130 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Sony-Ericsson All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson, G for giraffe? 'G' is the new 'N'-series

heizad
post Sep 5 2008, 05:50 AM

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Sep 5 2008, 03:10 AM)
well if camera is your main thing, u should really put n82 back into consideration.. n82 has the best camera quality from your choices..
next to it, i think it will be c902.. i've compared both g900 n c902 side by side before, n the picture taken by c902 is way more attractive compared to g900's.. the image colors looks way more richer in c902, while g900 images are really dull.. however, g900's screen width beats c902, as c902's screen is quite small..
so if u want both wifi capabilities and camera quality to be excellent, get a n82..

p/s: i'm also considering n82 vs g900.. still around here to check howz g900 since its new.. but one thing i find negative about g900 is the camera, the images captured are really bad for a 5mp standard..
but don't forget, one +1 point for g900 is the touch screen and its also newer compared to n82..
just took out n82 at the time being coz the price is more expensive than the c902 tongue.gif well...maybe i shud reconsider back n82 smile.gif
deathclaw
post Sep 5 2008, 11:08 AM

174 posts

To all the bros that are planning to get the G900 phone in lowyat plaza, please make sure you walk around and survey the phone price first. I surveyed the phone price recently over there and all the shops that I asked quoted me with higher prices, around RM1,6xx to RM1,7xx (ori) and RM1,3xx to RM1,4xx (ap), where else the pricing that I got from other shops in SS2, PJ and Selayang Mall was only around RM1,580 (ori) and RM1,2xx (ap).

Remember to also ask whether the phone comes with a bluetooth headset. Some of the shops that I asked do not have the headset included with the phone.
doomx
post Sep 5 2008, 11:15 AM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 5 2008, 03:52 AM)
Can anyone tell me what's the latest firmware version for the G900? And how do I check it? Any combination of key presses? I'd like to check the firmware version of the sets they sell at the shops. Seems like the update service is a bit o trouble, judging from the feedback here.
First of all you can see your firmware versions by opening the Menu. Touch More, and touch System Information. It will give you the firmware versions. Write them down somewhere "Quoted from one of the guides inside here"

About the firmware i cant help you, but hopefully the rest will. Besides, the lagging issues all no more already with the new firmware update.
royalz
post Sep 5 2008, 02:08 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 4 2008, 02:33 PM)
Aiya, all here G900 owners is it? No G700 owners at all? sad.gif
Hi G700 user here .. been using the phone for a while now ...the speed and everything is ok for a symbian phone ..at least it didnt hang so far! why i chose G700 over G900 is because i dont really need the wifi and i wanna save 300 bucks lol ..and i can tell u g700 has better design ..the back part is different that it won get scratch easily .. Besides, for the camera i think it is up to par with other 3.2 megapixel phone out there ..it has dual led compared to g900 ..if u wanna c the picture quality u can check it out in esato forum( there is a topic there ). Buthen i've been observing the price, G900 price seems to drop faster compared to G700 ..which G900 ap u can get it easily around 1200+ now before tis 1300 + tat's y i bought G700 instead ..G700 price is still stable for now! G900 is a good buy now if u ask me ..get it if u need the wifi n 5mp pixel! Otherwise G700 would be good enough! Anything else u can ask me here or pm me!

This post has been edited by royalz: Sep 5 2008, 02:09 PM
4lt4ir
post Sep 5 2008, 09:44 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Ty royalz, doomx and deathclaw for your valuable input! smile.gif

doomx: I wonder if all the G900 and G700 they are selling at shops now have the latest firmware update? Not keen on doing the update myself hehe biggrin.gif

I stumbled upon a video of the G900 on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pumrmEZIP4

Watch it from 00:16 to 00:24, can the G900 really do this (not the autofocus thingy)? I think it's called finger-based navigation...if can, wow so syok! Like iPhone, hehe. And what about the G700, can it do that too?

This post has been edited by dani_irwan: Sep 5 2008, 09:50 PM
doomx
post Sep 5 2008, 10:03 PM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 5 2008, 09:44 PM)
Ty royalz, doomx and deathclaw for your valuable input! smile.gif

doomx: I wonder if all the G900 and G700 they are selling at shops now have the latest firmware update? Not keen on doing the update myself hehe biggrin.gif

I stumbled upon a video of the G900 on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pumrmEZIP4

Watch it from 00:16 to 00:24, can the G900 really do this (not the autofocus thingy)? I think it's called finger-based navigation...if can, wow so syok! Like iPhone, hehe. And what about the G700, can it do that too?
Hmm, i can only tell u if u buy from Atlantis SS2 means yes, all firmwares are up to date. Usually i get from them my hp are the latest firmware or not u can ask them to update for u smile.gif.

p/s: the video is true but i dont think so that smooth, the only smooth finger based navigation so far is of course the 1 and only iphone. if you free, you can go and try the phone before getting it smile.gif. usually i go sony style klcc and try XD.

This post has been edited by doomx: Sep 5 2008, 10:04 PM
rina_besh
post Sep 5 2008, 10:15 PM

thanx 4 helped me b4 this.

now i hve no problem at all..i dont update my firmware yet..maybe later. i afraid if there is side effect maybe? i dont know..
what i know is.. my g900 is awesome! muahx doh.gif smart,beautiful,the camera is quite good..not good as cybershot but it is enough for me happy.gif

maybe sometimes hang..bcoz i'm not patient enough tongue.gif

other else it is good..for rm1300 it's worth..

hwever, i not try all the function yet esp wifi tongue.gif
reevephon
post Sep 6 2008, 12:09 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

Calling SE G900 User, I'm planning to buy this phone to instead my old N73 Classic, here I've two questions want to ask about G900, is this phone has Dictionary(Chinese-English and English-Chinese)? Between it's this phone has Quickoffice which can be used to open those microsoft office documents?

PS: If you have some comments about this phone please list out too. Thousand thank you.
ben3003
post Sep 6 2008, 12:52 PM

10,859 posts

i saw that g900 SAR value is 1.47, is it considered high? Or anything below 2.0 is pretty much the same? My gf planned to buy this phone so we can talk thru wifi, but i dunno it is good or not. She dont wan p1i becos abit heavy for her. P1i SAR value is less than 1.0 if not mistaken.
masterzombie
post Sep 6 2008, 05:14 PM

151 posts

Thanks for uploading it.
But when I download it, it says the zip file is corrupt or one part of many :S

Also, if your CDA is one of the small ones (R5A, R9A, etc), DON'T INCREASE it. Like I said in my earlier post, you shouldn't change the size of the file, just replace the letters. Also make sure you're not confusing the phone/organizer versions with the CDA version.

I'm not sure, but there might be a shorter version of Generic world (maybe generic world 2), but I don't know the code. So I'm sorry, you'll have to find that code and try to replace it.

Again sorry for the (very) late replies, I'm still travelling.

Yes, you should not use a GDFS from any other handset. It might be that some models have generic ones, while some have unique ones.

QUOTE(kee leong @ Aug 21 2008, 12:41 AM)
Hi Masterzombie,

Here is my original GDFS.

Note to the rest, please do not use other GDFS (even your friend's same model) except your own (or your own modified). I read around and they say if you do use other GDFS from other phones (same model), it will brick your phone, i.e. kaput!

Hmmmm... re-comment.. somebody else said, no problem using other GDFS because like XS++, it's a generic GDFS..  i confused liao..
BlueWind
post Sep 6 2008, 08:40 PM

Sianzation
2,901 posts

QUOTE(deathclaw @ Sep 5 2008, 11:08 AM)
To all the bros that are planning to get the G900 phone in lowyat plaza, please make sure you walk around and survey the phone price first. I surveyed the phone price recently over there and all the shops that I asked quoted me with higher prices, around RM1,6xx to RM1,7xx (ori) and RM1,3xx to RM1,4xx (ap), where else the pricing that I got from other shops in SS2, PJ and Selayang Mall was only around RM1,580 (ori) and RM1,2xx (ap).

Remember to also ask whether the phone comes with a bluetooth headset. Some of the shops that I asked do not have the headset included with the phone.

Whether it comes with the Bluetooth, it depends on whether they have stock. I just bought it and they told me it's promotion until end of August which is already over. But maybe if you're lucky enough some shop still haven't manage to sell all their promotion sets. Mine is the last stock though.

This post has been edited by BlueWind: Sep 6 2008, 08:41 PM
samurai1337
post Sep 6 2008, 08:57 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Topic title changed from
All new G900 and G600 from SonyEricsson

to

All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson
4lt4ir
post Sep 7 2008, 03:59 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Ah, about time..thanx samurai1337! biggrin.gif

Anyway, I finally took the plunge and bought a red G900 (AP) from Atlantis yesterday smile.gif So far, the phone has only hanged on me twice or 3 times, usually when trying to connect to my wifi network (b standard)...I like the phone, but still getting used to it though.

I have quite a pressing problem now though...the volume buttons on the upper right hand side of the phone does not work!!! When I press it, nothing happens, nothing comes out on the screen and the loudness of the song I'm playing does not change!!! Arrrghh! I failed to check this at the shop sad.gif So tell me, is anything supposed to be displayed on screen when u press the volume buttons...like a 'volume bar' or something?

Any help/feedback from u guys would be appreciated very much! Cheers!
doomx
post Sep 7 2008, 04:10 PM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 7 2008, 03:59 PM)
Ah, about time..thanx samurai1337! biggrin.gif

Anyway, I finally took the plunge and bought a red G900 (AP) from Atlantis yesterday smile.gif So far, the phone has only hanged on me twice or 3 times, usually when trying to connect to my wifi network (b standard)...I like the phone, but still getting used to it though.

I have quite a pressing problem now though...the volume buttons on the upper right hand side of the phone does not work!!! When I press it, nothing happens, nothing comes out on the screen and the loudness of the song I'm playing does not change!!! Arrrghh! I failed to check this at the shop sad.gif So tell me, is anything supposed to be displayed on screen when u press the volume buttons...like a 'volume bar' or something?

Any help/feedback from u guys would be appreciated very much! Cheers!
Lol. So u bought g900? Is it on the latest software? Well as for the volume button im not sure bout g900 but then im pretty sure most of the SE phones will come out a volume bar on top displaying how many DOTS the loudness is. If there is anything, u can always call chris for check up again smile.gif. Try holding yr button see if it changes the track

P/S: I was wondering can this phone use GPS? Sorry for the noob question

This post has been edited by doomx: Sep 7 2008, 04:14 PM
4lt4ir
post Sep 7 2008, 04:32 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

here's my system information:

phone: 1203-6566 R9L004
Bluetooth: 1200-5567 R1D
Organizer: 1205-0647 R6H815
CDA: 1210-0066 R2A

Is that the latest firmware? I did ask Chris yesterday, and he said the phone I bought has the latest firmware. I'm not too convinced though sad.gif

When I press either or both of my volume buttons, nothing happens and nothing appears! sad.gif

No idea about the GPS though doomx, but I think there is an earlier post, by davidmak if i'm not mistaken, about how he uses his g900 for gps. mcm syok je.

unsingable
post Sep 7 2008, 04:44 PM

157 posts

just bought a g900 and wondering how 2 transfer my backup contacts located in my m2 into the phone? and i heard there a few application need 2 be re-install to make the phone not so laggy....can any1 tell me how?

p/s 1 more thing i realize is the application will stay running if i just press back button, how can i set it end the application automatically when i click the back button?

This post has been edited by unsingable: Sep 7 2008, 04:52 PM
doomx
post Sep 7 2008, 05:53 PM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 7 2008, 04:32 PM)

Is that the latest firmware? I did ask Chris yesterday, and he said the phone I bought has the latest firmware. I'm not too convinced though sad.gif

When I press either or both of my volume buttons, nothing happens and nothing appears! sad.gif

No idea about the GPS though doomx, but I think there is an earlier post, by davidmak if i'm not mistaken, about how he uses his g900 for gps. mcm syok je.
Well about the firmware i'm not so sure i think maybe u have to do some googling.

I'm pretty sure SE wont be removing these features on any of their phone. Wait for the ppl who owned a G900 to say yr fate. If there is, i suggest u go back there and change a new set smile.gif.

GPS is syok. Lol for a road blind person like me smile.gif
charles_nkj
post Sep 7 2008, 08:52 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Sep 7 2008, 05:53 PM)
GPS is syok. Lol for a road blind person like me smile.gif
as far as i noe (seen from a fren of mine), no gps chipset.....
but can install google map mobile.... so, still got the "gps" function lo tongue.gif tongue.gif
although its basic.... but ada lagi baik daripada tak ada, rite?? brows.gif brows.gif

btw, is there torch feature in this fone?
n the sleep clock is in the fone? coz i heard a lot of the latest fone dun hav this feature... (simple yet useful feature) tongue.gif tongue.gif
dun noe y they take it off hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Sep 7 2008, 08:54 PM
BlueWind
post Sep 7 2008, 10:08 PM

Sianzation
2,901 posts

There's a torch feature for this phone.
demio121
post Sep 8 2008, 10:26 AM

2,084 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 7 2008, 04:32 PM)

your sys info is diff compared to mine. I just did a update last week and there is no newer update for my phone. Mine have not hang on me for weeks. You should try updating.

First remember back-up. If you have prob doing back-up, please play with the setting. Try backing up with less item (i.e. contact, multimedia...etc) and gradually increase. You will know which item is problematic. I have this problem and i know my Notes is give me problem occasionally. Else if back-up fail, juz try synch the contact. That is about the most important thing and the most tedious to update again.

Be patient when updating. it may take awhile.

130 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0326sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:22 AM