American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

hye
post Jun 19 2009, 08:37 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 18 2009, 10:35 PM)
@MilesAndMore,
Yes, it is.  Am sure it's not officially launched yet because no press write-ups on it, as yet tongue.gif
AMEX Gold Credit Card is officially launched already. Saw the publicity write-up in TheSun newspaper today.

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 19 2009, 08:43 AM
Gen-X
post Jun 19 2009, 09:08 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 19 2009, 08:37 AM)
AMEX Gold Credit Card is officially launched already. Saw the publicity write-up in TheSun newspaper today.
Thh ad is in The Star too. Must say Amex Gold Credit Card is pretty good besides the 5X MR points at petrol station and book stores.

Lifetime annual fee waiver. Save the hassle of calling up for AF waiver.
0% Finance Charge till December 2009, after that 9% from January 2010. At 9% interest it is the lowest in town as one also get MR points as compared to Alliance You:nique which don't give rewards points for the same 9% interest option.

Seriously considering getting this card just because of the 5X MR.

tinkerbel
post Jun 19 2009, 09:28 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

So.. any freebies if U apply now?! biggrin.gif

@hye,
U going ahead to put your application in?!

*thinks the entire world is going to be carrying the Amex Gold Credit Card soon*
hye
post Jun 19 2009, 09:36 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 19 2009, 09:28 AM)
@hye,
U going ahead to put your application in?!

*thinks the entire world is going to be carrying the Amex Gold Credit Card soon*
I'm not much a fan of AMEX coz I travel quite a bit and the admin charges are more expensive than the conventional MC or VISA. And I have this thing for cash rebate cards these days. Dunno lah ... maybe yes n maybe no.
tinkerbel
post Jun 19 2009, 10:41 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hye,
You're absolutely right. It makes no $en$e using Amex out of Malaysia because of the double conversion and the extra admin charges. When I'm abroad, UOB is my preferred CC because there are no additional admin charges biggrin.gif

Oh.... apparently one needs to be a Maybank Account Holder to qualify for the Amex Gold Credit Card, as stated in their website.
jack2
post Jun 19 2009, 11:12 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

...but not many merchants accept AMEX....
tinkerbel
post Jun 19 2009, 11:13 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jack2,
Yes it's not as well 'recognised' here but it's picking up.
Gen-X
post Jun 19 2009, 12:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 19 2009, 10:41 AM)
@hye,
You're absolutely right.  It makes no $en$e using Amex out of Malaysia because of the double conversion and the extra admin charges.  When I'm abroad, UOB is my preferred CC because there are no additional admin charges biggrin.gif

Oh.... apparently one needs to be a Maybank Account Holder to qualify for the Amex Gold Credit Card, as stated in their website.
yah, AMEX overseas transaction fees is high at 2.5%. I also want to share with you that initially I thought UOB no admin fees for overseas transaction which I got confirmation with their CS but someone did pointed out to me in my blog that UOB do charge 1% Admin Fees. Read link below:

http://www1.uob.com.my/assets/pdf/feesNcha.../creditCard.pdf

And as for merchants that does not accept AMEX well we have our CC and for merchants that do accept AMEX, we use it if there is a benefit. Therefore no loss that we have AMEX but more to gain.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 19 2009, 12:38 PM
lin00b
post Jun 19 2009, 12:54 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

is amex points evergreen?
tinkerbel
post Jun 19 2009, 01:37 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@lin00b,
Yes, MR points are evergreen for now.

@Gen-X,
Hm.. this 1% admin fee from UOB is something new!
MilesAndMore
post Jun 19 2009, 02:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 19 2009, 11:13 AM)
@jack2,
Yes it's not as well 'recognised' here but it's picking up.
Definitely ! biggrin.gif

TSDozz
post Jun 19 2009, 02:23 PM

2,149 posts

Oh, now then i realized amex charging 2.5% admin fee for oversea transaction sad.gif not worth to use unless there are promotion like 5x for oversea spending.
IF any of you travel often, i highly recommend Standard Chartered Visa Infinite card where you getting 5x for all oversea transactions.
hye
post Jun 19 2009, 03:33 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 19 2009, 01:37 PM)
@Gen-X,
Hm.. this 1% admin fee from UOB is something new!
Not really, I've heard something like that before from someone regarding UOB. That's why I had this thought in my head that the only bank left that is "admin fee" free is Alliance.

Let's stick to the main topic ... this is the AMEX thread after all. CC is in the other.
tinkerbel
post Jun 19 2009, 03:34 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hye,
Yes Sir... but uhm...... I once clarified this with my UOB RM! Nm.. will discuss this on the other thread biggrin.gif
numbertwo
post Jun 19 2009, 04:59 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Jun 19 2009, 02:23 PM)
Oh, now then i realized amex charging 2.5% admin fee for oversea transaction sad.gif not worth to use unless there are promotion like 5x for oversea spending. 
IF any of you travel often, i highly recommend Standard Chartered Visa Infinite card where you getting 5x for all oversea transactions.
We should avoid using CIMB overseas too as they hv admin charges just introduced some months back..yes.. Visa Infinite is a better opt now.
Gen-X
post Jun 19 2009, 07:39 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Ok back to AMEX topic but on CC.

I applied for the AMEX Gold CC today. Went to Maybank branch to drop my cheque for my charged card and picked up the application form for Gold CC but did not fill the form on the spot since wanted to get my wife a supp.

Then read in CC thread that one needs to have Maybank account, this was not stated in the application form nor was it in the AMEX's website but was stated in Maybank's website.

So I called this number 603-22958877 and they confirmed don't have to be a maybank account holder and I can just fax the application form to them with just a photocopy of my credit cards and no need submit the other troublesome documents. Faxed in the application to AMEX about lunch time. Wonder how long it takes to get it approved and want to see if the credit limit given to me will me higher or lower than my Charged Card (oh yes, there is a credit limit for charged card too).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 19 2009, 07:45 PM
StupidZ
post Jun 19 2009, 09:32 PM

>_< || ◕‿◕
1,287 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 19 2009, 07:39 PM)

I applied for the AMEX Gold CC today. Went to Maybank branch to drop my cheque for my charged card and picked up the application form for Gold CC but did not fill the form on the spot since wanted to get my wife a supp.

Then read in CC thread that one needs to have Maybank account, this was not stated in the application form nor was it in the AMEX's website but was stated in Maybank's website.

So I called this number 603-22958877 and they confirmed don't have to be a maybank account holder and I can just fax the application form to them with just a photocopy of my credit cards and no need submit the other troublesome documents. Faxed in the application to AMEX about lunch time. Wonder how long it takes to get it approved and want to see if the credit limit given to me will me higher or lower than my Charged Card (oh yes, there is a credit limit for charged card too).
How do we check the "credit limit" for charge card ?
Gen-X
post Jun 19 2009, 09:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(StupidZ @ Jun 19 2009, 09:32 PM)
How do we check the "credit limit" for charge card ?
Actually my statement on "Credit Limit" for charged card is kind of misleading and inaccurate. The last time Amex was offering 0% installments plan, there was a maximum limit that can be charged, to me that was like my credit limit.

Amex spending limit based on your payment records and spending pattern.

lauyamonk: care to elaborate more on charged card spending limit?
SUSDavid83
post Jun 19 2009, 11:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 19 2009, 07:39 PM)

Guess they may just charge RM 5 for the printed statement.

My guess to have an account with MBB is to have access to M2U to view the statement online since AMEX Gold CC by default as advertised in M2U won't be providing printed statement.
Gen-X
post Jun 20 2009, 12:14 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 19 2009, 11:58 PM)
Guess they may just charge RM 5 for the printed statement.

My guess to have an account with MBB is to have access to M2U to view the statement online since AMEX Gold CC by default as advertised in M2U won't be providing printed statement.
yes, you are right they will charge RM5 for printed statement. In the application form it is mentioned that statement will be email to cardholders. So no problems if no M2U.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 20 2009, 12:16 AM

127 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:35 PM