189 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Q&A, General question on stock market

Yithoe
post Dec 3 2008, 06:45 PM

Lol.actually im just a newbie and student who want to know more about stock trading and market before im really get involve in it.
How about short term stock trading work?
And is there any technique beside this 3 ratio to culculate and do homework in the company background?

Thank htt =D
htt
post Dec 3 2008, 06:57 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Yithoe @ Dec 3 2008, 06:45 PM)
Lol.actually im just a newbie and student who want to know more about stock trading and market before im really get involve in it.
How about short term stock trading work?
And is there any technique beside this 3 ratio to culculate and do homework in the company background?

Thank htt =D
Buy low sell high earn the difference. But there must be someone who do the opposite way also tongue.gif That's cruel but that's how the market works. shocking.gif

There are chartist who study and come out with all type of theories but I know none of it. Fundamentalist will go dig inside their account to determine what's their real value, that will require a lot of works with all kind of assumptions (they have their own model also, DCF, DVM, NRV etc....).

Most of the investors goes by gut feeling + observation of trend over years + rumors + news published. To start always good to start reading finance section in news paper, or get some reference books from library (I never go there, don't know have or not tongue.gif ).
momocha123
post Dec 3 2008, 11:45 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Nov 30 2008, 10:43 PM)
For online trading accounts,this is the norm,but there are exceptions:

1.you need to deposit cash into trust account to get trading limits,or

2.you must transfer some of your existing shares into the nominee cds account as collaterals ,

3.online trading accounts opened directly with Participating organisations(PO) usually are not serviced by Remisiers,as the  Po does not have to share the commission with the Remisiers,they can afford to slash the comm rate but you will not get personalised service as compare to trading through a Remisier.As the PO does not know your credit standing,they will not extend you any credit terms so you are required to place cash upfront or shares in nominee cds as collaterals.
So,you choose the kind of service that meet your need most.
trading limit? is set by us ? or according to the regulation given?
the minimum for the deposit is RM 1000. Is it correct?
And once we have a trading acc and cds acc, and lets say i bought some shares with the cash inside my acc...will the amount of money inside the trading acc updated just like our saving acc??

i'm newbie to this...

Irzani
post Dec 4 2008, 02:02 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

If:

EX-date : 26/12/2008
Entitlement date : 31/12/2008
Entitlement time : 05:00:00 PM

If I bought on 28/12/2008, will it count for the dividend?
fergie1100
post Dec 4 2008, 08:29 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 4 2008, 02:02 AM)
If:

nope, as we refer to the "Ex-date"
cherroy
post Dec 4 2008, 09:18 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 4 2008, 02:02 AM)
If:

To add a point, a simplicity way,
you must buy before ex-date to entitle the dividend, ie the last date you should buy (to entitle the dividend) is 25/12/2008
cherroy
post Dec 4 2008, 09:24 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 2 2008, 10:12 PM)
Which share will you buy?

AAA: Price $2.00, EPS $0.50, Div $0.30, P/E = 4.0, Div Yield = 15.0%
BBB: Price $0.90, EPS $0.20, Div $0.15, P/E = 4.5, Div Yield = 16.7%

Assume you have $10,000.

Buy AAA 50 lots. Cost $10,000. Div received = $0.30 x 5000 shares = $1,500
Buy BBB 111 lots. Cost $9,990. Div received = $0.15 x 11,100 shares = $1,665

Would you buy AAA because of lower P/E? Or would you buy BBB because of higher dividend? Why?
Nope, stock market is about future prospect of the company. If AAA earning is going to drop significantly, future PE will sky-rocket, which it is not cheap at all.

Same with BBB, if future company earning is not able to sustain dividend yield, then its share will plunge to match those lower future dividend.

Can't make much conclusion out of it. It is much more complex, as what stock market concern the most is the future, not the past. That's why you see stock market around the world plunge severely because of anticipation of economy recession.

QUOTE(Yithoe @ Dec 3 2008, 11:22 AM)
Any Sifu can roughly teach me how function in the culculation of  EPS,PE,DY to know whether the stock is good or bad?

Thank.
For fundamental analysis, it is much more complex than that, but those are good way to start with.
You can google around, there are lot of information around the forum.

Cheers.
lklatmy
post Dec 4 2008, 10:45 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(momocha123 @ Dec 3 2008, 11:45 PM)
trading limit? is set by us ? or according to the regulation given?
the minimum for the deposit is RM 1000. Is it correct?
And once we have a trading acc and cds acc, and lets say i bought some shares with the cash inside my acc...will the amount of money inside the trading acc updated just like our saving acc??

i'm newbie to this...
~Trading limits are set by broking firm based on your credit standings,

~Minimum deposit varies from one broking firm to another,

~Shares bought and sold ,in addition to the normal contract notes for each transaction,will be shown in your monthly statement of account from broker,

~money movements will be shown in the monthly statement of account from broker,

~you will also received a statement from Bursa Depositories Sdn bhd for your share movements,monthly if there is transaction and semi-annually if there is no transactions.(If your cds is nominee a/c ,this statement will be sent to your broker's office,not directly to you.)
aoisky
post Dec 4 2008, 05:22 PM

1,203 posts

Hi noob here
what is

Order Type
1. Limit
2. Market

lower limit and upper limit

Irzani
post Dec 4 2008, 08:33 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 4 2008, 09:18 AM)
To add a point, a simplicity way,
you must buy before ex-date to entitle the dividend, ie the last date you should buy (to entitle the dividend) is 25/12/2008
Thanks Mr Cherroy, anyway what is the point to put the Entitlement date : 31/12/2008? Knowledge .. knowledge .. thumbup.gif

cherroy
post Dec 4 2008, 09:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 4 2008, 08:33 PM)
Thanks Mr Cherroy, anyway what is the point to put the Entitlement date : 31/12/2008? Knowledge .. knowledge ..  thumbup.gif
Actually when company registrar looking for shareholders for dividend distribution time, they willl take the entitlement date to determine the identity of the shareholders, that's why it called entitlement date.

But, when you bought your share in the market, the share is not immediately transfer into your CDS, just like previous example, 26/12 is the ex-date, so if you bought at 25/12 that entitled for the dividend but the share won't be transfer into your CDS directly on that date, it takes about 2 days time to be completed, so in order to be the share being completed to transfer into your CDS (for company registrar to identify you for the dividend), then ex-date being created which is the last date which able for the share transfer completion.

As KLSE is the place only the share being traded, so we look for ex-date only, we don't care about the entitlement date as those are automated process under CDS already or being handled by KLSE clearing centre.
danmooncake
post Dec 5 2008, 10:02 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 4 2008, 05:22 PM)
Hi noob here
what is

Order Type
1. Limit
2. Market

lower limit and upper limit
1. Limit - price you're willing to sell or buy
2. Market - what ever market price that was submitted to buy or sell.

No sure what's lower limit or upper limit there.. it depends on your trading tools.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 5 2008, 10:04 PM
Irzani
post Dec 5 2008, 11:04 PM

2,972 posts

Since this thread has been pinned, isn't that TS can compile all the question here and make it FAQ .. brows.gif
chuken123
post Dec 6 2008, 09:03 AM

165 posts

i would like to know how someone invest in stock until bankrupt ? if the stock keep going down, he can keep it until the price up, why can be bankrupt ?
aoisky
post Dec 6 2008, 12:13 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(chuken123 @ Dec 6 2008, 09:03 AM)
i would like to know how someone invest in stock until bankrupt ? if the stock keep going down, he can keep it until the price up, why can be bankrupt ?
Simple coz some ppl greed then loan $ from financial institution to buy stock. when economic down / stock they bought not performing well for longer period, na then u n gain $ but dun 4get u hv 2 pay ur loan interest. some ppl cant wait till price up coz the interest will go high up to the sky the no choice but to sale. for wait until the stock price up, some stock after goes down will never goes up for sometimes; human behavior ma 'tak sabar' if these ppl can tahan sabar then thy would play stock trading 2 gain fast $. some listed comp go private leh n alot of factor la....

as i know may b .... i m i right sifooo? coz i oso new in both stcok trade n lowyat forum.

Added on December 6, 2008, 12:15 pmbtw thanks danmooncake

This post has been edited by aoisky: Dec 6 2008, 12:15 PM
dreams_achiever
post Dec 7 2008, 12:37 PM

1,120 posts

In simple word, those ppls that using margin to purchase stocks are easier to bankrupt.
Dun ever to borrow money more than you can handle to do stock trading.
Else risking in getting margin call from your broker.
If you can't refill those losses from your stock investment even after clearing all your assets, then you will be declared bankrupt. cool2.gif
Sh@rty 5
post Dec 7 2008, 09:53 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Nov 21 2008, 11:30 PM)
If I send a buy order for queuing.
Then during trading time, market falls like hell. I quickly decide not to buy.
Can I cancel the queue order?
blush.gif just wanna ask bout this queuing thingy..means u tell ur broker at wat price to buy? i dun get wat this queuing thingy is all about * newbie x5 icon_question.gif
kmarc
post Dec 7 2008, 11:05 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Dec 7 2008, 09:53 PM)
blush.gif just wanna ask bout this queuing thingy..means u tell ur broker at wat price to buy? i dun get wat this queuing thingy is all about * newbie x5 icon_question.gif
When you want to buy stocks, you have to queue. If there is a matching seller, then you will get the stocks at the price you quoted...... smile.gif

Say a counter is priced at RM2.50 at that moment in time....

There will be people queuing at RM2.50, some higher at RM2.55 and some lower at RM 2.45 or RM2.40..... Those that queue at higher prices will usually get it first as sellers would want to sell their shares at a higher price.... if you queue very low e.g. at RM2.30, there might not be any sellers willing to sell the stock at that price, so you won't get that stock....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Dec 7 2008, 11:08 PM
sampoo
post Dec 7 2008, 11:18 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Dec 7 2008, 01:37 PM)
In simple word, those ppls that using margin to purchase stocks are easier to bankrupt.
Dun ever to borrow money more than you can handle to do stock trading.
Else risking in getting margin call from your broker.
If you can't refill those losses from your stock investment even after clearing all your assets, then you will be declared bankrupt.  cool2.gif
as i know most of the ppl using their own hard earn money to buy stock (as wat we all the forumer did), they use up all their money/fund to average down their stock, but when come to emergency they need $$ and this is why there need to sell off their share even they are lost. this ppl may lost few years to 10 years and above of their hard earn money in just few months time. they not yet bankrupt in law, but already mentally bankrupt. rclxub.gif icon_question.gif So becareful. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by sampoo: Dec 7 2008, 11:20 PM
aoisky
post Dec 7 2008, 11:23 PM

1,203 posts

well i hv a question here, as I buy I put the best buy price and get the quantity, transaction done.

I still dun understand these joker roles wat is their purpose sale 1 lot?
with only 1 lot can they speculate the share price?

as a newbie n small trader here I havent encounter partially match situation.
If I sale 50 lots which is 2 best sale price got 1 lot match only, transaction done or not ?

read some where around here someone mention it done 1 lot sale success if i m not mistaken.

pl advise.

189 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:53 PM