irenic
post May 10 2008, 02:25 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 9 2008, 08:52 PM)
Any more extreme benchie? brows.gif

last nite got trouble going above 450..

this morning wake up and continue tweaking .. currently @ 460x7 .. running prime rite now to check the stability..

well as i said before i dun expect extreme benchie with this cheap 45nm quad.. 8x multiplier is very2 frustrating coz it limits the oc a lot. if only it has 9x or 10x multiplier...

This post has been edited by irenic: May 10 2008, 02:26 PM
irenic
post May 10 2008, 05:44 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 10 2008, 05:10 PM)
I am doing 440x7.5 w my Q9300.
Is it acceptable for 24/7??

-pWs-
whether it is acceptable or not is totally depend on u.. if u think that speed is enuff for u, and most importantly stable for ur 24/7 usage, then okeylah .. just make sure that absolute max vtt for 45nm quad is 1.45v when ur vcore is 1.45v. else u risk killing ur proc sweat.gif

rite now i'm at 470x8 and so far 4x super PI 32m passed..

This post has been edited by irenic: May 10 2008, 05:45 PM
irenic
post May 10 2008, 06:36 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

how bout other setting? gtl reference? vnb?
irenic
post May 10 2008, 07:47 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

try increase ur vtt a lil bit.. to let say 1.3..
irenic
post May 10 2008, 07:50 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 10 2008, 07:46 PM)
I want to see max SPI 1M.I have try X3350 with DFI LP LT X38-T2R before,440 no post after tweak tweak(With help of coolice and bryaneyeo87) sweat.gif
no prob for me.. i even managed to run 4x 32m super PI at 470x8.. rite now i already back to default bcoz mess up with the vanderpool.. doh.gif

here is the screenies of 470x7 32mins of prime95

later i try run super PI 1m at the highest fsb + clock possible.. btw bear in mind that my temp is damn hot bcoz i'm just using the stock cooling haha.. no money to buy proper cooling.. laugh.gif
irenic
post May 10 2008, 08:01 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

for more information regarding 45nm quad intel proc, like voltage rating, thermal specs etc.. refer here:

http://download.intel.com/design/processor...shts/318726.pdf

------------

quick run of super PI 1m @ 471x8, ram @ auto

This post has been edited by irenic: May 10 2008, 08:26 PM
irenic
post May 10 2008, 11:42 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

vcore 1.36
cpu gtl 0/2 0.66
cpu gtl 1/3 0.66
cpu pll 1.5
vtt 1.34
vdimm 1.5
nb 1.41
nb gtl 0.67
sb auto
clock overcharging auto
loadline normal

timing, subtiming all auto..

473x8..

This post has been edited by irenic: May 10 2008, 11:47 PM
irenic
post May 11 2008, 01:00 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ May 10 2008, 11:54 PM)
@irenic
ur temperature is abit doh.gif ... not scared of degration?... biggrin.gif
temp is still ok for short term usage.. wink.gif

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 11 2008, 12:23 AM)
Thanks but i want to see 490x8 action biggrin.gif
haha u want to see ? u try urself la.. hahaha doh.gif
irenic
post May 11 2008, 08:31 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 11 2008, 01:43 PM)
No cooling and processor to try now sweat.gif Now can't do any oc with stock intel copper core hsf,3.6ghz load already 66 C sweat.gif
super PI 1m load only took u less than 15secs.. after that simply restart and load default setting..

ur proc wont be killed or degrade at 66c.
irenic
post May 12 2008, 01:11 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 11 2008, 10:58 PM)
I dare not to pump 1.6vcore on stock hsf and my os need to reghost to boot into os at higher FSB sweat.gif I am going for 9.59's with E8400 and liquid cool soon brows.gif  and low 9's with chill water laugh.gif I like SPI as much as you and i don't have X3350 on hand to test now sweat.gif
hehe fyi i dun really like PI.. rolleyes.gif
irenic
post May 13 2008, 05:32 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

installed my geminII .. at last.. so lazy to remove my board but tonite got nothing to do so finally biggrin.gif

but notice the temp? why there is lots of difference between the cores..

irenic
post May 13 2008, 01:35 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 13 2008, 07:40 AM)
shocking.gif Really a lot difference.
Btw bro, is it full load temp? hmm.gif

-pWs-
no la.. idle only hehe

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 13 2008, 08:59 AM)
irenic which version of bios u using ? i tot p5e3 premium still using x38 instead of 48.

anyway are u sure vTT of 1.45 is safe for 24/7 use ?? i tot max is roaund 1.35v ?

btw SPI does not show what a real quad core can, haha.........
i'm using 0401 bios rite now.. p5e3 premium is using x48, p5e3 deluxe is using x38..

according to intel's spec, 1.45v is absolute max vtt.. u can refer the pdf link that i posted in this thread previously..

to be safe, keep ur vtt below 1.4v for daily use..

QUOTE(vassalle @ May 13 2008, 09:11 AM)
hi, i just got myself an e8400 and DFI's elcheapo bloodiron p35.

Somehow the combo just doesnt react that well. To set the vcore in bios for my mobo, it's something like VID + special VID add (+100mv etc). The problem is, the VID changes like every other restart.

I was trying to get a stable mild OC of 3.6ghz. I tried VID + 100mv and it was ok stable (only 1hour plus of orthos, didn't have time to do more). Then I restarted again, it'll fail orthos within 10 seconds! Then I realised about the VID (earlier it was at 1.20v and later it was 1.16v). My old mobo was a gigabyte 965 ds3 where I set the vcore at absolute value (not VID + x mv).

Is it normal for the VID to flip flop like this? OR am I missing something? Thanks.
i dun think the vid will drop everytime u restart, but more during the load. let say u set 1.20v in bios, then u enter windows it detect at 1.16v only.. later during orthos benching it drop till let say 1.12v.. that is normal (vdroop)..

but if the VID drop automatically during restart, then u maybe u can consider flash ur bios n see if it fix anything..

well yeah, gigabyte bios is straightforward.. bcoz actually gigabyte doesnt support overclocking as much as other brand like asus, dfi and lately, foxconn...

irenic
post May 13 2008, 03:53 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ May 13 2008, 02:31 PM)
The VID drops like every other restart actually, as per reported in Realtemp 2.5 and the ITE (DFI mobo tool). I've disabled all the CPU features like EIST, C1E etc.

At stock speed and VID in Auto, which is the lowest possible option, my idle vcore in XP can be either 1.2v or 1.16v. Could it be my CPU?  rclxub.gif
well better ask for other bloodiron user's to share their experience.. i dun think ur cpu, bcoz i guess it comes from ur board..

and fyi, auto is not the lowest possible option.. auto means the board will automatically adjust the voltage.. and it is not consistent.. thats why with auto setting, sometime u find it stable, sometimes not..
irenic
post May 13 2008, 10:20 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 13 2008, 05:30 PM)
Yea....Auto is the lowest Vcore you can get. smile.gif

-pWs-
act no.. auto is not the lowest.. some board tend to increase the vcore automatically up till 1.4vcore when we leave the setting at auto..

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 13 2008, 08:39 PM)
Hahaaa...slowly bro.
Temp already over 70 degree for Coretemp sweat.gifsweat.gif

-pWs-
huhu try realtemp and see what's the temp

btw i just manage to test 3 coolers for my x3350.. geminII, ocz vendetta 2 (/ xigmatek s1283) and intel stock cooler tongue.gif

and yes, geminII is the best among these 3 coolers..

irenic
post May 13 2008, 10:53 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

hehe realtemp is more accurate than ur coretemp.. wink.gif
irenic
post May 18 2008, 02:39 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ May 15 2008, 12:28 PM)
Wow, i read one review (forgot edy where) which said that geminII only good for 2 core but not quad core?? Glad to here that.
erk.. based on my experience, geminII on dual core is not dat good, compared to on quad core..

QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ May 15 2008, 12:41 PM)
I used the same hsf as your, that Noctua cooler on my QX9650 for 1 month.. Yea, it seems that noctua cannot tame the penryn procs. So, yesterday i change to TRUE 120, not much different but i'm quite happy with 49c (core temp) or 39c real temp on idle and 57/47c on load. but i notice that pairing noctua with my e6600 es proc is almost like marriage made in heaven. Nver exceed 20c, the lowest is around 9c and average 17C. Yesterday, i put another fan to the noctua and bios showed the temp was -2C blink.gif  Unfortunately, BSOD after that coz i made a drastic increase in frequency when did the OC, mayb today try again after reset the CMOS.
ur Q6600 ES temp sensor dead edi.. ? there's no way noctua can perform like that.. unless u live in alaska or the poles...

and E6600 is not that cold when compare with current quad core tongue.gif

irenic
post May 31 2008, 02:42 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

my latest oc done last night..

Specs:

Intel Quad X3350 Watercooled
Asus P5E3 Premium 0402 bios
2Gb Crucial Ballistix PC1600 CL8
Gecube HD 3870 Watercooled
1TB WD Harddisk
PC Power & Cooling 750watt Red
Windows XP Sp2

for a side note, my last attempt on the same setup max out for super PI 1m run @ 473x8 (3.784ghz)

470x8, ram @ 1880 CL8, 3870 @ 891/1296

this is my highest 3dmark06 run, anything higher will cause a locked up in test 1.. maybe could run with higher voltage since the voltage use is still far from the dangerous point but it's already 7.30am and i was so sleepy... tongue.gif

475x8, ram @ 1520 CL6, 3870 @ 891/1296

max stable for PI 1m..

481x8, ram @ 1924 CL8

I believe this board can go higher fsb than what i achieved.. my max bootable last nite was 485fsb.. but the system hang when i was browsing the local folder to save the screenshot doh.gif

irenic
post Jun 1 2008, 02:33 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ May 31 2008, 07:37 PM)
wow.. Irenic bro can't go higher already?..
i really hope there is still few mhz left in my chip.. i can say the future looks quite bright for this board.. considering the voltage i used yesterday is really2 low compared to the setting i used to reach 473fsb last time.. maybe it's bcoz of the newer bios.. or bcoz of cooler temp with this poor man wc kit..

irenic
post Jun 2 2008, 12:39 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Jun 1 2008, 09:27 AM)
it hit the fsb wall?
i dun think so.. but i believe the wall is just around the corner.. currently i can boot up till 487fsb but it's so unstable coz i havent try higher' and more aggresive voltage yet laugh.gif btw now back to my bz life .. so most probably at the end of the week only got time to play cool.gif

0.0421sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:06 AM