130 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia(tm) N82 Official Thread], Storytelling rediscovered

deodorant
post Apr 16 2008, 05:30 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 15 2008, 04:42 PM)
How to hack your phone to install unsigned apps.
Eh, at the moment open signed online is up and running so it's a non-issue mah. Only thing is you can't share your sis files with friends via bluetooth lor cos the sis is locked to your imei.

And I think the new firmware is the suck. Surfing emTube just now, one of the videos my phone hang (totally hang, no response at all when pressing the apps key / power key) ... zzzz.
Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 07:09 AM

390 posts

I took a video for a presentation lasting for 30 minutes. I found the "option" menu when you scroll to view big size video file (>500 MB) does not work, it always jump back to "Gallery" in the main menu instead of open up a menu.

The power cord connection to the right body side is suck, you cannot hold the set comfortablely when you are charging the battery.

The hand set cannot stand on its side and bottom faces is another minus.

It's possible to read Chinese characters under the English interface?

Added on April 16, 2008, 7:19 am
QUOTE(splinter @ Apr 15 2008, 10:41 PM)
Is there a nokia official service center at berjaya building near lowyat there? I heard got 1 there.. if bring my phone for firmware upgrade can? Free?
I know some service centers are charging customer for a registration fee when you visit them though your product is still under warranty.

I have boycotted Sony products since 1990 because their service center charged me RM60 "registration fees" for submitting my under warranty faulty videocam to them for repair.

Added on April 16, 2008, 7:29 am
QUOTE(sweetsnoopy99 @ Apr 14 2008, 08:15 PM)
can anyone till me the price for N82 in market
Go to page 1.

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 16 2008, 07:30 AM
toughnut
post Apr 16 2008, 07:55 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Apr 16 2008, 07:09 AM)
I took a video for a presentation lasting for 30 minutes. I found the "option" menu when you scroll to view big size video file (>500 MB) does not work, it always jump back to "Gallery" in the main menu instead of open up a menu.

The power cord connection to the right body side is suck, you cannot hold the set comfortablely when you are charging the battery.

The hand set cannot stand on its side and bottom faces is another minus.

It's possible to read Chinese characters under the English interface?
1. kinda impossible since N82 have huge amount of RAM. try open via third party apps on phone. coreplayer maybe? i normally open 700mb+ files on N95 and that's with half amount of N82 ram

2. u can read and write in chinese provided ur firmware is APAC version
Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 10:08 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 16 2008, 07:55 AM)
1. kinda impossible since N82 have huge amount of RAM. try open via third party apps on phone. coreplayer maybe? i normally open 700mb+ files on N95 and that's with half amount of N82 ram

2. u can read and write in chinese provided ur firmware is APAC version
Big size video still can be viewed in N82, the problem is its option menu to delete, move, etc. is disabled. No problem for smaller size video clips.

I see, I just reinstalled euro2 version.

cute_boboi
post Apr 16 2008, 10:17 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 15 2008, 11:08 PM)
yeap its really cool. too bad cant use animated sms since it was only for HK Product code 0555094 only. Go and read my previous code. Theres lots of goodies over there brows.gif
Ohya, since you are on EURO-1, can you view/write SMS, etc. in Chinese ? If can, I'm thinking to switch over.
brows.gif

Added on April 16, 2008, 10:21 am
QUOTE(splinter @ Apr 15 2008, 10:41 PM)
Is there a nokia official service center at berjaya building near lowyat there? I heard got 1 there.. if bring my phone for firmware upgrade can? Free?
In M'sia:
1) I don't think they will do an upgrade for you, if there is nothing wrong with your phone/firmware.
2) Unless it is firmware problem, they will not do it for free. Refer (1)
3) Your unit is not AP, i.e. must be Zitron/Avaxx set
4) You can DIY using Nokia Software Updater (NSU)

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 16 2008, 10:21 AM
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 16 2008, 10:41 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 16 2008, 10:17 AM)
Ohya, since you are on EURO-1, can you view/write SMS, etc. in Chinese ? If can, I'm thinking to switch over.
brows.gif

Is it under setting -> general -> personalization -> language?

If it is theres only English,Francaise,Deutsch,Italian,Portuguese,spanish.
cute_boboi
post Apr 16 2008, 10:48 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 16 2008, 10:41 AM)
Is it under setting -> general -> personalization -> language?

If it is theres only English,Francaise,Deutsch,Italian,Portuguese,spanish.
Hmm... can you help to try:
1) Connect PC Suite
2) Windows Explorer -> Nokia Phone Browser -> Messages -> Draft
-> Right click -> New Text Message
Paste some Chinese words e.g. " * 有時會考慮很多"
Save. Close.
3) From your h/p, goto Messaging -> Drafts -> Open the draft
4) You should be able to view the exact Chinese characters. If not, means EURO-1 firmware not able to support Chinese characters sweat.gif

Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 11:03 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 16 2008, 10:48 AM)
Hmm... can you help to try:
1) Connect PC Suite
2) Windows Explorer -> Nokia Phone Browser -> Messages -> Draft
-> Right click -> New Text Message
Paste some Chinese words e.g. " * 有時會考慮很多"
Save. Close.
3) From your h/p, goto Messaging -> Drafts -> Open the draft
4) You should be able to view the exact Chinese characters. If not, means EURO-1 firmware not able to support Chinese characters  sweat.gif
My previous APAC version can show Chinese character MP3 song titles, euro2 only show %^&*&. cry.gif

Added on April 16, 2008, 11:08 amAny handphone repair center in KL can perform hardware surgical operation to disable red flash light for N82?

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 16 2008, 11:08 AM
cute_boboi
post Apr 16 2008, 11:12 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

blush.gif Just to share, Quickoffice:

Application->Office menu:

to be continued...

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 16 2008, 11:22 AM
cute_boboi
post Apr 16 2008, 11:17 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

... continue

davidhong85
post Apr 16 2008, 11:23 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 16 2008, 11:12 AM)
blush.gif Just to share, Quickoffice:

Application->Office menu:

to be continued...
Where to download this QuickOffice software....is it free?
cute_boboi
post Apr 16 2008, 11:29 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Apr 16 2008, 11:03 AM)
My previous APAC version can show Chinese character MP3 song titles, euro2 only show %^&*&.  cry.gif

Added on April 16, 2008, 11:08 amAny handphone repair center in KL can perform hardware surgical operation to disable red flash light for N82?
Alamak... means EURO-1 or EURO-2 cannot display Chinese characters doh.gif

N95 already have DIY surgery to cut part of the circuit on PCB. Maybe have to wait a while for N82, but it means void warranty and no turning back (as re-soldering is risky if not expert enough)
sweat.gif

Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 16 2008, 12:25 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

To me soldering it would be too far. No way to hack it eh?. Anyway what software did you use to capture the screen?
cute_boboi
post Apr 16 2008, 12:36 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 16 2008, 12:25 PM)
To me soldering it would be too far. No way to hack it eh?. Anyway what software did you use to capture the screen?
Freeware: Screenshot for Symbian OS
However, I found the Camera button to capture doesn't work.
Also, it can't capture the screen for Need for Speed - Pro Street (Symbian) using Camera, *+#, c (cancel) buttons.

You can try use cCam instead of default Nokia camera application. cCam feature "no shutter sound and no flash light" but still has the stupid red light.

Added on April 16, 2008, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(davidhong85 @ Apr 16 2008, 11:23 AM)
Where to download this QuickOffice software....is it free?
*ahem* already PM you. Those interested, please PM me.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 16 2008, 12:38 PM
Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 12:57 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 16 2008, 11:29 AM)
Alamak... means EURO-1 or EURO-2 cannot display Chinese characters  doh.gif

N95 already have DIY surgery to cut part of the circuit on PCB. Maybe have to wait a while for N82, but it means void warranty and no turning back (as re-soldering is risky if not expert enough)
sweat.gif
There is a non-destructive method as per the link I given previously. Use soletape to separate two metals contact point is able to turn off N95 red light.

Hope there is IT geniue to come out same method for N82. laugh.gif

Added on April 16, 2008, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 16 2008, 12:25 PM)
Yaa...software coding can be hacked. I am not sure circuit design can be hacked without surgical on its wiring. blink.gif

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 16 2008, 01:02 PM
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 16 2008, 01:18 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 16 2008, 12:36 PM)
Freeware: Screenshot for Symbian OS
However, I found the Camera button to capture doesn't work.
Also, it can't capture the screen for Need for Speed - Pro Street (Symbian) using Camera, *+#, c (cancel) buttons.

You can try use cCam instead of default Nokia camera application. cCam feature "no shutter sound and no flash light" but still has the stupid red light.

Added on April 16, 2008, 12:38 pm

*ahem* already PM you. Those interested, please PM me.
Nah so far no qualm of having the red light. I understand the nokia 's policy on this. While personal privacy violation is a serious matter, Corporate espionage is something that shouldn't treated lightly too. I've been in a company visit where they ask us to either handover the phone or turn it off all time during the visit. Theres a lot of sensitive schematics , diagram , codes or even a piece of paper that can be captured with any handphone (especially our n82 la laugh.gif )
Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 03:12 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 16 2008, 01:18 PM)
Nah so far no qualm of having the red light. I understand the nokia 's policy on this. While personal privacy violation is a serious matter, Corporate espionage is something that shouldn't treated lightly too. I've been in a company visit where they ask us to either handover the phone or turn it off all time during the visit. Theres a lot of sensitive schematics , diagram , codes or even a piece of paper that can be captured with any handphone (especially our n82 la laugh.gif )
Professional spies do not use cheap gadgets like N82, they use 007 styled hidden camera. rclxub.gif

If Nokia competitors can come out similar camere phones without that nonsense red light. I think my next phone definitely not from Nokia.
davidhong85
post Apr 16 2008, 03:27 PM

49 posts

I faced in update the latest Firmware 20 ++ ...
After took around 4 hours to download the 116MD firmware, i start to update my phone firmware....just stuck on it and prompt me for phone recovery (unplug/plug in battery and charger).....i retry again...select PC suite from N82 phone...My window found new hardware....it hit error when try to install a file call "BX loader"?!!...
Anyone can help me...

Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 16 2008, 03:35 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Apr 16 2008, 03:12 PM)
Professional spies do not use cheap gadgets like N82, they use 007 styled hidden camera.  rclxub.gif 

If Nokia competitors can come out similar camere phones without that nonsense red light. I think my next phone definitely not from Nokia.
Hollywood aside, i think a realistic corporate espionage scenario would be some developer grunts who did not satisfy with current company and decide to payback laugh.gif so they most likely to use your normal everyday tools such as camera phone.

As for the red light. If you would find one than most likely it will come from china or some chapalang kind. All the major players will comply with the current regulations as they definitely do not want to hang their head to be sued due to not following current regulations / standards.

Heres an article that has expressed concern on cameraphones

http://news.zdnet.co.uk/hardware/0,1000000...39174085,00.htm

a quite old article but it serves as an example of the level public awareness; even tho 2004 the best camera phone would be something like 1.3mp-2.0mp?

I have no problem with that as it does not actually compromise with the end result (to a certain level)

my battered old palm

some client or blush.gif

As you can see the result is pretty much good (its set to close up mode without flash) so i dont have too much issue with it.
cute_boboi
post Apr 16 2008, 03:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(davidhong85 @ Apr 16 2008, 03:27 PM)
I faced in update the latest Firmware 20 ++ ...
After took around 4 hours to download the 116MD firmware, i start to update my phone firmware....just stuck on it and prompt me for phone recovery (unplug/plug in battery and charger).....i retry again...select PC suite from N82 phone...My window found new hardware....it hit error when try to install a file call "BX loader"?!!...
Anyone can help me...
Try to do a clean install:
1) Uninstall PC Suite and all Nokia software (NSU, etc.).
2) Download latest PC Suite and install
3) Download latest NSU and install (should include in (2))
4) Set phone to General mode. Plug in h/p and let PC Suite detect as much as possible.
5) Try firmware download and upgrade again.
(a) Suggest to turn phone offline.
(b) Ensure battery is full (you need 4 hours download)

130 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:29 PM