177 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

clayclws
post Mar 29 2008, 01:33 AM

2,659 posts

Full fledge? Eat lots of junkies every night that you are up. Sure you'll be full fledge soon laugh.gif Anyway, to be a master architect (another definition of full fledge), you need to excel in your field of specialization and be able to design anything ranging from furniture to follies, bridges to airports, renovating heritage buildings to introducing new ones to complement the heritage buildings...not an easy job.
aNNd33
post Mar 29 2008, 03:13 AM

33 posts

Erm....i'm kinda new here..... mind to let me know whether UIA AED foundation that is offer in UPU has an interview 1st b4 entering it?

and can u explain me more details bout the portfolio? 1 more thing.....

my spm result was 2a1=english,modmath 2a2=agama islam,addmath 3b3=b.melayu,sejarah,physics 2b4=biology,sport sc.

so am i qualified enuff for UIA AED foundation? icon_question.gif
*TeDucK*
post Mar 29 2008, 08:56 AM

116 posts

hello! smile.gif
ill make this clear n short

i applied UCAS n got this conditional offers for undergraduate studies (architecture):

-->>UNI OF PLYMOUTH<<--
-->>UNI OF PORTSMOUTH<--

duration: 3 years
tuition fees: 8,750 pounds
course start: 22sept 08

i am really,badly in need of financial support! sweat.gif u know how expensive studying in uk will be...
but that will not stop me cz im very determine to study there!

i got 6A in spm (yeah..i wish i could get better..huuu) n will finish my foundation in architecture at Center Of Foundation Studies of IIUM (CFS IIUM) in june..but i already finish all my core course.
my personal estimation is to get 3.4-3.5 cgpa.

really hope u guys reading this could help me. rolleyes.gif
ive been browsing for days searching scholarships (if i cant get one, i should probably need to get a loan instead whistling.gif ) but there's prob like:

-only for LOCAL UNI
-ARCHITECTURE course is EXCLUDED
-not QUALIFIED (like for sime darby n Yayasan Khazanah Global Scholarship)
-wont sponsor for students GOING TO UK (yes..mara n jpa)
doh.gif doh.gif
aprisis
post Mar 29 2008, 06:18 PM

266 posts

ok, so after i graduate, i'm a part 2 architect, another 2 years of work experience i'm into part 3 already?

Added on March 29, 2008, 6:21 pmfrom the chart there isnt part 3. so i assume everyone automatically upgrades to part 3 after 2 years?

This post has been edited by aprisis: Mar 29 2008, 06:21 PM
TSazarimy
post Mar 29 2008, 07:17 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(aNNd33 @ Mar 28 2008, 07:13 PM)
Erm....i'm kinda new here..... mind to let me know whether UIA AED foundation that is offer in UPU has an interview 1st b4 entering it?

and can u explain me more details bout the portfolio? 1 more thing.....

my spm result was 2a1=english,modmath 2a2=agama islam,addmath 3b3=b.melayu,sejarah,physics 2b4=biology,sport sc.

so am i qualified enuff for UIA AED foundation?  icon_question.gif
u need to check with UIA's foundation requirement. i'm only familiar with intakes AFTER pre-university levels.

refer to the FAQs (in page 1) for details on the portfolio.

QUOTE(*TeDucK* @ Mar 29 2008, 12:56 AM)
hello! smile.gif
ill make this clear n short

i applied UCAS n got this conditional offers for undergraduate studies (architecture):

-->>UNI OF PLYMOUTH<<--
-->>UNI OF PORTSMOUTH<--

duration: 3 years
tuition fees: 8,750 pounds
course start: 22sept 08
i am really,badly in need of financial support! sweat.gif u know how expensive studying in uk will be...
but that will not stop me cz im very determine to study there!

i got 6A in spm (yeah..i wish i could get better..huuu) n will finish my foundation in architecture at Center Of Foundation Studies of IIUM (CFS IIUM) in june..but i already finish all my core course.
my personal estimation is to get 3.4-3.5 cgpa.
really hope u guys reading this could help me. rolleyes.gif
ive been browsing for days searching scholarships (if i cant get one, i should probably need to get a loan instead whistling.gif ) but there's prob like:

-only for LOCAL UNI
-ARCHITECTURE course is EXCLUDED
-not QUALIFIED (like for sime darby n Yayasan Khazanah Global Scholarship)
-wont sponsor for students GOING TO UK (yes..mara n jpa)
doh.gif doh.gif
i'm not sure how i could help here. i'm not very familiar with fundings.

QUOTE(aprisis @ Mar 29 2008, 10:18 AM)
ok, so after i graduate, i'm a part 2 architect, another 2 years of work experience i'm into part 3 already?

Added on March 29, 2008, 6:21 pmfrom the chart there isnt part 3. so i assume everyone automatically upgrades to part 3 after 2 years?
the chart stops at part 2 bcoz that's where ur formal education in architecture stops. this section is called the education essentials, hence i just summarized it in one paragraph. there's only one way to get part 3, that is via part 2, practice for about 2 years and fill the logbook, and sit for the part 3 exam. it's not automatic, and the exam could be too hard for some, which is why we only have about 1600 part 3 architects in malaysia right now, despite producing roughly 500 part 2 architects per year.

Benjamin911
post Mar 29 2008, 07:30 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Mar 29 2008, 06:18 PM)

In Architecture, there are two (2) degrees; the Part 1 Degree and the Part 2 Degree.

If you start your Architecture education today, you will be starting straightaway at the Part 1 Degree if you have any Pre-U (A-Levels, HSC, etc...) or the Foundation of the Part 1 Degree program. (The Foundation need to be the Foundation of that Particular Part 1 Degree program.) In addition, you can also take a Diploma in Architecture and then continue into the second (2nd) year of the Part 1 Degree program. Unlike the Foundation, which only applies to it's Part 1 Degree program, the Diploma can be used to apply to any of the Part 1 Degree programs around the World! (However, bear in mind that taking the Diploma route is longer, but it will give you a more solid grounding of Architecture.)

Finally, after you have finished your Part 1 Degree program, you can either choose to work for a while, or continue to the Part 2 Degree program to finish off your Architecture studies. For your Part 2 Degree, you will have the option to continue it locally, or continue it overseas.

According to Azarimy;

4.2. Accredited International Schools

Studying overseas is one of the recommended option to study architecture. It is advised that an architect to travel as much as they can, to understand other buildings, arts and cultures. I personally would recommend studying in Europe, as you can really benefit a lot from travel. Listed below are accredited schools by LAN & LAM, which upon graduation, you will be automatically awarded PAM part 2, an additional qualification apart from the given RIBA equivalent.

(Meaning if you graduated from these schools, you can work both overseas and in Malaysia.)

BTW, I did not know that some of Taylor's partnership Universities are having two (2) Accreditations! blink.gif

From the list:

Robert Gordon University, Scotland.

University of Strathclyde, Scotland.

University of Portsmouth, England.

Deakin University.

The University of Melbourne, Australia.

University of Newcastle.

The University of New South Wales.

WTH??? Even Curtin University of Technology is accredited by LAM - PAM??? (That is LIMKOKWING's partnership university lol! laugh.gif)

This is a surprise to me! (Azarimy, are you sure that the University of Melbourne is also accredited by LAM - PAM??? biggrin.gif) Why haven't I known this before??!! rclxms.gif

To continue from where I left just now;

When you finish your Part 2 Degree, you are finally known as the real Architect; the one who can practice Architecture! (The MASTER BUILDER!) cool2.gif

You will have the option to register with the Board of Architects Malaysia to become a Chartered (Professional) Part 3 Architect. After registering as a Part 3 Architect, you will have to work for a minimum of two (2) years and fulfill the requirements, and then finally sit for the Part 3 exam in order to qualify as a Part 3 (Chartered/Professional) Architect.

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Mar 29 2008, 07:36 PM
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 07:31 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

hello. i would like to ask something.
i would like to apply diploma seni bina for politeknik. So, i would like to ask students or lecturer in architecture. I would lyke to ask you have you meet any student from politeknik diploma? how do they perform? because i heard thet politeknik student don't perform well in their degree. how bout politeknik students for architecture?

Edited: any other experienced stuedent or lecturer can give their opinion?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Mar 29 2008, 07:38 PM
TSazarimy
post Mar 29 2008, 08:05 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 29 2008, 11:30 AM)

WTH??? Even Curtin University of Technology is accredited by LAM - PAM??? (That is LIMKOKWING's partnership university lol! laugh.gif)

This is a surprise to me! (Azarimy, are you sure that the University of Melbourne is also accredited by LAM - PAM??? biggrin.gif) Why haven't I known this before??!! rclxms.gif

where did i say melb or curtin is accredited by LAM/PAM? no they are not.

To continue from where I left just now;

When you finish your Part 2 Degree, you are finally known as the real Architect; the one who can practice Architecture! (The MASTER BUILDER!) cool2.gif

i would refrain from using the term "master builder". master builder is a term reserved from super architects who not only have built prestigious designs, but more importantly, have significantly contributed to the architectural world and influenced other architects. holding a part 3 with the title AR infront of ur name does not allow u to call urself a master builder. especially dont simply use the term infront of other architects/lecturers, coz u'll become the laughing stock of the community biggrin.gif.

You will have the option to register with the Board of Architects Malaysia to become a Chartered (Professional) Part 3 Architect. After registering as a Part 3 Architect, you will have to work for a minimum of two (2) years and fulfill the requirements, and then finally sit for the Part 3 exam in order to qualify as a Part 3 (Chartered/Professional) Architect.
haih... no.

first, after graduating with a part 2, u will register urself with LAM as a part 2 architect. this will start ur journey to fill in the log book by practicing for 2 years and fulfill the requirements. at the end of the day, the committee will review ur logbook. and if they're satisfied, u will be able to sit for the exam. once passed, u will register urself as a part 3 architect.

u dont register as part 3 to take the part 3 exam. the term registration assumes u've already achieved all the requirements.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Mar 29 2008, 11:31 AM)
hello. i would like to ask something.
i would like to apply diploma seni bina for politeknik. So, i would like to ask students or lecturer in architecture. I would lyke to ask you have you meet any student from politeknik diploma? how do they perform? because i heard thet politeknik student don't perform well in their degree. how bout politeknik students for architecture?

Edited: any other experienced stuedent or lecturer can give their opinion?
i've had a lot of experience with poly students, both from diploma and certificate. if anything u can say about them, not performing well is not one of them. remember that architecture is more of a hands on learning, where u will spend more time doing than reading. this is something the poly students are damn good at: DOING. with rigorous trainings in poly, they have a firm technical foundations with drawing skills that most straight to degree students could ever dream of.

ofcourse, those i've experienced are top poly students who got selected into UTM. it means i have not met anybody from the lower end of the food chain. regardless, the poly students that i've met have extremely good drawing skills. when most mainstream students would spend time trying to draw their ideas for the entire night, the polys just stream through their ideas at 10 A3s per hour. when they're good, they're THAT good.

i think the 'bad perception' about poly students starts off from the low SPM intake. people always say if u cant qualify for a degree or diploma, go poly. this ends up with people saying polys are only a place for those who didnt score SPM. in actual fact, it's not. poly is a higher level of vocational training. it's totally different from mainstream academic. architecture itself is totally different from mainstream academic, hence why poly students fare pretty well in it.

i cant say the same for other courses though.
Benjamin911
post Mar 29 2008, 08:19 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

where did i say melb or curtin is accredited by LAM/PAM? no they are not.

Then what is this >>>

4.2. Accredited International Schools

Studying overseas is one of the recommended option to study architecture. It is advised that an architect to travel as much as they can, to understand other buildings, arts and cultures. I personally would recommend studying in Europe, as you can really benefit a lot from travel. Listed below are accredited schools by LAN & LAM, which upon graduation, you will be automatically awarded PAM part 2, an additional qualification apart from the given RIBA equivalent.

(Meaning if you graduated from these schools, you can work both overseas and in Malaysia.)

AUSTRALIA

Adelaide, Canberra, Deakin, Melbourne, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT), Newcastle, New South Wales (NSW), New South Wales Institute of Technology, Queensland, Queensland Institute of Technology, Tasmania-Launceston, Sydney, South Australia, Curtin University of Technology and Western Australia.

EIRE DUBLIN

University College Dublin

HONG KONG

University of Hong Kong

NEW ZEALAND

University of Auckland and Victoria University of Wellington

UNITED KINGDOM

Robert Gordon (Aberdeen), Bath, The Queen's University (Belfast), Central England Univ (Birmingham), Brighton, Cambridge, Kent Inst. of Art&Design (Canterbury), Wales (Cardiff), Greenwich (Dartford), Dundee, Heriot-Watt (Edinburgh), Mackintosh (Glasgow), Strathclyde (Glasgow), Huddersfield, Humberside (Hull), Leeds Metropolitan, De Montford (Leicester), Liverpool John Moores, Liverpool, Architecture Association (London), The Bartlett (London), Kingston, North East London Polytechnic, Westminster (London), North London, South Bank (London), Manchester, Manchester Metropolitan, Newcastle Upon Tyne, Nottingham, Oxford Brookes, Plymouth Polytechnic, Portsmouth and Sheffield.

List above are courtesy of Lembaga Akitek Malaysia

???

icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Mar 29 2008, 08:41 PM
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 08:20 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Tanx a lot azarimy. heh. at first i want to enroll into their aircraft maintainence programme. now you burn my spirit up. i think i'll apply for architecture diploma in politeknik. since i do not have good drawing skills, enrolling into politeknik maybe can help improve my skills.

although it may take longer to achieve part 2, but i dun care much about it. i'm more concern on how will i perform during work.

tanx a lot azarimy. i really appreciate your help.

btw, do i need to attend interview for architecture course in politeknik?

btw, tanx a lot azarimy. i was almost give up on architecture because i am not very good in my basic art. but your talking really burn my spirit.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Mar 29 2008, 08:23 PM
Benjamin911
post Mar 29 2008, 08:33 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

i would refrain from using the term "master builder". master builder is a term reserved from super architects who not only have built prestigious designs, but more importantly, have significantly contributed to the architectural world and influenced other architects. holding a part 3 with the title AR infront of ur name does not allow u to call urself a master builder. especially dont simply use the term infront of other architects/lecturers, coz u'll become the laughing stock of the community biggrin.gif.

Then what is this from Architecture Malaysia (am) >>>

What is Architecture?

Architecture is the art and science of building, the word being derived from Latin `architectura' and Greek `arkitekton' (Master Builder).

And >>>

The word "architecture" comes from the Latin, "architectura" and ultimately from Greek,"arkitekton", αρχιτεκτων, an architect, or more precisely "master builder", from the combination of αρχι a "chief" or "leader" and τεκτων, a "builder" or "carpenter."

From Wikipedia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Architecture

icon_idea.gif

Added on March 29, 2008, 8:37 pm
first, after graduating with a part 2, u will register urself with LAM as a part 2 architect. this will start ur journey to fill in the log book by practicing for 2 years and fulfill the requirements. at the end of the day, the committee will review ur logbook. and if they're satisfied, u will be able to sit for the exam. once passed, u will register urself as a part 3 architect.

u dont register as part 3 to take the part 3 exam. the term registration assumes u've already achieved all the requirements.

OK, thanks a lot for clarifying this part.

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Mar 29 2008, 08:38 PM
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 08:56 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

btw, is it easy to enter degree in UTM if i'm using my polytechnic diploma? is there any discrimination towards poly students in U?

how much polytechnic diploma pointer do i need to enter UTM architectural degree? do i still need to attend interview for degree?

btw, do architectural diploma in polytechnic require me to go through interview?
TSazarimy
post Mar 29 2008, 09:41 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 29 2008, 12:33 PM)
Then what is this from Architecture Malaysia (am) >>>
And >>>
From Wikipedia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Architecture

icon_idea.gif

Added on March 29, 2008, 8:37 pm

OK, thanks a lot for clarifying this part.
u see, u're reading, but u're not understanding the context of the word. the word architect is derived from the meaning master builder. architects call themselves architects. in the architecture community, master builder is a high ranking architect, not just any. it's someone who is respected in the industry who have contributed alot of things. some master builders in malaysia would be ken yeang or hijjaz kasturi. but u dont call someone who just graduated and designed a bungalow a master builder. get what i mean?

if an architect is a master builder, then how does interior architect, landscape architect or computer systems architect come into context? do they really "build", or more towards designing? do they actually build anything? this is what we call context. one word could mean a lot of things, we call it semantics. u'll see alot of this later on.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Mar 29 2008, 12:56 PM)
btw, is it easy to enter degree in UTM if i'm using my polytechnic diploma? is there any discrimination towards poly students in U?

how much polytechnic diploma pointer do i need to enter UTM architectural degree? do i still need to attend interview for degree?

btw, do architectural diploma in polytechnic require me to go through interview?
easy? like i said, u need top grades. UTM treats all diploma as the same, intakes will go straight into 2nd year. poly dip will compete with other dip holders from UTM dip school, IPTS and other institutions that awards architectural diplomas.

u will need at least 3.50 to stand a chance, preferrably with 1 or 2 years experience, and u will still need to attend the interview.
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 10:01 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

so that's mean after i get my diploma, i have to get a working experience for entering UTM degree?

u will need at least 3.50 to stand a chance, preferrably with 1 or 2 years experience, and u will still need to attend the interview.

does this apply only to poli student or to all diploma holder who is trying to apply for architecture degree? sorry for asking a lot of question?
TSazarimy
post Mar 29 2008, 10:06 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Mar 29 2008, 02:01 PM)
so that's mean after i get my diploma, i have to get a working experience for entering UTM degree?
does this apply only to poli student or to all diploma holder who is trying to apply for architecture degree? sorry for asking a lot of question?
after diploma, it is always recommended that u get some working experience first. it's not a requirement, but UTM only offers 8-12 places for diploma students per year, and we have applications averaging between 50-80 per year. so competitions are fierce. u need all the bonus stuff u can get to boost ur chances.

it applies to all diploma, including UTM's own diploma students.
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 10:11 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

owh. i see. tanx azarimy.

normally, diploma grads will go for draughtman position or architect assistant?
TSazarimy
post Mar 29 2008, 10:19 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Mar 29 2008, 02:11 PM)
owh. i see. tanx azarimy.

normally, diploma grads will go for draughtman position or architect assistant?
either one or both. most firms in malaysia dont really differentiate between them. with experience a diploma holder can become an architect assistant. one of architect assistant's job description is draughtmanship biggrin.gif. so either way, u'll do both.
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 10:28 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

btw azarimy, do we need to attend interview for architect diploma in politeknik?

yeah. btw, i really thank you very much for helping me. you help me a lot.

i've came across an article somewhere in newspaper that architecture grads all manage to get job. it is the same level as doctor. 100% grads manage to get job.
TSazarimy
post Mar 29 2008, 11:20 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Mar 29 2008, 02:28 PM)
btw azarimy, do we need to attend interview for architect diploma in politeknik?

yeah. btw, i really thank you very much for helping me. you help me a lot.

i've came across an article somewhere in newspaper that architecture grads all manage to get job. it is the same level as doctor. 100% grads manage to get job.
i dont know. check with polytechnic' intake requirements.

in other news:

UTM Architecture Student Top Winner of Just Jerusalem Global Competition

Skudai, 23rd March: Universiti Teknologi Malaysia's (UTM) architecture student has been declared top prize winner in the Just Jerusalem Competition, an international competition organized by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.

The result was announced at MIT on March 21st and released simultaneously on the competition official website. Just Jerusalem was an open global competition attempted at seeking ideas and proposals that addressed different aspects of urban life in a futurist Jerusalem. The news was announced by the Vice Chancellor, Tan Sri Datuk Ir. Dr. Mohd Zulkifli bin Tan Sri Mohd Ghazali, in his officially address during the 40th Convocation held at UTM Skudai campus today.

Initially a total of 1,150 people from 85 countries registered for the competition. Eventually only 125 eligible proposals were accepted by the organizer which later undergone review by world-class panel of jury convened at MIT. Among the nine-member jury were Suha Ozkan and Herman Hertzberger, both a well-known scholars and architects.

Chan Wai Lai, a senior architecture student decided to take up the competition as her final year Design Thesis project at beginning of the academic session. She hoped and aspired to see Jerusalem as city of peace through the idea of sharing. In her project abstract, she elaborated,

"Without raising awareness of the need for sharing, energies devoted to constructing iconic architecture or designing beautiful buildings do not make sense. To achieve new and true peace, we must solve the problems of man, not of buildings, facilities or land division -- because all these problems come from man alone."

As an expression of hope for future Jerusalem she adopted "Children's Village for Jerusalem" as the title for her competition entry. It is in the children that she hoped the future community of peace would be nurtured and raised out of a built environment that she have designed, and hopefully in the end the proposed dwelling environment would help to address social equality and harmony among citizenry of Jerusalem.

As top winner she will be given the opportunity to spend up to an academic semester in residence at MIT as Jerusalem Visionary Fellow, with all expenses paid, including travel, housing, and stipend. It is estimated that a total amount USD50,000 been allocated for her appointment as visionary fellow.

read more
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 11:40 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

all right, i'll give them a call this Monday.

Btw, from ur experience, do u remember mostly, the polytechnic student studying in UTM for degree come from which poly?

just asking. tanx in advance

177 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0514sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:53 PM