American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™
glareguard
Jan 2 2008, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 2 2008, 10:51 PM) Annual fee is same as MBB Visa and Mastercard - RM 60 for Classic and RM 130 for Gold. If you have multiple MBB CC, it'll be RM 90. It'll be free for the first two years. Thanks for the information. Will be applying it.
Gen-X
Jan 2 2008, 11:22 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
recently i found out that my credit limit for my Amex Gold Charged Card, its higher than any of my Platinum Visa or Mastercard Credit Limit
tishaban
Jan 2 2008, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 2 2008, 11:22 PM) recently i found out that my credit limit for my Amex Gold Charged Card, its higher than any of my Platinum Visa or Mastercard Credit Limit  I thought there's no real "limit" on an American Express charge card. At least that's how they advertise it in certain places.
mrcloud9
Jan 3 2008, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 2 2008, 11:30 PM) I thought there's no real "limit" on an American Express charge card. At least that's how they advertise it in certain places. yes there is no pre set spending limit as far as im concerned.
Gen-X
Jan 3 2008, 09:57 AM
Lifetime LYN Member
Of course there's a limit but not "preset", one's limit is determined based on spending usage/track record.
Hope the 2 AMEX staff that post here can elaborate on this limit matter further.
SUSDavid83
Jan 3 2008, 12:45 PM
Can somebody list down on which merchant usually accept AMEX? Shell, Borders, Tesco, Jusco and etc.?
This information will be great to share with. Thank you.
mrcloud9
Jan 3 2008, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2008, 09:57 AM) Of course there's a limit but not "preset", one's limit is determined based on spending usage/track record. Hope the 2 AMEX staff that post here can elaborate on this limit matter further. yes please.
lauyamonk
Jan 3 2008, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2008, 09:57 AM) Of course there's a limit but not "preset", one's limit is determined based on spending usage/track record. Hope the 2 AMEX staff that post here can elaborate on this limit matter further. charge card had no PRESET limit. NOT no limit. how they approve your charge is base on your past 6 or 12 months spending and your payment history and sometime they will see your tenureship as well. For example, average you spend RM10k per months, but suddenly due to some emergency you need to spend RM50k, you will need to call in for approval then they will review your acct accordingly. In the same case, if your payment history su*ks, always delay payment, how you wan them to approve the charge? hope this is clear...
katopunk
Jan 4 2008, 10:26 AM
currently i'm using maybank amex card. may i know if the maybank treatpoint is the same with the amex membership reward point.
if i use the card, i get both maybank treatpoint and amex membership reward point? no?
TSDozz
Jan 4 2008, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(katopunk @ Jan 4 2008, 10:26 AM) currently i'm using maybank amex card. may i know if the maybank treatpoint is the same with the amex membership reward point. if i use the card, i get both maybank treatpoint and amex membership reward point? no? Maybank treatpoints and Amex Membership points is not the same, if you have maybank branded amex credit card, then you will earn treatpoint only... Membership reward point only for AMEX's charge card (those cards WITHOUT maybank logo) hope thats help!
tishaban
Jan 4 2008, 07:49 PM
I've been an Amex US cardmember for years, but never took up their Platinum offer. Do you get the same Platinum privileges if you go to different countries ie. the concierge and other services?
SUSDavid83
Jan 5 2008, 11:41 AM
If we swipe using AMEX, will merchant include the 6% extra charge on the bill since Visa/Mastercard charge is lower at 3%?
Thank you.
vincentlws
Jan 5 2008, 04:06 PM

yes u will of course get their concierge service if u travel...BUT mind u, if u travel to us sanction country,no way amex can help you on anything.
tishaban
Jan 5 2008, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(vincentlws @ Jan 5 2008, 04:06 PM) yes u will of course get their concierge service if u travel...BUT mind u, if u travel to us sanction country,no way amex can help you on anything. Thanks vincent, I don't plan to travel to a US Embargoed country so no worries there  Next question is, should I keep my Amex account in the US or move it to Malaysia? I live mostly in Malaysia and travel to the US at least once or twice a year. I personally don't mind keeping the account in the US, is there any advantage at all of moving the Amex account to Malaysia?
Gen-X
Jan 5 2008, 11:41 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 5 2008, 11:41 AM) If we swipe using AMEX, will merchant include the 6% extra charge on the bill since Visa/Mastercard charge is lower at 3%? Thank you. i don't really get what you mean, if an item is priced at RM1K, you only pay that amount irregardless if you are paying by cash or CC or AMEX. Example, if you buy a computer from DELL, you pay the same price if you use AMEX or you bank in cash into their account.
CHIP CN
Jan 5 2008, 11:47 PM
i as a merchant..... using bimb... not cater for amex.... that machine only accept visa and mastercard...
PureGeek
Jan 6 2008, 12:31 AM
sry i'm new to credit cards, can you tell me what does balance carried forward, i saw the brochure for citi shell card, which give 5% rebate only > rm 4000 balance carry forward, what does this mean?
Gen-X
Jan 6 2008, 01:53 AM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(PureGeek @ Jan 6 2008, 12:31 AM) sry i'm new to credit cards, can you tell me what does balance carried forward, i saw the brochure for citi shell card, which give 5% rebate only > rm 4000 balance carry forward, what does this mean? bro, wrong thread lah, there's a thread on citibank shell card. But to answer your question, it means you owing citibank RM4000 which you'll be charged interest in order to benefit the 5% rebate. Just forget about this card. Use Esso Smile card gaurantee 1.5% rebate on petrol.
SUSDavid83
Jan 6 2008, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 5 2008, 11:41 PM) i don't really get what you mean, if an item is priced at RM1K, you only pay that amount irregardless if you are paying by cash or CC or AMEX. Example, if you buy a computer from DELL, you pay the same price if you use AMEX or you bank in cash into their account. I meant the bank will charge the merchant for some fee - 3% for Visa/Mastercard and 6% for AMEX. What I wanted to know will the merchant that offers AMEX, will they pass the 6% or extra 3% (if compared to Visa/Mastercard) to the customer by including that in the bill? If you did purchase computer/computer accessory or handphone from Low Yatt or Sungei Wang Plaza, you should get what I'm trying to point out.
tishaban
Jan 6 2008, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 6 2008, 08:58 AM) I meant the bank will charge the merchant for some fee - 3% for Visa/Mastercard and 6% for AMEX. What I wanted to know will the merchant that offers AMEX, will they pass the 6% or extra 3% (if compared to Visa/Mastercard) to the customer by including that in the bill? If you did purchase computer/computer accessory or handphone from Low Yatt or Sungei Wang Plaza, you should get what I'm trying to point out. If it's a cash merchant like the ones in LYP then they will pass on the fee to you. Credit card fees in LYP are typically 2-2.5% for Visa/MC and 3-3.5% for Amex. If you buy it from bigger outlets eg. Best Denki or Carrefour then they won't charge you any extra.