189 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Q&A, General question on stock market

skiddtrader
post May 1 2009, 04:38 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 1 2009, 04:35 AM)
Hey thanks alot...
I am checking on the dividend counters thread...
hopefully can learn a few tricks from there...
not sure 4k is enough for me to buy dividend counters...
You don't have to buy in big amounts to earn dividends as dividends are normally paid per share basis. So even minimum 100 shares will gain you some dividends.
ks3114
post May 1 2009, 09:46 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 1 2009, 03:08 AM)
Can anyone share with me on Dividend Counters?
I understand that counter like BJTOTO, TANJONG, TM, GENTING, PBBANK and many more pay out dividend...

How does dividend work?
How do they pay out?
How long we need to hold the share before we are consider qualified for the dividend pay out?
I only trade penny share and i have no idea on this kinda big counters..
A little advice would be great!!
To keep track of which counters are dividend, u can check KLSE website here or if you want to research on the historical distributions, go to The Star Online here. You need to hold their shares until their 'Ex-Date' as shown in their announcement. (Note the 'Payment Date' too, not all companies pay right after their ex-date. Some even pay after 2+ months)

Again, like others have mentioned there are sooo many dividend stocks. It's really up to ur investment strategies ie. what is your target return p.a? How much risk you're willing to take? After you have set your investment goals, we can help you narrow down the good stocks.
cherroy
post May 1 2009, 11:08 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(allankuah @ May 1 2009, 01:51 AM)
Are warrant counters only traded for specific duration? for example 1 or 2 years or permanent?
Warrant will be traded until its life-time, after expired, it will be delisted.

Most ordinary warrant life time is 5 years, (some 10 years), while Call-warrant is shorter, duration from 6-9 months to 1-2 years.

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 1 2009, 03:08 AM)
How does dividend work?
How do they pay out?
How long we need to hold the share before we are consider qualified for the dividend pay out?
I only trade penny share and i have no idea on this kinda big counters..
A little advice would be great!!
1. Dividend generally is given to shareholder from company profit made.
2. They pay you be sending cheque to your registered address
3. There is no duration, as long as one hold before and beyond the dividend ex-date, you will be entitled for it. Just like they said ex-date is 1 May, then if you have the share on 30th April and hold after 1 May, you will get it.

There is no such thing of big counter, as now you can trade as low as 100 shares, even 1K can buy you a stock of Rm10 one.

Slowly explore, don't need to rush, opportunites is always there.

Cheers.
virtualgay
post May 1 2009, 02:55 PM

3,268 posts

you guys are absolutely brilliant. my target is to earn RM400 per month with my 4k fund.
I am not aiming high.. just enough for me to cover my montly expenses will do...
any up coming counter which is going to pay dividend?
i saw someone in the forum mentioning about BJTOTO is going to pay another round of dividend is that right?
If this news is announce definately the share price will shoot up high?
Since is not official yet, should i buy a bit to keep for now?
Any advice on the entry price as this share is kinda bullish.
I am no expert when coming to counter which is > 2.50 cause my target is always the penny share and some share which is below 2.50.
I am also currently reading up some e-book to improve my investment strategy through Technical Analysis and this TA always work on 1 particular counter which is AIR ASIA... do see the AIR ASIA Candlestick chart and you may figure it out...
Soulsareworthless
post May 1 2009, 04:03 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 1 2009, 02:55 PM)
you guys are absolutely brilliant. my target is to earn RM400 per month with my 4k fund.
I am not aiming high.. just enough for me to cover my montly expenses will do...
any up coming counter which is going to pay dividend?
i saw someone in the forum mentioning about BJTOTO is going to pay another round of dividend is that right?
If this news is announce definately the share price will shoot up high?
Since is not official yet, should i buy a bit to keep for now?
Any advice on the entry price as this share is kinda bullish.
I am no expert when coming to counter which is > 2.50 cause my target is always the penny share and some share which is below 2.50.
I am also currently reading up some e-book to improve my investment strategy through Technical Analysis and this TA always work on 1 particular counter which is AIR ASIA... do see the AIR ASIA Candlestick chart and you may figure it out...
Isn't your target of 10% return a month impossible to achieve? 10% return a year is much more attainable. BJTOTO is a good, it's on the high side now but it's a very stable counter and provides roughly 7-8% returns a year, I bought mine RM4.55 so there's also capital appreciation.
Irzani
post May 1 2009, 04:53 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(salvationme @ Apr 30 2009, 08:01 PM)
which bank have more contra day ?
like pbbank online T+3
maybank T+10
Is it true Maybank can extend until 10 days? drool.gif

Added on May 1, 2009, 5:37 pmHi there, I need help to calculate the loss of playing contra :

Brokerage rate = 0.42% and Clearing fee = 0.003%

I have a question regarding the calculation, by :

T1 - Monday (1/1/09)

BUY 15200 shares - 0.275
BUY 21000 shares - 0.280

Total HOLD = 36200 shares

T2 - Tuesday (2/1/09)

BUY 12700 shares - 0.245
BUY 15000 shares - 0.250

Total HOLD = 27700 shares

T3 - Wednesday (3/1/09)

SELL 26500 shares - 0.245
SELL 2400 shares - 0.250

Total SELL = 28900 shares (I thought I should do contra loss below of RM 200 for disposing the second day bought? )
Total HOLD = 35000 shares

T4 and so on - still hold 35000 shares

My question is why do my contra loss is RM 555.08 ? Maybe I'm a little stupid regarding the calculation and the T1-T3 date, but I'm really appreciate if someone can explain it a little bit for me.

Thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Irzani: May 1 2009, 05:40 PM
ks3114
post May 1 2009, 05:40 PM

90 posts

If i had only 4k, i wouldnt buy such expensive shares like BJTOTO.
lklatmy
post May 1 2009, 08:14 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ May 1 2009, 04:53 PM)
Is it true Maybank can extend until 10 days?  drool.gif

Added on May 1, 2009, 5:37 pmHi there, I need help to calculate the loss of playing contra :
Brokerage rate = 0.42% and Clearing fee = 0.003%
I have a question regarding the calculation, by :

T1 - Monday (1/1/09)

BUY 15200 shares - 0.275
BUY 21000 shares - 0.280

Total HOLD = 36200 shares

T2 - Tuesday (2/1/09)

BUY 12700 shares - 0.245
BUY 15000 shares - 0.250

Total HOLD = 27700 shares

T3 - Wednesday (3/1/09)

SELL 26500 shares - 0.245
SELL  2400 shares - 0.250

Total SELL = 28900 shares (I thought I should do contra loss below of RM 200 for disposing the second day bought? )
Total HOLD = 35000 shares
T4 and so on - still hold 35000 shares
My question is why do my contra loss is RM 555.08 ? Maybe I'm a little stupid regarding the calculation and the T1-T3 date, but I'm really appreciate if someone can explain it a little bit for me.

Thanks  notworthy.gif
All brokers practise first in first out (unless you make special request).

So,your sales on T3 will be offset against your purchases on T1.The detailed calculation I leave it to you . tongue.gif
Soulsareworthless
post May 2 2009, 02:23 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 1 2009, 05:40 PM)
You prefer penny stocks with higher beta values?
elhh82
post May 2 2009, 02:59 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 1 2009, 05:40 PM)
That is not the right way to determine if a share is expensive or not. Other values like EPS etc are the right gauge of how expensive a share is.

Most of the "cheap" shares are priced low because,

1. the company is worth very little, or has very little potential (sometimes they are undervalued of course)
2. the company has many shares listed, so when you buy 1 share, you are buying only a very very small piece of the cake.

Many companies like to exploit this incorrect assumption on the side of investors to boost their trading volume. They keep splitting their share over and over and over, so the shares are "cheap".

Think about this, would you buy 1 whole cake at RM10 or will you buy one slice of cake (whole cake cut into 10) for RM1.5? Which one is cheaper?
ks3114
post May 2 2009, 05:23 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ May 2 2009, 02:23 PM)
You prefer penny stocks with higher beta values?
If my goal was just to get dividend, no. If i'm not mistaken, sustainable high dividend stocks are usually stable, they dont fluctuate much in relation to the overall market.

If im a speculator, yes Id go for volatile penny stocks.

Since virtualgay mentioned his goal was sustainable dividends, and I'd suggest not buying into only one counter. The reasons are:

1) Diversify, in case something happen to that company. In the case of BJTOTO, Govt may inc taxes, or some states may ban number forecasting thereby some risks there.

2) he mentioned "I am not aiming high.. just enough for me to cover my montly expenses will do...". Buying into 1 counter will pay dividends quarterly/half yearly. But if u really need some cashflow on monthly basis, u can plan(rough estimate) the dividend payout periods accordingly.

I'm still new in this investing field. All the sifus please correct me if im wrong. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(elhh82 @ May 2 2009, 02:59 PM)
That is not the right way to determine if a share is expensive or not. Other values like EPS etc are the right gauge of how expensive a share is.

Most of the "cheap" shares are priced low because,

1. the company is worth very little, or has very little potential (sometimes they are undervalued of course)
2. the company has many shares listed, so when you buy 1 share, you are buying only a very very small piece of the cake.

Many companies like to exploit this incorrect assumption on the side of investors to boost their trading volume. They keep splitting their share over and over and over, so the shares are "cheap".

Think about this, would you buy 1 whole cake at RM10 or will you buy one slice of cake (whole cake cut into 10) for RM1.5? Which one is cheaper?
Sry about making a very vague statement there about 'expensive'. I did not mean 'over-valued', but more like 'high price' in the sense that the no. of shares you own will be low and its harder to diversify.

I agree with you, companies split shares just to make their share more 'speculation-friendly', similar to wats goin on in KLSE now. Imagine Genting at rm40, resorts at rm23, knm at rm2 - I would think they wont be speculated that much.

Btw, I usually judge the value of a share by P/E and if Im not mistaken that how research houses value shares too. Correct me if im wrong.

To me,
PE around 10, price is normal.
PE at 20 or above, expensive.

Again, all this depends on many factors like the industry it is in, whether its a speculated stock, its fundamentals.

This post has been edited by ks3114: May 2 2009, 05:34 PM
Irzani
post May 2 2009, 09:40 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ May 1 2009, 08:14 PM)
All brokers practise first in first out (unless you make special request).

So,your sales on T3 will be offset against your purchases on T1.The detailed calculation I leave it to you . tongue.gif
Owh .. look like I've taken a wrong step and wrong calculation. Anyway, how to request the special instruction? Before sell or after the day I sell? rclxub.gif

lklatmy
post May 3 2009, 09:39 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ May 2 2009, 09:40 PM)
Owh .. look like I've taken a wrong step and wrong calculation. Anyway, how to request the special instruction? Before sell or after the day I sell?  rclxub.gif

The request have to be made on the day of the sale.please take note that some broker may not allow you to choose the purchase contract for off setting.

ks3114
post May 4 2009, 12:16 AM

90 posts

Got a question here about dividends and taxes for REIT.

Withholding tax will be deducted for distributions made to the following categories of unitholders:
Resident non-corporate - 10%

From what I understand, REIT's income are tax-free? But they withhold 10% of the distribution? (I can check from the dividend pay-out slip, but I'm overseas and they sent the slips back home)

Are all REITs single tiered yet?

This post has been edited by ks3114: May 4 2009, 12:17 AM
orangutan
post May 4 2009, 08:15 AM

671 posts

Dividend Voucher

Dividen on 10,000 shares : RM10,000.00
Less: Malaysian Tax at 25% : RM2,500.00
Net Dividend due to you : RM7,500.00

My question is,

For Direct a/c, one can make claim for the tax.

What about for Nominee a/c? Since the shares are under the organisation name, the tax deduction will benefit organisation. We the nominee, will get the balance RM7,500. Can we still file the RM2,500 tax for the HK3 tax form?

I hope my question is not too confusing. icon_question.gif
htt
post May 4 2009, 08:20 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ May 4 2009, 08:15 AM)
Dividend Voucher

Dividen on 10,000 shares : RM10,000.00
Less: Malaysian Tax at 25% : RM2,500.00
Net Dividend due to you : RM7,500.00
My question is,

For Direct a/c, one can make claim for the tax.

What about for Nominee a/c? Since the shares are under the organisation name, the tax deduction will benefit organisation. We the nominee, will get the balance RM7,500. Can we still file the RM2,500 tax for the HK3 tax form?

I hope my question is not too confusing.  icon_question.gif
Always the deemed shareholder (mean not nominee) can claim the tax.
orangutan
post May 4 2009, 09:11 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(htt @ May 4 2009, 08:20 AM)
Always the deemed shareholder (mean not nominee) can claim the tax.
Thanks for the reply. That means, for long term investor, it's better to get a direct a/c.
Superdude
post May 4 2009, 10:17 AM

15 posts

Hi, What does this mean for bonus and dividends?

Interim 3.5%

4th & Final distribution 2.15¢

skiddtrader
post May 4 2009, 10:27 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Superdude @ May 4 2009, 10:17 AM)
Hi, What does this mean for bonus and dividends?

Interim 3.5%

4th & Final distribution 2.15¢
Its a dividend announcement.

You'll be getting 2.5cents per share.
shoduken
post May 4 2009, 10:30 AM

1,741 posts

How to calculate dividend per share? if it's 2.5 cent per share, is it 2.5 x share u have? means 2.5 x 10,000 = 25000 = rm 250 ?

189 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:33 AM