92 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

storm04
post Jun 14 2009, 05:52 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Jun 13 2009, 09:57 PM)
regardless of the sound, use a shoulder rest if you have a long neck. as long as it doesn't squeeze the violin. it won't have much impact to the sound. i wouldn't trade sound for uncomfortable playing, it makes no point at all if you have a better voice but you can't sing well.
yea. agreed. tried once without shoulder rest, violin kept slipping away...
TandooriC
post Jun 16 2009, 05:10 PM

25 posts

Thanks guys for your replies smile.gif. I was just wondering if I were going to play without the shoulder rest might as well start practicing from now. However, apparently it seems that many violinist do play with the shoulder rest nowadays.

I guess it is also troublesome for me personally because my violin case is not able to fit the shoulder rest inside and I have to carry it separately.
ohime
post Jun 17 2009, 11:29 AM

Dear all,
Hello, I'm new here.

I 'm moving in to Miri on September. Wonder if anyone of you could recommend a violin teacher for me? Or any music school i can refer to?
Thanks ya
little ice
post Jun 17 2009, 01:58 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(TandooriC @ Jun 16 2009, 05:10 PM)
Thanks guys for your replies smile.gif. I was just wondering if I were going to play without the shoulder rest might as well start practicing from now. However, apparently it seems that many violinist do play with the shoulder rest nowadays.

I guess it is also troublesome for me personally because my violin case is not able to fit the shoulder rest inside and I have to carry it separately.
yes, many violinists play with shoulder rest, including world class famous violinists that play on Stradivarius with incredible skills.

try to fit it in the small pocket where you usually put your books there. or, buy a new case, it'll smarter than trying to force yourself to play on something you're not comfortable. wink.gif
onelove89
post Jun 18 2009, 04:13 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(ohime @ Jun 17 2009, 11:29 AM)
Dear all,
Hello, I'm new here.

I 'm moving in to Miri on September. Wonder if anyone of you could recommend a violin teacher for me? Or any music school i can refer to?
Thanks ya
I'm from miri. try to look for the learning center symphony, my teacher is there. He's called James Lau. =) He also conducts the MOCS orchestra every sunday. (I'm overseas studying now =( miss the times in miri)
zzzxtreme
post Jun 19 2009, 02:28 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

LPs just arrived today

little ice
post Jun 19 2009, 11:33 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jun 19 2009, 02:28 PM)
LPs just arrived today
hi Nick Chan.
jessteong
post Jun 22 2009, 08:07 PM

58 posts

hi hi..
i got a fallen sound post here,
where can i get the S-shaped tool to fix da post back?

little ice
post Jun 23 2009, 10:37 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Jun 22 2009, 08:07 PM)
hi hi..
i got a fallen sound post here,
where can i get the S-shaped tool to fix da post back?

even if you have the tool, it's difficult to set it up and even more difficult to get it to the correct position. i've been there, done that. better bring it to experienced people to fix it. not sure about ppl in penang, perhaps you want to travel to KL.

just wondering if you happened to loosen all the strings at once? happy.gif
jessteong
post Jun 23 2009, 11:57 AM

58 posts

well, i dun think we have this kinda expertise here..

so might as well get the tool and learn the hard way can't always travel to kl just to fix the sound post every time..

ya.. loosen d as soon as i found the sound post fell
afraid that the body might just collapse

can i find the tool in kl?

This post has been edited by jessteong: Jun 23 2009, 11:58 AM
little ice
post Jun 23 2009, 12:35 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Jun 23 2009, 11:57 AM)
well, i dun think we have this kinda expertise here..

so might as well get the tool and learn the hard way can't always travel to kl just to fix the sound post every time..

ya.. loosen d as soon as i found the sound post fell
afraid that the body might just collapse

can i find the tool in kl?
regarding travelling to KL everytime to adjust soundpost, it's pretty uncommon to do so. once the soundpost is setup nicely, you don't want to move it anymore. to ensure soundpost in place, don't loosen all your strings at once while you're changing strings, and don't knock your violin or your violin case (when you have the violin inside) around or it'll knock the soundpost off. i haven't make any changes of my soundpost for long time since it's stable and the sound doesn't change.

i strongly advice you to travel down to KL once, have the soundpost setup, then ask around whether someone got sell the tool. even if you have the tool, please don't mess around with the violin that you play everyday - it's extremely difficult to get the soundpost back to original position (even for a well-trained luthier, unless you mark the place with pencil), especially talking about getting both upper and lower part of the soundpost fit perfectly and parallel to the plates.

if you seriously want to learn the hard way, make sure your violin is those entry level (RM300+-) to start with. 99% of the time, you probably need to make a significant damage to the treble side ff hole as well as possible damage to the top (over tighten = distorting the plate) before you have an idea of how to setup and adjust a soundpost nicely. if nobody is selling that tool in kl, you might want to order online.
jessteong
post Jun 23 2009, 12:45 PM

58 posts

hmm... this is bad, real bad
i'm not a violinist, but a staff in a music school
i got 2 students who hv this fallen sound post..
but luckily one of them have 2 violins... so she can use another one
then another lady she only have 1 violin... bad luck for her

i know one violinist who actually have this tool and know how to fix it in penang, but he is a busy man and travel a lot.. (mostly oversea)
other then him.. i dunno who else to have this skill...
(even called to a shop who specialized in selling violin, but they jus dun have the man n tool)

so since this is the case, so i would rather get a tool and learn it with one of my dedicated violin teacher.

well, the violins are entry level.... cost less then rm300 (good news i think)
i saw it in ebay... but if i can get it from kl, then what for i order online..

thanks for your advise little ice..
i have much to learn from you

i'm quite dissapointed when i found out there are violin teachers
who dun even know that their student is using a violin which have fallen sound post..
can't even hear the hollow sound from the violin... doh.gif

This post has been edited by jessteong: Jun 23 2009, 12:47 PM
little ice
post Jun 23 2009, 12:54 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

you're welcome jess (jessica?).

alright, in your case, i'd probably just get the tool, and set the soundpost up until it's roughly in place, since they're student violins. if you don't know, when you look at entry level violins, most of them have funny soundpost setup, so it probably doesn't make much of a difference anyway.

anyway read through these websites to get an idea of how you should setup the soundpost.

http://www.violins.on.ca/luthier/soundpost.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sound_post
jessteong
post Jun 23 2009, 01:37 PM

58 posts

thanks a lot little ice

hmm... i think i have to get the tool online..
>.<''

im_bunny
post Jun 23 2009, 09:43 PM

100 posts

hi.... i stopped my violin lesson for about 3 months already due to work.... planning to take it up again... anyone can recommend a teacher/class in puchong area? thanks smile.gif
little ice
post Jun 23 2009, 10:08 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(im_bunny @ Jun 23 2009, 09:43 PM)
anyone can recommend a teacher/class in puchong area? thanks smile.gif
read his post:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=17906307

and scroll to the bottom of the post.
im_bunny
post Jun 23 2009, 10:49 PM

100 posts

thanks little ice... i see it is near my place too!! smile.gif

what do you think abt taking exams? me am more the type of enjoying the music for what it is, rather than take the exam to judge how good/incompetent am I...

dun really wan to take exam...

This post has been edited by im_bunny: Jun 23 2009, 10:50 PM
jessteong
post Jun 24 2009, 07:24 PM

58 posts

hi little ice...
at last i got the sound post placed
it's kinda tricky...
takes lot of time to knock it till it stay where it should be...
and i got the tool in a shop.. cost me rm38
little ice
post Jun 24 2009, 08:23 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Jun 24 2009, 07:24 PM)
hi little ice...
at last i got the sound post placed
it's kinda tricky...
takes lot of time to knock it till it stay where it should be...
and i got the tool in a shop.. cost me rm38
congratulation! rclxms.gif

i'm surprised that there're actually people selling this tool eh. hmm.gif cause normally people don't want sell cause they scare they know how to setup soundpost but people got tools can self practice so no business do liao. sweat.gif

anyway, if you've seen trained person do that, they also use a soft ruler to measure the soundpost position without look inside. however, to ensure the soundpost fit perfectly, they also use a dentist mirror to check the upper side of the soundpost, as well as a small LED torch with gooseneck so it can put inside the violin and you can see everything clearly. perhaps the student violin doesn't need such detailed adjustment, but maybe you can practice for yourself so you can charge for a fee to help people do. icon_idea.gif
jessteong
post Jun 24 2009, 11:51 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Jun 24 2009, 08:23 PM)
congratulation! rclxms.gif

i'm surprised that there're actually people selling this tool eh. hmm.gif cause normally people don't want sell cause they scare they know how to setup soundpost but people got tools can self practice so no business do liao. sweat.gif

anyway, if you've seen trained person do that, they also use a soft ruler to measure the soundpost position without look inside. however, to ensure the soundpost fit perfectly, they also use a dentist mirror to check the upper side of the soundpost, as well as a small LED torch with gooseneck so it can put inside the violin and you can see everything clearly. perhaps the student violin doesn't need such detailed adjustment, but maybe you can practice for yourself so you can charge for a fee to help people do. icon_idea.gif
haha.. maybe
but was kinda suffering without a light that can straightly light up the inside of the violin
student violin is alright la..
but if it is a 2k violin... i dun dare to do it..

n i'm learning violin, unofficially~
my 1st class was holding the bow correctly.... it was so so hard
and my little finger feel so so cacat... =.=''
so, now the hardest instrument in my list is violin~
haha..

92 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:28 PM