QUOTE(viking2009 @ Jun 12 2009, 12:54 PM)
got la, i mean if go PG , then enjoi the local specialties lor...but a lot place over d yrs become too crowded, the food qualiti also drop due to taht, naturally.
QUOTE(platingirl @ Jun 12 2009, 01:30 PM)
Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides
Jun 12 2009, 01:36 PM
1,337 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(viking2009 @ Jun 12 2009, 12:54 PM) got la, i mean if go PG , then enjoi the local specialties lor...but a lot place over d yrs become too crowded, the food qualiti also drop due to taht, naturally. QUOTE(platingirl @ Jun 12 2009, 01:30 PM) |
Jun 12 2009, 03:45 PM
1,577 posts Joined: May 2005 From: USJ |
planning a trip to penang in august... i think 2nd or 3rd week before the merdeka celebration.
Any recommended place to stay in town? I'll be driving up with a GPS (hopefully). Going with my girlfriend. Hoping to find somewhere near town and easy access to all the happening places. Added on June 12, 2009, 3:46 pmbtw, budget around 150 per night for hotel room... If can, lower still. Cos we'll be spending most of our time outside exploring. This post has been edited by raist86: Jun 12 2009, 03:46 PM |
Jun 12 2009, 05:27 PM
1,329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(platingirl @ Jun 9 2009, 04:57 PM) Please recommend a few good places to eat in Penang .... 1) Seafood -> Big Tree along Jetty; Hai Boey, Hau You at Teluk Kumbar; Tambun, Batu Kawan1) Seafood 2) CKT (aside from Lrg Selamat, Sisters, Ah Leng) 3) Koay Chap 4) Anything ... 2) CKT (aside from Lrg Selamat, Sisters, Ah Leng) ->next to public bank at kampung jawa; opposite snake temple; corner coffee shop opposite CIMB along Air itam main road 3) Koay Chap -> night time at the kimberley street, cintra street junction (if still there) 4) curry mee - lorong seratus tahun 5) hokkien mee - noon to evening in front of Da Ma Cai at the air itam-padang tembak-kampung melayu junction (be prepared to squat by the drain); coffee shop next to old market in balik pulau during morning 6) mee goreng - bangkok lane; corner coffee shop opposite pulau tikus police station 7) steam boat - buffet along macalister road, right opposite umno building 8) laksa - balik pulau 9) durian - since it is in season, balik pulau Added on June 12, 2009, 5:29 pm QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 12 2009, 01:36 PM) got la, i mean if go PG , then enjoi the local specialties lor... dim sum in penang is ok toobut a lot place over d yrs become too crowded, the food qualiti also drop due to taht, naturally. there's one at anson road then cintra street also got and the one at taman pekaka, sungai dua (called max) is good too Added on June 12, 2009, 5:32 pm QUOTE(raist86 @ Jun 12 2009, 03:45 PM) planning a trip to penang in august... i think 2nd or 3rd week before the merdeka celebration. try B-suite and kristal suite, though not in town (it's at bayan lepas)Any recommended place to stay in town? I'll be driving up with a GPS (hopefully). Going with my girlfriend. Hoping to find somewhere near town and easy access to all the happening places. Added on June 12, 2009, 3:46 pmbtw, budget around 150 per night for hotel room... If can, lower still. Cos we'll be spending most of our time outside exploring. it is near queensbay and can easily get to town This post has been edited by electron: Jun 12 2009, 05:32 PM |
Jun 12 2009, 09:14 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(raist86 @ Jun 12 2009, 03:45 PM) planning a trip to penang in august... i think 2nd or 3rd week before the merdeka celebration. Use this link to find one that suits you:Any recommended place to stay in town? I'll be driving up with a GPS (hopefully). Going with my girlfriend. Hoping to find somewhere near town and easy access to all the happening places. Added on June 12, 2009, 3:46 pmbtw, budget around 150 per night for hotel room... If can, lower still. Cos we'll be spending most of our time outside exploring. http://www.penanghotels.com.my/ One suggestion is Hotel Mingood. |
Jun 13 2009, 09:33 AM
1,329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
don't forget to go penang hill as well
Jun 13 2009, 02:25 PM
93 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
i will be arrive at airpoart. is it have public transport (bus) to town center?
Jun 13 2009, 02:37 PM
89 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Jun 13 2009, 08:03 PM
95 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(raist86 @ Jun 12 2009, 03:45 PM) planning a trip to penang in august... i think 2nd or 3rd week before the merdeka celebration. If u wanna try the sri bahari road's kafe kheng pin - lor bak.. check out this coordinates in ur GPS Any recommended place to stay in town? I'll be driving up with a GPS (hopefully). Going with my girlfriend. Hoping to find somewhere near town and easy access to all the happening places. Added on June 12, 2009, 3:46 pmbtw, budget around 150 per night for hotel room... If can, lower still. Cos we'll be spending most of our time outside exploring. N 05.25.229 E 100.19.969 |
Jun 14 2009, 12:07 PM
93 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
would like to ask do we need to book for advance for the ticket to langkawi? or we can buy it before 1 or 2 day before the day we left?
Jun 14 2009, 07:20 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
QUOTE(viking2009 @ Jun 12 2009, 12:10 PM) Penang Makan Trip day 1 The char kuay teow in Kafe Heng Huat is pricey and nothing special about that.Surprisingly, tourists still like to go there... Penang Makan Trip day 2 Penang Makan Trip day 3 These are my blog in my website, Feel free to blog at my website too |
Jun 23 2009, 07:15 AM
Hi people,
Feel free to visit my blog about Penang Food, promotions and travels http://cokeworldcitizen.blogspot.com This post has been edited by jianmy: Jun 24 2009, 01:54 AM |
Jun 23 2009, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(jianmy @ Jun 23 2009, 07:15 AM) Hi people, wa lau eh u even dare eating such thing, stimix! see how red the charsiu!!! arrggghh!!!!Feel free to visit my blog about Penang Food and travels http://cokeworldcitizen.blogspot.com ![]() |
Jun 23 2009, 01:21 PM
1,269 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Anyone booking for the early bird grand opening Hard Rock Hotel Penang?
Jun 24 2009, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 23 2009, 11:19 AM) well, its there but it doesn't mean I have to eat it. There is an action call 'leave it aside' ^^"Added on June 24, 2009, 1:54 am QUOTE(rockasd @ Jun 14 2009, 12:07 PM) would like to ask do we need to book for advance for the ticket to langkawi? or we can buy it before 1 or 2 day before the day we left? Don't have to book. You can buy it on that day you leave but the tickets might run out quick.I am not sure but I think you can head over to the counters to ask if they sell tickets in advance. Never ever plan your trip to Langkawi on a Sunday as the place would be super crowded. Hope this helps This post has been edited by jianmy: Jun 24 2009, 01:56 AM |
Jun 24 2009, 01:59 AM
324 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
each time i see red char siu i feel like stimix is around me. red char siu has presence of stimix all ovar me.
Jun 24 2009, 07:12 AM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
haha thinking of the industry red coloring...well that;s the fact.
Jun 24 2009, 09:02 AM
i see red char siu also i think of stimix. i am so sadeness that now i only dare eat the black pohli charsiu...
Jun 27 2009, 10:14 AM
483 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
i planning to study in penang,
want to know how much it will cost me for foods, drinks, clothes, social, transport and etc per monthly, tight budget. Accommodation is provided. probably staying at the northam area |
Jun 27 2009, 03:20 PM
1,577 posts Joined: May 2005 From: USJ |
looks like will be booking myself and my gf into the tune hotel. Anyone stayed there before? easy to get to? will be driving to penang. Any reviews on that hotel?
Jun 27 2009, 04:14 PM
1,592 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Penang |
QUOTE(ssiapf @ Jun 27 2009, 10:14 AM) i planning to study in penang, As you thread is closed my moderator, i reply you here.want to know how much it will cost me for foods, drinks, clothes, social, transport and etc per monthly, tight budget. Accommodation is provided. probably staying at the northam area Where are you from? Which college are you planning to go? as i know the northern area, inti college which i'm studying Honestly, living cost here is not a big deal, my parents give me rm100 only for a week, monday to friday and sometimes saturday, i go back my hometown which is butterworth on weekend. For foods and drinks, if you eat at hawker centre, 1 meal will only cost you about rm5-8, but at least rm5 lah. Unless you take your lunch and dinner at Queensbay Mall everyday, that would be a big deal Transport? do you have any transport? if not i suggest you to stay in the college...but for inti, they provide shutter service, other college i don't know... Housing, i'm staying in an appartment, 4people share, total rm600 + electrical + water + streamyx = rm800-900 / 4 = rm210+-. Hope it helps. |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:06 AM |