149 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

TSmindstorm
post Apr 26 2008, 11:38 PM

900 posts

Sigma is incredible. Size, strength, stamina. Looks like Sigma has it all. Sigma should be in a competition. Great catch man. I hope Sigma will reign for a long time. Hopefully i can come see Sigma next week. Take some upclose pics of Sigma. And let Longman testing.

Dan, you should take a look at their site. They have completed their competition with Bonafido as the winner. Got some pics of the participants. I think they will post some videos up tomorrow. Great interest there.
http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=316161
viper88
post Apr 26 2008, 11:41 PM

2,359 posts

Wa.. looks quite bad ur Longarm. Wat case u put him in?
Too much water/wet in his case?

Normally FS leg weak cant stick properly coz injured after fight.

My FS Crossfire leg oso weak after lost to Hope last time.. Today lost to Sigma also very weak.. u can see in Youtube. Your FS oso like tat ?

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88

QUOTE(ass @ Apr 26 2008, 08:45 PM)
My longarm like suddenly sick, dragging legs liddat sad.gif and very hungry, haven stop eating yet
longarm the leg like weak, become jelly. Cannot hang upside down from leaf and sometimes the joint like cannot bend. But i tried to fight him with thick

Not fighting him until his next moult , hopefully by then cured liao
TSmindstorm
post Apr 26 2008, 11:48 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(ass @ Apr 26 2008, 08:45 PM)
My longarm like suddenly sick, dragging legs liddat sad.gif and very hungry, haven stop eating yet

Added on April 26, 2008, 8:51 pmbtw I saw a spider like Bavia shape but got red butt and red pedipalps(male organ thing at mouth) about 12 plus mm. Wtf was that? Is that the ghost spider?? Looked very fierce

Added on April 26, 2008, 9:33 pmlongarm the leg like weak, become jelly. Cannot hang upside down from leaf and sometimes the joint like cannot bend. But i tried to fight him with thick arm
1st time: he stand there open arm, thick arm push abit then run
2nd time: longarm suddenly chop at him
3rd time: chop again, but lose balance so longarm run.

Not fighting him until his next moult , hopefully by then cured liao
Longarm may be old already or sick. But I'm sure it wont have his next moult. Once a male FS has the white face, it has already moulted its last moult to become an adult capable of breeding. From its last moult, it would probably live another 3 - 4 months. So far having kept more than 30-40 FS last and this year, the longest time i kept a male is 3 and a half months-Bighead. I hope someone can show me he can keep a adult male FS longer than that. One of the symptoms of old age is the reduced ability to hang unto vertical surfaces or upside down. I dunno wheather Longarm symptoms is due to old age but if it is, then i don't think he can last at most another 2 weeks. Good thing is that it is still eating.
Mangrovejumper
post Apr 27 2008, 02:38 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(ass @ Apr 26 2008, 01:06 AM)
sad la, my spider nver fight properly today.
too bad nvr see any chops there, I wanted to see some.

[Added on April 26, 2008, 8:51 pm]

btw I saw a spider like Bavia shape but got red butt and red pedipalps(male organ thing at mouth) about 12 plus mm. Wtf was that? Is that the ghost spider?? Looked very fierce

To convert normal spiders into chops, you need to catch 1 chop FS first. You can't spread it around without one that already has it.

Take the picture of the Bavia shape spider for us le. Then every one can enjoy.

Mindstorm: I looked at the sg arofanatics site. Looks more like a chat. Good camera work on the clips, but they're not as remarkable as Viper's Sigma chop FS fights. Hope you can figure out how to rear baby Lonesome.

ass
post Apr 27 2008, 10:51 AM

65 posts

I spray water on the walls, so maybe too wet.now I only put Afew drops of water on leaf. I think too humid.
the red bavia shape spider I didn't catch, it ran dam fast.

Added on April 27, 2008, 10:52 amhe in large rectangle Tupperware

Added on April 27, 2008, 10:55 amHuh?? I had this smaller white face spider that moulted a week ago. One of the first spider I catch.

Added on April 27, 2008, 10:56 amso chop is like rabies??

This post has been edited by ass: Apr 27 2008, 10:56 AM
GT4671
post Apr 27 2008, 12:47 PM

What is "chop" anyways?
Zangetsu
post Apr 27 2008, 02:00 PM

123 posts

wah this make me remember when i in standard 5 lol always try to catch in at put it on match box and bring to scool hehehe but now seems hard to catch and to find it sad.gif
ass
post Apr 27 2008, 06:51 PM

65 posts

I went back to the bush and saw a FS with a head bigger than longarms but while I was transferring it to another container... sad.gif

Added on April 27, 2008, 9:41 pmcan keep male and female FS in same container in diff leaf or have to let them mate first?

Added on April 27, 2008, 10:23 pmok, longarm is 80% than normal, no more limp.

This post has been edited by ass: Apr 27 2008, 10:23 PM
viper88
post Apr 27 2008, 10:29 PM

2,359 posts

FS dun like too wet environment.. Remember last time my neighbour story.. piss on leaves where FS hide to make them come out?
Some FS might slip and drown easily if theres a lot water in its case.

Last time i use a glass container for my FS.. tats even worst.. my FS alwys slipped and fall down.
After some time, 1-2 legs broke and its become very weak coz tired try to climb around the case.

Ya.. check your leaf u put inside the FS case oso.. some leaf got some sticky itchy white juice at the rear part u pluck out.. some might
be toxin for FS oso.

Hope your FS can recover fast. Your FS looks quite big... got potential to become a good fighter.

v_viper88

QUOTE(ass @ Apr 27 2008, 10:51 AM)
I spray water on the walls, so maybe too wet.now I only put Afew drops of water on leaf. I think too humid.
the red bavia shape spider I didn't catch, it ran dam fast.

Added on April 27, 2008, 10:52 amhe in large rectangle Tupperware

Added on April 27, 2008, 10:55 amHuh?? I had this smaller white face spider that moulted a week ago. One of the first spider I catch.

Added on April 27, 2008, 10:56 amso chop is like rabies??
This post has been edited by viper88: Apr 27 2008, 10:33 PM
bonai
post Apr 27 2008, 10:34 PM

1,254 posts

i'm too lazy to read from the first post..

just wanna ask is the spider really small like the one in the thumbnail??
viper88
post Apr 27 2008, 11:03 PM

2,359 posts

Yup..really small..large one so far like thumbnail fingernail size or like 10 sen coin size.
Those day when my skool days.. i saw the large one like almost half my thumb size.
Tat time my thumb finger quite short n small oso..kekekekek.

v_viper88

QUOTE(bonai @ Apr 27 2008, 10:34 PM)
i'm too lazy to read from the first post..

just wanna ask is the spider really small like the one in the thumbnail??
GT4671
post Apr 28 2008, 03:05 AM

I ask again....what is a "chop" when you are referring to a spider? mindstorm AKA Adrian, this picture is what I saw a lot of in New York.

Obviously this is a female and the males have the same white color pattern on them, but their butts are smaller. I also saw jumping spiders with orange spots.

This post has been edited by GT4671: Apr 28 2008, 03:05 AM
Mangrovejumper
post Apr 28 2008, 05:08 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(GT4671 @ Apr 27 2008, 12:05 PM)
I ask again....what is a "chop" when you are referring to a spider?  mindstorm AKA Adrian, this picture is what I saw a lot of in New York.

Obviously this is a female and the males have the same white color pattern on them, but their butts are smaller.  I also saw jumping spiders with orange spots.
There were some discussions on what "chop" is in the earlier pages. Nobody knows for sure what it really is. It's a marked behavioral change some Thiania bhamoensis spiders take on in their adult lives. The term "chop" is a colloquial jargon we use, for lack of a better term. The chop Thianias display hyper aggressive behavior towards other Thianias, often treating them like prey rather than competition. The males, curiously, will lose their ability to mate with a female after acquiring this "chop" attribute...they seem extremely timid around females, easily disinterested and if they decide approach they would end up pushing the female (like a face to face fight) rather than mounting her. It's like they messed up their brains.

I have proposed that it may be a CNS infection (something like rabies) because it can be spread around, and now, some documentation that they can recover from it on rare occasions.

Here are some old clips that display the difference in behavior.
Nonchops (normal behavior for Thiania bhamoensis):
Spitfire vs Hades
Bighead vs Archilles
Both spiders initially size each other up before fighting...they'll dance side to side and back and forth while showing angry faces. They will then start by pushing each other, vibrating their claws. If none of the competitors give up, they'll go the the next stage of the fight which is grappling. That's when you'll see moves like arm locking, biting and throwing. With successive stages of the fight, the risk of injury increases. In essense nonchop Thianias do not get hurt easily when they fight because they often will give up after stage 1 (angry face faceoff) or stage 2 (pushing).

Chops:
The last few weeks most of the clips involved chop fighting spiders, as Viper and Mindstorm have either caught them or converted them. You have commented on some of the brutal ones that ended up with a competitor dying.
Kelapasawit vs Bro1 slo mo
Bro1 as a chop. Note how the fight began. It went straight to stage 3. That's why injuries often happen in fights involving chops. They do not assess their opponent's size and try to scare them off. Depending on the level of "chopness", a chop spider may or may not show an angry face. It's basically a take-no-prisoners approach to fighting. However it doesn't mean that chops are hands down winners because if the opponent could withstand the initial rush attack, it's a 50-50 tussle.

Hope that helps.

The pic looks like a Phiddipus. I haven't seen any of them here, unfortunately. I saw some crab spiders and wolf spiders while weeding yesterday, quite boring.
GT4671
post Apr 28 2008, 06:02 AM

Most spiders are boring if they're not jumping spiders. Thanks for the info, I understand the "chop" theory now. The pic I posted is a Phiddipus, and that's a female and was one of many caught by me when I lived in NY. As I mentioned, some others had orange spots instead of white. I even saw grey colored jumping spiders, and they were always smaller than the black ones, although I can't find them on the net anywhere.
viper88
post Apr 28 2008, 04:31 PM

2,359 posts

Some of the Final FS fights videos from SG FS competition.

I got the link from Aroforums

http://s295.photobucket.com/albums/mm139/t...FinalRound1.flv

http://s295.photobucket.com/albums/mm139/t...FinalRound2.flv

v_viper88

This post has been edited by viper88: Apr 28 2008, 04:38 PM
ass
post Apr 28 2008, 05:00 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Apr 28 2008, 04:31 PM)
Some of the Final FS fights videos from SG FS competition.

I got the link from Aroforums

http://s295.photobucket.com/albums/mm139/t...FinalRound1.flv

http://s295.photobucket.com/albums/mm139/t...FinalRound2.flv

v_viper88
Our spider not fierce one...
viper88
post Apr 28 2008, 10:21 PM

2,359 posts

No worry. Try train your FS la.. later can become good fighter oso.

See how i trained my FS.. Slayer.
Caught same day with Sigma. Thats the FS tat can stand Sigma chop few times.

Tonite i let Slayer spar few times with other FS. After few times sparring, Slayer become fierce and start to bite its opponent.
See the video la..

Some warm up sparring
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pyfKX8bq4mM

After awhile.. get fiercer and starts to chiong r.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrrqYyEeG8U

Then... c wat happen la..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=riBgxKWB0aI

My other FS.. Scorpio, Hades oso seems recover from their arm injury.. now can chop better.

Scorpio chop attack
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dYz_KzLuv30

Hades chop attack
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hp2ax_Ea14Q

Cheers,
v_viper88

QUOTE(ass @ Apr 28 2008, 05:00 PM)
Our spider not fierce one...
TSmindstorm
post Apr 28 2008, 10:51 PM

900 posts

Mangrovejumper: I couldn't have explained about "chops" any better. Good job man!

GT4671: You can see we spider players here go into pretty deep details about the fighting behaviour of these spiders. The variety of their moves amazes us that's why we love them so much.

Viper: Damn, all your spiders turning chop. How to challenge you?

Added on April 28, 2008, 10:59 pm
QUOTE(ass @ Apr 27 2008, 10:51 AM)

Wah, a white face male Thiania Bhamoensis moulted??!! If you had documented this with pics(before and after moult, and the moulted exoskeleton), I will be the first to be blown away! Do you still have the spider? Any pics?

What do you think, Mangrovejumper and Viper?

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Apr 28 2008, 10:59 PM
viper88
post Apr 28 2008, 11:04 PM

2,359 posts

Slayer and Sigma still normal FS.. but they can get aggressive in fights sometimes if the opponent piss them off.. lol..
I think Hades still a weak FS.. can fight not those aggressive type.

So far i've not yet see any white face FS moulted.. only those like female FS but later after mould become male.. lol..

v_viper88

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Apr 28 2008, 10:51 PM)
Viper: Damn, all your spiders turning chop. How to challenge you?

Added on April 28, 2008, 10:59 pm

Wah, a white face male Thiania Bhamoensis moulted??!! If you had documented this with pics(before and after moult, and the moulted exoskeleton), I will be the first to be blown away! Do you still have the spider? Any pics?

What do you think, Mangrovejumper and Viper?
ass
post Apr 28 2008, 11:21 PM

65 posts

dunno leh, I caught this spider with another male spider in the same nest... The exoskeleton I threw on the floor. Only a few days with me then it moult. Lousy fighter so I use it as confidence booster.

Added on April 28, 2008, 11:40 pmanyway these 2 spiders only average size, used to think they were quite big when I first started catching them at a park. Then I went to the forest and caught the others.

This post has been edited by ass: Apr 28 2008, 11:40 PM

149 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:59 PM