12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

A skinny ba$tard's log, Unilateral 5x5 to 5x10

TSiamyuanwu
post May 29 2008, 11:05 PM

2,425 posts

How to get get rid of fat in the mid section/waist. It started accumulating a year ago, and only in the waist and no where else. Not a lot, but it's obscuring the abs... the ABS! doh.gif This is so unfair!
+++
Bahagian A Stronglift 5x5

Concept2 rowing boat machine
3 min at level 10

Squat
'30kg x 12
45kg x 5
45kg x 5
45kg x 5
45kg x 5
45kg x 5

Overhead press
'10lbs x 15
25kg x 5
25kg x 5
25kg x 5
25kg x 5
25kg x 5 (barely can make it... like losing balance like that.)

Deadlift (lower back still a bit sore from last deadlift and all that weighted sit up crap)
'40kg x 8
60kg x 5
62.5kg x 5 (maybe form cacat?)
62.5kg x 5

Pull up (deadlift is damn tiring... after doing it, can't do much of anything else. Pull up before deadlifting next time, & see how it goes.)
7 (improve by +1)

Leg curls
35kg x 8
35kg x 8
30kg x 8

Abs machine
50kg x 10
45kg x 10
45kg x 10 (barely... pancit so many times in between reps)

Added on May 30, 2008, 6:01 pmJust took my weight and body fat in Fitness First.
Weight = 52.5kg
BMI = 19
body fat = 17.8% (previously - taken monthly = 14.6%, 18.5%, 16.8%)

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: May 30 2008, 06:01 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 2 2008, 02:15 AM

2,425 posts

Stronglift 5x5 takes a long time to complete. Too bl00dy many sets, which makes rest times just as many. Almost impossible to complete in 1.5 hours. I wanted to kautim within 1 hour if possible.
But the programme seems to work. I'm seeing some growth... very slight growth.

Bahagian B

Squat
'30kg x 8
52.5kg x 5 (miscalculated the weights, I actually wanted to squat 47.5)
52.5kg x 5
52.5kg x 5
50kg x 5
50kg x 5

Bench Press (My hands/arms shake when I lift the bar, even with empty bar - why?)
'bar x 15
'30kg x 8
40kg x 5 (what the heck is wrong? Why can't I lift 40kg?)
37.5kg x 5
37.5kg x 5
37.5kg x 5
37.5kg x 5

Pendlay row
30kg x 5
32.5kg x 5
32.5kg x 5
32.5kg x 5
32.5kg x 5

Dips (can feel the tension in the chest - as if it's working the chest more than B.P.) (1.5 minute rest)

Leg curls
35kg x 8
35kg x 8
35kg x 8

Abs machine
50kg x 10
50kg x 10
50kg x 10

Concept 2 rowing machine - HIIT cardio (trying to burn off the lard around my waist)
1min fast -> 1min slow x 6

1 hr pre-workout = 1 scoop ON Whey
during workout = Mass Xxplosion
1/2 hr post-workout = 1.5 scoop ON Whey

Body weight = 53.5kg (most probably from water I just drank)
Reminder: washboard abs, big chest, 58kg, win Refine&Define.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 4 2008, 04:32 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 4 2008, 04:31 AM

2,425 posts

Bhg B:

Concept 2 row
warm up 3min, resistance level 1

Squat
50kg x 5 x 5; 1min rest

Overhead press
27.5kg x 4; 1min rest (can barely balance the bar - reduce weight next set)
25kg x 5; 1min rest
25kg x 4 (pancit)

Deadlift
65kg x 3 x 5; 1min rest

Pull up (pwned, today damn lethargic... can't even lift my nuts)
6; 1.5 min rest
4; 1.5 min rest

Abs machine
55kg x 3, 50kg x 7; 1.5min rest
50kg x 9; 2min rest
50kg x 10

Leg curls
35 x 3 x 8; 1.5min rest

Cardio
nil - pancit teruk today.

Pre-workout: 1 half boil egg, 1 scoop ON whey
During workout: Mass xxplosion
Post workout: 2 scoops ON whey
--
Observation:
- Lack of sleep last night... probably why today pancit.
- Serious lack of strength in both forearms, especially left arm. During deadlift... left hand's grip almost gave up at last few reps, unable to balance the bar properly in overhead press & bench press -- my hands shakes even if I have no problem pressing the bar. Arrghh...
- body weight = 53.3kg
- Goal reminder: fat-->15%; wt-->58kg; abs visible, large shoulders+delt, thick pecs, Xmas tree on the back... by Aug.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 7 2008, 11:10 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 7 2008, 11:09 AM

2,425 posts

Bahagian A:

observation:
- squat form may have improved a bit, I guess...
- bench press still too weak to increase weight. @#$%^&*!!
- after each set of pendlay row, I feel that my right-lower back aches... something like a muscle pull. You know, when you sit on the floor with a hunch for too long, the back muscle sort of aches when you stand up. Is it because I'm dealifting too heavy in the previous session? Or should I lay off the deadlift for a week? Or is it my deadlift cacated? Will take a video and post here next time.
- gym owner taught me how to flex my lats & back. My back got some definition wei. Happy!

squat
50 x 5 x 5 (butt still juts to the left a wee bit, but less)

bench press
39 x 3 x 5
pause 15min (my friend let another fella share the bench and that idiot just held up the bench & did 6-7 set of 10 reps BP on that bench, messed up my timing.)
39 x 4 x 5

Pendlay row (felt a pull on right side of lower back. ???)
35 x 5 x 5

dips (the pump i feel in the pecs is simply crazy. I wonder why is it not much recommended for building the chest?)

captain's chair
shanecross
post Jun 7 2008, 12:07 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Nice progress man. The reason you row and ache your back is because you are putting to much tension on the lower back. Rows are gravitational exercises, go easy on the weights and get the form right first. Thats what I did, but I do the reg barbell row. I bet it works the same. Cheers
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 04:51 AM

2,425 posts

Shanecross...
Thanks, m8! Yup, similar to the bend over row. But I deload every rep for the pendlay row. I'm guessing the plate being small means the bar is way too low on the floor. So I rounded my back, causing some strain. I'd probably take a few days off the let the back recover a bit.
---
Anyone knows where to buy a dip bar?
---
www.simplefit.org
Trying out the Simplefit level 2 routine at home. Maybe I can do this at home during rest days.
---
Here's a photo of my back. Never seen my own back before. I was flexing my lats and ask my buddy - Henry to take it. Check out the delts too... heh heh!
Still lacking shoulders like boulders, and the xmas tree. Self consolation: but at least got a bit of V shape lah - the power of pull ups!

4Rings
post Jun 8 2008, 07:36 AM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

You don't flex your back like that. You should do a back double biceps pose.
This pose is to show your delts, arms and back.
JIB-89
post Jun 8 2008, 08:13 AM

313 posts

Throw in some hyperextensions, you gotta make the "parit" in your back
Keep it up smile.gif
which gym is that anyway?

This post has been edited by JIB-89: Jun 8 2008, 08:16 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 11:44 AM

2,425 posts

Wah lau... back double bicep pose. Tak sampai level lagi lah, 4Rings. Malu to pose -- biceps tarak, shoulders tarak, lower back tarak, hamstring tarak, calves tarak, semua belum ada lagi.

That's the Bionic Gym, RM 3 per entry. Heck, I have probably learned more stuff within 2-3 times going to that gym than 2-3 months in FF.

Yeah, I was flexing like the photo when the owner came over show me the proper pose:
hands on the waist, chest up, elbow to the front & [like JIB mentioned,] arch backwards. Henry was laughing so hard because both of us skinny dude with so little muscles was trying to flex among all the big guys there.

shanecross
post Jun 8 2008, 11:46 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Where is this bionic gym?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 04:15 PM

2,425 posts

Taman Tenaga, Cheras. Cheras flats there, near the cheras-loke yew roundabout. The gym is damn ghetto, but the owner and people training there are friendly. They don't disturb you when you train, but they'll chat you up when you rest. Large guys there - I feel a bit inferiority complex everytime Henry and me enter. XD
4Rings
post Jun 8 2008, 05:27 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

I was there on Friday. What time were you there?
bata
post Jun 8 2008, 06:24 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 8 2008, 11:44 AM)
Wah lau... back double bicep pose. Tak sampai level lagi lah, 4Rings. Malu to pose -- biceps tarak, shoulders tarak, lower back tarak, hamstring tarak, calves tarak, semua belum ada lagi.

That's the Bionic Gym, RM 3 per entry. Heck, I have probably learned more stuff within 2-3 times going to that gym than 2-3 months in FF.

Yeah, I was flexing like the photo when the owner came over show me the proper pose:
hands on the waist, chest up, elbow to the front & [like JIB mentioned,] arch backwards. Henry was laughing so hard because both of us skinny dude with so little muscles was trying to flex among all the big guys there.
that is not double-biceps pose, more like front-lat spread pose.
anyway, nice back, but lack rear delts, and traps, can clearly see because your front delts overpowering them laugh.gif

Chow
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 08:08 PM

2,425 posts

4Rings...
I was there 8-10pm. We were 2 stick thin chinese boys talking quite loudly. We'll probably go there more often.
Which one are you? Call out to me lah, i'm 1-U.

Bata...
Thanks, m8!
Yeah, it's not the double bicep pose. That's my cipalk pose developed in my home bathroom to flex the lats.
Traps arr... that one have to flex another home-bathroom-ciplak pose to tunjuk a little traps.
Rear delts so lembik it felt like taufoo. The front delts was due to my super noobie effort 3 year ago - all i did was standing row, push ups and bicep curls... almost every day for 1 year.
---
Trained with pizzaboy just now in Fitness One, Bandar Sri Permaisuri (just outside Salak Selatan STAR-LRT, 99/month or RM7/hour. Too bad no squat rack). Trying to improve squat, bench press, deadlift and row form. I hope form no more cacat. Might also replace Pendlay row with Yates row... I don't have enough flexibility to do pendlay row properly.
4Rings
post Jun 8 2008, 08:13 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

I was there at around 8pm. I delivered protein supplements to the boss and left. Didn't stay to watch you guys workout. Gotta rush for dinner.
jones007
post Jun 8 2008, 09:56 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

dude why yates row? do the traditional bent over row la. best
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 11:15 PM

2,425 posts

Errr... don't know lah, pizzaboy recommended. Apparently my form cacat... lacking the flexibility to do it. I not 100% sure how the pendlay row looks like. I guess I'm doing about 80% of the proper form.

Arrghhh, dunno lah. I'll keep to pendlay for the moment while I find out more about pendlay, normal bend over & yates row. Deng!

BTW, just now meet up with pizzaboy apa macam? I wanted to come, but I promise a friend to play football. Where you stay? Taynton? Midah?
jones007
post Jun 8 2008, 11:58 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

i stay at taman pertama.. near midah.. we could meet up anytime lol
pizzaboy
post Jun 9 2008, 12:40 PM

9,495 posts

Don't make things so complex. Do a version of row, which you can FEEL your lats, upper back ...or the entire back structure working hard at it. You can even use dumbbell rows if you'd like to lessen the strain on your lower back.

Back training...it'd be better to use the bb'ing style of it. Something where you can feel the contraction, burn and what not whn you're doing it. Where you can feel the stretch la and all that.

The nama all different, but it's really up to how it feels good for you. In fact, doing pull-ups I feel nothing on my lats. But it feels more of a stretch when i'm doing close grip chin-ups. See? Different people, different methods. No textbook for weightlifting la.
lcsum
post Jun 9 2008, 06:39 PM

282 posts

dont feel down or look negative on yourself, stay confidentlah bro....
stop staying ciplak, lembik, cacat....this is all demotivating words

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.2786sec    0.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:57 AM