Q&A, General question on stock market

lklatmy
post Nov 30 2008, 10:43 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(momocha123 @ Nov 30 2008, 05:06 PM)
i've just downloaded a trading acc form online...and i see a field called collateral offered...and i wonder what is it?
does anyone know about it?

and i'm interested to have a direct trading acc instead of nominee acc..
For online trading accounts,this is the norm,but there are exceptions:

1.you need to deposit cash into trust account to get trading limits,or

2.you must transfer some of your existing shares into the nominee cds account as collaterals ,

3.online trading accounts opened directly with Participating organisations(PO) usually are not serviced by Remisiers,as the Po does not have to share the commission with the Remisiers,they can afford to slash the comm rate but you will not get personalised service as compare to trading through a Remisier.As the PO does not know your credit standing,they will not extend you any credit terms so you are required to place cash upfront or shares in nominee cds as collaterals.

So,you choose the kind of service that meet your need most.
lklatmy
post Dec 4 2008, 10:45 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(momocha123 @ Dec 3 2008, 11:45 PM)
trading limit? is set by us ? or according to the regulation given?
the minimum for the deposit is RM 1000. Is it correct?
And once we have a trading acc and cds acc, and lets say i bought some shares with the cash inside my acc...will the amount of money inside the trading acc updated just like our saving acc??

i'm newbie to this...
~Trading limits are set by broking firm based on your credit standings,

~Minimum deposit varies from one broking firm to another,

~Shares bought and sold ,in addition to the normal contract notes for each transaction,will be shown in your monthly statement of account from broker,

~money movements will be shown in the monthly statement of account from broker,

~you will also received a statement from Bursa Depositories Sdn bhd for your share movements,monthly if there is transaction and semi-annually if there is no transactions.(If your cds is nominee a/c ,this statement will be sent to your broker's office,not directly to you.)
lklatmy
post Dec 15 2008, 12:08 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Dec 15 2008, 06:22 AM)
May I know what is "called up share capital" in financial statement ?
When a company issues new share ,it can be fully paid in one go or it may be in instalments.For example,a company may decides to issue ordinary shares of RM 1 by way of first call 60 sen now , second call 20sen in six months time and third call of 20 sen at a later date to be determined.

In your question abv,the called up capital would be the 60sen.

But this rarely happen in public listed companies.

This post has been edited by lklatmy: Dec 15 2008, 09:41 PM
lklatmy
post Dec 19 2008, 09:41 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 18 2008, 01:42 PM)

It depends on buy and seller willingness, there is no proper guide or norm what price it should be traded at. It depends which party is more eager to do the transaction.
But generally it traded slight below the market price but for those 1 shares or 2 shares generally it will only trade at the price that significant higher than normal market price. Because you won't sell 1 share at 1.00, right? 1 x 1.00 = 1.00 ended with negative after deducting the commission and stamp duty. If the share's market price is 1.00. Those owning 1 share of it will qoute like RM50 or something like that to sell.

Also 1 share is valuable for those have 99 shares, because by getting the 1 share, you can trade in open market already.
Under the new BTS introduced at the beginning of this month,it is now possible to buy 1 share without having to pay prices like RM50 per share.

You can just check the current seller in the odd lot board(not sure though whether you can see this in your online portal)and take one share from the seller.For example ,the seller(odd lot) for Sime now is 7.20 and there is 99 shares queing to sell,you can buy one share and the total amount you'll pay for it is:

share price 7.20
Commission 12.00
Stamp duty 1.00
clearing fee 0.01
total 20.21

The unfortunate seller(assuming he only managed to sell one share at the end of the day)will end up in the negative.

If you do not wish to end up like the seller,my advice is don't q to sell,just check the buyer price and let go if u are satisfied with the price.

lklatmy
post Dec 19 2008, 10:30 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 19 2008, 10:06 AM)
Mean that partial done is allowed now.

Curios to know, what if ended up with negative after deducting the commission + stamp duty, seller need to pay the broker firm instead of getting money?  biggrin.gif
YES brows.gif brows.gif biggrin.gif
lklatmy
post Dec 19 2008, 10:44 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 19 2008, 10:32 AM)
Then it is really stupid act to sell then still need to pay the broker firm. laugh.gif  doh.gif
That's why one should not q,because you may end up partially done.

Another way to salvage if you are the unfortunate seller/buyer is trade an additional board lot and the commission will be calculated on the aggregate volume.
lklatmy
post Dec 19 2008, 11:21 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 19 2008, 10:51 AM)
But with partial done allowed that it raised the problem already.

Just like one had 50 shares, so there is no Q for buying, so you put up to sell 50 shares, but some jokers come to buy 1 share from you (<-- as allowed partially done), then no more takers, ended up selling 1 share and paying money to broking firm.

So not that good as well under the new BTS's partial done new rule.

You need somebody to Q in the first place, right?
I think there are pros and cons to the new partially done allowed of the new BTS system,In fact,the problem highlighted by you also applies to the board lot market eventhough the bid and ask quote may be one bid only.For eg,if you q to sell 5000 Hevea and some joker come and buy 100 shares from you at 4.59pm(assuming your price is the TCP price)you will still end up in the negative .

At least under the new BTS system,you need not pay prices like RM50 per share to get the one share required.

If u let someone else be the hero and put up his odd lot quote,you will be able to avoid the pitfall.

Unless and until the odd lot market becomes more liquid,(more buyers and sellers),this problem mentioned will persist.
lklatmy
post Dec 21 2008, 11:13 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 21 2008, 10:55 AM)
Nobody reply me?

T3 is the third business day after the day of the trade,so if you buy/sell on Monday,your T3 will be Thursday.

If there's a holiday in between,it is not counted because it is not a business day.
lklatmy
post Dec 22 2008, 11:33 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(skymei @ Dec 22 2008, 08:18 PM)
Hi evryone,

I did not give a specific instuction to the brokerage firm that they can use my contra gain to offset my unsettled payment..will they automatically do it or i need to manually inform them? All these done on T+4 right?

Hope can reply asap.thx very very much wink.gif
Different broking firm have different practice,Some broking firms do not allow using contra gain until payment date.I suggest you check with your broking firm direct.

lklatmy
post Feb 4 2009, 08:49 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Feb 4 2009, 01:37 AM)
As long as below 100units (1lot), it is consider odd lot, right?
Yes,

less than 100 units-------odd lot,

100 units------------------board lot.
lklatmy
post Feb 5 2009, 10:10 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Feb 5 2009, 06:47 AM)
Claim now and keep for future easier, else a bit more work to do in the future tongue.gif
I think you have to claim in the same basis year,example dividends received in basis year 2008 must be claimed in your basis year 2008 returns,you can't claim in 2009 or later basis years.

lklatmy
post Feb 6 2009, 11:50 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(pigpig1 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:59 PM)
dear gurus, anywhere to check how many stock that a person had it under his name in bursa other than check with remisier?
Go to the broker's office,show your IC and ask them to give you a printout.It will cost you RM1 per page.

lklatmy
post Feb 8 2009, 01:16 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(pigpig1 @ Feb 7 2009, 02:09 PM)
if i have several account? example kenanga and maybank, each account i have purchased some share. would i be able go to kenanga office get the printout even the share i purchased at maybank?

or any other way that i can print online?
Than you will have to go to the respective Broker's office.

lklatmy
post May 1 2009, 08:14 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ May 1 2009, 04:53 PM)
Is it true Maybank can extend until 10 days?  drool.gif

Added on May 1, 2009, 5:37 pmHi there, I need help to calculate the loss of playing contra :
Brokerage rate = 0.42% and Clearing fee = 0.003%
I have a question regarding the calculation, by :

T1 - Monday (1/1/09)

BUY 15200 shares - 0.275
BUY 21000 shares - 0.280

Total HOLD = 36200 shares

T2 - Tuesday (2/1/09)

BUY 12700 shares - 0.245
BUY 15000 shares - 0.250

Total HOLD = 27700 shares

T3 - Wednesday (3/1/09)

SELL 26500 shares - 0.245
SELL  2400 shares - 0.250

Total SELL = 28900 shares (I thought I should do contra loss below of RM 200 for disposing the second day bought? )
Total HOLD = 35000 shares
T4 and so on - still hold 35000 shares
My question is why do my contra loss is RM 555.08 ? Maybe I'm a little stupid regarding the calculation and the T1-T3 date, but I'm really appreciate if someone can explain it a little bit for me.

Thanks  notworthy.gif
All brokers practise first in first out (unless you make special request).

So,your sales on T3 will be offset against your purchases on T1.The detailed calculation I leave it to you . tongue.gif
lklatmy
post May 3 2009, 09:39 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ May 2 2009, 09:40 PM)
Owh .. look like I've taken a wrong step and wrong calculation. Anyway, how to request the special instruction? Before sell or after the day I sell?  rclxub.gif

The request have to be made on the day of the sale.please take note that some broker may not allow you to choose the purchase contract for off setting.

lklatmy
post May 4 2009, 11:18 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(htt @ May 4 2009, 08:20 AM)
Always the deemed shareholder (mean not nominee) can claim the tax.
To add,the Nominee company(not the company you invested in)will issue you with a "subsidiary tax voucher"as proof that you are the beneficiary of the dividend.
lklatmy
post Jun 3 2009, 12:18 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 2 2009, 11:44 PM)
You will get intraday commission charges.

Intra means you buy and sell on the same day, which brokers house can offer special commission rate.

Nothing to do with average price or not.
Please let me add on to this.

Most brokers will use FIFO,so in the absence of any instruction from you,the 90 lots bought on the first day together with 10 lots from the second day will be contra off against the selling.

However,you can actually request the Remisier to submit a form to the broker instructing them to treat the buying and selling of 100 lots on the second day as an intra day trade.

The process is NOT automatic,you have to make a request.
lklatmy
post Jul 30 2009, 09:56 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Neon_ @ Jul 30 2009, 09:39 AM)
dear pro's, plz help me clarify this issue,

One of my contra share was force sold in the afternoon. There seems to be a problem here whereby it has been sold twice. eg: KNM 20lots was sold at 40lots. And there seems to be a negative 20lots of KNM in my portfolio.
My remisier is now telling me that the penalty has to be paid by me, and its coming to about RM1000 when my full trade amount is just RM5000...
In dont think the penalty has to be borne by me coz the online system doesnt allow me to trade twice and def doesnt allow me to short sell...

Plz help me on this issue. I think my remisier is just trying to pass the blame to me...
Lets get the facts right first,

1.Who keyed in the two selling orders?

2.What's the cutoff time for the forced selling ?12.30pm or 4.30pm ?
lklatmy
post Jul 30 2009, 10:42 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Neon_ @ Jul 30 2009, 10:05 AM)
1. As the usual previous contra trades at T4 i do, i keyed in at the sellers price in the morning... eg: 20 lots @ .265. I was trying my luck to sell b4 12.30.
At 12.30, nothing was matched, and i just left it for my remisier to do his force selling in the afternooon. When i came in after lunch at about 2.30pm, i saw in my order status, there was 2 transaction whereby, both were similar orders to sell my share. But i know i have only 20 lots of it, but there was sell order for 20 lots twice...
I called my remisier, and told him tat i could see 2 transactions. And he said i have to cancel my order, but the thing was my order was already matched. In about 10mins the second order also matched at sellers price of .265

2. Cut off time was 12.30pm

Added on July 30, 2009, 10:25 amOn top of this, the securities firm has suspended my account temporarily.... OMG....!!!! So much trouble........
My view as a Remisier is:

1.Since cut off time is 12.30,you should have cancelled the selling order before the afternoon session starts,or you could have stipulate the order as valid for half day only.

2.It is unlikely that the Remisier queue to sell a forced selling order.Normal industry practice is the company dealer handling the forced selling just throw to the buyer price.If you actually saw two orders (one matched and one queuing) at around 2.31pm(I presumed),that means your Remisier had keyed in one order and since not matched yet,he should have cancel the order when you called.

3.KNM at 0.265 yesterday? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

lklatmy
post Jul 30 2009, 11:54 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Neon_ @ Jul 30 2009, 11:23 AM)
KNM @.265 was just an example is was giving....tongue.gif

thanks 4 ur view, can u tell me, force selling starts at wat time? When should i have canceled the order? Y prior to this my remisier never told me to cancel any of my force sell orders, rather he just cancels it and keys in at any price that comes in....

in this case, how can i avoid the penalty to fall on me?? Already got losses from my counters, now i have to pay for some penalty im not even responsible off???????????

PLZ HELP!!!
Is this a real situation or just a hypothetical example?I am not sure of the actual facts so I can only give you general answers based on industry practice.

Forced selling time varies from one broker to another.If it was made known to you,you have to adhere to it.

You should cancel the selling order in the afternoon session since the forced selling by client is 12.30 pm.

You Remisier should have cancel his forced selling order when you called him to let him know that your own selling order already matched.

When you discovered the error,you could have talked to your Remisier yesterday to take remedial action,which means covering back the oversold quantity from he open market.in which case,the loss is only the price differential and the incidental charges of brokerage,clearing fee and commission.Today too late liao.

Try negotiating with him on the basis that he should cancel the second selling order when you called.Maybe sharing the loss is fair.

0.0284sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:14 AM