--

TSKVReninem
post Aug 1 2008, 12:38 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 31 2008, 11:28 PM)
they don't even need to have 'open day' for undergraduate medicine......there are many more times eligible applicants than places.....

we will see how the graduate entry application numbers are like in 2011.........many graduate programmes find that they are NOT attracting the best students......
well; new melbourne model is somehow a question mark for those who know the education system well.Being best & not being in the best uni doesnt mean one going not going to be the best.

I dont know limeuu, this days I see education had gone the money money kinda of degree rather than focus on the real education in enhancing one in the society & solving the problems... wink.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Aug 1 2008, 12:39 AM
irving
post Aug 1 2008, 04:24 AM

248 posts

want to ask something here.
will my friend be taxed if i sent some textbook over to australia? because its cheaper to buy it here and be sent there.

thanks alot
Cheesenium
post Aug 1 2008, 06:47 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(irving @ Aug 1 2008, 04:24 AM)
want to ask something here.
will my friend be taxed if i sent some textbook over to australia? because its cheaper to buy it here and be sent there.

thanks alot
Dont think so.I think,even taxed,it's still cheaper to buy here.
haya
post Aug 1 2008, 07:33 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(dilz @ Jul 31 2008, 07:51 AM)
Employers have to pay super for you if you are eligible.
To be eligible you must:
- be at least 18 years of age and under 70   
- be paid at least $450 (before tax) in a calendar month, and   
- work full time, part-time or on a casual basis.

If you are under 18, you are eligible for compulsory super guarantee if you work more than 30 hours a week.

If you are eligible for super, your employer must pay a minimum of 9% of your earnings for your ordinary hours of work into your super account. These payments are ‘super guarantee’ payments or ‘employer contributions’.

As temporary residents, international students who have worked in Australia are eligible to access their super once they permanently depart Australia.

To access you super, instructions and forms can be found on the ATO Website
Hope that helps! biggrin.gif
Thanks for ther head up dilz! Finally, something in plain English!

Well that explains. I've got to work 19 hrs a wk. Seems like me employer is trying to maximise the 20hrs intl students get. And I can only touch it after I leave Australia. I need the dough now, not when I leave! >.<

powercolor
post Aug 1 2008, 11:07 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Jul 31 2008, 01:27 PM)
250 sticks of ciggies per person max IIRC
as in 1 katon only ?? means i cant buy more than 1 katons at klia...huhuh... just thinking want to bring some stocks..aussie ciggies damn expensive..huhu...and they dont have malaysia dunhill...

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 1 2008, 07:33 AM)
Thanks for ther head up dilz! Finally, something in plain English!

Well that explains. I've got to work 19 hrs a wk. Seems like me employer is trying to maximise the 20hrs intl students get. And I can only touch it after I leave Australia. I need the dough now, not when I leave! >.<
u already got a job??
FoxNope
post Aug 1 2008, 12:18 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 1 2008, 06:47 AM)
Dont think so.I think,even taxed,it's still cheaper to buy here.
Get from amazon then...
BTW, yeah. the books in Aus are quite expensive, but dun forget, you can use it for tax return...
Cheesenium
post Aug 1 2008, 12:59 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(FoxNope @ Aug 1 2008, 12:18 PM)
Get from amazon then...
BTW, yeah. the books in Aus are quite expensive, but dun forget, you can use it for tax return...
How to get tax returns?
TSKVReninem
post Aug 1 2008, 01:30 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(FoxNope @ Aug 1 2008, 01:18 PM)
Get from amazon then...
hw do you get it for tax return?

do I need to work just to get tax return?
empire23
post Aug 1 2008, 01:42 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jul 28 2008, 08:00 PM)
USQ?
Anyway, I'm torn between RMIT (yay almost free housing thanks to a friend) and Wollogang (double degree but downright shoddy)
Any idea if bank loans / deferred payment is possible?
Yesh. University of Southern Queensland, the ******* unknown brother of UQ.

But still i like it here, and it's a primarily community orientated research based but standards are nut twistingly tight especially in the Eng and Surveying faculty. Lecturers here make the art faculty the butt of their jokes though laugh.gif

If you can, go RMIT, that was my first choice, but my sister is flying off to UOL/UCL can't fracking remember, so mother asked me to take the cheaper option. No worries about RMIT's CGPA 3.0 entry requirement lol, just get generally 2.0 and you'll get in with all exemptions intact, although passing their exams once you get though the front door is another story tongue.gif

This post has been edited by empire23: Aug 1 2008, 01:43 PM
onelove89
post Aug 1 2008, 02:29 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Jul 31 2008, 09:44 PM)
nope, it's on Sunday, 17 August.

i'm going to grab some freebies that day tongue.gif
eh?~ must had got wrong info from my sis =/ but thanks s373n =) I don't see any advertisements on curtin expo around the UWA region where i live xD only see UWA's promo.
caspersky
post Aug 1 2008, 02:37 PM

517 posts

It's been few weeks since i last posted something at lowyat. I'm now sitting at the library in USQ Toowoomba campus, utilizing my tiny little 70MB per week quota sad.gif.

Yo empire23, maybe we can meet someday huh?
empire23
post Aug 1 2008, 02:58 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(caspersky @ Aug 1 2008, 02:37 PM)
It's been few weeks since i last posted something at lowyat. I'm now sitting at the library in USQ Toowoomba campus, utilizing my tiny little 70MB per week quota sad.gif.

Yo empire23, maybe we can meet someday huh?
I just used 100mb yesterday, still ok. Altogether use 300mb this month.

If you need more quota, just ask a postgrad buddy to help punch you into the unlimited quota zone citing research help. Simple lol.

adix4
post Aug 1 2008, 05:35 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

eh guise how many A's did u get in SPM?i mean requirement to go Aussie?

This post has been edited by adix4: Aug 1 2008, 05:35 PM
limeuu
post Aug 1 2008, 05:42 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Aug 1 2008, 05:35 PM)
you can get into oz uni with spm.......you need an additional pre-u/matriculation/foundation qualification........
TSKVReninem
post Aug 1 2008, 05:44 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Aug 1 2008, 06:35 PM)
none? laugh.gif
Cheesenium
post Aug 1 2008, 06:42 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Aug 1 2008, 05:35 PM)
You cant just go uni with SPM.You need STPM/SAM/A-Levels etc before you can go uni.
s373n
post Aug 1 2008, 09:09 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Aug 1 2008, 02:29 PM)
eh?~ must had got wrong info from my sis =/ but thanks s373n =) I don't see any advertisements on curtin expo around the UWA region where i live xD only see UWA's promo.
if you want to know more, click here~ smile.gif

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 1 2008, 06:42 PM)
You cant just go uni with SPM.You need STPM/SAM/A-Levels etc before you can go uni.
or Year 12 / Certificate IV
haya
post Aug 1 2008, 09:13 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Aug 1 2008, 09:09 PM)
if you want to know more, click heresmile.gif
or Year 12 / Certificate IV
Year 12 is the STPM. A rose by any other name......
lawl
post Aug 2 2008, 12:03 AM

574 posts

Any1 taking economics degree at UQ? Im interested with dat..
lightcoral
post Aug 2 2008, 02:03 AM

Hello everyone~ I'm new here =]
Just wondering if anyone are taking or will be doing masters or any other postgraduate courses in Australia~

124 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:48 PM