CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

SUSDavid83
post Mar 23 2008, 09:33 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Haneda @ Mar 23 2008, 02:08 AM)
u mean i just need to key in my cred card no in the account no field for the interbank transfer?
Remember to select the Payment Type as Credit Card.

Key in your 16-digit CC number in the Account Number field.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 23 2008, 10:11 AM

52,874 posts

As long as you met their requirements, you could give a try to apply for it.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 24 2008, 03:49 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 24 2008, 01:56 PM)
Nope treatpoints will stay
So cancelling a CC, will TP attached to that cancelled card will be gone as well?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 24 2008, 06:07 PM

52,874 posts

Gold and Platinum cards have higher annual fee but better privileges. For instance, Platinum card holders have its own dedicated, different set of privileges.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 24 2008, 06:19 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Mar 24 2008, 06:16 PM)
hey man... like what?
I don't know and care of it since I'm not qualified in that group of cardholders.

You try to browse the pamphlet like say Maybank. They have Platinum Privileges section.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/consumer/onlin....shtml#platinum
SUSDavid83
post Mar 25 2008, 07:51 AM

52,874 posts

I called Maybank CS to confirm regarding the TP. They said that if I cancelled the card, the TP associated with the cancelled card will gone as well.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 25 2008, 05:59 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 25 2008, 05:58 PM)
Depend on which bank, some doesnt need activation (eg Maybank, Citibank)

Others usually 1-3months, some will call u to activate and might even offer u some preloaded amount.
What do you mean by preloaded amount?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 26 2008, 07:48 AM

52,874 posts

Nowadays, the card details is usually available in M2U. I didn't go to the counter/branch to make the card details available unless you change your saving/current or M2U account (I guess).
SUSDavid83
post Mar 26 2008, 08:30 AM

52,874 posts

50,000 platinum cards target by Amex

PETALING JAYA: American Express (Amex), which jointly launched its platinum credit card with Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank) yesterday, expects to issue 50,000 of the premium card this year.

Head of global network services (Japan, Asia Pacific and Australia) Kula Kulendran said the 50,000 cards, which represented 20% of Amex's existing subscriber base of 200,000, was a realistic target.

"Malaysia is a sizeable market for American Express in South-East Asia. We have confidence in this (Malaysian) market," Kula told a press conference before the card launch yesterday.

He also said Amex had targeted to add 100,000 cards in other categories apart from the 50,000 platinum cards. "We have a large customer base to tap on."

Maybank, which took over Amex's charge card and merchant acquiring business in Malaysia last August, expects the new product to boost its consumer banking business.

"This new card is recognition of the growing affluence of Malaysians," said Maybank acting chief executive officer Datuk Aminuddin Md Desa.

Maybank is the country's biggest issuer of credit, debit and charge cards, and merchant acquirer.

The banking group currently has 1.5 million credit card holders and more than 50,000 merchants accepting debit, credit and charge card payments.

"Consumer spending is still relatively good. We anticipate a 20% year-on-year growth on our credit card billing for the financial year ending June 30, " said head of card business, B. Ravintharan.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...87&sec=business
SUSDavid83
post Mar 26 2008, 05:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Velent @ Mar 26 2008, 05:52 PM)
mbb petronas card limit how much??
Mine is RM 5k.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 26 2008, 08:07 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 26 2008, 06:21 PM)
No lah. Combined limit provide the bank the capability to control the credit limit assigned to the customer irrespective of the number of card issued. If you cancel one of the cards, your credit limit will still be retained @ RM8k.
The same goes if you add another card, the credit limit won't be increased unless you asked for a review (increase request).
SUSDavid83
post Mar 26 2008, 10:01 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 26 2008, 09:29 PM)
I already have an existing account with MBB and all my old cc with them are also listed there as well. If you read the previous threads, other members also had the same experience - they had an MBB acct & M2U, card appears once it is approved.

Not sure why someone said that they didn't see it coz it was not linked. What I suspect is that most members have a preexisting card with MBB and linked with their "credit cards". The Petronas card simply appears as an additional card to whatever card they already have. If I remember correctly all of my products with MBB appears in the M2U system from Day 1 I had it.

BTW ... I had the same experience with my CIMB card as well. It appears in my CIMBClicks and then my card arrives!
As for me, my 1st MBB CC appeared automatically in M2U once it approved and the card hasn't arrive at the collection branch. Same goes to my 2nd MBB CC (Petronas).
SUSDavid83
post Mar 27 2008, 06:52 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Mar 26 2008, 11:36 PM)
Not really, HSBC do offer separate limit cc to its card holder. For instance, I'm having HSBC Visa and MasterCard with separated credit line.
HSBC does offer separate credit limit. Previously I have both HSBC Visa and MasterCard. They're not sharing the same credit limit (combined limit).
SUSDavid83
post Mar 27 2008, 07:17 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 27 2008, 01:57 PM)
By default - YES. However, if your spending and payments are consistent - I don't see why the bank will not consider your annual fee waiver request.
How about Maybank? Will they waive annual fee? My MBB is coming to its 1st year soon and if they don't waive for me, I'll cancel the card but before this I need to redeem all my TP.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 27 2008, 08:19 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 27 2008, 08:11 PM)
What if I didn't use the card for whole year, will they waive the annual fee? I think not?
The chance of getting waiver is thin.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 27 2008, 08:44 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 27 2008, 08:29 PM)
Yes, there's a possibility they'll waive your annual fee waiver - if you have utilized the card and made regular payments. I'm not sure whether they'll look at the total annual spendings as one of the considerations.

Let me share my recent experience - 1 or 2 months back. I recently helped my friend to cancel his MBB card which he had for years. (I even helped to write the cancellation letter). MBB called him later and offered to waive the annual fee waiver for 5 years. (Hope I heard him right) Different people may get different offers I think.

David83, if I'm not mistaken you also have another MBB Petronas card if I'm not mistaken ? In my recent conversation with their CS, they told me that you could move any outstanding balance to the Petronas card and the points will be migrated as well to the new card.
I also had a recent conversation with the CS. They said if I cancelled the card, all the oustanding balance (inclusive of the 0% installament programme) will be transfered to the other card. However the TP won't be "migrated".

MBB is my primary credit card and I have been using for almost every CC transaction. Now with no longer having my HSBC, I only use both MBB.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 27 2008, 10:22 PM

52,874 posts

Since I don't have any HSBC CC and don't maintain any saving/current account with HSBC, I'm wondering that what am I going to do with the security device? So I return it back to HSBC and at the same time cancel the Internet Banking account?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 27 2008, 10:59 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 27 2008, 10:55 PM)
Good question. I had the same scenario as yours until recently when I picked up the HSBC card again. The device came in handy again. But if you plan not to have anything to do with HSBC in the future then maybe you can cancel the security device & cancel the Internet Banking account.

The security device is powerful but it's something I dislike carrying around.
I don't carry that around me. I leave at the house last time when there's a need to access the online accounts.

I saw some of my colleagues carry that around with badge ties (the one you hang your badge round the neck).
SUSDavid83
post Mar 28 2008, 07:24 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Mar 28 2008, 01:10 AM)
Huh..?? You only use both MBB? No other card for backup? What if Maybank server down and the transaction gets declined, and you don't hav enough cash on hand at that time?
I have another card (CIMB DA) but I don't carry that around much.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 28 2008, 10:28 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 28 2008, 10:25 AM)
What is that "security device" that u guys talk about?
Got pic?
Physical security token to generate a random challenge code. The 6-digit code needs to be keyed in together with your password for successfully login.

22 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:16 AM