51 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

> Plaster Ceiling Renovation, How much does it cost? Renovations

vincentn99
post Mar 20 2012, 01:45 AM

Hi Expert,

Can anyone provide me the estimate cost ceiling renovation and TV console for this picture attachment below for my reference?

I would also appreciate if you could recommend some ceiling contractor in JOHOR Bharu.. .

Size : 20 X 70 Landed double storey.

Regards
Vincent

[attachmentid=2746463]

[attachmentid=2746467]
redrose9802
post Mar 20 2012, 11:22 AM

105 posts

hi guys, sorry, noob question here.. can I just install cornice only? without flatboard at the centre? will it look good?
mainbola
post Mar 20 2012, 01:42 PM

23 posts

This post has been edited by mainbola: May 8 2012, 06:21 PM
coconutzz
post Mar 20 2012, 05:08 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(redrose9802 @ Mar 20 2012, 11:22 AM)
hi guys, sorry, noob question here.. can I just install cornice only? without flatboard at the centre? will it look good?
You can..provided u have a flat ceiling..no beams in between...so all u need to do is to get the guy to skim the ceiling so that it's really flat and smooth, then just add on ur cornices.

However,to some ppl cornice looks old fashion leh...thats my opinion.
leeyung
post Mar 20 2012, 10:16 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Mar 20 2012, 05:08 PM)
You can..provided u have a flat ceiling..no beams in between...so all u need to do is to get the guy to skim the ceiling so that it's really flat and smooth, then just add on ur cornices.

However,to some ppl cornice looks old fashion leh...thats my opinion.
I am having same though before this, tot cornice = old fashion, but after viewed several different house, found out most simple cornice = nice decoration n can match with downlight nicely, but this kind of thing quite subjective also la biggrin.gif
xixiliaycp
post Mar 22 2012, 08:14 AM

QUOTE(ijan80 @ Mar 18 2012, 09:26 PM)
Quite expensive...get quotation from another contractor..standard board is 9mm thick..
Actually in the market there are few sizes available for plaster ceiling mainly 5mm, 8mm,9mm,12mm etc. However most construction prefer to use 9mm thick plaster board in which is commonly used after install to reduce flimsiness. 12mm rarely used as it's thick and price may not come cheap if use in big or mega project. Therefore 9mm has been word of mouth for everybody if they mention plaster ceiling. As for 8mm it's mainly use in household renovation as it's cheaper than 9mm and quantity to be use is less and therefore reduction of flimsiness.

For 9mm thk price for L-box is on the range to RM12 to RM15 and for light through is on RM17 - RM 25 depending on the design. However on 8mm thk the price is normally RM10 -RM13 for L box and RM 14 to RM17 for light through depending on the quantity. Thus your contractor price is reasonable charge. I suggest to ask the contractor to go for the thinner but must be 8mm thk. If he give you lower than 8mm please don't go, as anything lower than 8mm will be very flimsy after installation and your plaster ceiling will tend to sag over the time. biggrin.gif

Added on March 22, 2012, 8:18 am
QUOTE(tlyeow @ Jan 4 2012, 12:09 PM)
Guys, I am planning to do plaster ceiling and need some inputs.

Whole house (corner Terrace) comes with Plaster ceiling except the living and dining area (450 Sq Ft).

I want to do the following:
1. Install plaster ceiling for Living Room + Dining Area (total is 450 Sq Ft)
2. Install Downlights for Whole House
3. Wiring + Opening for plaster ceiling on whole house.

One guy quoted me
1. Plaster ceiling for Living & Dining (Flat ceiling design with 3 light through running along the 3 sides of the wall), includes cost for opening hole for down lights in the whole house and 2 Fan Hooks - RM 3,000

2. Painting the plaster ceiling with ICI Maxilite - RM 350

3. Electric Works - Rates for each item are as follows.
• Add additional Electrical light point, RM60.00 each.
• Looping for light point, RM35.00 each.
• Light installation, RM10.00 each.
• Add additional Electrical socket (looping), RM60.00 each.
• Fan installation, RM35.00 each.

Prices excludes the downlight itself which he asked me to source on my own.

Is this price ok?
Price is reasonable.
As your quantity is small therefore contractor charge per lump sum and cannot charge per unit rate.
Eg. 450*RM3.20 = RM1,440.
Labour for installing fan and cutting RM 400 (Assuming 2 labour)
Profit RM 400 . THus total RM2,200 ++
Contractor cannot do with this price as it they need to cover transportation and preliminary cost. However you can always ask for discount price anything more than RM2,20 is already profit.

Painting price is reasonable
Eg. 450*RM0.6/sft = RM270. However due to low quantity contractor again charge lump sum. You may ask for discount

M&E price is reasonable.
Market price charge for power point is normally RM80 per point , lighting RM60 incl looping if necessary.

SO overall i believe the price is on par with the market price. What you can do as customer is to ask for overall discount since the rate is ok. Good luck.
wink.gif

Added on March 22, 2012, 8:20 am
QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Mar 19 2012, 12:04 AM)
Thanks bro. I had 4 different contractor quote me and the price are abang adik for the plaster ceiling (total amt). But this contractor does provides me the lowest price for the wet work. If I cant get a better price I might end up taking him for the work. Any recommendation?

Just some additional info, the price included hole cut for down light and 2 layer of maxilite.

Note: I do know the market price is RM2.5 for flat board, RM10 for L box and RM13 for Light through.
He told me maxilite is more than enough for PC. Any recommendation if proper paint is require ? I just want the PC in white color smile.gif
That price is very cheap as it's even lower than construction price. Please make sure they're using at least 8mm board. I believe price that cheap is 8mm lower. brows.gif

This post has been edited by xixiliaycp: Mar 22 2012, 08:20 AM
adelechin
post Mar 28 2012, 09:16 PM

65 posts

dear all,

what does this plaster ceilling call?

i m very new to this hence would really like to know how to calculate the cost just to do the side... no need light (perhaps T5 in future)....

how much will it cost?
xerox1234
post Mar 29 2012, 09:35 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(xixiliaycp @ Mar 22 2012, 08:14 AM)
Actually in the market there are few sizes available for plaster ceiling mainly 5mm, 8mm,9mm,12mm etc. However most construction prefer to use 9mm thick plaster board in which is commonly used after install to reduce flimsiness. 12mm rarely used as it's thick and price may not come cheap if use in big or mega project. Therefore 9mm has been word of mouth for everybody if they mention plaster ceiling. As for 8mm it's mainly use in household renovation as it's cheaper than 9mm and quantity to be use is less and therefore reduction of flimsiness.

For 9mm thk price for L-box is on the range to RM12 to RM15 and for light through is on RM17 - RM 25 depending on the design. However on 8mm thk the price is normally RM10 -RM13 for L box and RM 14 to RM17 for light through depending on the quantity. Thus your contractor price is reasonable charge. I suggest to ask the contractor to go for the thinner but must be 8mm thk. If he give you lower than 8mm please don't go, as anything lower than 8mm will be very flimsy after installation and your plaster ceiling will tend to sag over the time.  biggrin.gif

Added on March 22, 2012, 8:18 am
Price is reasonable.
As your quantity is small therefore contractor charge per lump sum and cannot charge per unit rate.
Eg. 450*RM3.20 = RM1,440.
Labour for installing fan and cutting RM 400 (Assuming 2 labour)
Profit RM 400 . THus total RM2,200 ++
Contractor cannot do with this price as it they need to cover transportation and preliminary cost. However you can always ask for discount price anything more than RM2,20 is already profit.

Painting price is reasonable
Eg. 450*RM0.6/sft = RM270. However due to low quantity contractor again charge lump sum. You may ask for discount

M&E price is reasonable.
Market price charge for power point is normally RM80 per point , lighting RM60 incl looping if necessary.

SO overall i believe the price is on par with the market price. What you can do as customer is to ask for overall discount since the rate is ok. Good luck.
wink.gif

Added on March 22, 2012, 8:20 am
That price is very cheap as it's even lower than construction price. Please make sure they're using at least 8mm board. I believe price that cheap is 8mm lower.  brows.gif
Thanks for the info. Are you in the construction field or renovation?
xixiliaycp
post Mar 30 2012, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Mar 29 2012, 10:35 AM)
Thanks for the info. Are you in the construction field or renovation?
im working in construction line and related to renovation too. if you all got any queries , please pm me then.
Chris Chew
post Apr 10 2012, 01:22 AM

10,387 posts

Hmm, intend to do a plaster ceiling for a unit of 1200 sq ft condo ...

Anyone has idea for how much it cost

Living Hall Size 3675 X 10000 ( or 12' ft x 33 ft )
Master Bedroom 3450 X 4200 ( 11.5' ft x 14 ft )
Dry Kitchen 2700 X 2500 ( 9' ft x 8 ft )

Hmm, any suggestion for a simple Plaster Ceiling with photos?

kevinling
post Apr 11 2012, 12:45 AM

28 posts

Hi all sifus, anyone heard about uniceiling? How is their workmanship and the reliabilities? Any good and reliable contractor in kl area? I need to do plaster ceiling for my condo in royal domain Sri Putramas 2. Is it more expensive to do plaster ceiling in condominium than in landed house?

My condo is a 9 feet 3 inch. One of the guy called Andy who is mr Liew partner quote me at rm2400.

Living hall: 19ft x 15ft Light trough only at side
Dining hall: 10ft x 13ft flat board only
Master room: 10ft x 11ft flat board plus a line of Light through
Master room toilet area: 4ft x 7ft flat board
Walking alley into the house: size cant rmb (flat board with light through)
Walking alley into both 2nd and 3rd room: flat board.

This post has been edited by kevinling: Apr 11 2012, 12:53 AM
ummul21
post Apr 13 2012, 03:41 PM

173 posts

Hi Guys,

My hall already have a flat plaster ceiling installed by my contractor. I'm planning to remain the existing plaster ceiling and add one more layer on top of it and have T-5 lights in both side of the new ceiling like shown in the sample picture.

Anyone has idea for how much it will cost?

My Hall total size 28 x 14 feet. The new layer of plaster ceiling will be 28 x 10 feet.

Also I plan to install Downlight, Fan and Ceiling aircon on top of the new layer, will it be strong enough to hold all these appliances? Appreciate any helpful idea...

Regards,
scfandy1986
post Apr 14 2012, 05:40 PM

Hi Sifu and Si Mou and also experience consumer,

I would like to seek some advice and expertise from your experience. My is a condo unit, height 9.3ft. If i do plaster ceiling will it cause the unit become un-spacious? If No, then;

1. I'm trying to look for quotation base on my floor plan, i need something which is simple,nice and easy. dislike complicated because the unit is already small.

2. Quotation base on 4 bed rooms and living and kitchen.

If you have sample, much more better.

Thank you very much for all the expert advices..a million dollar advice is needed. Thank you

mojoez
post Apr 15 2012, 03:49 PM

17 posts

Anyone have a rough idea of the amount of Paint & Primer required say for 1000 sq/f plaster ceiling (flat board) and the cost as well if possible smile.gif ?

muman7
post Apr 17 2012, 02:31 AM

274 posts

Can I just do L-box and lightrought as as my apartment is around 10' in height only?
If yes do I need to do a skim coat on the center part which is not plaster ceiling to make it have a smooth feeling like plaster ceiling?
And usually does the quotation including painting work?
mojoez
post Apr 17 2012, 11:31 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Apr 17 2012, 02:31 AM)
Can I just do L-box and lightrought as as my apartment is around 10' in height only?
If yes do I need to do a skim coat on the center part which is not plaster ceiling to make it have a smooth feeling like plaster ceiling?
And usually does the quotation including painting work?
The quotes usually does not include painting work unless you have specified for it.

You would have to ask other sifus to help you on the first two question but I believe you can do just the L-box and light-through.
Kingsman
post Apr 18 2012, 11:03 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(mojoez @ Apr 15 2012, 03:49 PM)
Anyone have a rough idea of the amount of Paint & Primer required say for 1000 sq/f plaster ceiling (flat board) and the cost as well if possible  smile.gif ?

I didn't use primer for my plaster ceiling, I just painted it with 2 layers of nippon matex ceiling white.
according to nippon website, 10 - 13 m² per litre per coat. I bought a 18L at around RM60, used half to paint 400 sq ft of plaster ceiling.
mojoez
post Apr 18 2012, 09:12 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Kingsman @ Apr 18 2012, 11:03 AM)
I didn't use primer for my plaster ceiling, I just painted it with 2 layers of nippon matex ceiling white.
according to nippon website, 10 - 13 m² per litre per coat. I bought a 18L at around RM60, used half to paint 400 sq ft of plaster ceiling.
Thanks bro.
Wai Teong
post Apr 18 2012, 11:38 PM

52 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1304933

Added on April 18, 2012, 11:43 pmmy review:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1287668

This post has been edited by Wai Teong: Apr 18 2012, 11:43 PM
nitromx
post Apr 19 2012, 12:52 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(adelechin @ Mar 28 2012, 09:16 PM)
dear all,

what does this plaster ceilling call?

i m very new to this hence would really like to know how to calculate the cost just to do the side... no need light (perhaps T5 in future)....

how much will it cost?
hey just wondering got dead cicak or other dirt stuck inside the double layer of plaster ceiling like in this pic?
how often you guys clean it? since the fan is drawing air from around that area, will the living room be dusty?

51 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » 

0.0260sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:50 PM