Nokia [Nokia(tm) N82 Official Thread], Storytelling rediscovered

Fearless
post Apr 6 2008, 12:21 AM

390 posts

N82 camera flash ligh for the dark background is automatic on or have to turn on manually?

Thx
Fearless
post Apr 6 2008, 09:00 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Apr 6 2008, 01:09 AM)
you can turn it off if you dont want the flash.
Have checked through N82 165-page user manual last night, I still not sure its photo/video capture tone can be switched off like Samsung set or not.

I think to wait for N82 Black...

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 6 2008, 09:05 AM
Fearless
post Apr 8 2008, 10:34 PM

390 posts

3G modem vendors in Law Yat really suck, they are so shameless to quote RM800++ to RM900++ for Huawei USB 3G modem. One of them is Celcom agent.

My face implicately shown them what is fxxx up sign and straight walked away.

Finally I decided to get N82 set to serve as 3G modem plus many other functions. I did not go for cheaper offer, but from a shop with good attitude salespersons.

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 8 2008, 10:35 PM
Fearless
post Apr 9 2008, 12:09 PM

390 posts

No software update listing for N82 in Nokia Asia website

http://www.nokia-asia.com/A4416002
Fearless
post Apr 9 2008, 12:48 PM

390 posts

This is a stupid question. How to turn off keypad lock, I found the lock is very irritating.

Finally I found the setting instruction in page 104 of user guide. This is price of switching from other brand h/p to Nokia. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 9 2008, 12:54 PM
Fearless
post Apr 9 2008, 12:56 PM

390 posts

Thx wuahaha.

Still have to go through learning curve... cry.gif

New firmware updated. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 9 2008, 01:32 PM
Fearless
post Apr 12 2008, 05:15 AM

390 posts

Does anyone here got experience to use N82 as modem for PC notebook?

I am using RM68 celcom 3G package and USB cable to connect to PC.

So far, what I have done

1. Nokia PC Suite has sucessfully installed my N82 phone as modem.

2. From XP control panel network and internet connections, I installed a new internet connection by choosing N82 modem as per analog dial-up modem set up procedure. No ID and password except phone number is entered.

The error message I got is the server no response.

My questions are

1. DSL or analog connection setting shall be used in Windows?

2. What network settings in the phone shall be used?

3. What connection settings in the phone shall be used?

Thx

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 12 2008, 05:38 AM
Fearless
post Apr 12 2008, 06:51 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(andychung @ Apr 12 2008, 01:06 PM)
do n82 can connect thru my pc connection..?coz i seem cannot find any setting to use my pc connection to connected on my n82..thankz for any sifu cna help me
I just manage to figure out how to install N82 as modem for PC.

Instead of using PC suite, I decided to install standalone connectivity cable driver (ver 6.86) to save space in my old notebook PC.

N82 will be installed as modem after installing driver. Set up the internet connection for dial-up modem with blank user name and password. Remember to use *99# instead of your h/p number as phone number.

For N82 handset set network setting, select network to 3G internet.

Although my area coverage is GSM/GPRS, not UMTS (3G), I still get connected at 460 Kbps.

I am accessing this forum with newly installed 3G Celcom.

Added on April 12, 2008, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 12 2008, 02:02 PM)
Ok, i try to answer (posting from my phone browser) Summary
1) connect as pc suite
2) open pc quite, ensure phone is detected, click on connect to internet icon.
3) setup settings. I'm using maxis dial *99#
Celcom might have different settings for dial no., username and password.

Also right click on the connection (in network) and move n82 modem to highest and also select dial up if needed.
Ensure unlimited data plan, as the cost can be very high.
My earlier problem is wrong phone number setting, I used h/p number instead of *99#. 3G Celcom uses same *99#.

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 12 2008, 07:15 PM
Fearless
post Apr 13 2008, 03:37 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(jlik2929 @ Apr 13 2008, 12:35 AM)
anyone know when the BLACK N82 will be available in Malaysia????

?????? blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
Law Yat shopowner told me in July. Already in the Singapore market now.

Added on April 13, 2008, 3:58 am
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 10 2008, 09:45 PM)
Changed the uh product code,then ran the firmware... and it works!!! no more shutter sound once i entered silent mode (# key) . But the red light still appears on recording. Well half of victory is still a victory rclxm9.gif

Damn that was the scariest 15 minutes ever. sweat.gif
See a link on how to turn off flash, shuttler sound and red-eye features for N95.

http://noknok.tv/tutorial/turn-your-n95-in...ate-spy-gadget/

I haven't tried yet...be careful for virus and software bug.

Any hero want to try first at your own risk?

Anyway, how to to change product code? I will follow safer path to kill off shutter sound. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 13 2008, 04:03 AM
Fearless
post Apr 13 2008, 10:37 AM

390 posts

My product code 0555094 is not Malaysia one, what country code?
Fearless
post Apr 13 2008, 11:42 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 13 2008, 09:15 AM)
credit to deodorant

download Nemesis software, change product code , reflash firmware, profit! laugh.gif
After you install europe version firmware, and turn off shuttle sound. That small flashing red light is still on or off?
Fearless
post Apr 13 2008, 12:40 PM

390 posts

How about video capture sound can be switched off with europe version firmware?

I get used to my Samsung phone which allow user to turn on or off shuttle sound and also without flashing small red light.

That flashing red light is good for privacy protection, but without law to enforce such privacy feature, some profit making companies will still produce stealth mode handphones.

I see there is only a hard way to disable flashing light is to unsolder the led light. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 13 2008, 01:01 PM
Fearless
post Apr 14 2008, 12:18 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(gigohlo @ Apr 13 2008, 06:37 PM)
dun so hamsap la.. they purposely put the sound and led light there so there are no more spy shots tongue.gif kuat iman sikit  laugh.gif
Criminal can still find way to bypass this kind of restriction. Samsung phone sets are choice for hamsap kaki. biggrin.gif

Added on April 14, 2008, 12:24 am
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 13 2008, 09:15 AM)
credit to deodorant

download Nemesis software, change product code , reflash firmware, profit! laugh.gif
I cannot change product code with Nemesis, some bugs when running in my PC. Nemesis cannot detect my phone.

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 14 2008, 12:24 AM
Fearless
post Apr 14 2008, 11:37 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 10 2008, 09:45 PM)
Changed the uh product code,then ran the firmware... and it works!!! no more shutter sound once i entered silent mode (# key) . But the red light still appears on recording. Well half of victory is still a victory rclxm9.gif

Damn that was the scariest 15 minutes ever. sweat.gif
I used europe 2 code and reinstalled firmware, seems silent mode does not work for my set.

Not sure how you set the silent mode.

It was too risky to re-install firmware because my PC can hang up at anytime. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 14 2008, 11:39 AM
Fearless
post Apr 14 2008, 11:49 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 14 2008, 10:39 AM)
If you want to change the product code simply run the nss back and change the product code. Always save the old code for future reference. wink.gif
NSS cannot run for latest NSU and PC suite.

Both my PC and notebook showed similar problem. After uninstalled new NSU and PC Suite and installed back NSU and PC suite from CDROM, NSS is ok.

The old code is printed in the product label underneath the battery compartment. My code is 0555094, definitely is not Malaysian code.

Added on April 14, 2008, 11:58 am
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 14 2008, 11:42 AM)
i use this code 0549174 - euro-1 . By switching to silent mode (hold # key) it'll silent the snapshot tune. Alternatively you can switch the snapshot tune at settings -> general -> personalization -> tones -> warning tones {swtitch to off}

Hope this helps.
Thank. Next challenge is turn off flashing red light. brows.gif

Red flash light affecting the video and photo quality especially for night shooting. Don't assume sneakers only are interested to turn off red light. rolleyes.gif

Some genius went for surgical operation to cut the wiring (for N95)

http://www.n95users.com/forum/67740-post1.html

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 14 2008, 12:23 PM
Fearless
post Apr 15 2008, 04:04 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 15 2008, 08:37 AM)
i think it's the red light near the xenon bulb that causing it. everytime u capture a pic or video, it's turned on. privacy purpose.

i thought N82 firmware is already stable. seem like nokia still have kinks to iron out  laugh.gif
That red flash light is really annoying for close-up shooting...the light shall be set automatically go off for close-up shootings.

Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 07:09 AM

390 posts

I took a video for a presentation lasting for 30 minutes. I found the "option" menu when you scroll to view big size video file (>500 MB) does not work, it always jump back to "Gallery" in the main menu instead of open up a menu.

The power cord connection to the right body side is suck, you cannot hold the set comfortablely when you are charging the battery.

The hand set cannot stand on its side and bottom faces is another minus.

It's possible to read Chinese characters under the English interface?

Added on April 16, 2008, 7:19 am
QUOTE(splinter @ Apr 15 2008, 10:41 PM)
Is there a nokia official service center at berjaya building near lowyat there? I heard got 1 there.. if bring my phone for firmware upgrade can? Free?
I know some service centers are charging customer for a registration fee when you visit them though your product is still under warranty.

I have boycotted Sony products since 1990 because their service center charged me RM60 "registration fees" for submitting my under warranty faulty videocam to them for repair.

Added on April 16, 2008, 7:29 am
QUOTE(sweetsnoopy99 @ Apr 14 2008, 08:15 PM)
can anyone till me the price for N82  in market
Go to page 1.

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 16 2008, 07:30 AM
Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 10:08 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 16 2008, 07:55 AM)
1. kinda impossible since N82 have huge amount of RAM. try open via third party apps on phone. coreplayer maybe? i normally open 700mb+ files on N95 and that's with half amount of N82 ram

2. u can read and write in chinese provided ur firmware is APAC version
Big size video still can be viewed in N82, the problem is its option menu to delete, move, etc. is disabled. No problem for smaller size video clips.

I see, I just reinstalled euro2 version.

Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 11:03 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 16 2008, 10:48 AM)
Hmm... can you help to try:
1) Connect PC Suite
2) Windows Explorer -> Nokia Phone Browser -> Messages -> Draft
-> Right click -> New Text Message
Paste some Chinese words e.g. " * 有時會考慮很多"
Save. Close.
3) From your h/p, goto Messaging -> Drafts -> Open the draft
4) You should be able to view the exact Chinese characters. If not, means EURO-1 firmware not able to support Chinese characters  sweat.gif
My previous APAC version can show Chinese character MP3 song titles, euro2 only show %^&*&. cry.gif

Added on April 16, 2008, 11:08 amAny handphone repair center in KL can perform hardware surgical operation to disable red flash light for N82?

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 16 2008, 11:08 AM
Fearless
post Apr 16 2008, 12:57 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 16 2008, 11:29 AM)
Alamak... means EURO-1 or EURO-2 cannot display Chinese characters  doh.gif

N95 already have DIY surgery to cut part of the circuit on PCB. Maybe have to wait a while for N82, but it means void warranty and no turning back (as re-soldering is risky if not expert enough)
sweat.gif
There is a non-destructive method as per the link I given previously. Use soletape to separate two metals contact point is able to turn off N95 red light.

Hope there is IT geniue to come out same method for N82. laugh.gif

Added on April 16, 2008, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 16 2008, 12:25 PM)
To me soldering it would be too far. No way to hack it eh?. Anyway what software did you use to capture the screen?
Yaa...software coding can be hacked. I am not sure circuit design can be hacked without surgical on its wiring. blink.gif

This post has been edited by Fearless: Apr 16 2008, 01:02 PM

0.0217sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:02 PM