123 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Games Metal Gear Solid 4(tm) Discussion Thread, MGS4 Early Launch June 11th info post #1

TSMgsrulz
post Apr 19 2008, 12:03 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(K-End @ Apr 18 2008, 11:59 PM)
Yeah...especially when she giving advise & quote
but Otacon one is much more funnier in MGS2 laugh.gif
laugh.gif yeah..
i love snake's reply to otacon's gibberish
uh...okay,if you say so..

Added on April 19, 2008, 12:16 am
Game-wise, it's pretty close to the original vision: you sneak into the battlefield and can choose whether to do a stealth game or interfere with the battle more directly. But the graphic, side things like motion-blending and the size of the map, totally was not accomplished to my original vision - to my satisfaction.

"When we first showed the game engine at TGS, the staff were really proud and happy. PS3 was a dream machine, y'know, and we were going to work on this and that - and we had so many ideas. But when we actually started developing the game, we realized there were a lot of restrictions and so it turned out how you see it today. The original vision was to go ten steps further, the reality was just one step, which isn't to say we didn't
progress.

I remember saying three years ago that we wanted to create something revolutionary, but in reality we couldn't really do that because of the CPU. We're using the Cell engine to its limit., actually. Please don't get me wrong, I'm not criticizing the PS3 machine, it's just that we weren't really aware of what the full-spec PS3 offered - we were creating something we couldn't entirely see.

so if anything,blame sony, not Konami.
sony limited their vision... sleep.gif

perhaps it's time Kojima went to the pc...then we'll see what he'll do.
then again,with all that power at his disposal,i think no one will be able to play his game laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Apr 19 2008, 12:16 AM
OmniAtlas
post Apr 19 2008, 12:26 AM

946 posts

Finally able to register my konami id. I followed these instructions on the internet:

I figured out a work-around that seems to work, but you have to be fast and have a bit of patience.

Getting past the first couple of screens very quickly got to be easier (with lots of practice)... but the long registration form is what killed me each time.

So, here is what seems to work:

1) Get to the long registration form as quickly as possible... then RELAX. Fill out this form very carefully and slowly. Remember that the KONAMI ID NAME must be all lower case and the password must have at least some letters in it and be at least 8 characters long... whereas the GAME ID NAME must be different and the password must be ALL NUMERIC.

2) DON'T submit this (you'll get a timeout)... just make sure it is fully filled out and ready... keep the screen near the submit button. Then, open a new tab in your browser.

3) In the new tab, visit the Konami ID site again. Go through the first set of screens very quickly and if you manage to get to the long registration form and it loads completely (and quickly,) switch back to the tab that was fully filled out and quickly hit submit.

4) Be prepared for the confirmation page. As SOON as it loads, quickly scroll down and click REGISTER. Don't bother looking over your information, because it will time-out.

After many tries, this seemed to work for me. FINALLY. It seems the system gives you a session ID that times out WAY TOO SOON for EVERY STEP. Don't they actually want anyone to read at least two words of their agreement on the second page? Apparently not.

Oh, and if you get the generic "Our servers are down" type of message instead of the usual "we deleted your session" message... you can recover from this by entering this into your browser's address bar and hitting enter:

javascript:alert(document.coo kie='');

If a blank alert box pops up, your browser supports this and just nuked the cookie for the site you were visiting. This should let Konami's servers to let you try again sooner, rather than giving you this generic message for a while.

Hope this helps. I kept at this for a while until I discovered exactly how Konami's servers were trying to handle this situation, then came up with this solution to circumvent their silliness. It would be much better if they didn't have this problem to begin with.

aphrael
post Apr 19 2008, 12:56 AM

23 posts

Thanks for the tips. I finally managed to register rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
prazole
post Apr 19 2008, 01:23 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

eh u guys sure can play?
take so much pain to register n download..
later cannot play leh hmm.gif
Ninja
post Apr 19 2008, 01:33 AM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Apr 19 2008, 12:03 AM)
so if anything,blame sony, not Konami.
sony limited their vision... sleep.gif

perhaps it's time Kojima went to the pc...then we'll see what he'll do.
then again,with all that power at his disposal,i think no one will be able to play his game laugh.gif
That day he said, 50GB Blu-Ray disc is not enough. Now, he said Cell CPU not enough also. laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Apr 19 2008, 01:39 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

A MGS game built from the ground-up on the PC would be absolutely jaw breaking then.

Crysis, you can eat your cakes now.
samurai20
post Apr 19 2008, 01:52 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Dammit still cant register Konami ID.. fuk la Konami site... they know lots of people will sign in still using cheapo server.. now got problem.. stupid tul... dry.gif
aphrael
post Apr 19 2008, 02:02 AM

23 posts

Patience is a virtue whistling.gif it took me forever to get thru the registration oso sweat.gif
squiggles
post Apr 19 2008, 02:06 AM

42 posts

During registration, does the 'country' selection part really matter? cuz it says if you're not the resident of those selected countries, the Konami ID is not gonna work

Added on April 19, 2008, 3:27 amk, I've registered mine. I'ts been 20 mins and i'm still waiting for my confirmation mail from konami. did you guys recieve it?

This post has been edited by squiggles: Apr 19 2008, 03:27 AM
Schattenjeager
post Apr 19 2008, 04:01 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Apr 19 2008, 12:26 AM)
Finally able to register my konami id. I followed these instructions on the internet:

I figured out a work-around that seems to work, but you have to be fast and have a bit of patience.

Getting past the first couple of screens very quickly got to be easier (with lots of practice)... but the long registration form is what killed me each time.

So, here is what seems to work:.....
Dude. MUCH PROPS to you. notworthy.gif

Konami needs to buy some better servers and re-think their whole 2-ID strategy. That was a pain in the ass...

QUOTE(squiggles @ Apr 19 2008, 02:06 AM)

Added on April 19, 2008, 3:27 amk, I've registered mine. I'ts been 20 mins and i'm still waiting for my confirmation mail from konami. did you guys recieve it?
I received mine almost instantly... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Schattenjeager: Apr 19 2008, 04:08 AM
derred
post Apr 19 2008, 07:32 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

guys,

I am going back to Malaysia when MGS 4 will be launched. It's there anywhere I could pre-order a copy of MGS 4 that I can get in Malaysia (any price would do).

This makes me hesitate on either to buy PS 3 @ Malaysia or in the US. Any suggestion or solution guys?

sorry I am new here in this thread but not in LYT forum. Also been MGS fan since day 1 but never really got the time to express it in forum (same goes with Liverpool blah blah blah u got me wink.gif )

since MGS is coming this June and I will not be at my place which sucks (will be much easier if I could pre-order at newegg or game-stop) but I have no clue where to pre-order in Malaysia.

Thank you in advance nice meeting u guys.
samurai20
post Apr 19 2008, 08:43 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

fuker la..... i still cat register la... dammit. who free wanna help me register... i wil give all the infos.. sankyuu
OmniAtlas
post Apr 19 2008, 09:04 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Apr 19 2008, 08:43 AM)
fuker la..... i still cat register la... dammit. who free wanna help me register... i wil give all the infos.. sankyuu
follow the instructions i posted above, you should be able to register...remember

1. game id and konami id must be different and in lower case
2. konami id password must be alphanumeric. game id must be numeric only
3. no dashes in the phone number box

everyone agreed the sign-up process sucks?

K-End
post Apr 19 2008, 09:06 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Apr 19 2008, 09:04 AM)
follow the instructions i posted above, you should be able to register...remember

1. game id and konami id must be different and in lower case
2. konami id password must be alphanumeric. game id must be numeric only
3. no dashes in the phone number box

everyone agreed the sign-up process sucks?
*raised hand*

they should use flash rather than javascript..at least in flash they can show the timeout timer
samurai20
post Apr 19 2008, 09:12 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

the most SUK website ever..... so rich b ut website like shit... dry.gif
skidd
post Apr 19 2008, 09:16 AM

254 posts

as expected from the company that did cd key registration for their we2008 online play.. bengong punye ..

anyway for the konami id thingy .. i put every thing in notepad .. opened the registration page did a fast copy & paste .. and walah instant konami id smile.gif
K-End
post Apr 19 2008, 09:19 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

i always get the "due to the inactivity period, the page has been deleted"

walau wei...i only press next, and im inactive on that page?..it their server that are slow like a turtle and blame the user for 'inactive'
vorchiel
post Apr 19 2008, 09:20 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

I seem to have problem with email. I've put all my 6 diff emails and it says that all the emails have been used before.. wth

Added on April 19, 2008, 9:22 amYEARGHHHHHHHHH

finally !!!!!!!!

konamiID: babilah123
gameID: celaka1234

This post has been edited by vorchiel: Apr 19 2008, 09:22 AM
squiggles
post Apr 19 2008, 09:29 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Apr 19 2008, 04:01 AM)
I received mine almost instantly... sweat.gif
so, once you've got the confirmation email, confirm it, and technically your GAME ID is working right? cuz i had to do this,

If you have not received an e-mail, please login with your KONAMI ID. Then, confirm that your registered e-mail address is correct from "View/Edit registered information".

i've got the email and that's about it right? sweat.gif

@samurai, bro keep trying and follow the whole instruction. whenever the page crashed, keep entering the javascript and do it again until you got it right. some tips here, you might wanna check your page loading bar at the lower right of your firefox window. when it's about to complete the page, you have to quickly click the next page then do the rest of the registration.

This post has been edited by squiggles: Apr 19 2008, 09:30 AM
vorchiel
post Apr 19 2008, 09:33 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(squiggles @ Apr 19 2008, 09:29 AM)
so, once you've got the confirmation email, confirm it, and technically your GAME ID is working right? cuz i had to do this,
i've got the email and that's about it right? sweat.gif

@samurai, bro keep trying and follow the whole instruction. whenever the page crashed, keep entering the javascript and do it again until you got it right. some tips here, you might wanna check your page loading bar at the lower right of your firefox window. when it's about to complete the page, you have to quickly click the next page then do the rest of the registration.
I've received the email but when I clicked the auth URL in the email, at the new page opened from the URL I got timed out. Cant verify yet sad.gif

Added on April 19, 2008, 9:37 amFinally verified the email sweat.gif
Gudnit everyone

This post has been edited by vorchiel: Apr 19 2008, 09:37 AM

123 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:42 PM