogg, but how come no feature SP beef soup or steam rice roasted pork place. Think there are many interesting eateries in SP but maybe no more in existence, cos long time ago? hmm.gif

laugh.gif One man's meat is another man's poison.
Yup don't like the smell, rats, dust and heat, which is why I always have take-away. Mostly fish curry with bendi(2pcs), chicken curry and ayam madu(2pcs). Cost about RM16 which is enough to be share by 4 persons.
lol, yea, squid and squid egg is mahal. coz normally take squid, squid egg and either fish or lamb at other place, also cost around rm12 at other place liao. haha

and yes, it was ikan bawal, the black one.

thanks for the comments, and whao, you know about the SP beef soup! I havent even try it before, and only heard about it like 1 month ago lol. I will find 1 day and visit it liao tongue.gif

and steamed rice roasted pork? do you mean "sai gao"? the old place that sell dai chao at lunch?

PS: stimix cannot tahan rat and longkang smell one,thats why dia hate william PJ too lol

Added on January 13, 2010, 9:09 am
QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 13 2010, 06:02 AM)
There's another one along Penang Road which I think is worth mentioning. In fact the original nasi kandar is actually from here. The shop is located on the right of Chowrasta Market, Tamil St. Give it a try, nice. Another good one that I have tasted is Kassim Mustaffa in Bayan Baru, same road as Sunshine Supermarket. I overloaded myself when I ate there, tasty!
which one better? biggrin.gif

now i every weekend will stay at penang liao, can go eat eat become pig riao biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Jan 13 2010, 09:09 AM

142 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:35 PM