149 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

kopPao
post Jul 23 2009, 08:59 AM

hi guys, just a recap of all the Kings we had over this period of spider hunting.
(Ranking not in order)

BigHead
Hulk
Terminator
Robocop
Megaradon
Cacaradon
U-Ken
Transformer
Hero
Cage

please add on if i missed out any....

Have u guys wondered if we could turn back time and spar all these Kings together ?

sigh.... time to work. sad.gif
Trevally
post Jul 23 2009, 09:22 AM

bro koppao, the true kings in sg are Megaradon, Terminator, Hulk and Transformer. They defeated all of the fs the bros once owned when they were around. Megaradon held the longest king title and died before getting a chance to challenge terminator. Terminator became the 2nd king in sg and when hulk beat terminator, hulk took over the king and now transformer had beaten hulk and pronounced the current sg king. Transformer is the strongest fs among us now.

This post has been edited by Trevally: Jul 23 2009, 09:23 AM
fsnow55
post Jul 23 2009, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Jul 22 2009, 06:05 AM)

fsnow55:
I don't know anything about your observation of multiple spiders on the banana tree.  Perhaps it was a whole group of slings coming out of a nest if it was agitated.  It's certainly not normal behaviour for adult jumping spiders.

Depending on where you are, you can probably pick up a Phiddipus sp. or two.  I know Mindstorm is dying to see them face off.  I couldn't find any in my region (Seattle area) so they are probably not indigenious to the northwest.
Mangrovejumper, I saw them as a kid in Singapore; you're right, probably spiderlings.
I once swatted a huge spider (brown?) and got the shock of my life when hundreds of slings exploded out. She was
ferrying them on her back.
I checked out Phidippus on the web; seems to be common in America; hopefully none are poisonous, so I'll
try to look for them in the garden. So far, only see the common house spider. Also found this excellent resource on Am. spiders:
http://hubpages.com/hub/The-Glade
Krauser
post Jul 23 2009, 12:18 PM

Ya agree with Trevally, I think should only list those 4 or else the list will be endless with everybody's 1st King in there blink.gif

1. Megadon
2. Terminator
3. Hulk
4. Transformer - current heavyweight champion belt holder tongue.gif

Read that Vincent and Dreamchaser released Hulk into potted plants to refresh him? I hope he didn't run away coz I tought got re-match rite?

Anyways earlier this wk on Monday happened to pass by Yishun Ave 1 in the morning and caught a mini-chop. Afternoon checked out Pasir Ris Park and got a mini-handicap(1 arm shorter) laugh.gif Caught 1 medium and alot of small FS also but they were all ice-cream doh.gif .

So let these 2 fight yesterday night and videoed using my Nokia N95 8GB ( ya quite surprised by the result not bad after finding out secret macro mode on youtube laugh.gif ) Short fights thou..

1st match - Mini-handicap won
Mini-chop vs Mini-handicap

Then I let Mini-handicap vs 1 of the larger Medium sparring I have, sparring won due to size advantage but not bad considering Mini-handicap's size
Mini-handicap vs Sparring

After that released the Mini-handicap into my potted plants outside with a Bu.

1 of my Bu also moulted into a Kang 2 nights ago. Still small, so released into rehab centre to keep Trix amused tongue.gif Seems like Bu that have suspiciously long arms moult into Kang? I've accidentally caught a M-L Bu with long arms before @ NTU but face was black. Shit.. should've kept her doh.gif I recalled reading was it Viper who had a Kang moult into a Kang before by the name of Bro1 issit? But can't find that post in this thread.

This post has been edited by Krauser: Jul 23 2009, 12:27 PM
kopPao
post Jul 23 2009, 01:29 PM

thks bro Trevally and Krauser for narrowing down the list.
u guys have a point there...

Bad News for me...
Transformer had converted to a partial chop !!! vmad.gif Shxx !
last night let it have fun with a female, yet he fought her away !!
i suspect from then on, it is turning to a chop.
indeed, juz now i foguth it with a sparring FS. it pounce on it and tried to grab that FS's arm ! OMG shocking.gif

i need to change my nick !!!!!!! mad.gif

This post has been edited by kopPao: Jul 23 2009, 10:50 PM
Trevally
post Jul 23 2009, 05:05 PM

bro koppao, if transformer turned into a chopster, he would be more fierce but that could mean his lifespan would be shorten. let's see how he performs this weekend against hulk.
jong71
post Jul 23 2009, 07:12 PM

Hallo Fighting Spider enthusiasts!

This thread started by mindstorm and viper88 has brought back memories of happy boyhood time! Very good movies of spider fight bouts. Unique. Nothing like it in the whole internet. Ground-breaking. Congratulations.
Since I had time this few weeks went to see if I still have the old FS catching skills. (I'm SG). At first nothing, not even a Bu! Then after a few days trying different times and places got 5 small to medium males. Productivity very low: look between 40 leaves catch one spider! Idea: size for FS same all animals, including people: follow bell-curve. So area that can support larger spider population will have more bigger males for same percentage (maybe only 1%). Where in Singapore have largest insect pop.? Nature reserves, reservoirs, bigger forests. Check street directory, then went to look. Inside jungle, nothing. Then check fringes, especially parks and roadsides next to large forested areas, start to get better results, but not uniform. Some bushes hot spots. From various places all over caught 10 males, 3 seem to be large. But not good fighters. Push, at most 1 chop. Keep them 1-2 weeks maybe turn fierce. Right now have no digicam, maybe try to get one. One day maybe have big fight competition!

kopPao
post Jul 23 2009, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(Trevally @ Jul 23 2009, 05:05 PM)
bro koppao, if transformer turned into a chopster, he would be more fierce but that could mean his lifespan would be shorten. let's see how he performs this weekend against hulk.
u r absolutely right.
b4 joining this forum, im fascinated with chops FS.(i still do right now).
i love them so much, i actually nicknamed myself as kopPao. (cos to me, at that point of time, kopPao = supPao)
but from experience, chops FS die real fast. u cant avoid its death unless u Totally do not fight it! (which is impossible for me. cos irionically, it is the fights of FS that attracted me to keeping FS!)
u only need 1 match to cause serious/fatal injury.
even if u fight a chop with a useless FS, that chop might still get injured from the other FS's defence. cry.gif

guys i can hunt this sat morning(cant make it during noon time) and the whole of Sunday.
pls do give me a ring if u guys can join me hunting ! appreciate it. smile.gif

Added on July 23, 2009, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(jong71 @ Jul 23 2009, 07:12 PM)
Hallo Fighting Spider enthusiasts!

This thread started by mindstorm and viper88 has brought back memories of happy boyhood time! Very good movies of spider fight bouts. Unique. Nothing like it in the whole internet. Ground-breaking. Congratulations.
Since I had time this few weeks went to see if I still have the old FS catching skills. (I'm SG). At first nothing, not even a Bu! Then after a few days trying different times and places got 5 small to medium males. Productivity very low: look between 40 leaves catch one spider! Idea: size for FS same all animals, including people: follow bell-curve. So area that can support larger spider population will have more bigger males for same percentage (maybe only 1%). Where in Singapore have largest insect pop.? Nature reserves, reservoirs, bigger forests. Check street directory, then went to look. Inside jungle, nothing. Then check fringes, especially parks and roadsides next to large forested areas, start to get better results, but not uniform. Some bushes hot spots. From various places all over caught 10 males, 3 seem to be large. But not good fighters. Push, at most 1 chop. Keep them 1-2 weeks maybe turn fierce. Right now have no digicam, maybe try to get one. One day maybe have big fight competition!
hi another FS enthusiasts...

i'm glad u enjoyed our little contribution to this forum. do join us during our hunt. we most welcome u ! smile.gif

This post has been edited by kopPao: Jul 23 2009, 10:52 PM
KENZ691
post Jul 23 2009, 11:03 PM

Halo bros!! all my wkdays are now burnt ! wrk from morning 8.30am till evening 6pm. N my work now is to read up specs of the cars for 2 weeks! basically nothing much to do but tiring after a days work ! hope from 3rd week onwards will be better...

Anyway, i hope Hulk is not lost so we can have a rematch with Transformer. Dun worry bro edwin, Transformer becoming a kop pao is not no good also, cuz he has the size. Like Robo,also a chopster or partial chopster, not anyone tom d*** or harry can win him de. Only think can do is dun let him fight against too many chopsters or sup pao. although he maybe able to win all, but if one of them can injure his leg or whatever part of his body, terrible things may happen to him. tongue.gif juz like Robo n yr Chilli...although robo won, resulted in a injured leg. Fair fighters cant really do anything to them .

Hope i m able to see them rematch LIVE.

Cheers!!
Alex31
post Jul 24 2009, 01:16 AM

Dear FS Lovers,

I ran into this thread 2 months ago and started to get interested with my old hobby again as I dare not catch spiders at my age after 30s..I think people will look me as a childish person..Hahaha. I am still trying to finish reading the pages in this thread till page 38...but I can't wait anymore.. brows.gif

However, my colleagues challenge me to get a Male FS so that he will also get one to take me on...(he is older than me, 40’s). I did caught 2 bu's 2 weeks ago and I release them in my company's garden taken care by my female colleague.

This evening, I went to the same spot where I found FS at upper seletar reservoir as I always train there in the evening 2 days ago. I saw 2 males wondering around very near by and was excited to catch them. However, the plants were very low and I was behind a concrete slat. Then I applied a very stupid technique of catching them one by one. I used my small container and move in slowly towards them but making sure they dun get stunned and jump away. Then I place in front of them and move little by little, then for no reason, they just jump into my container and bingo, I quickly brought it out from the bushes. I did the same to another one and it works...wow after so many years out of practice, I actually created by own catching technique which I thought it is impossible they will just jump to my trap. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

At that time, I was trying my luck and I didn't really bother if I can't get them. I went to buy those new takeaway containers and transfer them. Will take pics and maybe video tomorrow...hahaha my colleague will be surprised even my boss (Caucasian) find that it's funny why the spiders behave in this way... sweat.gif

Brother, please email me your contact number so that I can get in touch with you guys in SG...

P.S: My wife also went with me last round at punggol end and she ended up opening the nest from those private estates that I am too concerned being told off by residents. I was at the backyard of the small forest as she was bored waiting for me in the car...Didn't think that my wife will join me..but it's fun though... whistling.gif

Hope to see you guys soon for some matches...but actually I find that it is more exciting if I observed them in the wild rather than training them to fight each other...

For some reason, I think FS died quite fast due to lots of injuries which occurred during the fights that we may not noticed and they do not have doctors to heal them, but only themselves. I came from martial arts background and I know that when 2 person fight, there is no such thing as one is injure and the other no bruises at all...when there is contact, there will be pain....

See this link which is similar to which FS is doing: [/YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-BV2zWemq04&feature=related[YOUTUBE]

Enjoy...Alex

This post has been edited by Alex31: Jul 24 2009, 01:37 AM
jong71
post Jul 24 2009, 01:47 AM

Bro koppao, thanks for welcoming me. Free only for 1 more week. So anytime 24/07-02/08 would like to meet up to fight spiders. 3 males I have large size. Wasted if not fight them. After that will have to let them go. Very much like to video fights, but have no digicam.
[cool.gifI will take on all challengers !![/cool.gif!
viper88
post Jul 24 2009, 01:51 AM

2,359 posts

Hi Alex31

This one better http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exYXeMkpoCM&NR=1 rclxms.gif

We like knock out fight. icon_idea.gif
ksiao
post Jul 24 2009, 02:22 AM

QUOTE(jong71 @ Jul 24 2009, 01:47 AM)
Very much like to video fights, but have no digicam.
[cool.gifI will take on all challengers !![/cool.gif!
wow new members,
rclxms.gif welcome bro jong71 and bro alex31, rclxms.gif
i'm ksiao AKA Oma
glad that new members are joining the forum,
i dont know why but in this forum we address each other by bro(then name)!lol
BTW broz update your numbers and locationz,
so it'll be easier for broz to call ya'll for hunting,
hey bro jong71 its amazing that u got 3 large FS,
as the only person i know who have caught large FS is bro ken25(macro eyes)..hehe
and most proberberly will be adopted by other broz here,
i would like to see and take pictures of your Large FS,
to show broz here,
feel free to call or sms mi at 82064423(oma)
looks like transformer and hulk got new competition
wish to see those matches LIVE!!!

This post has been edited by ksiao: Jul 24 2009, 02:24 AM
dreamchaser1
post Jul 24 2009, 08:08 AM

Morning guys, some updates on Hulk.

After fighting transformer, Hulk has not been very active, seems like his days are up. Vincent free him at a spot in Kallang way during monday evening. However when he went back yesterday to look for him, he was nowhere to be found.

He said will go back to look for him today or tomorrow. Let's hope for the best.

By the way, welcome to the forum Jong71 and Alex31. Hope to see you guys soon.

This post has been edited by dreamchaser1: Jul 24 2009, 08:17 AM
Trevally
post Jul 24 2009, 09:55 AM

morning spider broz. glad that there's another two new broz joining us for fs fights and hunts. let's give bro jong71 and bro alex31 a warm welcome.

This post has been edited by Trevally: Jul 31 2009, 11:14 AM
Krauser
post Jul 24 2009, 10:47 AM

Bro kopPao, no need to change your nick. Just change your leaves. I noticed your leaves usually U keep until dried up. Dried leaves are usually where we find chopsters! sweat.gif . Btw you noticed my Trix last Saturday reverted back to normal. I suspect its becoz of live plants + light and air in his pet tank. Sparred him 2 nights ago and he still used normal fighting style. But legs still problematic, maybe old age but hopefully he's gonna moult drool.gif but I tell myself impossible.. haiz.. maybe will release him if after 1wk still like that.

Still got chance of Transformer reverting back to normal like Trix. Try to make a container like Bro Trevally's which uses netting on top and use fresh leaves, add moisture and leave him in lighted airy area (not direct sun though, and clean leaves thoroughly).

Alamak Hulk gone? Vincent so garang let him free at forest arh.. Nowadays rain Hulk will sure will wander off deeper into the woods. doh.gif

Welcome Bro jong71 and alex31 also. Very happy that we got more kakis to join us! nod.gif Btw Alex31, your method is also used by some other Bros in this forum as well. I do that also to wandering spiders except I put leaves in the container to lure them. If you have chance to hunt with our resident expert Spiderhunter Ken25 lagi best coz can get to observe him catching FS using that method not only to wandering spider but to nesting ones as well (more environmentally friendly as the leaves are not cut).

And err.. don't be disappointed when comparing your 'large' spiders to other Bro's Kings. It may well turn out to be Medium-Large or worse Medium as what I and some other Bros found out when we first joined. Their size classification is a bit extreme and nowadays when I catch something which looks Large, I tell myself its a medium-large, coz later on when sparring against others, you'll find out they are same size as their Medium class fighters or even worse smaller. Hopefully your Large FS will give Transformer a real challenge drool.gif Otherwise no worries.. most of us still keep FS of different sizes. Small doesn't mean cannot fight as you can see from our previous videos the smaller fighters of same strength when matched up usually produces longer more exciting matches biggrin.gif

Their confirmed 'Large' sizes especially Terminator and Hulk will leave your jaws hanging..

Bro Alex32 stay in Punggol? I stay in Punggol Central and Trevally is nearby @ Sengkang. Can either msn or contact us (details in the contact list) if you keen to meet. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Krauser: Jul 24 2009, 10:59 AM
Trevally
post Jul 24 2009, 04:58 PM

thinking of starting a blog for fighting spider. since i'm a gmail user, i can register a free blog from www.blogger.com

anyway i just register the fighting spider blog and park there first before the address is being taken up.
http://fightingspider.blogspot.com/

still empty now. broz here got ideas/info to contribute or improve the blog are all welcome. tks

This post has been edited by Trevally: Jul 24 2009, 04:59 PM
Ken25
post Jul 24 2009, 11:40 PM

QUOTE(Krauser @ Jul 24 2009, 10:47 AM)

Welcome Bro jong71 and alex31 also. Very happy that we got more kakis to join us!  nod.gif Btw Alex31, your method is also used by some other Bros in this forum as well. I do that also to wandering spiders except I put leaves in the container to lure them. If you have chance to hunt with our resident expert Spiderhunter Ken25 lagi best coz can get to observe him catching FS using that method not only to wandering spider but to nesting ones as well (more environmentally friendly as the leaves are not cut).

And err.. don't be disappointed when comparing your 'large' spiders to other Bro's Kings. It may well turn out to be Medium-Large or worse Medium as what I and some other Bros found out when we first joined. Their size classification is a bit extreme and nowadays when I catch something which looks Large, I tell myself its a medium-large, coz later on when sparring against others, you'll find out they are same size as their Medium class fighters or even worse smaller. Hopefully your Large FS will give Transformer a real challenge  drool.gif Otherwise no worries.. most of us still keep FS of different sizes. Small doesn't mean cannot fight as you can see from our previous videos the smaller fighters of same strength when matched up usually produces longer more exciting matches  biggrin.gif 

Their confirmed 'Large' sizes especially Terminator and Hulk will leave your jaws hanging..

Bro Alex32 stay in Punggol? I stay in Punggol Central and Trevally is nearby @ Sengkang. Can either msn or contact us (details in the contact list) if you keen to meet.  biggrin.gif
Hi, all my beloved FS bros....I AM BACK!!!!!!! from Tioman!!!! Just reached home.....wonderful trip, except got sun burnt!!! anyone missed me? tongue.gif
Bro Zir(Krauser), I am flattered by ur comment ley, i paisey lah.....i merely try not to cut too many leaves in case the vegetation "botak", we cant go again mah, and if its a Large fs, i have to say sorry liao, no choice but to Cut!!! hahahaha
Actually guys, trust me, Tioman has lots of fs, i found 2 right in front of my unit, not big thou......whenever i tried to flip some leaves while walking from place to place, its either big bu, or a web leaf, saw another male at lobby plants while waiting for hotel bus, medium also.....i only brought 1 back which is the largest among the 3....didnt really have time to hunt, cos my friends they dont and we are quite tight on schedule, so didnt try much....
Anyone want to go with me again? hmm.gif brows.gif thumbup.gif
so guys, if anyone meeting up tml, can try to call me......my hands itchy liao......heehee
Btw, not forgetting to Welcome 2 new FS brothers..... Bro Jong71 and Bro Alex31, pls join us in our hunts if u are free....Tks alot...see u guys
Alex31
post Jul 24 2009, 11:59 PM

Hi FS Brothers,

Thanks for the warm welcome....just contacted Trevally & Krauser to arrange spider hunting...but this weekend quite tight but will try to see how...lim kopi can jio me anytime as I loves to chit-chat...

Btw, I just caught another medium spider around 7pm at the same place I got the 2 males yesterday. Me use the normal scissor cutting method as the male was hiding in the leaves...

I was too bz this afternoon to load up the pictures and video from my work place..unfortunately, just a short fight and the loser keep running away...I have released them in my company garden but not sure if I can still find them after a month... hmm.gif

I did not upload the video as it takes too much time to download from my comp network...btw, I came up with a FS size chart for you so that we can can use this template to compared instead of telling it from the pics..which maybe a little hard to see..

My 2 males from yesterday's catch is size 2...this evening should be size 3..slightly bigger.. rclxms.gif

Brother,
Can't upload the excel chart onto the net..how??? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Alex31: Jul 25 2009, 12:08 AM

ksiao
post Jul 25 2009, 12:43 AM

QUOTE(Ken25 @ Jul 24 2009, 11:40 PM)
Hi, all my beloved FS bros....I AM BACK!!!!!!! from Tioman!!!! Just reached home.....wonderful trip, except got sun burnt!!! anyone missed me?  tongue.gif
Bro Zir(Krauser), I am flattered by ur comment ley, i paisey lah.....i merely try not to cut too many leaves in case the vegetation "botak", we cant go again mah, and if its a Large fs, i have to say sorry liao, no choice but to Cut!!! hahahaha
Actually guys, trust me, Tioman has lots of fs, i found 2 right in front of my unit, not big thou......whenever i tried to flip some leaves while walking from place to place, its either big bu, or a web leaf, saw another male at lobby plants while waiting for hotel bus, medium also.....i only brought 1 back which is the largest among the 3....didnt really have time to hunt, cos my friends they dont and we are quite tight on schedule, so didnt try much....
Anyone want to go with me again?  hmm.gif  brows.gif  thumbup.gif
so guys, if anyone meeting up tml, can try to call me......my hands itchy liao......heehee
Btw, not forgetting to Welcome 2 new FS brothers..... Bro Jong71 and Bro Alex31, pls join us in our hunts if u are free....Tks alot...see u guys
hi bro ken25 welcome back, we were wondering where u when missing,
any thing diff with the FS in tioman bro?
any pictures of your trip bro? just wanna see see..hehe

This post has been edited by ksiao: Jul 25 2009, 12:50 AM

149 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0357sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:54 AM