125 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

danmooncake
post Jun 9 2009, 01:40 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,124 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Jun 8 2009, 11:51 PM)
it definately sound fantastic, with premier account, your account value shall not fall below 200k, or else what is the charges are like?
it like etrade,
the only advantage is u can withdrawal your fund anytime.

any one bought eep? enbridge; dividend near 20%, i bought 100share only when the price is 30usd.
hai very sad   mad.gif
i think if i buy now dividend will also be around 10% only.

guy this company really can give compound interest man, better than buying asb,asn, wawasan ,asm..
what for with those que? i dont understand. drool.gif

investing sleep well.
citibank had miss their dividend for last 2 quarter.
i think i buy BAC instead.
aig, cheap la but no dividend.

Added on June 8, 2009, 11:55 pmgeneral electric good buy man,,,, any buyer?
dividend near 9% at present value,
but i think i cant find this type of dividend and with such a margin of safety in asian company.........
Norm,.. you got good buy for EEP at $30s.. now at $40s' it nearing the high BB, perhaps time to ring the register and SELL! tongue.gif
Do you care your dividends since they're being withhold for 35% taxes anyway? nod.gif

I bought some GE in the 12s .. very slow moving. GE being blue chip will be here and I think they will continue to grow.. slowly.
I'm long on GE but beginning to test my patience seeing how the index has moved up 30%, GE move only 15%.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jun 9 2009, 02:07 AM
normanTE
post Jun 9 2009, 11:26 PM

259 posts

danmoon :

there isnt complicated to get rich like buffet,
first buy good company.. with eps been consistently growing
2nd buy good dividend company
3rd combine 1st and 2nd at bargain price. so to see the magic of compound interest.

i believe obama is working hard to keep economic on upward trend.
anyway why sell after all i am buying somemore to average it.
i am not intend to go against those big guys.

if us federal settled with those bank issue another rally for nyse........ biggrin.gif

Added on June 9, 2009, 11:28 pmbuying a company with expecting it to grow higher are some sort of gamble.

Added on June 9, 2009, 11:33 pmso if anyone have been shorting GM since last 3 month, i beleive they would have made few million usd by now..
having saying that if u have got ball to short or thinking u have a nerve of steel, then u havent meet one great depression yet.
for those who have went thru 1997 asia crisis will understand what i mean.

This post has been edited by normanTE: Jun 9 2009, 11:33 PM
danmooncake
post Jun 10 2009, 06:15 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Jun 9 2009, 11:26 PM)
danmoon :

there isnt complicated to get rich like buffet,
first buy good company.. with eps been consistently growing
2nd buy good dividend company
3rd combine 1st and 2nd at bargain price. so to see the magic of compound interest.

i believe obama is working hard to keep economic on upward trend.
anyway why sell after all i am buying somemore to average it.
i am not intend to go against those big guys.

if us federal settled with those bank issue another rally for nyse........ biggrin.gif

Added on June 9, 2009, 11:28 pmbuying a company with expecting it to grow higher are some sort of gamble.

Added on June 9, 2009, 11:33 pmso if anyone have been shorting GM since last 3 month, i beleive they would have made few million usd by now..
having saying that if  u have got ball to short or thinking u have a nerve of steel, then u havent meet one great depression yet.
for those who have went thru 1997 asia crisis will understand what i mean.
Yup.. have to go long for the blue chip now. Continuing to buy pieces for every pullback.

The only short term play is those low dollar ones with high volatility and direxion types etf which has decay.
They still good to make money.

The next 3-6 months are going to be a bit more difficult to get same gain. smile.gif
AutumnFoliage
post Jun 10 2009, 08:01 AM

114 posts

is tat any real-time for us market??
danmooncake
post Jun 10 2009, 08:17 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(AutumnFoliage @ Jun 10 2009, 08:01 AM)
is tat any real-time for us market??
US market is more real time that anything that you've ever seen. biggrin.gif
AutumnFoliage
post Jun 10 2009, 09:39 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jun 10 2009, 08:17 AM)
US market is more real time that anything that you've ever seen.  biggrin.gif

hmm.gif
syong
post Jun 13 2009, 12:03 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jun 5 2009, 07:29 PM)
I called to hlb. But they said online trading for US market still not available. I check CIMB and notice that their itrade can buy US stock. Any one care to comment on their rate and service.
Own an account there but have not try. these are the charges:

AMEX/ NYSE/ NASDAQ
1) Brokerage
RM100K and below 0.40%
Above RM100K 0.40%
- Minimum Brokerage USD25

2) Charges & Fees
a) Stamp Duty -
b) Clearing Fees -
c) Foregin Charges SEC Fees - 0.00468% (apply to sale only)
d) Bank Charges RM20 (buy only)
e) M'san Contract Stamp 0.1% (Max of RM200)

3) Settlement Issues
a) Settlement Currency All
b) Settlement Due Date (Market Days) T+3

Good luck

Added on June 13, 2009, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(normanTE @ Jun 8 2009, 11:51 PM)
it definately sound fantastic, with premier account, your account value shall not fall below 200k, or else what is the charges are like?
it like etrade,
the only advantage is u can withdrawal your fund anytime.

any one bought eep? enbridge; dividend near 20%, i bought 100share only when the price is 30usd.
hai very sad  mad.gif
i think if i buy now dividend will also be around 10% only.

guy this company really can give compound interest man, better than buying asb,asn, wawasan ,asm..
what for with those que? i dont understand. drool.gif

investing sleep well.
citibank had miss their dividend for last 2 quarter.
i think i buy BAC instead.
aig, cheap la but no dividend.

Added on June 8, 2009, 11:55 pmgeneral electric good buy man,,,, any buyer?
dividend near 9% at present value,
but i think i cant find this type of dividend and with such a margin of safety in asian company.........
Bought BAC when it falls to USD4.3, then sold some and swap to Citi. stupid Citi shares stop there for months.
regret sold my BAC, which is currently ard 13. Analyst said BAC can easily triple within the next 2 years.

Sld i buy back my BAC?????

This post has been edited by syong: Jun 13 2009, 12:13 PM
mynewuser
post Jun 13 2009, 07:47 PM

2,549 posts

Thank for the explanation. Based on the current trend, Citi and AIG look not so good. Any good counter to recommend?
normanTE
post Jun 14 2009, 09:40 PM

259 posts

now i inview of composite are quite high i will buy dividend counter;
who care they went up or down, i will collect my 10% dividend every year.
few recomendation:
but everytime i recommend this stock always went up one;;;;; drool.gif
bac just went up 15% from last week

enbridge is good counter eep
cel: celcom israel. good dividend
torm shipping TRMD
vgr
rgnc

well depend which direction you heading.
i buy and keep for years so far i have few poor dividend counter,
which i bought at rather low price walmart 47usd....tesco at 380 pence.....pepsi at 48usd
diversify. i have 50 different counter..
i know i can get pure 4% dividend from pepsi even though us goverment come down, pepsi still have it global play...

VyvernS
post Jun 14 2009, 11:10 PM

~Keep Your Eyes on the Monitor~
1,954 posts

Hi all there.....I am not sure if this thread purely on ~ Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how? ~

Or it can expand to include NYSE - What stocks can trade recently?

I recently opened a US trading account and now my $$ sit there do nothing (except get small interest) because I have no idea what are good stocks now. Everything going up and I spend my days look at KLSE, but not NYSE. blush.gif

I guess I am looking for a website that shows good dividend yield US stocks, because I am into it for the long haul. I need somewhere to start, so if there are any sifus out there, can share your knowledge? Thanks! notworthy.gif smile.gif
syong
post Jun 15 2009, 09:29 PM

81 posts

normanTE,
u bought BAC? me too....
thought of buying more, but now a bit expensive, (at least for me?) what time / price should i enter?

mynewuser
post Jun 15 2009, 09:38 PM

2,549 posts

U people got 50 counter? Must be billion air lo.
chin20350
post Jun 16 2009, 05:38 PM

89 posts

i prefer to buy a mutual fund rather than own 50 different stocks, seem like a bit pointless to hold that much counters.

No hard feeling, just share of my mind only.

This post has been edited by chin20350: Jun 16 2009, 05:38 PM
danmooncake
post Jun 17 2009, 07:44 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(chin20350 @ Jun 16 2009, 05:38 PM)
i prefer to buy a mutual fund rather than own 50 different stocks, seem like a bit pointless to hold that much counters.

No hard feeling, just share of my mind only.
Mutual fund is good if one cannot pick a group of stocks to own, besides it is cheaper this way but be aware of the front load fees and maintenance fees.

I prefer to go with ETF or Index Funds. Same like buying stocks, work like a Mutual Funds - diversified and little maintenance fees. biggrin.gif

ckyan
post Jun 17 2009, 04:54 PM

13 posts

jus start my first trade in US stock..
PPHM..
danmooncake
post Jun 17 2009, 08:53 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(ckyan @ Jun 17 2009, 04:54 PM)
jus start my first trade in US stock..
PPHM..
Peregrine? Uh oh.. hmm.gif low dollar play. big attraction for day traders. quite volatile there.
What do you like about this one?

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jun 17 2009, 08:56 PM
syong
post Jun 17 2009, 10:32 PM

81 posts

how about bac?
any comments
VyvernS
post Jun 18 2009, 10:37 AM

~Keep Your Eyes on the Monitor~
1,954 posts

BAC - http://www.reuters.com/finance/stocks/anal...ch?symbol=BAC.N

danmooncake advised me to hold on. I bought at 13.25 now it drop but I also long on this counter. If it go down, I will buy more.

I also looking at GE....need to study first.

danmooncake
post Jun 18 2009, 10:39 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(syong @ Jun 17 2009, 10:32 PM)
how about bac?
any comments
BAC is good now. BAC will get to benefit a lot from housing price bottom and recovery.
Today it is not on one of the banks that got in the firing line of
downgrades.. wait for a bit more pull back.. to low 11 or high 10s.
Get ready to fire trigger.

syong
post Jun 18 2009, 07:45 PM

81 posts

bought 500 units when it dropped to 4.5 in feb.
then sold part of them, intend to buy back drop... but price just shot up....

125 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.2087sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:55 AM