149 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

viper88
post Aug 15 2008, 11:58 AM

2,359 posts

Which was right and which was left at the beginning of the fight? Was the blur one on the left Blackie?
The blur FS is Razer kena chop by Blackie. Blackie is a partial chop. Not really strong chop attack, chop at close range.

0.19-0.22 - which was the spider that did the leg grabbing and which was the one that broke away first? Was it blackie the broke away? Amazing, that it turn back to fight again.
No, Razer broke away 1st and return to fight back. Later Razer managed to bite Blackie's arm and leg. Blackie managed to break free and come back to fight.

0.49-0.54 - i thought that wld be the end for the fs that kena chop... it looks beaten up...but oh no, that was just the beginning...

Both fs, keep grab attack and counter attack with bite at each other many times. This is the most chop bites exchange among other FS fight i've seen. I've lost count how many times Blackie and Razer chop each other.. but definitely ALOT.

This fight has so many holding bites, there must be lots of venom being exchanged
0.20 -teeth biting
0.29-3.36 - teeth biting
1.13 - teeth biting
1.21-1.42 - leg biting

Arm bitting also have. Razer bite Blackie arm for short while before bite leg. At 2min 20 sec, Blackie from top grab chop and try flip Razer. At 2min30sec, both FS already exhausted n rest about 10 secs bfr continue to fight again. After the short rest, Razer seems more in ctrl of the fight. Razer kept fighting and return bites at Blackie. Blackie was forced to to rear top and later retreat

I also noticed...
2.55- blood spitting
by the top fs

Both fs also bleeds. teeth, arm n legs injured

Can see in the middle of the fight, these 2 fs are so exhausted, arms shaking and teeth wide apart as if gasping yet continue to try to tear each other apart......this fs fight is truly out of the world. I foresee this record will remain unbroken for a long long LONG time. Thanks a million, Viper for sharing this remarkable clip.

You are welcome. Thanks for starting this FS forum and share your FS fights.

[/quote]

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88

TSmindstorm
post Aug 15 2008, 11:52 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Aug 15 2008, 11:58 AM)
Which was right and which was left at the beginning of the fight? Was the blur one on the left Blackie?
The blur FS is Razer kena chop by Blackie.  Blackie is a partial chop. Not really strong chop attack, chop at close range.

0.19-0.22 - which was the spider that did the leg grabbing and which was the one that broke away first? Was it blackie the broke away? Amazing, that it turn back to fight again.

No, Razer broke away 1st and return to fight back.  Later Razer managed to bite Blackie's arm and leg. Blackie managed to break free and come back to fight.

Wah, run away first yet turn back to win the fight.

I watched the clip again knowing which is which fs and i must say Razor was incredible. Yes it was Razer that broke away first after its leg got grab but return and at 0.49-0.54, the fs that got chopped and looked beaten up was Razor. At 2.23-2.26 Blackie again chop and turn Razor sideways. It seems the more exhausted looking one with arms shaking was Razor all the while... and Blackie seems to launch a multitude of chops which Razor just defended. No matter wat Blackie tried to do, Razor just wouldn't retreat(or maybe too exhausted to retreat). But it was Razor which did the leg bite at 1.21-1.42. In the end Blackie must have felt exasperated fighting such a hardy opponent.

The good thing is that although it was a such a long and gruelling match, neither fs was critically injured till the point of death. If this 2 fs can recover after a few days, I would like to see a rematch of them. It should be better for Blackie the next time since u said Blackie fought an earlier match with GP before fighting this record match.

What was your fighting regime for both these fs recently? You fought them every other day?

Added on August 16, 2008, 12:03 amStill keeping the fs u gave me...was Zenith the name? It is a chop now with a right crooked foreleg.
Today i fought it with Nicey from Seremban. Looks like Zenith has gotten old but Nicey from Seremban still fresh.
Zenith(bottom) launch a chop first but got knock out of the ring.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuGQe2ukkCs

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Aug 16 2008, 12:25 AM
jazzkit
post Aug 16 2008, 12:22 AM

153 posts

cool spider warrior..I love it nod.gif

but viper88,you dare put it on your hand,you don't scare those spider will bite you?

This post has been edited by jazzkit: Aug 16 2008, 05:37 AM
sogoatticus
post Aug 16 2008, 02:29 AM

672 posts

waa..din know this thread exist..was also playing these spiders back in primary school..can discuss such thing?
viper88
post Aug 16 2008, 04:43 PM

2,359 posts

Ya, i was quite surprised that Razer able to put up such strong fighting will against Blackie.
Razer got thrashed easily by Seth and Riper few days ago. I've rested Blackie quite many days because previously injured badly fightly Seth. Remember the bloody fight?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LSKM16S-LU

Here's the sequence from the fight between Razer and Blackie.

Early of the fight Razer got chop by Blackie and when swap position, its leg get caught.
After breakfree, Razer from bottom still fierce and want to fight. It chop hard at Blackie back!
Blackie fought back and swap positions. This time Blackie at bottom keep attacking fiecely, then teeth bitting by Razer but Blackie keep chop hard till breakfree and continue attk Razer.
Its was during Blackie strong chop attack, both FS chg position and somehow Razer managed to bite Blackie's arm and then its leg for awhile.
Razer then let go facing other side and seems tired already. Blackie din waste time and grab bite Razer back and managed to bite Razer leg!. The bite was released short time only.
Both FS face each other again cont to fight in tight arm lock to teeth bitting each other
Blackie managed to chop Razer till Razer almost flip.
Razer managed to bite Blackie's teeth again!
Blackie tried hard to breafree by doing strong chop few times till flipped abit managed to breakfree but Razer now bite Blackie's leg!!
Blackie try hard to breakfree, its leg almost break! Blackie move around bite Razer and managed 2 breakfree.
Blackie leg stand up injured and start to retreat far away abit to top.
After short resting, Blackie start to charge to continue fighting Razer.
Razer managed to grab chop, push and lifted up Blackie. I think its bcoz Blackie leg injured
Both FS chg position again. Razer now top, Blackie bottom.
Blackie eventho leg injured still managed to chop hard at Razer.
Both FS chg position again. Blackie now top, Razer bottom.
Razer also counter with strong chops at blackie and lifted Blackie up few times.
Both FS breakfree from each other. At this point, Blackie seems exhausted, its arm shaking abit and start to move away abit from Razer.
After rest few secs, Blackie still don't want to gave up and approach Razer challenge him to continue the fight!! Blackie still at top screen now.
Blackie charge chop hard till Blackie lifted up,managed to flip blackie up left & right and Razer almost got overturned!
Both FS breakfree from each other. Razer now on top, Blackie bottom.
Blackie left arm still shaking but he continued to chop & grab hard at Razer!
Both FS breakfree from each other and take some rest. This time Razer left arm also shaking. Blackie move away abit cleaning its teeth/injury?(2min 38sec)
After rest for quite some time (36secs), both FS starts to approach each other to continue their fight (3min 14 secs). Razer top, Blackie bottom.
Both FS fought with short arm pushing and light chop before breakfree for another few secs rest.
Blackie right arm shaking (3min26 secs) but still move towards Razer.
Both FS again fought with arm pushing technique and grab each other.
Razer seems stronger, managed to chop, grab lifted Blackie up and flip blackie upside down! both FS spin around when Blackie try to breakfree.
Both FS chg position again. Blackie now top, Razer bottom. Both FS stop for short rest for few secs.
Blackie seems very exhausted now. Razer chop hard at Blackie pushing him back up. Another 2-3 secs short rest.
Blackie not giving up yet, chop Razer again but Razer counter back with stronger chop!
Razer chop Blackie till Blackie had to retreat few steps back away from Razer (3min51sec)
Razer right arm still shaking. Both FS seems very exhausted and rested about 1min.
Razer start to approach Blackie to continue fight (4min58 sec)
Blackie fought with arm pushing and chop Razer.
Razer fired up, grab and push hard at Blackie far downwards
Both FS chg position. Razer top, Blackie bottom now. Both FS stop rest few secs.
Blackie approach Razer to fight but Razer arm push, chop hard and grab Blackie till like become a round ball! (5min23secs)
Blackie managed to breakfree, fought back with arm pushing and also chop hard back at RAzer 2X! Razer almost lost balance from the strong attack but managed to hold on.
At 5min35 secs both FS breakfree from each other and have rest about 28secs. Razer arm still shaking (Razer on the screen left side, Blackie is on the screen right)
At 5min 58 secs. Both FS face each other ready to fight again . (Blackie top now, Razer bottom)
Razer managed to bite blackie teeth and chop lightly at Blackie.
Blackie retreat to my finger and later saw Razer still waiting at stage to fight.
Blackie move back to the stage but decided to gave up on the fight.
RAZER won!

Today i check both FS still ok, legs still strong can stick on FS case. I've feed the FS with flies and both FS still have good appetite. Need to give them long rest to recover from their awesome fierce fight!

v_viper88

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 15 2008, 11:52 PM)
Wah, run away first yet turn back to win the fight.

I watched the clip again knowing which is which fs and i must say Razor was incredible. Yes it was Razer that broke away first after its leg got grab but return and at 0.49-0.54, the fs that got chopped and looked beaten up was Razor. At 2.23-2.26 Blackie again chop and turn Razor sideways. It seems the more exhausted looking one with arms shaking was Razor all the while... and Blackie seems to launch a multitude of chops which Razor just defended. No matter wat Blackie tried to do, Razor just wouldn't retreat(or maybe too exhausted to retreat). But it was Razor which did the leg bite at 1.21-1.42. In the end Blackie must have felt exasperated fighting such a hardy opponent.

The good thing is that although it was a such a long and gruelling match, neither fs was critically injured till the point of death. If this 2 fs can recover after a few days, I would like to see a rematch of them. It should be better for Blackie the next time since u said Blackie fought an earlier match with GP before fighting this record match.

What was your fighting regime for both these fs recently? You fought them every other day?

Added on August 16, 2008, 12:03 amStill keeping the fs u gave me...was Zenith the name? It is a chop now with a right crooked foreleg.
Today i fought it with Nicey from Seremban. Looks like Zenith has gotten old but Nicey from Seremban still fresh.
Zenith(bottom) launch a chop first but got knock out of the ring.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuGQe2ukkCs

Added on August 16, 2008, 4:54 pmYeah, these FS are great fighters.
Human hand skin is too thick for FS teeth to bite through.

QUOTE(jazzkit @ Aug 16 2008, 12:22 AM)
cool spider warrior..I love it nod.gif

but viper88,you dare put it on your hand,you don't scare those spider will bite you?
This post has been edited by viper88: Aug 16 2008, 05:06 PM
TSmindstorm
post Aug 18 2008, 08:29 PM

900 posts

wah, so detailed fight comment?? record fight, also record narration smile.gif
TSmindstorm
post Aug 18 2008, 09:11 PM

900 posts

Here's some stuff to share with general jumper lovers out there. Dunno wheather u guys saw it before, an old national geographic article, one of the first and rare magazine articles on jumpers i got hold of-22pages of it.
For me, when i saw that issue, it's like i found gold. hehe.
I scanned the pages out. Dunno wheather for such an old article, NG will come after me for copyright issues. Wanna find also dunno where to get. If they do, then I'll just remove it, meantime enjoy!

Bavia from Aussie. Second time i READ that Bavia is a spectacular fighter...

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Aug 18 2008, 10:46 PM
Lance8431
post Aug 19 2008, 01:34 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 18 2008, 09:11 PM)
Here's some stuff to share with general jumper lovers out there. Dunno wheather u guys saw it before, an old national geographic article, one of the first and rare magazine articles on jumpers i got hold of-22pages of it.
I scanned the pages out. Dunno wheather for such an old article, NG will come after me for copyright issues. Wanna find also dunno where to get. If they do, then I'll just remove it, meantime enjoy!

Cool Mag, i remember i see it when i was very young that time, around primary or maybe even earlier. I think still store in my home. Really nice pics taken by National Geographic photographers. notworthy.gif
Mangrovejumper
post Aug 19 2008, 03:49 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 18 2008, 06:11 AM)

That article looks familiar, although I don't remember anything specific on it. It's good stuff, like the ability of a jumper to move their front eyes to look around. It also has the picture of the ant spiders fighting. I've only fought them once, and it's a very interesting fight. Phidippus spiders are very big. You should try putting two Bavia aericeps females together.
viper88
post Aug 19 2008, 11:46 AM

2,359 posts

Hehehe... write in detail so fs kakis can know the fight better.
So far i c bravia only chop and eat... din c them fight bfr.

The best FS fights if of coz the one tat we play now. rclxms.gif

[quote=mindstorm,Aug 18 2008, 08:29 PM]
wah, so detailed fight comment?? record fight, also record narration smile.gif

[/quote]

[/quote]

TSmindstorm
post Aug 19 2008, 11:21 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Aug 19 2008, 03:49 AM)
That article looks familiar, although I don't remember anything specific on it.  It's good stuff, like the ability of a jumper to move their front eyes to look around.  It also has the picture of the ant spiders fighting.  I've only fought them once, and it's a very interesting fight.  Phidippus spiders are very big.  You should try putting two Bavia aericeps females together.
I showed you the magazine la...years ago i remember.
You liked the eyes?? You should see the the actual clip itself. Found this, this morning.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-2UbhN1WoE&feature=related
Also first time i see a clip on the fearsome baboon-looking male Mopsus. Extraordinary looking.

yeah, those male "kerengga" ant spiders are incredible and it's been yeeeaaaars since i saw one. Maybe because we tend to avoid "kerengga" infested areas, where these spideys would blend in.

Talking about Phidippus, i did a search on them and realize they have quite a number of fans. Like wat the author wrote, they certainly look like teddy bears becuz of their furry coat, so i'm calling them teddy bear spideys...hehe
Some of which i like
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8UCUjcbrLQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vrzSSpEl6Y&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4-qUhtj9Ug4&feature=related
From this blog, i get the impression that they aren't hard to breed and raise.
http://www.arachnoboards.com/ab/archive/in...php/t-9656.html
Researchers still study them.
http://www.umass.edu/loop/talkingpoints/articles/42518.php
And if i'm not mistaken, this all time favourite fighting video(which u have seen b4), is between 2 Phidippus of some species
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2D3ZnZWxEak

Anyway, when i was watching the Mopsus clip, guess wat showed by on the related videos?
Baby Lucien from Singapore!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8x06XaLatho
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AK-ARs2tX8E
I guess Hyllus must be the teddy bear Phidippus version in Asia... big cute hairy friendly jumpers.
I think the cute fella i caught last December in front of my house(which i showed u, Mangrovejumper) must be a Hyllus Diardi youngster. Looks very much the same. It seems they can grow pretty huge hence their common name, Heavy jumper.
Last two months i saw it again in my porch itself between 2 leaves of a creeper but i didn't bother it. Today i search for him/her, but no longer around. Hey, this means there is a natural population of them here right in my housing area! icon_idea.gif

Ok, u come bk next year and we go Bavia hunting.

centaurfly
post Aug 20 2008, 09:28 AM

34 posts

Hi Viper, that's a fantastic fight! Both FS has the determination of great FS warriors. I am sure its a record that is not going to be broken for a long time.

I tried breeding Marauder before he leaves me... To aid him, I held the females abdomen down, albeit not too tightly so as not to injure her . He tried at least 5/6 times to mount her unsuccessfully and guess what, he then grab attack and eat her, probably out of frustration!

Mindstorm. The 4 Hyllus pics you have attached looks like my Mina. I had actually wrongly posted her as a Hyllus diardi, as with also most of those macro shots of naturalist over the internet. It's real species is Hyllus semicupreus.

The baby lucien belongs to the girl, whom I mentioned. who raised her from egg.

Added on August 20, 2008, 11:50 amSome pics of two jumpers I caught last friday after work.

The male - Stripe
user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

The female - Jewel
user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

I place a FS to try fighting against Stripe. Stripe ignored the FS completely!

This post has been edited by centaurfly: Aug 20 2008, 11:50 AM
viper88
post Aug 20 2008, 02:20 PM

2,359 posts

Yesterday evening after work, i let my FS fight.
All fight fiercely! About 35- 40 secs of fight.
There's a new FS (Draco).

GP vs Draco
Riper vs Celltel

Draco is a strong fighter will test fight with Celltel next time.

Will upload the fight video later coz bz with work. blink.gif

Here's the fight video.

Riper vs Celltel
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UjQzMd7bJag

GP vs Draco
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEAntU0Ly3w

v_viper88

This post has been edited by viper88: Aug 20 2008, 08:43 PM
Mangrovejumper
post Aug 21 2008, 03:08 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Aug 19 2008, 06:28 PM)

I tried breeding Marauder before he leaves me... To aid him, I held the females abdomen down, albeit not too tightly so as not to injure her . He tried at least 5/6 times to mount her unsuccessfully and guess what, he then grab attack and eat her, probably out of frustration!

Added on August 20, 2008, 11:50 amSome pics of two jumpers I caught last friday after work.

The male - Stripe

Marauder looks like a chop from a previous clip, I don't think you will be able to breed him. Chops just don't breed. Both Mindstorm and Viper have tried repeatedly and have not had success. Perhaps if you can get one to recover and become a normal spider, then maybe.

Stripe is a male Telemonia. Telemonias are not aggressive in nature, I think. I remember I used to catch them to be food for Ligurras (golden spiders/mangrovejumpers), many of them smaller than the Telemonias. I'm sure Mindstorm still remembers my "fui-yo" yell when a female Ligurra of mine pounced on and killed a female Telemonia twice its size.
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2008, 04:13 PM

282 posts

Updates on spider hunt

I went for jogging yesterday and notice some of the green areas at my apartment was actually quite nice and have potential to have the spiders. Being poking around the bushes to see anything from there. found a few nest nearby my hostel bushes but non of it is the fighting spider i'm looking for, and some just got alerted and jumped off before i can take a clear view on them tongue.gif
Saw some lily plants but its empty. Then saw another Jumper, redish with brown stripes, very long legs, raising its front feet in front of an ant line laugh.gif

So far nothing much yet, long time didn;t do such hunting already and notice the mosquitoes that surrounded me after my focus on the bushes was enormous laugh.gif Gonna prep up next time before i go.
Hopefully there is any hope most of the new areas here was not mudded before they build the buildings here and there are some surviving fighters.

By the way, how you guys hunt for it one? is it looking for their nest and take them off or looking for the wandering males most of the time?
viper88
post Aug 21 2008, 08:32 PM

2,359 posts

Today fight

Blackie vs Razer Rematch!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3N1vl0aP_c

Celltel vs Draco

Rd1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbb9K09Zzsk

Rd2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Dam_JVgTT0

Rd3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3N3hvgR87v8

How to hunt FS? Check at overlapping leaves. Try to peel open the leaves slowly to chk whether inside have FS, it is a HUGE/Large Male den u are lucky.. rclxms.gif
Use scissors to cut the leaves rear end. Bring it to open area so its easier to take the FS out from its nest and put into case.

Last time in my skool time, some of my friends caught quite alot of FS and sell it to other FS kakis. Some sell for few RM only. tongue.gif Some give it away
when their FS lost or the owner dun have time to take care of the FS.

v_viper88

TSmindstorm
post Aug 21 2008, 11:12 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Aug 20 2008, 09:28 AM)

Mindstorm. The 4 Hyllus pics you have attached looks like my Mina. I had actually wrongly posted her as a Hyllus diardi, as with also most of those macro shots of naturalist over the internet. It's real species is Hyllus semicupreus.

The baby lucien belongs to the girl, whom I mentioned. who raised her from egg.

The male - Stripe

The female - Jewel

Ohman, mate becomes food....

Hmm, yeah...the pattern on the abdomen looks like mina. But mina looks more yellowish, while the one i had was whitish.

The girl, Jennifer Val, has an extensive blog about her jumpers and raising them that would put any of us guys here to shame, man. Truly a pleasant surprise and an interesting diary of her spideys from this lovely lady. She makes a perfect ambassador to encourage the keeping of jumpers as pets, especially for other gals. Lots of nuturing, love and cuteness goes into them. I salute. notworthy.gif
http://sgblogs.com/blog/canyon-crack-betwe...livejournal/116
At first i thot it was only one page, but if u click [go earlier] at the bottom of the page, u can see how she houses them and those tiny tots she have. If u go further back, u'll get to know her as well..smile.gif. Anyway on the subject of raising jumpers, this i must say...Best in Singapore and the whole world! Haven't seen anything quite like it!

Jewel looks like the spider me and mangrovejumper used to call "transparent spider".

Mangrovejumper, u mean Stripe is the male of Jewel? Yeah, they're favourite food for Golden spiders. I remember that incident.

Added on August 21, 2008, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Aug 21 2008, 04:13 PM)
By the way, how you guys hunt for it one? is it looking for their nest and take them off or looking for the wandering males most of the time?
Both. My eyes are trained to detect the slightest jumper movement. smile.gif
Hope u get some to share ur stories here.

Added on August 21, 2008, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(viper88 @ Aug 21 2008, 08:32 PM)
Those were some good fights esp Blackie vs Razer. Chop until upside down, still fighting. Double arm bites and gore.

Looks like close match-ups are between
Celltel vs Riper
Blackie vs Razer
Draco vs GP
Celltel too strong for Draco.
How do u rank them.

Hey, viper, do us a favour and let us know from begining left is which spidey and right is which spidey in youtube... more interesting to follow if we know from start which is which spidey. Thanks!

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Aug 22 2008, 12:00 AM
viper88
post Aug 22 2008, 12:48 AM

2,359 posts

Wow, i didn't know girls also have interest with spiders. Her websites have alot cute spidey pics. biggrin.gif
Maybe you can ask her to join this forum if she have any FS.. other species of spider kinda out of this forum topic liao.

My main interest in FS is more on searching for strong male FS and see exciting FS fights.
Too bad, no challenger to fight with except my own FS currently. I've no interest in breeding the FS.
I prefer let them breed in the wild at their habitats by releasing the FS back after some time.

My current FS ranking

Celltel
Riper
Draco (slightly bigger than Blackie and Razer)
Blackie
Razer
GP

As usual, my ranking will be based on my FS size, fighting skill and strength.

Riper about same size like Draco but more fiercer so i rank it 2nd.
I caught Draco maybe few days after it chg skin. Its skin n legs colour looks fair, cant fight long. Keep it as sparring partner for my FS. After feed it for few weeks, now it becomes much active and stronger. Its size also grew bigger compare to last time. I was quite surprise actually when i see its size suddenly becomes bigger than Blackie, Razer and GP..

I didn't post up some of its earlier fight vs my other FS bcoz all very short fight.

When Draco managed to beat GP, i feel Draco will have higher chance to defeat Blackie and Razor due to its size.. Draco also have chop attack ability, strong and have good fighting technique. Maybe Blackie can give good fight to Draco. Blackie have alot experience in fights and as i expected, Blackie defeated Razer today in its rematch.

Razer have very strong fighting will, its just keep on coming back to fight even have chance to retreat earlier.

GP also a good fighter.

BlackSeth broke one of its teeth the next day after its last fight. I've feed BlackSeth for few days and let it go at my housing area few days back.. thinks its Monday.

Can read the info for the FS videos i posted in youtube.
I've put the FS names which one attack 1st, which fs arm bite, FS retreat and which FS won.
With the infos provided, should be able to know which spider left or right already.
If not sure, ask and i'll let u know.

v_viper88

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 21 2008, 11:12 PM)

Hmm, yeah...the pattern on the abdomen looks like mina. But mina looks more yellowish, while the one i had was whitish.

The girl, Jennifer Val, has an extensive blog about her jumpers and raising them that would put any of us guys here to shame, man. Truly a pleasant surprise and an interesting diary of her spideys from this lovely lady. She makes a perfect ambassador to encourage the keeping of jumpers as pets, especially for other gals. Lots of nuturing, love and cuteness goes into them. I salute.  notworthy.gif
At first i thot it was only one page, but if u click [go earlier] at the bottom of the page, u can see how she houses them and those tiny tots she have. If u go further back, u'll get to know her as well..smile.gif. Anyway on the subject of raising jumpers, this i must say...Best in Singapore and the whole world! Haven't seen anything quite like it!

Jewel looks like the spider me and mangrovejumper used to call "transparent spider".

Mangrovejumper, u mean Stripe is the male of Jewel? Yeah, they're favourite food for Golden spiders. I remember that incident.

Added on August 21, 2008, 11:15 pm

Both. My eyes are trained to detect the slightest jumper movement. smile.gif
Hope u get some to share ur stories here.

Added on August 21, 2008, 11:21 pm

Those were some good fights esp Blackie vs Razer. Chop until upside down, still fighting. Double arm bites and gore.

Looks like close match-ups are between
Celltel vs Riper
Blackie vs Razer
Draco vs GP
Celltel too strong for Draco.
How do u rank them.

Hey, viper, do us a favour and let us know from begining left is which spidey and right is which spidey in youtube... more interesting to follow if we know from start which is which spidey. Thanks!
This post has been edited by viper88: Aug 22 2008, 12:57 AM
centaurfly
post Aug 22 2008, 09:26 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 21 2008, 11:12 PM)

The girl, Jennifer Val, has an extensive blog about her jumpers and raising them that would put any of us guys here to shame, man. Truly a pleasant surprise and an interesting diary of her spideys from this lovely lady. She makes a perfect ambassador to encourage the keeping of jumpers as pets, especially for other gals. Lots of nuturing, love and cuteness goes into them. I salute.  notworthy.gif

The specimen you had was I believe was a juvenile, hence, the slight difference in colour. If you look at the pics of the diardi of Jessica (not Jennifer), hers is completely white with black patches.

I have invited her to this forum, but maybe she is not really into FS. I'll pass her a brooding female FS to try out soon.

I just caught a male Bavia Aericeps two days ago. Will hunt for another to try to prove the Bavia ferocious theory. I also caught another female Hyllus semicupreus, and put her to face Mina. Before I can whip out my camera, the newcomer has became a meal; Mina saw and jump straight at the face, grab and cling on the struggling newcomer!
TSmindstorm
post Aug 23 2008, 12:46 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Aug 22 2008, 09:26 AM)
The specimen you had was I believe was a juvenile, hence, the slight difference in colour. If you look at the pics of the diardi of Jessica (not Jennifer), hers is completely white with black patches.

I have invited her to this forum, but maybe she is not really into FS. I'll pass her a brooding female FS to try out soon.

I just caught a male Bavia Aericeps two days ago. Will hunt for another to try to prove the Bavia ferocious theory. I also caught another female Hyllus semicupreus, and put her to face Mina. Before I can whip out my camera, the newcomer has became a meal; Mina saw and jump straight at the face, grab and cling on the struggling newcomer!
Yeah, i guess u're right.
Wow, i just found out today that ur Goliath is the male of Hyllus Diardi? I read ur intro to Jess in her forum under 'Bleeps'(all along I was wondering wat the hell was that but didn't click on it, until just now...gees internet springs up all sorts of vocab) and she was insisting Goliath is the male. Till now, I'm pretty surprise and amazed by the differences btw the sexes of jumpers. It means so many times i have caught jumpers but had no clue one was just the opposite sex of another. Same goes for ur Telemonia. Some of them like Thiania can easily be identified, but some of them are so different. Maybe compling a side by side photos of males and females jumpers will proof to be very informative.
It means this little fella I fed milk to was a young male H.Diardi. I have let him go since.
Now i know at least one hunting place for them.

Was the newcomer same size as Mina?
Man, your spideys seems to be feeding on one another!

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Aug 23 2008, 12:50 PM

149 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:38 AM