Intel Penryn Overclocking Thread, Toasting next gen 45nm babes ~

lichyetan
post May 11 2008, 04:12 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ May 11 2008, 10:45 AM)
@lichyetan

FYI, to reduce the vdroop problem, you should disable the vdroop control option. smile.gif
ok, thanks bro.. now disable it d... running lower vcore now... biggrin.gif
irenic
post May 11 2008, 08:31 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 11 2008, 01:43 PM)
No cooling and processor to try now sweat.gif Now can't do any oc with stock intel copper core hsf,3.6ghz load already 66 C sweat.gif
super PI 1m load only took u less than 15secs.. after that simply restart and load default setting..

ur proc wont be killed or degrade at 66c.
OC4/3
post May 11 2008, 10:58 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ May 11 2008, 08:31 PM)
super PI 1m load only took u less than 15secs.. after that simply restart and load default setting..

ur proc wont be killed or degrade at 66c.
I dare not to pump 1.6vcore on stock hsf and my os need to reghost to boot into os at higher FSB sweat.gif I am going for 9.59's with E8400 and liquid cool soon brows.gif and low 9's with chill water laugh.gif I like SPI as much as you and i don't have X3350 on hand to test now sweat.gif

This post has been edited by OC4/3: May 12 2008, 12:54 AM
irenic
post May 12 2008, 01:11 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 11 2008, 10:58 PM)
I dare not to pump 1.6vcore on stock hsf and my os need to reghost to boot into os at higher FSB sweat.gif I am going for 9.59's with E8400 and liquid cool soon brows.gif  and low 9's with chill water laugh.gif I like SPI as much as you and i don't have X3350 on hand to test now sweat.gif
hehe fyi i dun really like PI.. rolleyes.gif
IcEMoCHa
post May 12 2008, 11:53 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

uh.. x3350... when q9450 stock coming... damn doh.gif
OC4/3
post May 12 2008, 12:13 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ May 12 2008, 11:53 AM)
uh.. x3350... when q9450 stock coming... damn doh.gif
X3350=Q9450 icon_idea.gif
Silverfire
post May 12 2008, 01:54 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 12 2008, 12:13 PM)
X3350=Q9450 icon_idea.gif
Although it may seem similar, but I guess theres a difference in the architecture. Thats why the E8400 temp is cooler when compared to the E3110.
-pWs-
post May 12 2008, 01:57 PM

8,545 posts

I really wish to know what is difference between them...hmm.gif

-pWs-
Silverfire
post May 12 2008, 02:05 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 12 2008, 01:57 PM)

-pWs-
Well, the most obvious which everyone can see is that the voltage required is lower for the Xeons when compared to the Core 2 Duos.
IcEMoCHa
post May 12 2008, 04:33 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

xeon and c2d... the difference is in the settings... some latency thingy... lol..
OC4/3
post May 12 2008, 08:23 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 12 2008, 01:57 PM)

-pWs-
Same thing.Xeon=C2D with Xeon Identification String
phunkydude
post May 12 2008, 10:35 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 12 2008, 08:23 PM)
Same thing.Xeon=C2D with Xeon Identification String
talking on performance, yes it's same.

wat i notice is.. the vid is diff. ,
while as mentioned by silverfire, the e3110 is running hotter... (from the e3110 oc thread)
requires lower voltage on oc? .. tat 1 i not sure.

from wat i heard is, it's from different fab.? while the binning process is diff. too
higher bin is wat i heard.

but heck, regarding performance... both same jer~
irenic
post May 13 2008, 05:32 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

installed my geminII .. at last.. so lazy to remove my board but tonite got nothing to do so finally biggrin.gif

but notice the temp? why there is lots of difference between the cores..

-pWs-
post May 13 2008, 07:40 AM

8,545 posts

shocking.gif Really a lot difference.
Btw bro, is it full load temp? hmm.gif

-pWs-
LExus65
post May 13 2008, 08:59 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

irenic which version of bios u using ? i tot p5e3 premium still using x38 instead of 48.

anyway are u sure vTT of 1.45 is safe for 24/7 use ?? i tot max is roaund 1.35v ?

btw SPI does not show what a real quad core can, haha.........

vassalle
post May 13 2008, 09:11 AM

610 posts

hi, i just got myself an e8400 and DFI's elcheapo bloodiron p35.

Somehow the combo just doesnt react that well. To set the vcore in bios for my mobo, it's something like VID + special VID add (+100mv etc). The problem is, the VID changes like every other restart.

I was trying to get a stable mild OC of 3.6ghz. I tried VID + 100mv and it was ok stable (only 1hour plus of orthos, didn't have time to do more). Then I restarted again, it'll fail orthos within 10 seconds! Then I realised about the VID (earlier it was at 1.20v and later it was 1.16v). My old mobo was a gigabyte 965 ds3 where I set the vcore at absolute value (not VID + x mv).

Is it normal for the VID to flip flop like this? OR am I missing something? Thanks.
irenic
post May 13 2008, 01:35 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 13 2008, 07:40 AM)
shocking.gif Really a lot difference.
Btw bro, is it full load temp? hmm.gif

-pWs-
no la.. idle only hehe

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 13 2008, 08:59 AM)
irenic which version of bios u using ? i tot p5e3 premium still using x38 instead of 48.

anyway are u sure vTT of 1.45 is safe for 24/7 use ?? i tot max is roaund 1.35v ?

btw SPI does not show what a real quad core can, haha.........
i'm using 0401 bios rite now.. p5e3 premium is using x48, p5e3 deluxe is using x38..

according to intel's spec, 1.45v is absolute max vtt.. u can refer the pdf link that i posted in this thread previously..

to be safe, keep ur vtt below 1.4v for daily use..

QUOTE(vassalle @ May 13 2008, 09:11 AM)

Somehow the combo just doesnt react that well. To set the vcore in bios for my mobo, it's something like VID + special VID add (+100mv etc). The problem is, the VID changes like every other restart.

I was trying to get a stable mild OC of 3.6ghz. I tried VID + 100mv and it was ok stable (only 1hour plus of orthos, didn't have time to do more). Then I restarted again, it'll fail orthos within 10 seconds! Then I realised about the VID (earlier it was at 1.20v and later it was 1.16v). My old mobo was a gigabyte 965 ds3 where I set the vcore at absolute value (not VID + x mv).

Is it normal for the VID to flip flop like this? OR am I missing something? Thanks.
i dun think the vid will drop everytime u restart, but more during the load. let say u set 1.20v in bios, then u enter windows it detect at 1.16v only.. later during orthos benching it drop till let say 1.12v.. that is normal (vdroop)..

but if the VID drop automatically during restart, then u maybe u can consider flash ur bios n see if it fix anything..

well yeah, gigabyte bios is straightforward.. bcoz actually gigabyte doesnt support overclocking as much as other brand like asus, dfi and lately, foxconn...

vassalle
post May 13 2008, 02:31 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ May 13 2008, 01:35 PM)

i dun think the vid will drop everytime u restart, but more during the load. let say u set 1.20v in bios, then u enter windows it detect at 1.16v only.. later during orthos benching it drop till let say 1.12v.. that is normal (vdroop)..

but if the VID drop automatically during restart, then u maybe u can consider flash ur bios n see if it fix anything..

well yeah, gigabyte bios is straightforward.. bcoz actually gigabyte doesnt support overclocking as much as other brand like asus, dfi and lately, foxconn...
The VID drops like every other restart actually, as per reported in Realtemp 2.5 and the ITE (DFI mobo tool). I've disabled all the CPU features like EIST, C1E etc.

At stock speed and VID in Auto, which is the lowest possible option, my idle vcore in XP can be either 1.2v or 1.16v. Could it be my CPU? rclxub.gif

cRiXaLis
post May 13 2008, 03:07 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ May 13 2008, 09:11 AM)

QUOTE(vassalle @ May 13 2008, 02:31 PM)
The VID drops like every other restart actually, as per reported in Realtemp 2.5 and the ITE (DFI mobo tool). I've disabled all the CPU features like EIST, C1E etc.

At stock speed and VID in Auto, which is the lowest possible option, my idle vcore in XP can be either 1.2v or 1.16v. Could it be my CPU?  rclxub.gif
disable ure eist. tm etc
ure failed because of NB

This post has been edited by cRiXaLis: May 13 2008, 03:20 PM
irenic
post May 13 2008, 03:53 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ May 13 2008, 02:31 PM)

At stock speed and VID in Auto, which is the lowest possible option, my idle vcore in XP can be either 1.2v or 1.16v. Could it be my CPU?  rclxub.gif
well better ask for other bloodiron user's to share their experience.. i dun think ur cpu, bcoz i guess it comes from ur board..

and fyi, auto is not the lowest possible option.. auto means the board will automatically adjust the voltage.. and it is not consistent.. thats why with auto setting, sometime u find it stable, sometimes not..

44 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:23 AM